Report Oil and Hazardous Substance Spills

TOLL-FREE	1-800-478-9300
INTERNATIONAL	1-907-269-0667
ONLINE	ReportSpills.alaska.gov



It's Required by Alaska Law!

(AS 46.03.755, AS 46.03.450, 18 AAC 75.300, 18 AAC 75.325)

Oil and Petroleum Product Reporting

Spills to Water

Any amount spilled to water must be reported immediately.

Spills to Land

- Spills in excess of 55 gallons must be reported immediately.
- Spills in excess of 10 gallons but less than 55 gallons must be reported within 48 hours.
- Facilities shall maintain a spill log and report a record of oil discharges from 1 to 10 gallons monthly.

Spills to Impermeable Secondary Containment

Spills in excess of 55 gallons must be reported within 48 hours.

Hazardous Substance Reporting

Any hazardous substance spill, other than oil, must be reported immediately.

Underground Storage Tank (UST)* Reporting

You must report a suspected below ground release from a UST system, in any operator of a UST shall investigate the amount, within 24 hours. (18 AAC 78.212)

If a release is suspected the owner or UST site and shall report to the UST Unit within the period specified. (18 AAC 78.200)



Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Division of Spill Prevention and Response https://spills.alaska.gov

Contact us: (907) 465-5250

* Regulated UST as defined in AS 46.03.450(8)

Revised 10/10/2022