

Department of Environmental Conservation

Division of Water Office of the Director

P.O. Box 111800 Juneau, Alaska 99811-1800 Main: 907.465.5180

October 4, 2022

Garfield MacVeigh Constantine Mining LLC 800 West Pender Street, Suite 320 Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2V6 Canada

Re: Commissioner's Remand

Dear Mr. MacVeigh:

In a decision issued on September 6, 2022, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) Commissioner Jason Brune remanded the Conditional Approval to Construct and Adoption of New References at the Palmer Project dated May 27, 2022 authorized by Waste Management Permit 2019DB0001. The Commissioner's remand included specific instructions to the Division of Water. The three enclosures respond to the Commissioner's directives.

A person authorized under a provision of 18 AAC 15 may request an informal review of a contested decision by the Division Director in accordance with 18 AAC 15.185 and/or an adjudicatory hearing in accordance with 18 AAC 15.195 – 18 AAC 15.340. See DEC's "Appeal a DEC Decision" web page https://dec.alaska.gov/commish/review-guidance/ for access to the required forms and guidance on the appeal process. Please provide a courtesy copy of the adjudicatory hearing request in an electronic format to the parties required to be served under 18 AAC 15.200. Requests must be submitted no later than the deadline specified in 18 AAC 15.

If you have questions, please contact me at (907) 465-5307 or randy.bates@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Randy Bates Director Enclosures: Conditional Approval to Construct and Adoption of New References at the Palmer

Project

Waste Management Permit 2019DB0001 Response to Comments dated October 4, 2022

CC: Jason Brune, Commissioner, DEC

Emma Pokon, Deputy Commissioner, DEC

Gene McCabe, DEC

Allan Nakanishi, DEC

David Khan, DEC

Jennifer Currie, DOL

Cody Doig, DOL

Cameron Jimmo, DOL

Julie Pack, DOL

Kate Harper, DNR, Anchorage

Allegra Cairns, Constantine Mining

Jack DiMarchi, Core Geoscience

Kimberley Strong, Chilkat Indian Village

Jones Hotch, Jr., Chilkat Indian Village

Brian Willard, Chilkat Indian Village

Eric Colon, Earthjustice

Jeremy Lieb, Earthjustice

Dennis Geasan

Natalie Dawson, Audubon

Meredith Trainor, SEACC

Derek Poinsette, Takshanuk Watershed Council

Timothy June

Dan Opalski, EPA

Mathew Martinson, EPA

Susan Poulson, EPA

Jamey Stoddard, EPA