Response to Public Comments
Regulation Changes to Title 18, Chapter 50 of the Alaska Administrative Code
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The Department proposed changes to the air permit emission fee regulations in

18 AAC 50 on June 1, 2006, and originally accepted public comment from June 1
through July 3, 2006. Due to additional requirements imposed by the Department of
Law, the department issued a supplemental public notice on July 10, 2006, and accepted
additional comments on the regulation package from July 10 through August 11, 2006.
This document responds to comments received during both comment periods and at the
public hearing held on June 27, 2006.

The Department received written comments from the following:
A) Alaska Oil and Gas Association (AOGA)
B) Chugach Electric Association (CEA)
C) Copper Valley Electric Association (CVEA)
D) Harvey Consulting (on behalf of the North Slope Borough)
E) Anchorage Sand and Gravel (AS&G)
F) Dana Olson (General Public)

The Department received oral testimony at the public hearing from:
Dana Olson (General Public)

The Department requested and received clarification on comments from:
Alaska Oil and Gas Association (AOGA)

The Department received written comments after the comment period deadline from:
Johnny Aiken, Planning Department Director, North Slope Borough

The comments from Johnny Aiken were received after the legal deadline by which they
had to be received in order to be considered. Therefore, the Department is barred from
considering the comments as part of this rule making.

Comments received on the proposed regulation changes were directed at several
common themes:

A) Emission Fees become effective January 1, 2007.
AOGA, CEA, and CVEA requested than the fee increase become effective on the
Calendar year 2007 to allow for internal budget request/allocations.

B) The Fee Report be reviewed and audited by a qualified independent third party.
AOGA, CEA, and CVEA requested that a third party audit of the report be done.
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C) Pursue other funding sources.
AOGA, CEA, and CVEA were supportive of ADEC pursuing other funding
sources for General Funds and changes in AS 37.10 (which sets the 149% rate).

D) Fee based on annual program cost through FY 2008
AOGA, CEA, and CVEA suggested that ADEC implement a “smaller” fee
increase for FY 2007 and 2008. Comments were not specific for how to address
fee rates for FY 2009-10. AS 46.14.250 (g) requires a 4 year emission fee review.

E) Avoidance Group.
AOGA and CVEA recommended that ADEC charge Emission Fees to the
Avoidance Group.

Individual comments were provided in addition to the common themes:

F) Title 1 Funding:
AOGA recommends a change in State statute on fee recovery for Title 1, as
federal regulation does not require full recovery. Funding recommendation is an
increase in General Funds or Federal Funds.

G) Title 5 Cost Analysis.
AOGA recommends ADEC re-evaluate the projected number of hours cited in the
Fee Study to renew Title 5 permits. It is perceived that the estimate of Title 5
permit renewal cost as excessively high.

H) Opposed to Emission Fee.
AS&G is opposed to any fee increase.

I) Request for Extension.
Harvey Consulting felt that inadequate public notice had been provided and
requested a 30-day public comment period extension.

J) General Comments.
Written comments and oral testimony from the general public were not directed or
specific to the emission fee changes but generally directed at ADEC and the Air
Programs.
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Responses to the specific comments as they pertain to the Air Emissions User Fee
changes are as follows:

Comment A: Fees become effective January 1, 2007

“...any increases in emission fees not become effective until January 1, 2007...”—
CEA and CVEA

“We recommend that the timing for regulation adoption, and the resultant billing cycle
for these new fees, be timed such that companies operating on a calendar year basis
have the opportunity to budget now for any increase in their next year’s budget.”—
AOGA

Response:

ADEC recognizes that some companies operate on a budget based on the calendar year.

It may be difficult for such companies to adjust their budgets for fee changes that occur in
the middle of their budget year. ADEC will re-draft the regulation language such that
new emission user fees will not be effective until January 1, 2007, or later. This will
allow companies to budget and plan to have the appropriate funds available to fully fund
services of the Program.

