
FAQ: Air Quality Regulations 
 
How are air quality regulations established?  
The chart on the reverse side outlines the general process for 
establishing air quality regulations. The process typically takes six to 
12 months, depending on the complexity of the regulation, and 
requires at least one public hearing during the 30-day comment 
period. All hearings have a call-in number to allow for remote 
participation. 
 
In addition to the formal public comment period and hearing, DEC 
often invites the public to participate informally during the 
development and modification processes through workshops or other 
public meetings (see reverse for diagram).  
 
What are “reasonable precautions” and who determines 
what they are? 
Alaska regulations (18 AAC 50.045) state, “a person who causes or 
permits bulk material to be handled, transported, or stored, or who 
engages in an industrial activity or construction project shall take 
reasonable precautions to prevent particulate matter from being 
emitted into the ambient air.”  
 
Reasonable precautions are measures to prevent particulate matter 
from being emitted into the air. Examples include spraying down 
material with liquid, installing enclosures around areas from which 
emissions come, and discontinuing operation under unfavorable 
weather events such as high winds. 
 
When required, DEC works with operators to determine what 
reasonable precautions are needed to maintain air quality standards.    
 
How are regulations enforced?  
Air quality regulations require facilities that emit specific pollutants 
above established levels to obtain permits. Permits define how much 
an individual facility can emit and identifies measures the facility must 
take to limit emissions. Permits also frequently include monitoring 
and reporting requirements. DEC inspectors make site visits to ensure 
permitees are operating within the terms of their permits or to 
conduct inspections when violations are suspected.  
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Are DOT and Alaska Rail exempt from regulations? 
No, the Alaska Department of Transportation and Alaska Rail must follow the same air quality 
regulations as everyone else. 
 
Once a new regulation is in place, how long do existing facilities have to come 
into compliance? 
A new regulation takes effect 30 days after it is filed by the Lieutenant Governor’s office. 
Once a new regulation is in effect, all affected facilities must comply. A facility can 
demonstrate compliance by applying for the required permit. Often, a regulation will identify 
procedures and a timeframe for existing facilities to come into compliance with new 
requirements.  
 
Can municipalities and boroughs have more stringent regulations than the state? 
Yes. They would be responsible for enforcing them.  
 
Regulation development process 

Develop regulation, including 
supporting research (up to 
several months) 

 Brief the Director and 
Commissioner 

 Formal public notice 
and hearing 
(minimum 30 days) 

     

     

Respond to comments 
(several weeks) 

 Modify regulation based on 
comments received if 
necessary 

 Brief Director and 
Commissioner 

     

                                          

Adopt regulation  Regulation Adoption Package 
goes to Department of Law for 
review (minimum 60 days) 

 Lt. Governor’s office  
for signatures (up to 
15 days) 

     

     

File regulation – regulation 
takes effect 30 days after 
filing 

    

 
 
 
 
 


