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1.  Introduction 

In November 2009, a portion of the Fairbanks North Star Borough (FNSB or Fairbanks) was 
designated as a Moderate nonattainment area for the 2006 24-hour Fine Particulate (PM2.5) 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS).1  On April 28, 2017, EPA officially re-
classified the Fairbanks area from “Moderate” to “Serious” nonattainment for the 24-Hour PM2.5 
standard.2  The design value used in the Serious SIP for the 2013-2015 period was 124 μg/m3 
(microgram per cubic meter).  The difference between this value and the ambient standard is 89 
μg/m3, which means that 98th percentile concentrations (the form of the standard) needed to be 
reduced by 72% to demonstrate attainment.  Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation 
(ADEC) submitted the Serious Area State Implementation Plan (SIP) for the Fairbanks PM2.5 
nonattainment area on December 13, 2019.  The EPA determined the plan met the completeness 
criteria on February 11, 2020 (85 FR 7760).3  Subsequently, the EPA found that the Fairbanks 
PM2.5 nonattainment area failed to attain the applicable Serious area attainment date of 
December 31, 2019 (85 FR 54509).4   
 
ADEC revised the state regulations and the State Air Quality Control Plan and submitted the 
2020 amendments to the EPA on December 15, 2020, to meet the requirements of CAA Section 
189(d), in addition to the requirements of CAA sections 172 and 189(b).  The 2020 Amendment 
to the Serious SIP (2020 Amendment) has a new base year, 2019, and a lower 4-year modeling 
design value (64.7 μg/m3) reflecting the progress that has been made in reducing emissions and 
addressing PM2.5 air pollution over the last five years.  On September 24, 2021, the EPA 
approved parts of the Serious SIP submissions in the Federal Register (86 FR 52997).5  
However, on January 10, 2023, the EPA published the proposed disapproval of the SIP in the 
Federal Register 88 FR 1454).6 Following EPA’s proposed disapproval, ADEC prepared 
responses to EPA’s comments and reevaluated the control measures that EPA dismissed in their 
proposed disapproval.  In the 2024 Amendments to the 189(d) Plan for the Serious SIP, ADEC 
revised the State regulations and control measure strategies based on EPA’s comments to meet 
the requirements of the CAA.  
 
The purpose of this document is to describe the process of revisions to the Control Measures for 
the 2024 Amendments to the Serious PM2.5 Attainment Plan for the Fairbanks North Star 
Borough  in Alaska. 
 
Presented below is a review of the regulatory requirements that continue to be addressed from 
the 2020 Amendment in the review, analysis, and selection of measures for the 2024 Revised 
Amendment.  Also presented is a summary of revisions made to strengthen both FNSB and 
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) PM2.5 regulatory controls included in 
the Serious Area SIP.  Those revisions form the baseline set of controls against which control 
measures adopted in other communities and agencies are examined for measure selection in the 

1 https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2009-11-13/pdf/E9-25711.pdf 
2 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2017/05/10/2017-09391/determinations-of-attainment-by-the-
attainment-date-determinations-of-failure-to-attain-by-the 
3 https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2020-02-11/pdf/2020-00982.pdf 
4 https://www.govinfo.gov/app/details/FR-2020-09-02/2020-17541 
5 https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2021-09-24/pdf/2021-20396.pdf 
6 https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2023-01-10/pdf/2022-28666.pdf 
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2020 Amendments and their revision in the 2024 Amendment.  A brief outline of the remainder 
of the report is also presented.  

Requirements for the 2024 Amendment Analysis 

The process for selecting measures for the 2024 Revised Amendment to the Serious SIP is 
defined in a series of steps detailed in the 2016 Final PM2.5 Rule.7  Those steps clarify and 
update PM10 control measure selection guidance presented in the Addendum to the General 
Preamble8 for the selection of PM2.5 controls for both Reasonably Available Control Measures 
(RACM), required for Moderate nonattainment areas and BACM for Serious nonattainment 
areas.  Presented below is a summary of the selection guidance presented in the Final PM2.5 Rule 
that is relevant for the 2024 Revised Amendment Plan.  The guidance is defined in a series of 
steps specified in the BACM selection process (i.e., the same process used to select BACM in 
the Serious SIP, and 2020 Amendment is used to select measures for the 2024 Revised 
Amendment). The control measure guidance for the 2020 Amendment requires “all control 
measures must be quantifiable, enforceable, replicable and accountable” as described in Section 
VI.D.5 of CAA section 189(d). 
 

• Step 1:  Develop a Comprehensive Inventory of Sources and Source Categories of 
Directly Emitted PM2.5 and PM2.5 Precursors – The inventory identifies the 
contribution of each source category to directly emitted PM2.5 and precursor emissions.  
This information is needed to understand the relative contribution and significance of 
each source to the overall burden on the nonattainment area.  EPA requires the 
identification of both anthropogenic (man-made) and non-anthropogenic (natural) 
emissions.  It also requires the analysis to start with the base year emissions inventory 
submitted with the Serious area attainment plan and to update it as necessary to reflect 
growth, construction, shutdowns, roadway improvements and other relevant changes that 
affect activity within the nonattainment area.  EPA also requires the Step 1 inventory to 
be consistent with the emissions inventory requirements for Serious area plans.     