Comment B: Fee Report be reviewed and audited by an independent third party

“...requests that ADEC have this report reviewed and audited by a qualified
independent third party firm to ensure the accuracy of the financial calculations.”—
CEA and CVEA

Response:

ADEC agrees to an independent third party assessment of the Final Report. An
assessment will ensure that the approach used in the development of the report and the
new fees accurately included all contributing factors for fully funding the Air Permits
Program. The department will commit to having the assessment done within the next two
fiscal years.

Such an assessment must be funded. The May 31, 2006, Draft Fee Rate Evaluation
Report did not account for the cost of a third party assessment. The cost of the
assessment will need to include the expense of the qualified contactor and must account
for the increases in technical and administration staff time related to the assessment.
ADEC estimates the cost for the third party assessment and ADEC staff time will be
$100,000. The additional $100,000 expense of the assessment will be included in the
new emission fee rate in FY07. The emission fee includes the increase in cost for the
assessment of the Emission Fee Study.
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Comment C: Pursue other funding sources

“...explore...increased general funds to help offset the costs of the Title 1 program;
(and) changes to Statue AS 37.10 to reflect actual costs of salary and benefits for
Program employees.”—CEA and CVEA

“AOGA recognizes that the permit administration fee structure may need to be
statutorily amended, given that 149% does not recover employee costs any longer due
to the newly-required PERS escalating contribution. We are committed to working
with DEC and other stakeholders in the original HB361 legislation to (1) determine the
appropriate rate, and (2) seek legislative changes.”—AOGA

Response:

ADEC agrees that any increase in other funds for the air permit program would reduce
the emission fee rate required to fully fund the program. However, statutory changes are
beyond the scope of any regulation change. At this time, we are required to adopt new
emission fee rates based on current statutes and funding sources, not on possible future
changes to statutes and funding sources. ADEC will reevaluate the emission fee rates at
least every four years, as required by statue.

ADEC will support any effort by the stakeholders to amend the statutory direct service
rate or to secure additional general funds for the Title 1 permit program. ADEC will
reevaluate the emission fees in conjunction with the required evaluation of the permit
administration fees in FY09 and can adjust the emission fees to account for any statutory
changes at that time. Commentators are encouraged to work with the department, outside
of the regulatory process, to investigate and effect appropriate statutory changes to air
permit funding sources.
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Comment D: Fee based on annual program cost

“...requests that ADEC consider and evaluate a smaller per ton increase that would
fund the Program through Fiscal Year 2008.”—CEA and CVEA

“...recommend DEC re-evaluate the level of fees which would be required only fund
the program through FYO08...Finally, a fundamental component of this approach
includes retention of a third-party qualified to assess efficiency and to determine an
appropriate fee based on that assessment and revised statutory fee authority during the
second year of this phased approach.”—AOGA

“...In our comments we recommended DEC set an emission fee based on the level of
fees which would be required to fund and administer the program through FY08,
rather than FY10. We are not recommending that the fee sunset at that time. ...”"—
AOGA

Response:

ADEC recognizes that the regulated community has concerns about an emission fee rate
that are based on projected costs into the future. The emission fee rate will be established
in regulation for FYQ7, FY08, and FY09, based on the projected program costs for each
of the individual fiscal years. The Emission fess will not be based on an average rate
projected into future years. An Emission Fee based on the expected cost for each fiscal
year will result in balancing the annual costs of the program with the annual expected
revenue. The annual rates per fiscal year (a Title 5 and a Title 1 rate for each state fiscal
year) will fully fund the Air Program to provide the required service to the regulated
community.

