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The State of Alaska’s State Air Quality Control Plan, Volume III, Appendix to Volume II, 
Section II of this plan, is amended by removing the following regulations: 
 

• 18 AAC 50 Air Quality Control as amended through September 17, 2011; and 
replacing them with the following regulations currently under public review and comment: 
 

• 18 AAC 50 Air Quality Control as amended through {Adoption Date of Regulations}.   
 
The State of Alaska’s State Air Quality Control Plan Volume III, Appendix to Volume II, 
Section II of this plan, is amended by adding the following documents: 
 

• Clean Air Act Section 110 Infrastructure Certification Documentation; 
 

• Alaska Administrative Code Title 2- Administration; Chapter 50- Alaska Public 
Offices Commission: Conflict of Interest, Campaign Disclosure, Legislative 
Financial Disclosure, and Regulations of Lobbying; Article 1 – Public Official 
Financial Disclosure (2 AAC 50.010- 2 AAC 50.200); and  
 

• Alaska Administrative Code Title 9 – Law; Chapter 52 – Executive Branch Code of 
Ethics (9 AAC 52.010 – 9 AAC 52.990).  
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Placeholder for:  
 

ALASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 
 
 

TITLE 18- DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION 
 

Chapter 50. Air Quality Control 
 

as amended through {Adoption Date of Regulations}.   
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Statement of Purpose 
 
By statute, states are required to make State Implementation Plan (SIP) submissions to the U.S. 
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to meet the basic requirements of Clean Air Act (CAA) 
Section (§) 110 (a) (1) and (2) within three years after promulgation of any new or revised 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS).1,2

 

 The purpose of this document is to 
demonstrate that the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) has the statutory 
and regulatory authority to implement CAA §110 (a) (2) (A)-(M) “infrastructure” elements for 
the following NAAQS: 

• 1997 Ozone 8-hour NAAQS (62 FR 38856, July 18, 1997); 
• 1997 PM2.53

• 2006 PM2.5 annual and 24-hour NAAQS (71 FR 61144, October 17, 2006); 
 annual and 24-hour NAAQS (62 FR 38652, July 18, 1997); 

• 2008 Ozone 8-hour NAAQS (73 FR 16436, March 27, 2008); and 
• 2008 Lead NAAQS (73 FR 66964, November 12, 2008). 

 
By Consent Decree, EPA agreed to make a determination whether or not states submitted 
“Infrastructure SIPs” for the 1997 ozone and 1997 PM2.5 NAAQS by December 15, 2007, and 
October 15, 2008, respectively.1 EPA issued the State of Alaska findings of failure to submit 
“Infrastructure SIPs” for the 1997 ozone and 1997 PM2.5 NAAQS by publishing the following 
Federal Implementation Plan (FIP) notices in the Federal Register: 
 

• “Completeness Findings for CAA 110(a) SIP submittals pertaining to 1997 8-hour 
Ozone NAAQS” issued on March 27, 2008 (73 FR 16205); and 

• “Completeness Findings for CAA 110(a) SIP submittals pertaining to 1997 annual & 
24-hour PM2.5 NAAQS” issued on October 22, 2008 (73 FR 62902). 

 
EPA promulgated new PM2.5, ozone and lead NAAQS in 2006 and 2008, as referenced above.  
On April 1, 2010, DEC adopted the 2006 PM2.5 24-hour and annual NAAQS; the 2008 ozone 8-
hour NAAQS; and the 2008 lead NAAQS into Alaska Administrative Code (AAC).  The 
promulgation of new NAAQS by EPA and their subsequent adoption by the State of Alaska 
superseded the 1997 PM2.5 and 1997 ozone NAAQS; however, Alaska must still address the FIP 
notices pertaining to the 1997 NAAQS.  The primary purpose of this document is to satisfy the 
requirements of CAA §110 (a) (1) (2) (A)-(M) by demonstrating DEC’s regulatory and statutory 
authority to implement the 2008 ozone 8-hour NAAQS; the 2006 PM2.5 24-hour and annual 
NAAQS; and the 2008 lead NAAQS.  By satisfying these CAA requirements, the State of 
Alaska is also demonstrating compliance with EPA’s FIP notices for the 1997 PM2.5 and 1997 
ozone NAAQS.  DEC has prepared the following narrative response to these CAA requirements 
which outlines both DEC’s statutory and regulatory authority to implement these laws and its 
ability to carry out these authorities via Alaska’s State Implementation Plan (SIP). 

 

1 US EPA’s “Guidance on SIP Elements Required Under Sections 110(a) (1) and (2) for the 1997 8-hour Ozone and 
PM2.5 NAAQS”, October 2, 2007;  

2 US EPA’s “Guidance on SIP Elements Required Under Sections 110(a) (1) and (2) for the 2006 24-hour PM2.5 
NAAQS”, September 25, 2009.  

3 PM2.5 is defined as particulate matter with an aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a nominal 2.5 
micrometers.   
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DEC’s Statutory & Regulatory Authority 

 
The following section provides a brief history and description of DEC’s overall, existing 
statutory and regulatory authority to implement CAA §110 (a) (2) (A)-(M) SIP “infrastructure” 
elements.   DEC and its authority to control air pollution were established on July 1, 1971 in the 
following Alaska Statutes (AS): 
 

• AS Title 46. Water, Air, Energy, and Environmental Conservation: 

• Chapter 03. Environmental Conservation (§§ 46.03.010- 46.03.900); and 
• Chapter 14. Air Quality Control (§§ 46.14.010- 46.14.990). 

 
In 1972, the State of Alaska Department of Law determined that AS 46.03 contained the 
necessary legal authorities as required by the CAA to carry out the statewide air quality control 
plan.  The State of Alaska’s statutory authority to implement the CAA was described in a legal 
opinion written by Ralph Stemp, Alaska’s former Assistant Attorney General, and is included in 
the original State of Alaska Air Quality Control Plan (letter dated February 29, 1972, SIP 
Volume II, Appendix, page 44).  This legal opinion also identifies the prerequisite legal 
authorities for the state's air quality control program which address the legal requirements 
identified in the 40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Part 51, Subpart L (51 FR 40673, Nov. 
7, 1986).   
 
DEC’s authority to act on behalf of the State of Alaska in any matter pertaining to the state air 
quality control plan is explicitly stated in the following statute: 

 
• AS 46.14.030. State air quality plan. The department shall act for the state in any 

negotiations relative to the state air quality control plan developed under 42 U.S.C. 
7401 - 7671q (Clean Air Act), as amended.  The department may adopt regulations 
necessary to implement the state plan. 

 
Within DEC, the Division of Air Quality (DAQ) administers the CAA through regulation and the 
State of Alaska Air Quality Control Plan.  The original plan (contained in Volumes I & II) was 
federally adopted in April 1972.4  The original plan summarized the state’s legal authority to 
control air pollution and included state and local air pollution control strategies, monitoring, and 
air episode plans for particulate matter, carbon monoxide and sulfur dioxide.  The State of 
Alaska Air Quality Control Plan has since been revised and is adopted by reference in Alaska 
Administrative Code (AAC) in Title 18, Chapter 50, Section 030 (18 AAC 50.030).5

4 State of Alaska Air Quality Control Plan, Volumes I & II, adopted April 21, 1972. 

  The State 
of Alaska Air Quality Control Plan is a legally enforceable document, enforced by DEC.  
Portions of this control plan make up Alaska’s State Implementation Plan (SIP) which addresses 
the requirements of the 1970 Amendments to the CAA (FR August 14, 1971), the CAA 
Amendments of 1990 and subsequent requirements set out by EPA.  Each time EPA approves an 
amendment to the State of Alaska Air Quality Control Plan, those amendments become a part of 
the federally enforceable SIP.   

5 State of Alaska Air Quality Control Plan, Volumes II & III, as adopted in 18 AAC 50.030. 
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Alaska’s statutes give DEC authority to promulgate regulations for implementing and enforcing 
the CAA and other legislation.  These regulations are established within the following chapters 
of AAC, Title 18. Environmental Conservation: 
 

• AAC Title 18. Environmental Conservation: 
•  Chapter 50. Air Quality Control (18 AAC 50.005-50.990); 
• Chapter 52. Emissions Inspection and Maintenance Requirements for Motor 

Vehicles (18 AAC 52.005-18 AAC 52.990); 
• Chapter 53. Fuel Requirements for Motor Vehicles (18 AAC 53.005-53.990); and 
• Chapter 95. Administrative Enforcement (18 AAC 95.010-95.900). 

 
 

Compliance with Clean Air Act Section (§) 110 (a) (2) (A)-(M) Requirements 
 
Alaska’s statutes and regulations meeting each CAA §110 (a) (2) (A)-(M) SIP infrastructure 
requirement are presented in the following section.  This section also briefly describes DEC’s 
current SIP programs and efforts addressing these same requirements.   
 
     • CAA § 110 (a) (1) states the following: “Each State shall …. adopt  and submit to the 

Administrator within 3 years after the  promulgation of  a NAAQS (or  revision thereof),  a 
plan which provides for implementation, maintenance, and  enforcement of such  secondary 
standard in  each air quality control region  (or portion thereof) within such  State.”   

 
     • CAA §110 (a) (2) states that “Each implementation plan submitted by a State under this Act 

shall be adopted by the State after reasonable notice and public hearing.  Each such plan 
shall include the following”-  

 
• §110(a)(2)(A) “include enforceable emission limitations and other control measures, 

means, or techniques (including economic incentives such as fees, marketable 
permits, and auctions of emissions rights), as well as schedules and timetables for 
compliance as may be necessary or appropriate to meet the applicable requirements 
of this Act” 

 
DEC has promulgated regulations to implement and enforce the NAAQS and other emission 
limitations.  These regulations include statewide ambient air quality standards, major and minor 
permits, transportation conformity and fees, among others which are found in the following 
articles of AAC Title 18 Environmental Conservation, Chapter 50. Air Quality Control: 
 

• Article 1. Ambient Air Quality Standards (18 AAC 50.005 - 18 AAC 50.110); 
• Article 2. Program Administration (18 AAC 50.200 - 18 AAC 50.250); 
• Article 3. Major Stationary Source Permits (18 AAC 50.300 - 18 AAC 50.390); 
• Article 5. Minor Permits (18 AAC 50.502 - 18 AAC 50.560); 
• Article 7. Conformity (18 AAC 50.700 – 18 AAC 50.735); and 
• Article 9. General Provisions (18 AAC 50.900 – 18 AAC 50.990). 
 

8



On April 1, 2010, the State of Alaska adopted the 2006 PM2.5 24-hour and annual NAAQS; the 
2008 ozone 8-hour NAAQS; and the 2008 lead NAAQS into 18 AAC 50, Article 1.  Alaska’s 
current ambient air quality standards are found in Article 1 at 18 AAC 50.010. 6
 

   

Alaska’s air quality designations, classifications and control regions are found in 18 AAC 
50.015.  DEC has worked with EPA regarding the PM2.5 non-attainment area boundary for the 
Fairbanks North Star Borough (FNSB).  This boundary was finalized by EPA in November 2009 
and became effective on December 14, 2009.  DEC has formally commenced SIP planning 
activities, in cooperation with the FNSB, to update the SIP to include the FNSB PM2.5 non-
attainment area and additional control measures, air monitoring and emission inventory work for 
PM2.5.  Alaska will have three years from the above designation date to submit a SIP attainment 
demonstration and adopt regulations to ensure that this area will attain the 2006 PM2.5 NAAQS 
within five years.  There are no ozone or lead nonattainment areas in Alaska at the present time 
(winter 2012).  
 

• §110(a)(2)(B) “provide for establishment and operation of appropriate devices, 
methods, systems, and procedures necessary to monitor, compile, and analyze data on 
ambient air quality, and upon request, make such data available to the 
Administrator” 

 
DEC’s statutory and regulatory authority to conduct ambient air monitoring investigations is 
found in AS 46.03.020 (5), AS 46.14.180 and 18 AAC 50.201.  On April 1, 2010, the State of 
Alaska adopted into Articles 1 and 2 of 18 AAC 50 the following 40 CFR Part 50 reference and 
interpretation methods for the 2006 PM2.5 24-hour and annual NAAQS; the 2008 ozone 8-hour 
NAAQS; and the 2008 lead NAAQS:  
 

• Appendix G: Reference Method for the Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate 
Matter Collected From Ambient Air;  

• Appendix L: Reference Method for the Determination of Fine Particulate Matter as 
PM2.5 in the Atmosphere; 

• Appendix N: Interpretation of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 
Particulate Matter; 

• Appendix P: Interpretation of the Primary and Secondary National Ambient Air Quality 
Standards for Ozone; 

• Appendix Q: Reference Method for the Determination of Lead in Particulate Matter as 
PM10 Collected From Ambient Air; and  

• Appendix R: Interpretation of the National Ambient Air Quality Standards for Lead.  
 
The Municipality of Anchorage (MOA) and Fairbanks North Star Borough (FNSB) both have a 
Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with DEC to operate air quality control programs in 
their respective jurisdictions.7,8

6 The Division of Air Quality’s current regulations are found in Title 18 AAC 50 Air Quality Control, as amended 
through September 17, 2011; refer to 

  DEC’s Air Non-Point Mobile Source Program (ANPMS) and 
Air Monitoring & Quality Assurance Program (AMQA) work with the MOA and FNSB to 

http://www.dec.state.ak.us/regulations/pdfs/18%20AAC%2050.pdf  
7 MOU between DEC and Municipality of Anchorage for Air Quality Control, signed June 30, 2011.   
8 MOU between DEC and Fairbanks North Star Borough for Air Pollution Control, dated January 26, 2010.  
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prepare Alaska’s annual ambient air monitoring network plan.9

 

  Alaska’s ambient air monitoring 
network plan includes appropriate monitoring provisions and procedures to comply with the 
PM2.5 NAAQS monitoring requirements within the FNSB PM2.5 non-attainment area.  Ambient 
PM2.5 monitoring data are collected by the MOA, the FNSB and DEC.  Both the MOA and 
FNSB report their ambient air data to DEC on a quarterly basis.  DEC collects PM2.5 data for 
the City and Borough of Juneau (CBJ) and the Matanuska-Susitna Valley and reports these data 
to EPA on a quarterly basis.  Ambient air quality and meteorological data that are collected for 
Prevention of Significant Deterioration (PSD) purposes by permitted stationary sources are 
reported to DEC on a quarterly and annual basis.  

