Fugitive Dust in Alaska


Fugitive dust is small airborne particles called particulate matter. These smaller airborne particles have the potential to adversely affect human health and the environment. EPA defines fugitive dust as "particulate matter that is generated or emitted from open air operations (emissions that do not pass through a stack or a vent)". The most common forms of particulate matter (PM) are known as PM10 (particulate matter with a diameter of 10 microns or less) and PM2.5 (particulate matter with a diameter of 2.5 microns or less).

Fugitive dust originates from a wide variety of sources including unpaved roads; mining and the transportation of mined materials; abrasive blasting; construction activities; material handling, or storage of bulk materials (sand/dirt/gravel/abrasive blasting aggregates).

ADEC is assessing its air quality regulations in 18 AAC 50 to ensure that current regulations are adequate to protect human health and that fugitive dust does not cause unhealthy air. ADEC is conducting workshops to solicit public input on fugitive dust control.

Fugitive dust workshops were conducted in Seward, Fairbanks, and Palmer in March and April 2011. The links below contain the handouts and the presentation given at these workshops. For fugitive dust workshop and regulation development please contact Tom Turner at 907-269-8123, or tom.turner@alaska.gov

Additional Information:

  • ADEC Fugitive Dust Power Point Presentation (updated version (PDF) posted 4/1/11)
  • Western Regional Air Partnership Fugitive Dust Handbook
  • EPA's AP-42 for Fugitive Dust Sources
  • EPA Region 10
  • Frequently Asked Question Sheets (PDF)
  • What is Fugitive Dust? (PDF)
  • Particulate Matter Air Monitoring (PDF)
  • Air Quality Complaints (PDF)
  • Air Permits and Particulate Matter (PDF)
  • Air Quality Regulation as it pertains to Fugitive Dust (PDF)
  • Online Complaint Form
  • ADEC Air Regulations
  • ADEC Non-point Dust Information
  • Contacts for Fugitive Dust Complaint:

    Southeast: Jim Plosay, 907-465-5561, jim.plosay@alaska.gov

    Interior: Moses Coss, 907-451-2163, moses.coss@alaska.gov

    South-Central: Andrew Mohrmann, 907-269-7562, andrew.mohrmann@alaska.gov