Under AS 46.14.265, the Title 1 program funding must be financed through non-
dedicated funds. Therefore, the emission fee structure must allow for all Title 1 related
work to be financed though such non-dedicated funds. Relying on non-dedicated funds
to support an entirely fee-based program requires attention to fund availability and timing
of payments to ensure adequate finances are available to pay for the program during the
beginning of the fiscal year. It could also create problems if fees are received near the
end of the fiscal year, especially if the fee is for a service that will be completed the
following fiscal year. Non-dedicated funds must either be completely spent by the end of
the fiscal year or returned to the state’s general fund. In both cases, the funds are not
available for financing the specific work during the following fiscal year. An annual per
fiscal year rate for Title 1 emissions provides for the fiscal management issues related to
the non-dedicated funds. The funds are available in the fiscal year when the work is
completed. Establishing the fee rates by fiscal year enables the Title 1 program (as well
as the Title 5 program) to have appropriate levels of funds available to pay for the work
as it is accomplished

The annual rates per fiscal year will set emission fees based on the level of funding which
would be required to support the program through FY07 and FY08 as requested by public
comments.
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The department has written regulations to enact an emission fees for FY07 based solely
on the costs related to FYQ7. The Title 5 rate for FYO07 will be less than would be
required to cover the program’s expenses because the department will apply $600,000 of
the existing CAPF funds toward the Title 5 fee rate. Therefore, the additional assessment
required in January 2007 will be $8.04/ton for Title 5 and $5.02/ton for Title 1, for a
combined emission fee of $13.06/ton. This fee will be effective January 1, 2007, as per
the previous comments (see Response to Comment A).

The largest annual projected work load will be in FY08, as a large number of Title 5
permits originally issued in FY03 will need to be renewed in FY08. Therefore, the funds
needed to fully support the work load in FY08 will result in an increased fee rate for that
year.

Beginning in FY08, the department will implement a fee of $26.28/ton for Title 5 and
$5.52/ton for Title 1, for a combined emission fee of $31.80/ton.

Beginning in FY09, the department will implement a fee of $27.24/ton for Title 5 and
$6.13/ton for Title 1, for a combined emission fee of $33.37/ton.

Under AS 46.14.260(g), the department is required to evaluate the emission fees set
under this proposal in four years. However, the department plans to evaluate the
emission fees by January 2009, in conjunction with the review of fixed permit
administration fee study required by AS 37.10.050. This will allow for opportunities
during two legislative sessions to explore other funding options before the rates are
adjusted in FY09.

ADEC acknowledges that we will be hiring a contractor to do an assessment of the fee
report completed in support of the current regulation change (see Response to Comment
B). The contractor’s analysis of the report and any recommendations they may provide
will be taken into consideration by ADEC as part of the reevaluation of all fees, both
emission fees and permit administration fees, which will be completed as required by
AS 37.10.050. ADEC believes this should address the commenter’s concerns about
evaluating the fees and the program. ADEC does not plan to contract for a separate
analysis of the program beyond the assessment of the fee report.

Comment E: Charge the Avoidance Group emission fees

“... pursue collecting emission fees from permit holders who have voluntarily taken a
permit avoidance limit to stay out of the Title V program.” - CEA

“Emission fees should be assessed for the “permit avoidance group”...” - AOGA
Response:

ADEC initially reviewed this option in the May 31, 2006, Draft Fee Report. ADEC was
evaluating all sources to determine if emission fees were assessed on all sources and

determine the potential revenue from those sources’ emission fees. The Draft Fee Report
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only looked at the Potential to Emit (PTE) tonnages of the Avoidance Group for possible
emission fees revenues. The Avoidance group sources generally represent small, rural
electric power generators. These smaller sources have not been assessed emission fees in
the past.

ADEC further examined the equitability of charging Title 5 emission fees to these
sources in response to public comments.

Assessing the full Title 5 fee to this source group is not equitable to the associated level
of work. ADEC spent 304 technical hours processing 30 permit avoidance requests from
February 2005 — July 2006. The direct permit administration fees collected from the
Avoidance Group pay for 71% of the program’s cost associated with the group.
However, the estimated revenue from emission fees (assessed on PTE) is 2000% more
than is needed to cover the indirect costs of processing the requests. Table 1 outlines
these expenses and revenue.