DEC’s revised “Quality Assurance Project Plan for the State of Alaska Air Monitoring & 
Quality Assurance Program” 10

 

 was adopted by reference into the State Air Quality Control Plan 
under 18 AAC 50.030(4) on October 29, 2010.  This manual includes the appropriate, federally 
referenced ambient air quality monitoring and analysis procedures for PM2.5, ozone and lead. As 
described in this plan, validated State & Local Air Monitoring Stations (SLAMS), and Special 
Purpose Monitoring (SPM) ambient air quality monitoring data are reported to the AMQA’s 
database manager.  This person verifies the data, and electronically reports these data to EPA 
through the Air Quality System (AQS) on a quarterly basis.  

Ozone Monitoring: Currently (winter 2012), there are no nonattainment areas for ozone or lead 
in Alaska.  Existing, ambient air quality data with regards to ozone and lead in Alaska are scarce.  
MOA, in conjunction with DEC, began monitoring for ozone at two sites starting in April 2010.8  
Ozone monitoring occurred in 2010 and 2011, April through September, at the “Garden” site 
located in downtown Anchorage less than 1 mile south of the Merrill Field airport.  Ozone 
monitoring was also performed at the “Parkgate” site, located in Eagle River, during the 2010 
ozone monitoring season (April through September).  The ozone monitoring program was 
discontinued at the “Parkgate” site after review of the seasonal results.  The ozone monitoring 
equipment was moved to Wasilla, located in the Matanuska-Susitna Valley, for the 2011 
monitoring season.   
 
 Lead Monitoring: Source specific, ambient, lead monitoring related to operations at the Red 
Dog Mine, located in Noatak, has been initiated by DEC to address federal lead monitoring 
requirements.  Lead monitoring in Noatak occurred from January 2010 through June 2010; and 
then from July through August 2011.  These monitoring efforts are scheduled to start again in the 
spring of 2012.  Also, MOA, , in conjunction with DEC and EPA, began monitoring for lead, on 
October 18, 2011, at the Merrill Field airport to determine if lead emissions from aviation 
gasoline used by piston-engine aircraft are a concern for local residents.  Merrill Field airport is 
the largest general aviation airport in Alaska and is located within the Municipality of 
Anchorage.  EPA is considering regulating lead in aviation gasoline.11

 
 

9 Division of Air Quality's “Alaska’s 2012 Air Monitoring Plan” www.dec.state.ak.us/air/am/am_airmonplan.htm.  
10 Division of Air Quality’s “Quality Assurance Project Plan for the State of Alaska Air Monitoring & Quality 
Assurance Program”  http://www.dec.state.ak.us/air/doc/ADEC_AMQA_QAPP_23FEB10-final.pdf 

11 EPA’s “Advance Notice of Proposed Rulemaking on Lead Emissions from Piston-Engine Aircraft Using Leaded 
Aviation Gasoline”, dated April 28, 2010.  
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• §110(a)(2)(C) “include a program to provide for the enforcement of the measures 
described in subparagraph (A) and regulation of the modification and construction 
of any stationary source within the areas covered by the plan as necessary to assure 
that national ambient air quality standards are achieved, including a permit program 
as required in parts C and D” 

 
DEC’s statutory authority to regulate stationary sources via an air permitting program is 
established in AS 46.14 Air Quality Control, Article 01, General Regulations and Classifications; 
and Article 02, Emission Control Permit Program.  The DAQ’s Air Permits Program issues air 
discharge permits for stationary sources according to the following regulations:  
   

• Construction permit for new or modified construction projects (18 AAC 50.302); 
• Prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) permit (18 AAC 50.306); 
• Non-attainment area major stationary source permit (18 AAC 50.311); and 

 • Minor Permits (18 AAC 50 Article 5). 

DEC’s PSD and Minor New Source Review Programs were approved by EPA on August 14, 
2007 (72 FR 45378).  As stated previously, DEC adopted the 2006 PM2.5 24-hour and annual 
NAAQS on April 1, 2010 (see 18 AAC 50.010, as amended through April 13, 2011).  On August 
3, 2011, DEC adopted the PM2.5 Significant Impact Levels (SILs) as published in the Federal 
Register on October 20, 2010 (75 FR 64902); DEC also adopted the PM2.5 source testing 
requirements as specified in Appendix M to 40 C.F.R. Part 51.  The PM2.5 SILs and source test 
requirement regulations became effective on September 17, 2011.  A copy of these regulations 
and SIP amendment were forwarded to EPA Region 10 via a transmittal letter dated October 17, 
2011.   

On April 1, 2010, DEC adopted the 2008 ozone 8-hour NAAQS and the 2008 lead NAAQS (see 
18 AAC 50.010, as amended through September 17, 2011).5 Alaska’s approved PSD/NSR 
program implements the 1997 and 2008 ozone 8-hour NAAQS and relevant requirements of the 
Phase II ozone implementation rule as required in 69 FR 23951 (April 30, 2004) and 70 FR 
71612 (November 29, 2005).  The following regulations have been adopted by the State of 
Alaska, but have not been approved by EPA:  

• Other permit conditions found at 18 AAC 50.346. 
 
Standard and compliance conditions for stationary sources are found in 18 AAC 50.345.  Owner 
requested limits (ORL) and plant-wide applicability limitations (PALs) are regulated according 
to 18 AAC 50.508, 18 AAC 50.540, and 18 AAC 50.542.   Minor permit regulations requiring 
analysis of ambient air quality are found at 18 AAC 50.542(c).   Regulations governing air 
pollution prohibitions are found at 18 AAC 50.045, 18 AAC 50.110, and 18 AAC 50.345(c).  A 
violation of these prohibitions or any permit condition can result in civil actions (AS 46.03.760), 
administrative penalties (AS 46.03.761), or criminal penalties (AS.03.790).   Regulations 
pertaining to compliance orders and enforcement proceedings are found in 18 AAC Chapter 95 
Administrative Enforcement.  
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• §110(a)(2)(D) “contain adequate provisions (i) prohibiting, consistent with the 
provisions of this title, any source or other type of emissions activity within the state 
from emitting any air pollutant in amounts which will (I) contribute significantly to 
nonattainment in, or interfere with maintenance by, any other state with respect to 
any such national primary or secondary ambient air quality standard, or (II) 
interfere with measures required to be included in the applicable implementation 
plan for any other State under part C to prevent significant deterioration of air 
quality or to protect visibility, (ii) insuring compliance with the applicable 
requirements of sections 126 and 115 (relating to interstate and international 
pollution abatement)” 

 
EPA originally approved the actions of DEC to address the provisions of the CAA § 
110(a)(2)(D)(i)&(ii) regarding Alaska Interstate Transport of Pollution for the 1997 ozone 8-
hour NAAQS; and for the 1997 PM2.5 NAAQS on October 15, 2008 (73 FR 60955).   
 
DEC submitted Alaska’s Interstate Transport of Pollution SIP for the 2006 PM2.5 24-hour and 
annual NAAQS; and for the 2008 ozone 8-hour NAAQS in conjunction with Alaska’s Open 
Burn SIP and Alaska’s Regional Haze SIP via a transmittal letter to EPA Region 10, dated 
March 29, 2010. These SIP amendments were intended to meet the regional haze program 
requirements found in 40 CFR §51.308; and also addressed Alaska’s “Finding of Failure to 
Submit State Implementation Plans Required by the 1999 Regional Haze Rule” (74 FR 2392, 
January 15, 2009).  DEC has developed Alaska’s Interstate Transport of Pollution SIP for the 
2008 lead NAAQS and will transmit it to EPA following public comment and adoption, which is 
anticipated to occur later in 2012. 
 
Compliance with CAA §110(a)(2)(D)(i)(I)&(II) requirements is pending EPA’s final approval of 
Alaska’s ozone, PM2.5 and lead Interstate Transport SIP amendments.  DEC concludes that the 
written SIP amendments sufficiently demonstrate that emissions from Alaska do not significantly 
contribute to nonattainment or interfere with maintenance of the 1997 or 2008 ozone NAAQS; 
the 1997 or 2006 PM2.5 NAAQS; or the 2008 lead NAAQS in another state; or interfere with 
measures required to be included in the SIP for any other state to prevent significant 
deterioration of air quality or to protect visibility.  Alaska is not subject to the “Rule to Reduce 
Interstate Transport of Fine Particulate Matter and Ozone” also called the “Interstate Air Quality 
Rule” (see 69 FR 4566, January 30, 2004). 
 
Compliance with CAA §110(a)(2)(D)(ii) requirements is satisfied through the implementation of 
Alaska’s PSD/NSR program originally approved by EPA on February 16, 1995 (60 FR 8943); 
and most recently approved on February 9, 2011 (76 FR 7116).  Alaska’s approved PSD/NSR 
program implements the 1997 and 2008 ozone 8-hour NAAQS and relevant requirements of the 
Phase II ozone implementation rule as required in 69 FR 23951 (April 30, 2004) and 70 FR 
71612 (November 29, 2005).  For PM2.5, DEC has moved forward to implement PM2.5 
requirements within its PSD program.  Initially, DEC relied on EPA’s interim guidance calling 
for the use of PM10 as a surrogate for PM2.5.  DEC recently adopted the PM2.5 SILs and also 
adopted the PM2.5 source testing requirements as specified in Appendix M to 40 C.F.R. Part 51.  
The PM2.5 SILs and source test requirement regulations became effective on September 17, 
2011.  A copy of these regulations and SIP amendment were forwarded to EPA Region 10 via a 
transmittal letter dated October 17, 2011.  
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• §110(a)(2)(E)(i)(ii)(iii) “provide (i) necessary assurances that the state will have 
adequate personnel, funding, and authority under state law to carry out such 
implementation plan”;  “(ii) requirements that the state comply with the 
requirements respecting state boards under section 128”; and “(iii) necessary 
assurances that, where the state has relied on a local or regional government, 
agency, or instrumentality for the implementation of any plan provision, the state has 
responsibility for ensuring adequate implementation of such plan provision”   

 
(i) DEC has implemented CAA requirements and the State Air Quality Control Plan 

since its inception in 1972.  DEC’s statutory and regulatory authorities to implement and enforce 
the State of Alaska’s Air Quality Control Plan are found at AS 46.14.030 and 18 AAC 50.030, 
respectively.    The State of Alaska has adequate personnel, funding and the authority to 
implement the 1997 and 2008 ozone NAAQS; the 1997 and 2006 PM2.5 NAAQS; and the 2008 
lead NAAQS.  The statutory authority for establishing local air pollution control programs is 
found in AS 46.14.400—Local Air Quality Control Programs.   Where local control programs 
are relied upon to meet SIP requirements, DEC insures that the local program has adequate 
resources and documents this in the appropriate SIP sections.   

 
(ii) Alaska’s regulations meeting the intent of CAA §110(a) (2) (E) and CAA §128 

“conflict of interest” phrases are found in AAC Title 2- Administration; Chapter 50- Alaska 
Public Offices Commission: Conflict of Interest, Campaign Disclosure, Legislative Financial 
Disclosure, and Regulations of Lobbying (2 AAC 50.010- 2 AAC 50.920).  Regulations 
concerning financial disclosure are found in Title 2, Chapter 50, Article 1- Public Official 
Financial Disclosure.  A copy of Article 1 is adopted into the State Air Quality Control Plan and 
is included as an appendix to Volume II, Section II.  Alaska’s executive branch ethics regulations 
are found in Title 9- Law; Chapter 52- Executive Branch Code of Ethics (9 AAC 52.010-9 AAC 
52.990).  These regulations are also adopted into the State Air Quality Control Plan and are 
included as an appendix to Volume II, Section II.  DEC is submitting these regulations to meet 
the intent of CAA §110 (a) (2) (E) and CAA §128 for this CAA §110certification and for all 
future CAA §110 certification amendments to the SIP.   
 
There are no state air quality boards in Alaska, however, the DEC Commissioner, as an 
appointed official and the head of an executive agency, is required to file a financial disclosure 
statement annually by March 15th of each year with the Alaska Public Offices Commission 
(APOC).  These disclosures are publically available through APOC’s Anchorage office.   
Alaska’s Public Officials Financial Disclosure Forms and Internet links to Alaska’s financial 
disclosure regulations can be found at the APOC website: http://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/home.html .   

 
(iii) As a matter of policy, DEC encourages the development of strong local air quality 

control programs.  DEC provides technical assistance and regulatory oversight to the MOA, 
FNSB and other local jurisdictions to ensure that the State Air Quality Control Plan and SIP 
objectives are satisfactorily carried out.  As mentioned, DEC has an MOU with the MOA and 
FNSB which allows them to operate air quality control programs in their respective jurisdictions.  
The South Central Clean Air Authority has been established to aid the MOA and the Matanuska-
Susitna Borough in pursuing joint efforts to control emissions and improve air quality in the air-
shed common to the two jurisdictions. 
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DEC has formally commenced SIP planning activities, in cooperation with the FNSB, to update 
Alaska’s SIP to include the FNSB PM2.5 non-attainment area and additional control measures, 
air monitoring and emission inventory work for PM2.5.  Alaska will have three years from the 
designation date (December 14, 2009) to submit a SIP attainment demonstration and adopt 
regulations to ensure that this area will attain the 2006 PM2.5 NAAQS within five years.  The 
MOU may also have to be updated to reflect the changes made to the SIP. 
 

• §110(a)(2)(F) “require, as may be prescribed by the Administrator (i) the installation, 
maintenance, and replacement of equipment, and the implementation of other 
necessary steps by owners or operators of stationary sources to monitor emissions 
from such sources, (ii) periodic reports on the nature and amounts of emissions and 
emissions-related data from such sources, and (iii) correlation of such reports by the 
state agency with any emission limitations or standards established pursuant to this 
Act, which reports shall be available at reasonable times for public inspection”   

 
DEC’s general statutory authority to regulate stationary sources via an air permitting program is 
established in AS 46.14 Air Quality Control, Article 01, General Regulations and Classifications; 
and Article 02, Emission Control Permit Program.  Alaska’s statutes regarding stationary source 
permit reporting requirements, completeness determinations, administrative actions, and stack 
source monitoring requirements are found at AS 46.140 through AS 46.14.180.  DEC’s 
regulatory authority to determine compliance with these statutes is found in 18 AAC 50.200 
Information requests; and 18 AAC 0.201 Ambient air quality investigations.   
 
As stated previously, on April 1, 2010, the State of Alaska adopted into 18 AAC 50, Articles 1 
and 2, the appropriate 40 CFR Part 50 reference and interpretation methods for the 2006 24-hour 
and annual PM2.5; the 2008 8-hour ozone; and the 2008 lead NAAQS.  On August 3, 2011, 
DEC adopted the PM2.5 source testing requirements into 18 AAC 50.220(c), as required in 
Appendix M to 40 C.F.R. Part 51.  Monitoring, reporting, and record keeping requirements for 
permitted stationary sources are found in the standard permit conditions for construction and 
operating permits at 18 AAC 50.345.  Monitoring protocols and test methods for stationary 
sources that have been adopted by reference in the State Air Quality Control Plan are found at 18 
AAC 50.030.  Other documents, procedures and test methods adopted by reference, including the 
federal reference and interpretation methods for the new NAAQS, are found at 18 AAC 50.035.  
Federal standards adopted by reference are found at 18 AAC 50.040.   
 
Alaska has a fully approved PSD/NSR program originally approved on February 16, 1995 (60 
FR 8943), and most recently approved on February 9, 2011 (76 FR 7116).  Alaska’s approved 
program implements the 1997 and 2008 8-hour ozone NAAQS and relevant requirements of the 
Phase II ozone implementation rule as required in 69 FR 23951 (April 30, 2004) and 70 FR 
71612 (November 29, 2005).  For PM2.5, DEC has moved forward to implement PM2.5 
requirements within its PSD program.  Initially, DEC has relied on EPA’s interim guidance 
calling for the use of PM10 as a surrogate for PM2.5.  DEC recently adopted (August 3, 2011) 
the PM2.5 SILs; DEC also adopted the PM2.5 source testing requirements.  The PM2.5 SILs and 
source test requirement regulations became effective September 17, 2011.  A copy of these 
regulations and SIP amendment were forwarded to EPA Region 10 via a transmittal letter dated 
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October 17, 2011.   Ambient air quality and meteorological data that are collected for PSD 
purposes by stationary sources are reported to DEC on a quarterly and annual basis.  

 
• §110(a) (2) (G) “provide for authority comparable to that in section 303 and adequate 

contingency plans to implement such authority” 
 

DEC’s regulatory authority to act during air episodes is found at 18 AAC 50.245.  This authority 
is promulgated under the following statutes: AS 46.03.020; AS 46.03.820; AS 46.14.010; AS 
46.14.020, AS 46.14.030 and 46.14.540.   
 

At the present time (winter 2012),  DEC is working to update its regulations found at 18 AAC 
50.245 Table 6 “Concentrations Triggering an Air Episode” to include provisions at least as 
stringent as (or more stringent than) EPA’s recommended, interim, PM2.5 Significant Harm 
Levels (SHLs) for triggering an Air Alert, Air Warning and Air Emergency.12

 

  Also in this 
regulations package, DEC plans to amend 18 AAC 50.245(a), (b) and (c) to give local air quality 
control programs, recognized by the State of Alaska, the authority to declare air quality episodes 
and advisories and to take action.  Release of these regulations for public review is pending 
approval within the Department.  Following public comment and legal review, these provisions 
will be finalized and submitted to EPA for action and inclusion in Alaska’s federally approved 
SIP.  In the interim, DEC can and does issue air advisories under 18 AAC 50.245 to address 
PM2.5 episodes when air quality conditions warrant action. 

The three major municipalities in Alaska (MOA, FNSB, and CBJ) also have ordinances, codes, 
or regulations that enable them to declare emergencies in the case of poor air quality due to 
forest fires, volcanoes, wood smoke or other air quality problem.  DEC will work with the FNSB 
to develop a Emergency Episode Contingency Plan for PM2.5 for the FNSB nonattainment area 
as outlined in 40 CFR Subpart H- Prevention of Air Pollution Emergency Episodes, and in 
Appendix L to Subpart 51 “Example Regulations for Prevention of Air Pollution Emergency 
Episodes”.  DEC personnel remain in close contact with each municipality when an air 
emergency is declared, assisting with air monitoring and analysis, and implementing safety and 
control measures, as needed.    
 

• §110(a)(2)(H) “provide for revision of such plan (i) from time to time as may be 
necessary to take account of revisions of such national primary or secondary ambient 
air quality standard or the availability of improved or more expeditious methods of 
attaining such standard, and (ii) except as provided in paragraph (3)(C), whenever 
the Administrator finds on the basis of information available to the Administrator 
that the plan is substantially inadequate to attain the national ambient air quality 
standard which it implements, or to otherwise comply with any additional 
requirements established under this Act” 

 
DEC’s statutory authority to adopt regulations in order to implement the CAA and the state air 
quality control program is found in AS 46.03.020(10) (A), and AS 46.14.010(a).  DEC’s 

12 EPA’s Attachment B: Recommended Interim Significant Harm level, Priority Levels, and Action Levels for 
PM2,5 Emergency Episode Plans, in EPA’s “Guidance on SIP Elements Required Under Sections 110(a) (1) and (2) 
for the 2006 24-hour PM2.5 NAAQS”, dated September 25, 2009. 
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regulatory authority to implement any provision of the CAA is found in 18 AAC 50.010.  DEC 
strives to establish regulations and update Alaska’s SIP in a timely fashion as new NAAQS are 
promulgated by EPA.   

 
• §110(a) (2) (J) “meet the applicable requirements of section 121 (relating to 

consultation)”; “meet the applicable requirements of… section 127 (relating to 
public notification)”; and “meet the applicable requirements of … part C (relating to 
prevention of significant deterioration of air quality and visibility protection)” 

 
· CAA Title I, Part A §121 Consultation Requirements: DEC’s statutory 

authority to consult and cooperate with officials of local governments, state and federal 
agencies, and non-profit groups is found in AS 46.030.020 (3), (8).   Municipalities and local air 
quality districts seeking approval for a local air quality control program shall enter into a 
cooperative agreement with DEC according to AS 46.14.400(d).  DEC can adopt new CAA 
regulations only after a public hearing (AS 46.14.010(a)).   

 
· CAA Title I, Part A §127 Public Notification Requirements: Public notice 

and public hearing regulations for SIP submittals and air quality discharge permits are found at 
18 AAC 15.050 and 18 AAC 15.060.   

 
· CAA Title I, Part C PSD & Visibility Protection:  Alaska has a fully 

approved PSD/NSR program originally approved on February 16, 1995 (60 FR 8943), and most 
recently approved on February 9, 2011 (76 FR 7116).  Alaska’s approved program implements 
the 1997 and 2008 8-hour ozone NAAQS and relevant requirements of the Phase II ozone 
implementation rule as required in 69 FR 23951 (April 30, 2004) and 70 FR 71612 (November 
29, 2005).  For PM2.5, DEC has moved forward to implement PM2.5 requirements within its 
PSD program.  Initially, DEC has relied on EPA’s interim guidance calling for the use of PM10 
as a surrogate for PM2.5.  DEC recently adopted (August 3, 2011) the PM2.5 SILs; DEC also 
adopted the PM2.5 source testing requirements.  The PM2.5 SILs and source test requirement 
regulations became effective September 17, 2011.  A copy of these regulations and SIP 
amendment were forwarded to EPA Region 10 via a transmittal letter dated October 17, 2011.  
 
DEC submitted Alaska’s Regional Haze SIP and Open Burn SIP in conjunction with Alaska’s 
Interstate Transport of Pollution SIP for the 2006 PM2.5 NAAQS and for the 2008 ozone 
NAAQS via a transmittal letter to EPA Region 10, dated March 29, 2010. These SIP 
amendments were intended to meet the regional haze program requirements found in 40 CFR 
§51.308; and also addressed Alaska’s “Finding of Failure to Submit State Implementation Plans 
Required by the 1999 Regional Haze Rule” (74 FR 2392, January 15, 2009).  Compliance with 
CAA Title 1, Part C requirements is pending EPA’s final approval of Alaska’s Regional Haze, 
Open Burn, and Interstate Transport (ozone, PM2.5) SIP submissions.  DEC concludes that there 
are no new visibility protection obligations under CAA §110(a) (2) (J) as a result of the 2008 
lead NAAQS.  Alaska is not subject to the “Rule to Reduce Interstate Transport of Fine 
Particulate Matter and Ozone” also called the “Interstate Air Quality Rule” (see 69 FR 4566, 
January 30, 2004). 
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• §110(a) (2) (K) “provide for: (i) the performance of such air quality modeling as the 
Administrator may prescribe for the purpose of predicting the effect on ambient air 
quality of any emissions of any air pollutant for which the Administrator has 
established a national ambient air quality standard, and (ii) the submission, upon 
request, of data related to such air quality modeling to the Administrator” 

 
Air quality modeling by DEC is conducted under 18 AAC 50.215(b), ambient air quality analysis 
methods.  Estimates of ambient concentrations and visibility impairment must be based on 
applicable air quality models, databases, and other requirements specified in the EPA's Guideline 
on Air Quality Models adopted by reference in 18 AAC 50.040(f).  This regulation allows some 
provisions to exclude concentrations attributable to temporary construction activity for a new or 
modified source, or to new sources outside the United States.   
 
DEC is currently (winter 2012) updating the baseline dates and maximum allowable increases 
for PM2.5, found in 18 AAC 50.020, to account for the 2006 PM2.5 NAAQS revisions.  Pending 
Department approval, it is anticipated that the PM2.5 baseline date and maximum allowable 
increase regulation revisions will be released for public notice during the winter of 2012.  These 
regulations will be finalized and submitted to EPA for action and inclusion in Alaska’s federally 
approved SIP following public comment and legal review.  

 
• §110(a)(2)(L) “require the owner or operator of each major stationary source to pay 

to the permitting authority, as a condition of any permit required under this Act, a fee 
sufficient to cover (i) the reasonable costs of reviewing and acting upon any 
application for such a permit, and  (ii) if the owner or operator receives a permit for 
such source, the reasonable costs of implementing and enforcing the terms and 
conditions of any such permit (not including any court costs or other costs associated 
with any enforcement action), until such fee requirement is superseded with respect 
to such sources by the Administrator's approval of a fee program under title V” 

 
DEC’s statutory authority to assess and collect permit fees is established in AS 46.14.240 and 
AS 46.14.250.  The permit fees for permitting major and minor stationary sources are assessed 
and collected by the Air Permits Program according to 18 AAC Article 4. User Fees (18 AAC 
50.400 through 18 AAC 50.430).  The Air Permits Program is required to evaluate emission fee 
rates at least every four years, and provide a written evaluation of the findings (AS 46.14.250(g); 
18 AAC 50.410).  The Division’s most recent emission fee evaluation report was completed in 
October 2010.  The Division’s next emission fee review is scheduled for 2014.   

 
• §110(a) (2) (M) “provide for consultation and participation by local political 

subdivisions affected by the plan”. 
 
DEC has the statutory authority to consult and cooperate with officials and representatives of any 
organization in the state; and persons, organization, and groups, public and private using, served 
by, interested in, or concerned with the environment of the state (46.03.020 (3) (A)(B)).   
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2 AAC 50.010 AlAslc, APMINISTIIATIVK Core 2 AAC 50.010

Editor’s note: As of Register 78 the
Alaska Public Offices Commission regul:I
tions which were formerly located in 6
MC 29 nip 5mw locale,1 in 2 MC 50. in

SecUon
10. Reporting sources 01 income from to’

tail businesses
IS. IRepealedi
20. Reporting interests in real property
25. Reporting sources of income from

rental property
30. Duty to re1ion h.mily member finon.

cml affairs
36. Duty to report concluded business

interests
40. Loan,, loan guarantees, and indebt’

edness
50. (Repealed)
60. Write.in candidates
70. Income
75. Reporting sources of income from

gifts
80. Controlling interest in a corporation
90. Municipalities as instrumentalities

of the state
95. Reporting sources of income from

self.emp ny men I
lao. Exemption from reporting novae of

individual as a source of income
102. Commission consideration ofexemp’

Lion requests

light ofExecutive Order No.41(1980). The
history notes under the sections in their
new location carry forward the history of
these provisions from their old location.