ORL PAEL
Total work spent on avoidance (technical hours 278.75 24.75
Feb 2005 — July 2006)
Total avoidance cost (Technical hours x $43,206 $3,836
$155/technical hour)
Revenue from Direct Fees on Avoidance (Feb. | $31,840 $1,540
2005 to July, 2006)
Amount of Total avoidance cost not covered by | -$11,366 | -$2,296
direct fees
Estimated Revenue from a full PTE charge on Avoidance
(tons x 4 year Average fee of $25.42/ton) $76,870 $192,404

Table 1 - Avoidance Group Expenses and Revenue

The initial revenue estimate was based on fees for the PTE tons. Under 18 ACC
50.410(c), a source can pay for only the actual tons emitted. It is anticipated the
Avoidance sources will only pay on actual tons emitted, which would significantly
reduce the anticipated revenue from that which is based on PTE. In addition, the billing
and administrative cost for collecting a significantly smaller bill may exceed any revenue
received.

Furthermore, assessing emission fees would require additional and costly regulation
changes. Air Quality Control Regulations, 18 AAC 50.410, currently allow billing of
assessable emissions to stationary sources subject to a permit. The authorization for
Avoidance is not considered a permit. The Avoidance authorizations are for sources that
have avoided needing for a permit. Authorizations issued under 18 AAC 50.225,

18 AAC 50.230, or 18 AAC 50.508(6) are not currently defined as a permit under 18
AAC 50.990. Including the Avoidance Authorizations in the definition of a permit would
require a regulation change. The cost and time needed to enact the regulation change will
not justify the anticipated increased revenue.
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Based upon the additional detailed review since the release of the May 31, 2006, Draft
Report and proposed regulations, ADEC will not charge the avoidance group the
emission fee, on the finding that the emission fee will place an inequitable cost burden on
sources which is not supported by the associated work, that would require a costly
regulation change, and that associated revenues would not cover the related billing and
accounting collection costs. In addition, imposing emission fees for the first time for this
group would further strain the smaller communities’ limited funding options.

Comment F: Title 1 funding

“The State’s statute on fee recovery for the Title 1 program should be amended so that
full cost recovery is not required.”—AOGA

Response:

ADEC understands that the commentator would like to see changes in the funding
structure for the Title 1 permits. Such a change cannot be done as part of a regulatory
project, and is rather an issue that requires legislative action. Therefore, changes will not
be made to the regulations based on a potential future change in the funding structure.
Any changes that are in effect by FY09 will affect the fee analysis ADEC has committed
to perform in that year (see Response to Comment C).

Comment G: Title 5 cost analysis

“We believe the estimate of hours required for Title V renewals is excessively high.
The analysis performed by DEC assumed that the Program will provide the same
quality of Title 5 permit services as in prior years...”--AOGA

Response:

The Fee Report did take into account Title 5 Permit Renewal work level estimates based
on the historical records of Title 5 Renewals. The majority of the initial Title 5 permits
were issued PRIOR to November 2003. Historical renewal data from FY03 to FY05 was
used to project the technical hours needed per renewal permit action. It is anticipated that
renewals will require less time than an initial new permit action. However, a review of
technical hours spent on recent permit renewals indicated that some actions may require
even more hours than originally predicted due to changes in federal rules or
complications stemming from compliance concerns. The numbers presented within the
Report represent our best estimates at this time.

The comment did not provide any specific support data. See Response to Comment B for
discussion of fee study assessment that will be done. Additionally, the Department will
be doing an analysis of permit administration fees in FY09, at which time a reevaluation
of the emission fees is planned. As a part of that fee evaluation project, any over or under
estimation of the time needed to renew permits upon which the current fees are based can
be corrected and the fees recalculated accordingly.
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Comment H: Opposed to increase in emission fees

“...is not in favor of these proposed increases in user fees. Within a period of four
years, these fees have increased in excess of 500%. ...

When these emission fees were first instituted and subsequently increased we
had asked if this was sufficient to provide for the State’s needs. The answer was a
resounding yes, followed by an increase. Our resistance to this substantial increase is
that we suspect, based on historical evidence, that the increases will not end here and
continued increases, quite frankly, are capable of putting our industry at risk.”—
AS&G

Response:

ADEC appreciates the fact the any increase in fees affects the regulated community’s
bottom line. The State is mandated by the Federal Clean Air Act to maintain the Air
Quality Program in such a manner that it is self supporting. As required by

AS 46.14.250, the Air Permits Program is supported by a mix of Emission Fees and
Permit Administrative Fees. The analysis shows that expected fee receipts will be
insufficient to fully fund the permits services as required by the Federal Clean Air Act
(CAA) at the service levels desired by the public stakeholders.