Seetion
105. Filing
107. Thking office
108. Notice of filing requirement
110. Civil penalty for late or incomplete

statements from filers other than
municipal officers

112. Diap.,tessioamousstofcivilpenalty
115. Procedures for late statements froni

executive branch public officiab
120. Procedures for late statements from

judicial officers
125. (Repealed)
126. (Repealed)
127. 1%cedures for incomplete elate

ments from candidates for state
elective olIicc

130. (Repeoled)
135. Civil penalty assessments for late

filing by municipal officers
140. Procedures for incomplete state

menla from candidates for elective
municipal office

143. Corrected incomplete statements
145. (Repealed)
200. Definitions

Chapter 50. Alaska Public Offices Commission:
Conflict of Interest, Campaign Disclosure,

Legislative Financial Disclosure, and
Regulation of

Lobbying.

An it Ic
I. Public Official Financial D,sclosur (2 AAC 50,010 2 AAC 50.200i
2. Campaign Disclosure t2 MC 50,250 2 MC 50.405
3. Alnslca Public Oflins Cnmmission complaints and Investigotiona (2 MC 50.450

2MG 50.470’
4. Iteguletion of Lobbying (2 MC 50. .05 2 MC 50.545
5. Legislative Financial Disclosure 2 AAC 50705 2 MC 50.890
6. Genenil l’rovisinns 12 AAC 50.905 2 MC 50.9)i

ArticJe 1. Public Official Financial Disclosure.

2 AM) 50.010. Reporting sources of income from retail busi
nesses. For the purposes of reporting a source of income under

290
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2 A.AC 50,015 AInhINs’rlMTIoN 2 AAC 50.025

AS 39.50.030(b), a filer shall report the name
(1) and address of a source of income that isa retail business; and
(2) of a customer of a retail business that is a source of income, if

the customer
(A) conducted business with the retail business through a line

of credit that extended through two or more billing cycles;
(B) had an ongoing contract to purchase goods or services from

the retail business; or
(C) paid the retail business more than $1000 for a good or

service after receiving a discount that was not available to the
general public. (El!. 8/20/75, Register 55; am 5/16/76, Register 58;
am 1/26/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 1)1)2001,
Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 AS 39.50.050

2 AAC 50.015. Reporting sources of income from political
campaigns and gifts for office expenses. RepeaLed. (Eff. 1)26/86,
Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; repealed 1/1/2001, Register 156)

2 AAC 50.020. Reporting interests in real property. For the
purposes of reporting the identity and nature of an interest in real
property underAS 39.50.030(b), a filer shall report a descriptLon of the
nature of the interest held in the property nnd the address or other
legal description of the property. (El!. 5/16/76, Register 58; am 7/20/95,
Register 135; am 1/1/2001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 \S .19. ,0.050

2 AAC 50.025. Reporting sources of income from rental prop
erty. For the purposes of reporting a source of income under
AS 39.50.030(b) from rental property located

(1) within the state, a filer shaLl report the name of a person that
paid more than $1000 in rent during the preceding calendar year;
and

(2) outside the state and managed by a
(A) filer or the filer’s family member, the filer shall report the

name of a person that paid more than $1000 in rent during the
preceding calendar year; or

(B) person other than a filer or the filer’s family member, the
filer shall report the name of the manager. (El!. 7/20/95, Register
135; am 1/1)2001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 AS 39.50.050
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2 AAC 50.030 Ajjsi<. ADMINIwFIt%rn’E CooK 2 AAC 50.060

2 AAC 50.030. Duty to report tanDy member financial .f
fairs. For the p4irposes of reporting information on the financial affairs
of a filer’s family member, the filer shall

(1) make an affirmative good faith effort to ascertain the informa
tion; and

(2) report the information that the filer knows. (Eff. 6116/76,
Register 58; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 1)1)2001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.010 AS 39.50.050

2 AM) 50.035. Duty to report concluded business interests.
For the purposes of reporting information under AS 39.50.030(b) on a
business ownership interest that is no longer held but was held during
the preceding calendar year by a filer or the filers family member, the
fiLer shalL

(1) make an affirmative good faith effort to ascertain the informa
tion; and

(2) report the information that the filer knows. (Eff. 7/20/95,
Register 135; am 1/1/2001, Register 156)

Authority AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 AS 39.50.050

2 AM) 50.040. Loans, loan guarantees, and indebtedness.
(a) For the purposes of reporting a creditor under AS 39.50.030(b), a
filer need not report a retail charge account creditor, revolving charge
account creditor, or credit card creditor

(b) As used in AS 39.50.030(b) and this section, “loan or loan
guarantee” includes a business or personal

(1) loan signed or cosigned by a filer or the filer’s family member;
and

(2) loan guarantee made on behalf of a filer or the filer’s family
member. (Eli’. 5/16/76, Register 58; am 5/14/80, Register 74; am
1126186, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 11112001, Register
156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 AS 39.50.050

2 AAC 50.060. Retail charge accounts, Repealed. (Eff. 5/16/76,
Register 58; repealed 7/20/95, Register 135)

Editor’s note: As of Raging, 135, Oc.
tober 1995. the substance of fon,,er 2AAC
50.060 is inciuded in 2 AAC 50.040.

2 AM) 60.060. Write-in candidates. A public statement by an
individual not appearing on the ballot that he will seek elective office
constitutes a declaration of candidacy under AS 39.50.020. (Eff.
5/16/76, Register 58; am 5/14180, Register 74)

292

21



2 AAC 50.070 AUIIINISFILA’ru1N 2 AAC 50.096

Authority: AS 15 13030(101 AS 19.50.020

2 AAC 50.070. Income. As used inAS 39.50 and 2 AAC 50.010
2 AAC 50,200, ‘income includes money or anything of value received

(1) in exchange for labor or services;
(2) from the sale of goods or property;
(3) as profit from a financial investment;
(4) as alimony;
(5) as chiid support;
(6) as a government entitlement;
(7) as an honorarium; or
(8) as a gift. (Eff. 5/16/76, Register 58; am 7/20/95, Register 135;

am 1)1)2001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 AS J9.50.050

2 AAC 50A175. Reporting sources of income from gifts. For the
purposes of reporting a source of income under AS 39.50.030(b), a filer
shall report the name of the donor of a gift or a series of gifts if the

(1) value of the gift or the cumulative value of the series of gifts
from the donor is over $250;

(2) gift or series of gifts is received by the filer or the filer’s family
member; and

(3) donor is not related to the recipient as a spouse, spousal
equivalent, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, aunt, uncle, niece, or
nephew. (Eff. 7/20/95, Register 135; am 1)112001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 /sS 39.50.030 AS 39.50.060

2 AAC 50.060. Controlling interest in a corporation. As used

inAS 39.50 and 2 AAC 50.010—2 AAC 50.200, “controlling interest”

in a corporation means ownership of more than 50 percent interest or
more than 50 percent of the outstanding shares at any time during the
preceding calendar year. (ElF. 5/16/76, Register 58; am 7/20/95, Regis
ter 135; am 1)112001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.050 AS 39.50.200

2 AAC 50.09a Municipalities as instnnnentalities of the
state. In AS 39.50.200(5), “instrumentality of the state” includes
municipalities. (5ff, 5/16176, Register 58)

Aathorit3n AS 15.13.030(15) AS 39,50.200(5)

2 AAC 50,095. Reporting sources of income from self-employ
ment For the purposes of reporting a source of income under
AS 39.50.030(5) from self-employment, a filer shall list the name of a
non-retail customer, client, or patient of a

293
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2 AAC 50.100 ALASKA ADMiNiStk.TR’K Coin 2 AAC S0.100

(1) sole proprietorship, partnership, or professional corporation inwhich the filer or the filer’s family member is an owner, partner, orshareholder; or
(2) corporation in which the filer, the filer’s family member, or acombination of these individuals owns a controlling interest. (Eff.7/20/95, Register 135; am 1/1/2001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 1513030 AS 39.50.050 AS 39.50.200
AS 39.50030

2 AAC 60.100. Exemption from reporting name of individual
as a source of income, (a) A filer who seeks an exemption from therequirement to report the name of a source of income underAS 39.541030(b) or 2 AAC 50.010 — 2 AAC 50.200 shall request theexemption from the commission.

(b) ‘lb request an exemption under (a) of this section, a filer shall file
a written request for exemption with the statement for which theexemption is requested. The written request for exemption must be on
a form prescribed by the commission and must, for a name for which anexemption is requested,

(1) state the facts that support the exemption; and
(2) identi& the exemption circumstances under (c) — (j) of thissection that applies to the request.

(c) A filer may request a mental health practice exemption if duringthe preceding calendar year the
(1) filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liabilitypartnership, professional corporation, or corporation in which amental health practitioner, including a psychiatrist, psychologist, ortherapist, worked;
(2) source of income was an individual who received mental

health services from the mental health practitioner; and
(3) income was received as payment for the mental health ser

vices.
(d) A filer may request a sensitive medical practice exemption if

during the preceding calendar year
(1) the filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liabilitypartnership, professional corporation, or corporation;
(2) at least 67 percent of the patients of the sole proprietorship,partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corporation,

or corporation consisted of individuals who
(A) received medical services related to abortion, contraception,

reproductive health, a sexual disorder, or a terminal illness from
the sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability partnership,professional corporation, or corporation;
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2 AAC 50.100 Al,IINIsrwTIoN 2 AAC 50.100

(B) were minors, and who, unknown to their parents or legal
guardians, received medical services from the sole proprietorship.
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpora
tion, or corporation; or

(C) were married, and who, unknown to their spouses, receive]
medical services from the sole proprietorship, partnership, limited
liability partnership, professional corporation, or corporation;
(3) the source of income was an individual who received medical

services of any nature from the sole proprietorship, partnership,
limited liability partnership, professionaL corporation, or corpora
tion; and

(4) the income was received as payment for the medical services.
(e) A filer may request a sensitive medical procedure exemption if

during the preceding caLendar year the
(1) filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation;

(2) source of income was an individual who received medical
services related to abortion, contraception, reproductive health, a
sexual disorder, or a terminal illness from the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corporation,
or corporation; and

(3) income was received as payment for the medical services.
(0 A fiLer may request an embarrassing medical procedure exeinp

tLon if during the preceding caLendar year
(1) the filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation;

(2) the source of income was a
(A) minor who, unknown to a parent or legal guardian of the

minor, received medical services from the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpora
tion, or corporation; or

(B) married individual who, unknown to the individual’s
spouse, received medical services from the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpora
tion, or corporation;
(3) the income was received as payment for the medical services;

and
(4) reporting the name of the source of incocne would tend to cause

a reasonable person in the situation of the source of income substan
tial concern, anxiety, or embarrassment.
(g) A filer may request a legal services practice exemption if during

the preceding calendar year
(1) the filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
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2 AAC 50.102 AlASKA AnMlNIgn&r1vK CODE 2 AAC 50.102

partnership, professional corporation, or corporation where an attor
ney worked;

(2) at least 67 percent or more of the clients of the sole proprietor
ship, partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpo
ration, or corporation consisted of individuals who were

(A) minors, and who, unknown to their parents or legal guard
ians, received professional legal services from the attorney; or

(B) married, and who, unknown to their spouses, received
professional legal services from the attorney;
(3) the source of income was an individual who received legal

services of any nature from the sole proprietorship, partnership,
limited liability partnership, professional corporation, or corpora
tion; and

(4) the income was received as payment for the professional legal
services.
(h) A filer may request a legal services exemption if

(1) the filer or the filers family member was an owner, partner, or
shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation where an attor
ney worked;

(2) the source of income was a
(A) minor who, unknown to a parent or legal guardian of the

minor, received professional legal services from the attorney; or
(B) married individual who, unknown to the individual’s

spouse, received professional legal services from the attorney;
(3) the income was received as payment for the professional legal

services; and
(4) reporting the name of the source of income would tend to cause

a reasonable person in the situation of the source of income substan
tial concern, anxiety, or embarrassment.
(i) A filer may request a filer prohibition exemption if the filer is

prohibited by law from reporting the name of a source of income.
(j) Afiler may request a right of source exemption if the filer believes

that reporting the name of a source of income would violate a right of
the source under the state or federal constitution. (Eff. 9/9/78, Register
67; am 5/14/80, Register 74; am 1/26/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95,
Register 135; am 1/1/2001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.035 AS 39.60.OSG
AS 3960.030

2 AAC 50.102. Commission consideration of exemption re
quests. (a) For an exemption circumstance under 2 AAC 50.100(c),
(d), (e), (g), or (i), and no later than 30 days after the commission
receives a written exemption request that complies with 2 AAC
50.100(b), the staff of the commission shall
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2 AAC 50102 Aimiisisric.vrits 2 AM.. 50.102

(1) grant the request, if the facts stated in the request ati lv I he
exemption circumstance upon which the request relies; intl

(2) send to the filer, at the address on file with the Comm’s. Oil. a

written notice of the staffs decision to grant or deny the e’cciliIltlun.
(hi If under (a) of this section the staff of the commission grant, a

request, the filer need not report the name of the source of the in”onw
for which the request is made. If the stall denies the request, [lie filer
shall, no later than 30 days after the date of the staffs written noun’
under (a) of this section,

(1) report the name of the source of income as required under
AS 39.50.030; or

(2) fiLe with the commission a notice of appeal, which
(A) must contain the information described in 2 AAC 50 101) hi;
(8) must expinin why the filer believes that the staff erred ii,

denying the filer’s request for exemption; and
(C) may include additional information that the filer consnlcrs

appropriate.

(c) If the filer does not file a timely written notice of appeal under h)
of this section, the decision by the staff of the commission is final, and
may not be appealed to the commission.

(d) If the filer fiLes a timely notice of appeal under (b) of this section.
the commission wiLl hear the appeal at the next scheduled meeting of
the commission, unless the commission, in its discretion, finds good
cause to hear the appeal at a different meeting. At the hearing, an
attorney may represent the filer. Unless the commission provides
otherwise, the filer shall present the filer’s case first, and the stalTof
the commission shaLl present its case next. Alter the hearing. the
commission will grant or deny the request for an exemption.

(e) For an exemption circumstance under 2 AAC 50.100(1), (h), or

(fl and no later than 30 days after the comlilission receives a Written

exemption request that complies with 2 AAC 50.100(1 ), the staff of the
commission shalL

(1) determine whether the facts stated in the request satisfy the
requirements of the exemption circumstance upon which the request
relies;

(2) make a preliminary finding, which recommends that the
commission grant or deny the request;

(3) send to the filer, at the address on file with the commission, a
written notice of the preliminary finding; and

(4) submit the preliminary finding to the commission for action
under (I) of this section.
If) After the staff of the commission has submitted a preliminary

finding made under (e) of this section, the commission will
(1) review the preliminary finding at the next scheduled meetinu

of the commission, unless the commission, in its discretion, finds
good cause to review the finding at a different nieeting; and
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(2) accept, reject, or modify the preliminary finding.
(g) No later than 30 days after reviewing a notice of appeal under (d)

of this section or a preliminary finding under (U of this section, the
commission will send to the filer, at the address on file with the
commission, written notice of the commission’s final decision and an
order granting or denying the request for exemption.

(h) If under (g) of this section the commission
(1) grants a request for exemption, the filer need not report the

name of the source of income; and
(2) denies a request for exemption, the filer shall

(A) report the name of the source of income as required under
AS 39.50.030 no later than 30 days after the date of the commis
sion’s order; or

(B) file a notice of appeal under AS 44.62.560.
(I) If while considering a request for exemption the commission or

the staff of the commission determines that information that the
commission or the staff has received is protected by a state or federal
constitutional right or is legally privileged, the commission and the
staff will keep the information confidential, without regard to whether
the filer claims the right or privilege.

(j) A filer does not violate AS 39.50 or 2 AAC 50.010 — 2 AAC
50.200 for failure to report the name of a source of income if the filer
has requested an exemption under 2 AAC 50.100 and

(1) the commission has not issued a written final decision and
order regarding a preliminary finding that the staff of the commis
sion has submittal under (e) of this section: or

(2) a notice of appeal that the filer has submitted under (b) or (h
of this section is under review. (Eff. 7/20/95, Register 135)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.035 AS 39.50.050
AS 39.50.030

2 AAC 50.105. Filing. (a) The public officials named in
AS 39.50.200(a) who are required to file a statement under
AS 39.50.020 shall file the statement with an office of the commission
by hand delivery, mail, or facsimile.

(b) A candidate for state elective office who is required to file a
statement with the director of elections under AS 39.50.020 shall file
the statement as the director of elections provides.

(c) A municipal officer or a candidate for elective municipal office
who is required to file a statement with the municipal clerk or another
municipal official under AS 39.50.020 shall file the statement as the
clerk or municipal official provides.

(d) If an individual who is subject to (a) of this section files a
statement by hand delivery or facsimile, the date of filing is the date on
which an office of the commission receives the statement. If the
individual files a statement by mail, the date of filing is the date of the
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postmark. If a statement filed by nail has a postmark on which the
date is missing or illegible, the date of the postmark is rebuttably
presumed to be 10 calendar days before the tinte on which the
statement is received.

(e) If a filer is required to file more than one statement under
AS 39.50.020, the filer shall file a statement at each place designated
in AS 39.50.020. A filer may file a copy of a current statement. The filer
shall sign the copy. (ElY. 9/9/78, Register 67; am 5/14/80, Register 74;
am 1/26/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 11112001,
Register 156)

Authodty AS 15.1I.030 AS 19.50.020 AS 39.50.050

2 AAC 50.101. Taking office. As used in AS 39.50.0’20(a), “within
30 days after taking office” means within 30 days after the earlier of
the following days:

(1) the day on which the filer first earns compensation for work;
(2) the day on which the filer takes the oath of office, (ElY. 7/20/95,

Register 135)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50,020 AS 39.50.050

2 AAC 60.108. Notice of filing requirement. (a) If the stall’ of
the commission determines that an executive branch public official or
a judicial officer must file a statement under AS 39.50.020, the staff
shall send a written notice to the individual at the address on file with
the commission.

(b) The staff of the commission shall provide each municipality a
copy of the statement form and instruction manual for each municipal
officer and candidate subject to AS 39.50. (ElY. 7120/95, Register 135;
am 1/112001, Register 156)

Authority. AS 15. 13030 AS 39.50220 AS 39.50,050

2 AAC 50.110. Civil penalty for late or incomplete statements
from filers other than municipal officers. (a) Except as provided
under 2 AAC 50. 143, the staff of the commission shall assess a civil
penalty under AS 39.50.135 against a filer other than a municipal
officer on each day that the filer’s statement is late. A statement is late
or incomplete if it is not complete and filed

(1) 30 days after the commission sends notice under 2 AAC
50.108, for an initial statement from an executive branch public
official or judicial officer; and

(2) March 15, for an annual statement.
(b) For s statement required because a filer is an executive branch

public official, candidate ror state elective office, or judicial officer, the
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staffof the commission shall assess the civil penalty against the filer as
follows:

(1) $5 per late day through the first 15 days of lateness;
(2) $10 per late day for the 16th and subsequent days of lateness.

Cc) Notwithstanding (b) of this section, the staff of the commission
may recommend that the commission assess $10 per day for each day
that a statement is late if a filer other than a municipal officer has

(1) failed to comply substantially with AS 39.50 or 2 AAC 50.010
— 2 AAC 50.200 by failing to report in the filer’s statement a major
source of income, interest in real property, business interest, loan,
trust, or other substantial financial interest; or

(2) continuously failed to comply with AS 39.50 or 2 MC 50.010
— 2 AAC 50.200 by failing to respond fully and within the time
prescribed to a written request from the commission or the staff for
further information.
(d) A civil penalty assessed under (b) or (c) of this section is due each

day that it is assessed. (Eff. 9/9/78, Register 67; am 5/14/80, Register
74; am 1125/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 111)2001,
Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.60.050 AS 39.50.135
AS 39,50.020

2 AAC 60.112. Dispute as to amount of civil penalty. (a) If a
filer disputes the amount of a civil penalty assessed under 2 AAC
50.110(b) or 2 AAC 50,135(e), the filer may submit to the commission
an affidavit stating thcts in mitigation within 30 days of the date of the
notice described in 2 AAC 50.115(e), 2 AAC 60.120(e), or 2 AAC
50.135(e). At its next meeting after the filer submits the affidavit, the
commission will consider the affidavit and other evidence relevant to
the amount of the civil penalty, unless the commission, in its discre
tion, finds reason to consider the affidavit at a different meeting. The
commission will permit the filer to speak at the meeting. After
considering the affidavit and other evidence, the commission will

(1) affirm the civil penalty if the commission determines that the
statement was late without good cause; or

(2) reduce or waive the civil penalty if the commission determines
that the statement was late for good cause.
(b) No later than 60 days after a meeting described in (a) of this

section, the staff of the commission shall send a written notice of the
decision by the commission to the filer at the address on file with the
commission.

Cc) If the commission decides to impose some or all of a civil penalty
assessed under 2 AAC 50.110(b) or 2 AAC 50.135(e), the ifier shall

(1) pay the penalty no later than 30 days after the date of the
notice described in (b) of this section; or
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(2) file a notice ofappeal underAS 39.50.135 orAS 44.62.560. (KiT.
7/20/95, Register 135)

Authority: AS IS 13O:k) AS 19.50.054)

AS (9.50.020

2 AAC 50.115. Procedures for late statements from executive

branch public omcials. (a) lithe annual statement of an executive
branch public official is late for eight days, the staff of the commission
shall send a written notice to the executive branch public official at the
address on file with the commission. The notice must state

(1) that the statement has not been filed;
(2) the date on which the statement was due;
(3) that refusal or failure to file

(A) is punishable as a misdemeanor offense; and
(B) on or before the 30th day of lateness will cause the commis

sion to
(i) request the governor to remove the executive branch

public officiaL from office under AS 39.50.060 — 39.50.080,11 the
executive branch public official is not the governor or the
lieutenant governor;

(ii) request the state agency that administers the salary, per
diem, and travel expenses of the executive branch public official
to withhold those payments under AS 39.50.070, 39.50.080, or
39.50. 130;

(iii) request the attorney general to initiate misdemeanor
proceedings under AS 39.50.060 — 39.50.080 or 39.50.130: and

(iv) take other action as appropriate to carry out AS 39.50.060
— 39.50.080 or 39.50.130;

(4) the amount of the civiL penalty assessed to date under 2 AAC

50.110;
(5) that the civil penalty assessed under 2 AAC 50.110 increases

until the statement is filed; and
(6) the right of appeal under AS 39.50.135 and 2 AAC 50.112.

b) If the nnnual statement of an executive branch public officiaL is
late for 22 days, the staff of the commission shall send a written notice
to the executive branch public official at the address on tile with the
commission. The notice must include the information included in a
notice sent under (a) of this section.

(c) If the annual statement of an executive branch public official has
been late for 30 days, the staff of the commission shall

(1) send a written notice to the executive branch public offitinl at
the address on file with the commission; the notice must include the
information included in a notice sent under (a) of this section;

(2) noti& the commission that the statement has been late for 30
days; and
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(3) under the direction of the commission, take other action as
appropriate to carry out AS 39.50.060 — 39.50.080 and 39.50.130.
(d) If the aonual statement of an executive branch public official is

late for 30 days, the commission will
(1) request the governor to remove the official from office under

AS 39.50060 — 39.50.080 unless the official is the governor or
lieutenant governor;

(2) request the state agency that administers the salaty, per diem,
and travel expeoses of the executive branch public official to with
hold those payments under AS 39.50.070. 39.50.080, or 39.50.130;

(3) request the attorney general to initiate misdemeanor proceed
ings under AS 39.50.060 — 39.50.080 or 39.50.130; and

(4) take other action as appropriate to carry out AS 39.50.060 —

39.50.080 or 39.50.130.
(e If an executive branch public official files a statement after the

date applicable to that official under AS39.SO.020(a), the staff of the
commission shall send a written notice to the executive branch public
official at the address on file with the commission. The notice must
state the

(1) amount of the civil penalty assessed under 2 AAC 50.110; and
(2) right of appeal under AS 39.50.135 and 2 AAC 50.112. (Eff.

9/9/78, Register 67; am 10/18/81, Register 80; am 1)26/86, Register
97; am 7/20/95, Register 135)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.060 AS 39.50.080
AS 39.50.020 AS 39.50.070 AS 39.50.130
AS 39.50.050

2 AAC 50,120. Procedures for late statements from judicial
officers. (a) If the annual statement of a judicial officer is late for
eight days, the staff of the commission shall send a written notice to
the judicial officer at the address on file with the commission. The
notice must state

(1) that the statement has not been filed;
(2) the date on which the statement was due;
(3) that refusal or failure to file

(A) is punishable as a misdemeanor offense; and
(B) on or before the 30th day of lateness will cause the commis

sion to
(i) request the administrator of the court system to withhold

salary, per diem, and travel expense payments to the judicial
officer under AS 39.50.110;

(ii) request the Commission on Judicial Conduct to refer the
matter to the supreme court with a recommendation that the
judicial officer be removed from office under AS 39.50.110;

(iii) request the attorney general to initiate misdemeanor
proceedings under AS 39.50.060 or 39.50.110; and

302

I

31



2 AAC 50.125 At,iisis’rwvru’s 2 AAC 50.125

(iv) take other action as appropriate to carry outAS :39.50.060

or 39.50.110;
(4) the amount of the civil penalty assessed to date under 2 AAC

50.110;
(5) that the civil penalty assessed under 2 AAC 50.110 increases

until the statement is filed; and
(6) the right of appeal under AS 39.50.135 and 2 AAC 50.112.

(b) If the annual statement of a judicial officer is late for 22 days. the
staffof the commission shall send a written notice to thejudicial officer
at the address on file with the commission. The notice must include the
information included in a notice seat under (a) of this section.

(c) If the annual statement ofajudicial officer is late for 30 days, the
staff of the commission shall

(1) send a written notice to the judicial ufficer at the address on
File with the commission: the notice must include the information
included in a notice sent under (a) of this section;

(2) notify the commission that the statement has been late for 30
days; and

(3) under the direction of the commission, take other actioa as
appropriate to carry out AS 39.50.060 and 39.50.110.
(d) If the annual statement ofajudicial officer is late for 30 days, the

commission wilL
(1) request the administrator of the court system to withhold

salary, per diem, and travel expense payments to the judicial officer
under AS 39.50.110;

(2) request the Commission on .Judicial Conduct to refer the
matter to the supreme court with a recommendation that thejudicial
officer be removed from office under AS 39.50.110;

(3) request the attorney general to initiate misdemeaoor proceed
ings under AS 39.56.060 or 39.50.110; and

(4) take other action as appropriate to carry out AS 39.50.060 or
39.50. 110.
(e) Ifajudicial officer files a statement after the date applicable to

that officer under AS39.50.020(a), the staff of the commission shall
send a written notice to the judicial officer at the address on fiLe with
the commission. The notice must state the

(1) amount of the civil penalty assessed under 2 AAC 50.110; and
(2) right of appeal under AS 39.50.135 and 2 AAC 50.112. (REF.