When the previous emission fee rate was set, the direct permit administrative costs were
based on a staff rate of $78/hr. Since that time, statutory changes enacted by the
legislature in AS 37.10 required changes to 18 AAC 50.400 which eliminated the $78/hr.
rate, established flat fee rates for some services, and decreased the direct hourly rate. The
changes to 18 AAC 50.400 have reduced revenues to the program from permit
administrative fees, which must be covered by an increase to the emission fees.

The emission fees study is based on projected work levels though FY10. ADEC will
reevaluate the emission fee rate in conjunction with the required evaluation of the Permit
Administrative Fees in FY09. Please see Sections 3.10 and 4.4 of the Emission Fee
Study for a more complete discussion of the issue.

Comment I: Request for extension

“This letter requests that ADEC issue a revised, complete Public Comment Draft for
another 30 day public review period. The public review document provided...during
the current 30 day public review period (June 1, 2006 — July 3, 2006) were initially
incomplete and were later substantially modified only a few days prior to the close of
public comment on June 27, 2006.”

ADEC has provided a supplemental public notice of proposed changes to the regulations,
and the public comment period was open through 5:00 PM on August 11, 2006.
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The original public notice, the Fee Report, and the proposed regulations were posted on
two separate web pages on June 1, 2006, (Proposed Permits--
http://www.dec.state.ak.us/air/ap/calendar.htm, and Regulations Information--
http://www.dec.state.ak.us/air/ap/requlati.ntm). The Fee Report was also available on
two additional pages (Air Permits-- http://www.dec.state.ak.us/air/ap/mainair.htm, and
the Division page-- http://www.dec.state.ak.us/air/ ).

The Appendices were posted on the same four pages on June 16, 2006.

The Supplement was posted on the same pages on June 26, 2006. The supplement was
not a change in structure or approach but rather it was an update to the fee rate
calculation.

Copies of the current notice are available on-line at
http://www.dec.state.ak.us/air/ap/regulati.htm.

Comment J: General comments

“Fees for air permits violates (sic) SIP portion of STIP, and section 706 of APA
(Federal), and local and special acts (AK Constitution) The Federal Administrative
code is not discretionary where it requires the decision to be in entirety; citing section
706 of APA (Federal). 1 cite reference to deficiency of giving administrative notice in a
format not yet complete. ...”—Dana Olson

The Alaska Constitution and Section 706 of the Federal Administrative Procedure Act
(APA) do not prevent revisions of Air Quality Control regulations in part. The Alaska
Statutes (AS 46.14.250) require that emission fees be assessed on permitted facilities
based on tons of air pollutants emitted and that the department shall periodically evaluate
the fees and revise them as needed to cover the costs of running the Air Permits program.
The proposed revisions to 18 AAC 50 reflected in this regulation revision package are
intended to meet the requirements of AS 46.14.250.

Regarding whether proper public notice was given for the public comment period, see
Response to Comment .

The remaining comments received in this particular written comment document
addressed other topics not related to the emission fee revisions proposed in the regulation
package under consideration. Therefore, ADEC has no further response to comments.

Oral Testimony: General comments

Oral testimony was received from one commenter during the Public Hearing on June 27,
2006. The commenter was at the public hearing and entered oral testimony as well as
submitted written comments. She submitted and testified on ADEC’s responsibilities to
make regulatory and permitting decisions in entirety based on requirements of the Federal
Administrative Procedures Act and AS 46.03.040. See Response to Comment J.
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There were no direct comments regarding the proposed emission fees changes which are
the topic of this regulation revision package. Therefore, ADEC has no additional
response to comments received during the public hearing.
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