9/9fl8, Register 67; am IWIS/S1, Register 80; am 1/’26/86, Register

97; am 7/20/95, Register 135)

Authority: AS 15.13.010 ,‘iS 39.50.050 AS 3950.110

AS 39.50,020 AS 3950.060

2 AAC 50.125. Procedures followed upon a refusal or failure
by a state elected official to file the conflict-of-interest state
ment when due. Repealed 10/18/81.
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2 AAC 50.126. Procedures for failure or refusal of an incum
bent state elected official to file the annual conflict-of-interest
statement by the April 15 due date. Repealed. (Eft 10/18/81,
Regi ter 80, repealed 7/20/95, Register 135)

2 AAC 50.127. Procedures for incomplete statements from
candidates for state elective office. (a) Seven days before the
primary election withdrawal date set in AS 15.25.055 and seven days
before the general election withdrawal date set in AS 15.25.200, the
stafi of the commission shall provide to the commission a list of the
candidates for state elective office whose statements are incomplete.

(b Upon receipt of a list described in (a) of this section, the
conlniisslon will schedule a meeting to consider the list. The staff of the
commission shall notify a candidate for state elective office who is on
the list about the time, date, and place of the meeting.

(c II, at or after the meeting scheduled under (b) of this section, the
commission determines that a candidate for state elective office has not
supplied required information on a major source of income, interest in
real property business interest, loan, or trust, the commission will
recommend that the lieutenant governor remove the candidate’s name
from the ballot. If the candidate’s name cannot be removed from the
ballot, the commission will recommend that the lieutenant governor
not certify the candidates nomination foT office or election to office.

(d) If informntion discovered after the withdrawal-of-candidacy
deadline indicates that a candidate for state elective office has failed to
comply substantially with the requirements of AS 39,50 or 2 AAC
50.010 —2 AAC 50.200, the staff of the commission shall undertake a
preliminary investigation under 2 A.AC 50.460. The staff shall report
its findings to the commission. The commission will determine the
appropriate penalty. (EfT. 1126)86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register
135; am 111/2001, Register 156)

Authority: AS 1513.030 AS 39.50.060 AS 39.50.130
AS 39,50.020 AS 39.50.120 AS 39.50.135
AS 33.50.050

2 AAC 50.130. Filing by a municipal officer. Repealed (Eff
9/9/78, Register 67; am 5/14/80, Register 74; repealed 7/20/95, Register
135)

2 AAC 50.135. Civil penalty assessments for late filing by
municipal officers. (a) The statement of a municipal officer is
delinquent if the municipal clerk or designated municipal official does
not recoive the statement on or before March 15, for an annual
statement.

cli) The statement continues to be deLinquent and subject to a civil
penalty until received by the municipal clerk or designated official.
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Ic) The municipal clerk or designated official shall noti& the corn
mission within live days

(1) by telegram or telephone of the name and address of any
municipal officer who has refused or failed to file a statement by the
due date; and

(2) veri& that all other municipal officers have filed.
(ci) Within five days after receiving a notification under (c) of this

section, the staff of the commission shall send a written notice to the
municipal officer. The notice must state

(1) that the statement has not been filed;
(2) the date on which the statement was due;
(3) that refusal or failure to tile

(A) is punishable as a misdemeanor offense; and
(B) on or before the 30th day of lateness will cause the commis

sion to
Ii) request the nttorney general to initiate misdemeanor pro

ceedings under AS 39.50.060; and
(ii) take other action as appropriate to carry outAS 39,50.060;

(4) the amouat of the civil penalty assessable to date under (e) of
this section;

(5) that the civil penalty assessable uader (e) of this section
increases until the staterneat is filed; and

(6) the right of appeal under AS 39.50.135 and 2 AAC 50J12.
(e) The municipal clerk or designated official shall notir the com

mission by telegram or telephone of the name and address of any
municipaL officer who filed a delinquent statement and the date on
which the Into statement was received by the clerk or designated
official. Upon notification of the receipt of a delinquent statement,
commission staff shall

(1) assess a civil penalty of
(A) $1 a day for the first seven days a statement is delinquent;

and
(B) $5 a day for the eighth day and subsequent days of delin

quency; and
(2) within five days after notification by the municipal clerk or

designated official of receipt of a delinqueat statement, send a notice
of the civil penalty assessed against the municipal officer and a form
for appealing the assessment.
(I) If a municipal officer disputes the amount of a civil penalty

assessed under (e) of this section, the municipal officer, using the
affidavit appeal form provided under (e) of this section, may submit to
the commission an affidavit stating facts in mitigation within 30 days
of the date of the notice described in (e) of this section. The commission
will review the affidavit under the procedures set out at 2 AAC 50.112.

(g) Repealed 7/20/95.
(h) Repealed 7/20/95.
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(i) Repealed 7/20/95.
(1) Notwithstanding Ce) of this section, the staff of the commission

may recommend that the commission assess $10 per day for each day
that a statement is late if a municipal officer has

(1) failed to comply substantially with AS 39.50 or 2 AAC 50.010
2 MC 50.200 by failing to report in the officer’s statement a

major source of income, interest in real property, business interest,
loan, trust, or other substantial financial interest; or

(2) continuously (ailed to comply with AS 39.50cr 2 AAC 50.010
2 AAC 50.200 by failing to respond fully and within the time

prescribed to a written request from the commission or staff for
further information (EfE 9/9/78, Register 67; am 5114/80, Register
74, am 1/26/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 1/112001.
Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.050 AS 39.50.135
AS 39.50.020

2 AAC 50.140. Procedures for incomplete statements from
candidates for elective municipal office. (a) Seven days before the
deadline for withdrawal of candidacy, the staff of the commission shall
provide the commission n List of the candidates for elective municipal
office whose statements are incomplete.

(b) Upon receipt of the list described in (a) of this section, the
commission will schedule a meeting to consider the list. The staff of the
commission shall noti’ a candidatefor elective muaicipsl office who is
on the list about the time, date, and place of the meeting.

Ic) If, at or after a meeting scheduled under ) of this section, the
commission determines that n candidate for elective municipal office
has not supplied required information on e major source of income,
interest in real property, business interest, loan, or trust, the commis
sion will recommend that the appropriate municipal clerk or desig
nated municipal official refuse or return the candidate’s filing fees and
filing for office and remove the candidate’s name from the filing
records.

Cd) If information discovered after the withdrawal-of-candidacy
deadline indicates that a candidate for elective municipal office has
failed to comply substantially with the requirements of AS 39.50 or
2 AAC 50.010 — 2 AAC 50.200, the staff of the commission shall
undertake a preliminary investigation under 2 MC 50.460. The staff
shall report its findings to the commission. The commission will
determine the appropriate penalty. (Eff. 9/9/78, Register 61; am
1/26/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 11)12001, Register
156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.050 AS 39.50.060
AS 39.60.020
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2 SAC 50.143. Corrected incomplete statements. If the staff of
the commission discovers an obvious deficiency on the lace of a
statement, the staff shall notify the filer of the deficiency. If the filer
corrects the deficiency by filing a statement that contains the required
information no later than 15 ‘lays after the date of the staff’s notice,
the staff

(1) shall consider the correction to be a fact in mitigation as
described in AS 39.50.135; and

(2) may not assess a civil penalty under 2 AAC 50.110 or 2 AAC
50.135. (Eff. 7/20/95, Register 135)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.060 AS 395)0.135
AS 30.50.030

2 SAC 50.145. Substantial or continuing noncompliance. Re
pealed. (Eff. 1/26/86, Register 97; repealed 7/20/95, Register 135)

Editor’s nasa As ol Tirgister 135, Oc- 50.145 is boiLed nt 2 MC 50.110(c) nod 2
tobor 1995. Lhe substance of former 2 MC AAC 50,135(j).

2 SAC 50300. Definitions. As used in AS 39.50 and 2 AAC
50.010 — 2 AAC 50.200, unless the context requires otherwise,

(1)4candidate” means a candidate for
(A) state elective office; and
(8) elective municipal office;

(2) “child” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a);
(3) “commission” means the Masks Public Offices Commission

created under AS 15.13.O20(a);
(4) “executive branch public official” means a public official within

the definition given in AS 39.50.200(a), except for a judicial officer or
a municipal officer;

(5) ‘filer” means a public official as defined in AS 39.50.200(a);
(6) “gift”

(A) means a payment or item to the extent that consideration of
equal or greater value is not received;

(B) includes
U) forgiveness of a loan, payment of a loan by a third party, or

an enforceable promise to make a payment except when full and
adequate consideration is received;

(ii) the provision of accommodations;
(iii) the provision of a ticket for travel or for an entertainment

event;
(iv) the provision of food or beverages other than food or

beverages for immediate consumption;
(v) the granting of a discount or rebate not extended to the

public generally for a good or service; and
(vi) the provision or loan of goods or services for personal or

professional use, including office expenses connected with hold-
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ing public office, unless made in exchange for consideration of
equal or greater value; and
(C) does not include

(1) a political contribution;
(ii) a commercially reasonable loan made in the ordinary

course of business in exchange for consideration of equal or
greater value; or

(iii) an inheritance;
(7) “judicial officer” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a), but

does not include a judicial officer who holds a judiciaL office for less
than 30 days;

(8) “municipal officer” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a);
(9) “source of income” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a);
(10) “spousal equivalent” has the meaning given in

AS 39.50.200(a);
(11) “statement” means a statement or report of income sources

and business interests required under AS 39.50;
(12) “family member” means a spouse, spousal equivalent, or

dependent child, or the filer’s nondependent child who lives with the
filer;

(13) “public official” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a).
ir. 9/9/78, Register 67; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 11112001,
Register 156)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.050
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2 AAC 50.010 ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SUPPLEMENT 2 AAC 50.025

Chapter 50. Alaska Public Offices Commission:
Conflict of Interest, Campaign Disclosure,

Legislative Financial Disclosure, and
Regulation of Lobbying.

Article
1. Public Official Financial Disclosure (2 AAC 50.010 —2 MC 60.200)
2. Campaign Disclosure (2 AAC 50.250 — 2 AAC 50.405)
3. Masks Public Offices Commission Complaints and Investigations (2 AAC 60.450 —

2 AAC 50.470)
5. Legislative Financial Disclosure (2 AAC 50.705 — 2 AM] 50.890)
6. General Provisions (2 AAC 50.905 — 2 A.AC 50.920)

Article 1. Public Official Financial Disclosure.

Section Section
10. Reporting sources of income from re- 100. Exemption from reporting name of

tail businesses individual as a source of income
25. Reporting sources of income from 102. Commission consideration of exemp

rental property tion requests
75. Reporting sources of income from 200. Definitions

2 SAC 50.010. Reporting sources of income from retail busi
nesses. For the purposes of reporting a source of income under
AS 39.50.030(b), a ifier shall report the name

(1) and address of a source of income that is a retail business; and
(2) of a customer of a retail business that is a source of income, if

the customer
(A) conducted business with the retail business through a line

of credit that extended through two or more billing cycles;
(B) had an ongoing contract to purchase goods or services from

the retail business; or
(C) paid the retail business more than $5,000 for a good or

service ter receiving a discount that was not available to the
general public. (Eff. 8/20/75, Register 55; am 5/16/76, Register 58;
am 1/26/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 1/112001,
Register 156; am 2/20/2005, Register 173)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 AS 39.50.050

2 SAC 50.025. Reporting sources of income from rental prop
erty. For the purposes of reporting a source of income under
AS 39.50.030(b) from rental property located

(1) within the state, a ifier shall report the name of a person that
paid more than $5,000 in rent during the preceding calendar year;
and
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2 AAC 50.075 ADMINISTRATION 2 AAC 50.100

(2) outside the state and managed by a
(A) filer or the filer’s family member, the filer shall report the

name of a person that paid more than $5,000 in rent during the
preceding calendar year; or

(B) person other than a filer or the filer’s family member, the
filer shall report the name of the manager. (Eff. 7/20/95, Register
135; am 1/112001, Register 156; am 2/20/2005, Register 173)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.030 AS 39.50.050

2 SAC 50.075. Reporting sources of income from gifts. For the
purposes of reporting a source of income under AS 39.50.030(b), a filer
shall report the name of the donor of a gift or a series of gifts if the

(1) value of the gift or the cumulative value of the series of gifts
from the donor is over $250;

(2) gift or series of gifts is received by the filer or the filer’s family
member; and

(3) donor is not related to the recipient as a spouse, domestic
partner, parent, child, sibling, grandparent, aunt, uncle, niece, or
nephew. (Elf. 7/20/95, Register 135; am 111/2001, Register 156; am
2/20/2005, Register 173)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39,50.030 AS 39.50.050

2 SAC 50.100. Exemption from reporting name of individual
as a source of income. (a) A filer who seeks an exemption from the
requirement to report the name of a source of income under
AS 39.50.030(b) or 2 AAC 50.010 — 2 AAC 50.200 shall request the
exemption from the commission.

(b) ‘Lb request an exemption under (a) of this section, a ifier shall file
a written request for exemption with the statement for which the
exemption is requested. The written request for exemption must be on
a form prescribed by the commission and must, for a name for which an
exemption is requested,

(1) state the facts that support the exemption; and
(2) identil’ the exemption circumstances under (c) — (j) of this

section that applies to the request.
(c) A ifier may request a mental health practice exemption if during

the preceding calendar year the
(1) filer or the ifier’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation in which a
mental health practitioner, including a psychiatrist, psychologist, or
therapist, worked;

(2) source of income was an individual who received mental
health services from the mental health practitioner and
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2 AAC 50.100 ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SUPPLEMENT 2 AAC 50.100

(3) income was received as payment for the mental health ser
vices.
(d) A filer may request a sensitive medical practice exemption if

during the preceding calendar year
(1) the filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation;

(2) at least 67 percent of the patients of the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corporation,
or corporation consisted of individuals who

(A) received medical services related to abortion, contraception,
reproductive health, a sexual disorder, or a terminal illness from
the sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability partnership,
professional corporation, or corporation;

(B) were minors, and who, unknown to their parents or legal
guardians, received medical services from the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpora
tion, or corporation; or

(C) were married, and who, unknown to their spouses, received
medical services from the sole proprietorship, partnership, limited
liability partnership, professional corporation, or corporation;
(3) the source of income was an individual who received medical

services of any nature from the sole proprietorship, partnership,
limited liability partnership, professional corporation, or corpora
tion; and

(4) the income was received as payment for the medical services.
(e) A filer may request a sensitive medical procedure exemption if

during the preceding calendar year the
(1) filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation;

(2) source of income was an individual who received medical
services related to abortion, contraception, reproductive health, a
sexual disorder, or a terminal illness from the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corporation,
or corporation; and

(3) income was received as payment for the medical services.
(0 A filer may request an embarrassing medical procedure exemp

tion if during the preceding calendar year
(1) the filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation;

(2) the source of income was a
(A) minor who, unknown to a parent or legal guardian of the

minor, received medical services from the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpora
tion, or corporation; or
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2 AAC 50.100 ADMINISTRATION 2 AAC 50.100

(B) married individual who, unknown to the individual’s
spouse, received medical services from the sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpora
tion, or corporation;
(3) the income was received as payment for the medical services;

and
(4) reporting the name of the source of income would tend to cause

a reasonable person in the situation of the source of income substan
tial concern, anxiety, or embarrassment.
(g) A filer may request a legal services practice exemption if during

the preceding calendar year
(1) the filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or

shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation where an attor
ney worked;

(2) at least 67 percent or more of the clients of the sole proprietor
ship, partnership, limited liability partnership, professional corpo
ration, or corporation consisted of individuals who were

(A) minors, and who, unknown to their parents or legal guard
ians, received professional legal services from the attorney; or

(B) married, and who, unknown to their spouses, received
professional legal services from the attorney;
(3) the source of income was an individual who received legal

services of any nature from the sole proprietorship, partnership,
limited liability partnership, professional corporation, or corpora
tion; and

(4) the income was received as payment for the professional legal
services.
(h) A filer may request a legal services exemption if

(1) the filer or the filer’s family member was an owner, partner, or
shareholder in a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability
partnership, professional corporation, or corporation where an attor
ney worked;

(2) the source of income was a
(A) minor who, unknown to a parent or legal guardian of the

minor, received professional legal services from the attorney, or
(B) married individual who, unknown to the individual’s

spouse, received professional legal services from the attorney;
(3) the income was received as payment for the professional legal

services; and
(4) reporting the name of the source of income would tend to cause

a reasonable person in the situation of the source of income substan
tial concern, anxiety, or embarrassment.
(i) A filer may request a filer prohibition exemption if the filer is

prohibited by law from reporting the name of a source of income.
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2 AAC 50.102 ADMINISTRATIVE CODE SUPPLEMENT 2 AAC 50.102

U) A filer may request a right of source exemption if the filer believesthat reporting the name of a source of income would violate a right ofthe source under the state or federal constitution.
(k) A filer may request a HIPAA exemption if the filer believes thatreporting the name of a source of income would disclose protectedhealth information that the filer is prohibited from disclosing under 42U.S.C. 1320d - 1320d-8 (Health Insurance Portability and AccountabilityAct(HIPAA)of1996).(Eff. 9/9/78, Register 67; am 5(14/80, Register74; am 1/26/86, Register 97; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 1/112001,Register 156; am 2/20/2005, Register 178)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.035 AS 39.50.050AS 39.50.030

2 SAC 50.102. Commission consideration of exemption requests. (a) For an exemption circumstance under 2 AAC 50.100(c),(d), (e), (g), (i), or (lQ, and no later than 30 days after the commissionreceives a written exemption request that complies with 2 AAC50.100(b), the staff of the commission shall
(1) grant the request, if the facts stated in the request satis& theexemption circumstance upon which the request relies; and
(2) send to the filer, at the address on file with the commission, awritten notice of the staff’s decision to grant or deny the exemption.(b) If under (a) of this section the staff of the commission grants arequest, the filer need not report the name of the source of the incomefor which the request is made. If the staff denies the request, the filershall, no later than 30 days after the date of the staff’s written noticeunder (a) of this section,
(1) report the name of the source of income as required underAS 39.50.030; or
(2) file with the commission a notice of appeal, which

(A) must contain the information described in 2 AM] 50.100(b);
(B) must explain why the filer believes that the staff erred indenying the filer’s request for exemption; and
(C) may include additional information that the filer considersappropriate.

(c) If the filer does not file a timely written notice of appeal under (b)of this section, the decision by the staff of the commission is final, andmay not be appealed to the commission.
(d) If the filer files a timely notice of appeal under (b) of this section,the commission wiil hear the appeal at the next scheduled meeting ofthe commission, unless the commission, in its discretion, finds goodcause to hear the appeal at a different meeting. At the hearing, anattorney may represent the filer. Unless the commission providesotherwise, the filer shall present the filer’s case first, and the staff ofthe commission shall present its case next. After the hearing, thecommission will grant or deny the request for an exemption.
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2 AAC 50.102 ADMINISTRATION 2 AAC 50.102

(e) For an exemption circumstance under 2 AAC 50.100(f), (h), or
(j), and no later than 30 days after the commission receives a written
exemption request that complies with 2 AAC 50.100(b), the staff of the
commission shall

(1) determine whether the facts stated in the request sati$’ the
requirements of the exemption circumstance upon which the request
relies;

(2) make a preliminary finding, which recommends that the
commission grant or deny the request;

(3) send to the filer, at the address on file with the commission, a
written notice of the preliminary finding; and

(4) submit the preliminary finding to the commission for action
under (0 of this section.
U) After the staff of the commission has submitted a preliminary

finding made under (e) of this section, the commission will
(1) review the preliminary finding at the next scheduled meeting

of the commission, unless the commission, in its discretion, finds
good cause to review the finding at a different meeting and

(2) accept, reject, or modi& the preliminary finding.
(g) No later than 30 days after reviewing a notice of appeal under (d)

of this section or a preliminary finding under (0 of this section, the
commission will send to the filer, at the address on file with the
commission, written notice of the commission’s final decision and an
order granting or denying the request for exemption.

(h) If under (g) of this section the commission
(1) grants a request for exemption, the filer need not report the

name of the source of income; and
(2) denies a request for exemption, the filer shall

(A) report the name of the source of income as required under
AS 39.50.030 no later than 30 days after the date of the commis
sion’s order, or

(B) ifie a notice of appeal under AS 44.62.560.
(i) If while considering a request for exemption the commission or

the staff of the commission determines that information that the
commission or the staff has received is protected by a state or federal
constitutional right or is legally privileged, the commission and the
staff will keep the information confidential, without regard to whether
the filer claims the right or privilege.

(j) A filer does not violate AS 39.50 or 2 AAC 50.010 — 2 AAC
50.200 for failure to report the name of a source of income if the filer
has requested an exemption under 2 AAC 50. 100 and

(1) the commission has not issued a written final decision and
order regarding a preliminary finding that the staff of the commiq
sion has submitted under (e) of this section; or

(2) a notice of appeal that the ifier has submitted under (b) or (h)
of this section is under review. (Eff. 7/20/95, Register 185; am
2(20(2005, Register 173)
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2 AAC 50.200 ADMINISTRATIVE ConE SUPPLEMENT 2 AAC 50.200

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 39.50.035 AS 39.50.050
AS 39.50.030

2 AAC 50.200. Definitions. As used in AS 39.50 and 2 AAC
50.010 — 2 AAC 50.200, unless the context requires otherwise,

(1) “candidate” means a candidate for
(A) state elective office; and
(B) elective municipal office;

(2) “child” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a);
(3) “commission” means the Alaska Public Offices Commission

created under AS 15.13.020(a);
(4) “executive branch public official” means a public official within

the definition given in AS 39.50.200(a), except for a judicial officer or
a municipal officer;

(5) “filer” means a public official as defined in AS 39.50.200(a);
(6) “gift”

(A) means a payment or item to the extent that consideration of
equal or greater value is not received;

(B) includes
(i) forgiveness of a loan, payment of a loan by a third party, or

an enforceable promise to make a payment except when flaIl and
adequate consideration is received;

(ii) the provision of accommodations;
(iii) the provision of a ticket for travel or for an entertainment

event;
(iv) the provision of food or beverages other than food or

beverages for immediate consumption;
(v) the granting of a discount or rebate not extended to the

public generally for a good or service; and
(vi) the provision or loan of goods or services for personal or

professional use, including office expenses connected with hold
ing public office, unless made in exchange for consideration of
equal or greater value; and
(C) does not include

(i) a political contribution;
(ii) a commercially reasonable loan made in the ordinary

course of business in exchange for consideration of equal or
greater value; or

(iii) an inheritance;
(7) “judicial officer” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a), but

does not include a judicial officer who holds a judicial office for less
than 30 days;

(8) “municipal officer” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a);
(9) “source of income” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a);
(10) repealed 2/20/2005;
(11) “statement” means a statement or report of income sources

and business interests required under AS 39.50;
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. 2 AAC 50.250 ADMINISTRATION 2 AAC 50.250

(12) “family member” means a spouse, domestic partner, or de
pendent child;

(13) “public official” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a).
(14) “domestic partner” has the meaning given in AS 39.50.200(a).

(Eff. 9/9/78, Register 67; am 7/20/95, Register 135; am 11112001,
Register 156; am 2/20/2005, Register 178)

Authorityl AS 15.13030 AS 39.50.050
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9 A,AC 52.010 LAW 9 AAC 52.040

CHAPTER 52. EXECUTIVE BRANCH CODE OF
ETHICS.

110, Ethics files
120. Declaration of potential violation by

member of a board or commission
130, Designated supervisor’s report
140. Complaints
150, Personnel board notification
160. Confidentiality
170. Civil penalties for multiple violations
180. Attorney general review of agency

policies
990. Definitions

9 AAC 52.010. APPEARANCE OF IMPROPRIETY. An appear
ance of impropriety does not establish that an ethical violation exists.
(Iff. 4/25/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.110 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.020. IMPROPER MOTIVATION. A public officer may
not take or withhold official action on a matter if the action is based on
an improper motivation. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

uthority: AS 39.52.110 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.030. WHEN MEMBERSHIP IS SIGNIFICANT. (a) If a
public officer is required by statute to be a member of a class and the
public officer takes or withholds official action in a matter that affects
all members of that class, the action is not a violation of the Ethics Act
or this chapter unless the officer receives significant financial or per
sonal benefit from the action or takes or withholds the action based on
an improper motivation.

(h) A public officer’s interest in a matter by reason of the officer’s
membership in a large organization or class is significant if the officer
or an immediate family member of the officer has a significant personal

financial interest in the matter. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.110 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.040. UNWARRANTED BENEFITS OR TREATMENT.
(L) As used in AS 39.52.120(a), “unwarranted benefits or treatment”
incLudes

SectionSection
ID. Ap’aranco 01 impropriety
20. I npriqwr motivation
10. When membership is significant

‘10. Unwarranted benefits or treatment
r.a. Use of state time, property, equip

ment, or other facilities
60. Gifts
70. Information disseminated to the pub

lic
SO. State grants, contracts, leases, and

loans
90. Outside employment or service

IlK). Restrictions on employment after
leaving state service
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9 kAC 52.050 ALASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 9 AAC 52.060

(1) a deviation from normal procedures for the award of a benefit,
regardless of whether the procedures were established formally or
informally, if the deviation is based on the improper motivation; and

(2) an award of a benefit if the person receiving the benefit was
substantially less qualified, in light of the formal or informal stan
dards set out for the award, than another person who was or reason
ably should have been considered for the award if the award is based
on an improper motivation.
(b) A public officer may not grant or secure an unwarranted benefit

or treatment, regardless of whether the result is in the best interest of
the state.

(c) Subject to the requirements of AS 39.52.110, 39.52.120, 39.52.150,
and AS 39.90.020, neither the Ethics Act nor this chapter prohibits a
public officer from

(1) considering a person who has a relationship with an officer for
a state contract or job if the person is considered on an equal basis
with other applicants; or

(2) considering an individual’s political affiliation or political sup
port in determining whether to appoint the individual to a state board
or commission or to hire the individual for an exempt or partially
exempt state job. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.120 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52050. USE OF’ STATE TIME, PROPERTY, EQUIP
MENT, OR OTHER FACILITIES. A public officer who uses state
time, property, equipment, or other facilities to benefit the officer’s
personal or financial interest is not in violation of AS 39.52.120(b)(3) if
the officer’s designated supervisor determines that the use is insignifi
cant, the attorney general has not issued a general opinion against the
use, and the attorney general does not advise the officer against the
use. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.110 AS 39.52.120 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.060. GIflS. (a) As used in the Ethics Act and this chap
ter, a gift is a transfer or loan of property or provision of services to a
public officer for less than full value. Unless rebutted by other evi
dence, and occasional gift worth $50 or less is presumed not to be given
under circumstances in which it could be reasonably inferred that the
gift is intended to influence an officer’s performance of official duties,
actions, or judgment.

(b) For purposes of AS 39.52.130, travel or lodging of any value
received by a public officer in connection with a trip that the public
officer takes as part of the officer’s official duties is not an improper gift
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9 AAC 52.070 LAW 9 AAC 52.080

if the monetary value of the travel or lodging is comparable to the cost
that the state would have had to pay for the travel or lodging and

(1) the head of the officer’s agency determines that the gift is to the
state, not to the officer; or

(2) the travel or lodging is incidental transportation by or hospitalS
ity at the residence of an individual. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.130 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.070. INFORMATION DISSEMINATED TO THE PUB-
LIC. (a) For purposes of AS 39.140, information has been disseminated
to the public if it has been published through newspaper publication;
broadcast media; a press release; a newsletter; a legal notice; a non-
confidential court filing; a published report; a public speech; or public
testimony before the legislature, a board, or a commission.

(b) Information that is available to the public but that has not been
published as described in (a) of this section has not been disseminated
to the public. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52,140 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.080. STATE GRANTS, CONTRACTS, LEASES, AND
LOANS. (a) For purposes of AS 39.52.150(b), a state grant, contract, or
lease is competitively solicited if the grant, contract, or lease

(1) is awarded by competitive sealed bidding under AS 36.30.100 —

36.30.190 or competitive sealed proposals under AS 36.30.200 —

36.30.270; or
(2) is awarded by procedures substantially similar to competitive

sealed bidding or competitive sealed proposals and AS 36.30 does not
apply to the awarding of the grant, contract, or lease.
(b) If a state grant, contract, lease, or loan is awarded by or for a

pubhc corporation, board, or commission within a department but not
by or for the office of the commissioner of that department, then an
employee of the office of the commissioner in that department is not
considered to be employed by the administrative unit awarding the
grant, contract, lease, or loan.

(c) For purposes of AS 39.52.150(b)(,1), if the public officer was not
employed by the administrative unit at the time a state grant, contract,
ur lease was competitively solicited, the officer’s subsequent employ
mint by that administrative unit does not constitute a violation of
AS 39.52.150 unless the officer takes or withholds official action with
respect to the administration of the grant, contract, or lease.

(d) For purposes of AS 39.52.150(c), a loan is not subject to fixed
eligibility standards if the award of the loan is subject to review for
ulequacy of security or other discretionary judgment concerning re
payment ability. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)
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9 AAC 52.090 ALASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE 9 AAC 52.120

Authority: AS 39.52.150 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.090. OUTSIDE EMPLOYMENT OR SERVICE. For
purposes of AS 39.52.170, a public employee’s outside employment or
service, including volunteer service, is incompatible or in conflict with
the proper discharge of official duties if the employee’s designated
supervisor reasonably determines that the outside employment or
service

(1) takes time away from the employee’s official duties;
(2) limits the scope of the employee’s official duties; or
(3) is otherwise incompatible or in conflict with the proper dis

charge of the employee’s official duties. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.170 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.100. RESTRICTIONS ON EMPLOYMENT AFTER
LEAVING STATE SERVICE. (a) For purposes of AS 39.52.180(a),
“matter” does not include the general formulation of policy by a public
official.

(b) For purposes of AS 39.52.180(a), routine processing of documents,
general supervision of employees without direct involvement in a mat
tei; or ministerial functions not involving the merits of a matter under
consideration by an administrative unit do not constitute personal or
substantial participation in a matter by a public officer. (Eff. 4/24/94,
Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.180 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.110. ETHICS FILES. (a) A designated supervisor shall
maintain an ethics file containing Ethics Act reports, advisory opinions,
advisory opinion requests, complaints, disclosures, and determinations
relevant to that supervisor’s agency or administrative unit.

(b) A designated supervisor shall segregate confidential material
F from other ethics file material that is available for public inspection.

(c) An executive director of a board or commission may maintain the
ethics file of the chair of the board or commission. The ethics file of the
chair of a board or commission may be combined with the ethics file of
the designated supervisor of the staff of the board or commission. (Eff.
4/29/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.210 AS 39.52.230
AS 39.52.220 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.120. DECLARATION OF POTENTIAL VIOLATION
BY MEMBER OF A BOARD OR COMMISSION. (a) A declaration
by a member of a board or commission of the facts and circumstances
about a matter that may result in a violation of AS 39.52.110 —
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9 AAC 52.130 LAW 9 AAC 52.110

AS 39.52.190 or this chapter may serve as the disclosure in writing to
the designated supervisor required by AS 39.52.220 if

(1) the declaration is made at a recorded public meeting of each
board and commission on which the member serves;

(2) a tape or transcript of each meeting is preserved in accordance
with the records retention schedule of the board or commission; and

(3) a method for identifying each portion of tape or transcript
containing the declaration is used and the identifications are pre
served.
(b) A member of a board or commission who takes or withholds an

action that violates the Ethics Act or this chapter will not be held liable
under the Ethics Act for the action if

(1) the action is taken or withheld in accordance with a determina
tion by the chair as designated supervisor or the board under the
procedures set out in AS 39.52.220;

(2) the member fully discloses all facts reasonably necessary to the
determination of the chair or the board; and

(3) the attorney general has not advised the member, chair, board,
or commission that the action violates the Ethics Act or this chapter.
(Eff. 4/29/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.220 AS 39.52240(d) AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.130. DESIGNATED SUPERVISOR’S REPORT. (a) A
designated supervisor shall submit the quarterly report described in
AS 39.52.260 during the 45 days following the end of each calendar
illutrter.

(b) An executive director of a board or commission may file a
quarterly report on behalf of the chair of the board or commission. The
quarterly report filed on behalf of a chair and the quarterly report of a
designated supervisor of the staff of a board or commission may be
combined into one report.

(c) If a board or commission does not meet during a calendar quarter,
and the designated supervisor of the board or commission notifies the
attorney general that no meeting, or activity reportable tinder the
Ethics Act or this chapter, occurred during the calendar quarter, than
neither the chair nor the designated supervisor of the staff must file a
report for the board or commission for the quarter. (Eff. 4/24/94,
Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.260 AS 39.53.950

9 AAC 52.140. COMPLAINTS. (a) The attorney general will, in the
attorney general’s discretion, conduct a preliminary ethics investiga
tion before initiating or accepting a complaint. A preliminary ethics
investigation and information discovered in the course of a preliminary
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ethics investigation is confidential to the same extent as information
discovered in an ethics investigation conducted after the acceptance of

a complaint.
(b) The attorney general will, in the attorney general’s discretion,

refer a complaint to the subject’s designated supervisor under
AS 39.52.310(e) and, at the same time, accept the complaint for an
ethics investigation under AS 39.52.310(0 and (g).

(c) If the attorney general refers a complaint under AS 39.52.310(e)
and the designated supervisor determines that a violation of the Ethics
Act or this chapter has occurred, the designated supervisor shall
forward those findings to the attorney general for review under
AS 39.52.310 — AS 39.52.350.

(d) If an ethics complaint does not allege a violation of the Ethics Act
or this chapter by the governoi; lieutenant governor; or attorney
general but, in the course of an ethics investigation, evidence of a
potential violation by the governol; -lieutenant governol; or attorney
general is discovered, then the attorney general will refer the matter to
the personnel board. The personnel board shall retain independent
counsel in the same manner as if the complaint initially alleged those
violations. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.310 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.150. PERSONNEL BOARD NOTIFICATION. If inde
pendent counsel appointed under AS 39.52.310(c) recommends action
under AS 39.52.330, the independent counsel shall notify the personnel
board that action to correct or prevent a violation of the Ethics Act or
this chapter has been recommended. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.330 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.160. CONFIDENTIALITY. (a) The attorney general will
keep confidential the information obtained in the course of an ethics
investigation that is not relevant to an accusation or subsequent ethics
proceedings.

(b) The attorney general will, in the attorney general’s discretion,
forward information obtained in the course of an ethics investigation to
the subject’s designated supervisor or other appropriate superior for
potential disciplinary action under AS 39.52.420. Information for
warded under this subsection remains confidential, and the subject’s
designated supervisor or other appropriate superior may share the
information only with a person who needs to know the information to
consider potential disciplinary action.

(c) A subject may not partially waive the confidentiality protection of
AS 39.52.840 or this chapter.

(d) Nothing in AS 39.52.340 or this section prevents a person from
disclosing to a third person information the person learned indepen
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(lent of the investigation conducted by the attorney general, unless
prohibited by other laws.

(e) Nothing in this section prevents either the attorney general from
withholding or a person From objecting to the release of information or
materials in the possession of the attorney general on a legal ground
otht’r th LH 1)110 prov U loll by AS 39.52.340.

(f) If, after an ethics investigation, the attorney general does not
initiate formal proceedings, then information anti material discovered
in the course 1)1 the ethics investigation, as well as the existence of the
ethics investigation, must remain confidential unless disclosure is oth
erwise permitted under the Ethics Act or this chapter.

(g) If tile Lttorney general determines that a crime may have been
committed or may be committed, the attorney general will, in the
attorney general’s discretion, release information obtained in a confi
dential ethics matter to an appropriate law enforcement agency. (Eff.
4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 3952.340 AS 39.52.420 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.170. CIVIL PENALTIES FOR MULTIPLE VIOLA
TIONS. If one act violates more than one provision of the Ethics Act,
a civil penalty may be imposed for each provision violated. A civil
penalty may be imposed each time a provision of the Ethics Act is
violated. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.440 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.180. ATTORNEY GENERAL REVIEW OF AGENCY
POLICIES. The attorney general will approve a written policy (IC
scribed in AS 39.52.920 if it is consistent with and furthers the purposes
of the Ethics Act and this chapter. As a condition of approval, the
attorney genera] will require that the policy be distributed to employ-
ees of the agency and to new employees of the agency upon employ
ment, and require that the policy be centrally posted in the agency’s
offices. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.920 AS 39.52.950

9 AAC 52.990. DEFINITIONS. (a) In AS 39.52.419, “blind trust’
ineansatnist established tinder AS 39.50.040.

(b) In the Ethics Act and in this chapter
(I) “hoard or commission” has the meaning given in AS 39.52.960

and does not include an entity created 111111cr only a federal statute or
other non—state action;

(2) “Ethics Act” means Alaska Executive Branch Ethics Act
(AS 39.52);
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(3) “executive director” includes an executive secretary to a board

or commission under AS 08 or the marine pilot coordinator under

AS 08.62.050;
(4) “improper motivation” means a motivation not related to the

best interests of the state, and includes giving primary consideration

to a person’s
(A) kinship or relationship with a public officer;

(B) financial association with a public officer;

(C) potetial for conferring a future benefit on a public officer; or

(D) political affiliation;
(5) “person” has the meaning given in AS 39.52.960 and includes

governmental entities;
(6) “personal gain” means a benefit to a person’s or immediate

family member’s personal interest or financial interest;

(7) “public employee” has the meaning given in AS 39.52.960 and

includes a permanent employee of an agency on non-seasonal leave

without pay status, but does not include an individual on layoff status,

a seasonal employee of an agency during the period of time that the

employee is not employed by the agency, or a temporary employee of

an agency during the period of time that the employee is not em

ployed by the agency;
(8) “state contract” includes employment with the state, regardless

of whether that employment is evidenced by a written agreement,

but does not include a license or other authorization from the state to

do business or to perform a particular activity in the state; and

(9) “subject” means an individual who either

(A) is being investigated for a potential violation of the Ethics

Act or this chapter; or
(B) is the individual against whom a complaint is filed under the

Ethics Act or this chapteit (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.120(a) AS 39.52.950

AS 29.52.410 AS 39.52.960
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Chapter 52. Executive Branch Code of Ethics.

Section Section
10. Appearance of impropriety 110. Ethics files
60. Gifts 120. Declaration of potential violation by
70. Information disseminated to the member of a board or commission

public

9 AAC 52.010. Appearance of impropriety. An appearance of
impropriety does not establish that an ethical violation exists.
(Efi’. 4/24)94, Register 130)

Publisher’s note: The history line for directions from the Department of Law, in
this regulation is set out above, as of order to correct the effective date,
Register 135 (October 1995), pursuant to

9 AAC 52.060. Gifts. (a) As used in the Ethics Act and this
chapter, a gift is a transfer or loan of property or provision of services
to a public officer for less than iiLill value. Unless rebutted by other
evidence, an occasional gift worth $50 or less is presumed not to be
given under circumstances in which it could be reasonably inferred
that the gift is intended to influence an officer’s performance of official
duties, actions, or judgment.

(b) For purposes of AS 39.52.130, travel or lodging of any value
received by a public officer in connection with a trip that the public
officer takes as part of the officer’s official duties is not an improper gift
if the monetary value of the travel or lodging is comparable to the cost
that the state would have had to pay for the travel or lodging and

(1) the head of the officer’s agency determines that the gift is to
the state, not to the officer; or

(2) the travel or lodging is incidental transportation by or hospi
tality at the residence of an individual. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Authority: AS 39.52.130 AS 39.52.950

Publisher’s note: This regulation is set ment of Law, in order to correct a typo-
out above, as of Register 133 (April 1995), graphical error in the second sentence in
pursuant to directions from the Depart- (a).

9 AAC 52.070. Information disseminated to the public.
(a) For purposes of AS 39.52.140, information has been disseminated
to the public if it has been published through newspaper publication;
broadcast media; a press release; a newsletter; a legal notice; a
nonconfldential court filing; a published report; a public speech; or
public testimony before the legislature, a board, or a commission.

(b) Information that is available to the public but that has not been
published as described in (a) of this section has not been disseminated
to the public. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)
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Authority: AS 39.52.140 AS 39.52.950

Publisher’s note: This regulation is set meat of Law, in order to correct a typo-
out above, as of Register 153 (April 2000), graphical error in 9AAC 52.070(a).
pursuant to directions from the Depart-

9 AAC 52.110. Ethics files. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Publisher’s note: The history line for directions from the Department of Law, in
this regulation is set out above, as of order to correct the effective date.
Register 135 (October 1995), pursuant to

9 AAC 52,120. Declaration of potential violation by member
of a board or commission. (Eff. 4/24/94, Register 130)

Publisher’s note: The history line for directions from the Department of Law, in
this regulation is set out above, as of order to correct the effective date.
Register t35 (October 1995), pursuant to
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