 
• Step 2:  Identify Potential Control Measures – Consistent with earlier guidance, the 

PM2.5 Final Rule requires states to identify controls for each of the primary and secondary 
emission sources developed to represent activity within the subject nonattainment area.  
The starting point for assembling a list of controls is the BACM analysis prepared for the 
Serious SIP.  All controls considered, but not adopted, must be identified.  States are 
required to conduct a comprehensive review of information sources on existing and 
potential control measures implemented in other nonattainment areas around the country.  
Measures and technologies considered and implemented in attainment plans are a 
significant source of information.  Other information sources include summaries of 
control measures assembled by regional planning organizations and local air quality 
consortiums.  EPA also maintains online links to a variety of control programs.  States 
are required to identify both existing and potential new measures for the source 

7 https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-08-24/pdf/2016-18768.pdf 
8 https://www3.epa.gov/ttn/naaqs/aqmguide/collection/cp2/19940816_59fr_41998-
42017_addendum_general_preamble.pdf 
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categories identified in the base emissions inventory.  The goal is to identify a list of 
control measures that are more stringent than those adopted in the Serious SIP.  

 
Step 3:  Determine Whether an Available Control Measure or Technology is 
Technologically Feasible – This step evaluates the technical complexity of 
implementing a control measure and involves determining if the measure can be 
implemented with the existing techniques and tools by taking into account the several 
factors such as source’s operating procedures, potential impacts on the environment (e.g., 
air, water, noise, etc.) and energy (e.g., consumption, availability, etc.).  Measures 
targeting area and mobile sources need to consider the local circumstances, the condition 
and extent of needed infrastructure, population size, workforce type and habits, etc. In 
addition, the critical source parameters needed to assess the impacts of the technology 
need to be identified (e.g., fuel specifications, travel activity, EPA certification, etc.).  A 
key consideration is whether the identified measure provides an emissions benefit beyond 
those provided by existing federal, state, and local controls.  As per the Final Rule, States 
while assessing the feasibility of a control measure for BACM, should place a higher 
threshold (more stringent) compared to control measure evaluation for RACM.9 
Additionally, if a control is technologically infeasible but has been implemented in 
another PM2.5 nonattainment area, then the State will need to provide a detailed 
justification for technological infeasibility. in instances where a control measure has been 
implemented in another PM2.5 nonattainment area.  The final Rule also states that, unlike 
RACM process where the economic and technological feasibility had equal weightage in 
evaluating a control measure, economic feasibility is a less significant factor in BACM 
determination process.  
 

• Step 4:  Determine Whether an Available Control Technology or Measure is 
Economically Feasible – This step requires an explicit examination of the costs and 
emission benefits of the technologically feasible measure leading to an assessment of the 
$/ton of pollutant reduced.  As per the Final Rule, the key components used in assessing 
the economic feasibility includes the capital, maintenance, and operating costs, and 
emissions reduction as a result of implementing the control measure.  Factors to be 
considered for evaluating the economic feasibility relates to fixed and variable production 
costs, product supply and demand elasticity, product prices (cost absorption vs. cost pass-
through), expected costs incurred by competitors, company profits, employment costs, 
and other costs for BACM implemented by public sector entities).10  While the CAA 
section 110(a)(2)(E)11 requires the State to provide necessary assurance of having 
adequate funding, personnel, and authority to implement a control measure, the 
requirement does not mention that the funding/costs to be borne by the State cannot be 
included in the economic feasibility assessment of the control measure.  Similar to the 
technological feasibility, States need to consider control measures with a higher costs per 
ton in the BACM economic evaluation process compared to a RACM.  In contrast to the 
criteria employed in the RACM determination process, economic feasibility “is a less 
significant factor.”  States “may not eliminate a particular control measure as potential 

9 81 Fed. Reg. at 58085 
10 81 Fed. Reg. at 58085 
11 40 CFR 51.1010 at 407 
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BACM if similar sources have successfully implemented such a measure.” States are also 
required to consider technologically feasible measures that have not been implemented 
by similar sources but can reduce emissions at a cost that is not prohibitive.  The Final 
PM2.5 Rule does not establish a specific $/ton threshold for economic feasibility but 
rather states that cost-effectiveness estimates provide a relative value for each emissions 
reduction option that is comparable with other options.12  More expensive control 
measures must be adopted unless it can be demonstrated that costs and cost-effectiveness 
prohibitive relative to existing controls.  

 
Step 5:  Determine the Earliest Date by Which a Control Measure or Technology can be 
Implemented in Whole or Part – The CAA requires Serious area attainment plans to 
provide for the implementation of BACM no later than 4 years after reclassification of the 
area to Serious or prior to the statutory attainment date for the area.  If a state determines that 
technologically and economically feasible measures can be implemented in whole or in part 
during this period they must be adopted and implemented as expeditiously as possible.  As 
with the EPA’s proposed approach to RACM and RACT, the EPA proposes the term 
‘‘implement’’ to mean that the control measure or technology has not only been adopted into 
the SIP for the area but has also been built, installed and/or otherwise physically manifested 
and the affected sources are required to comply.  Since Fairbanks was classified as non-
attainment for PM2.5 in December 2009 the statutory attainment date was December 2019.  
After the Fairbanks PM2.5 Nonattainment Area failed to attain by December 31, 2019, ADEC 
was required to adopt the BACM by December 31, 2020.13  Based on EPA’s Final Rule14 
and the regulatory references included for BACM (40 CFR 51.1010 (C)(3)15, 
51.1004(a)(3)16), following the finding of failure to attain by the applicable Serious area 
attainment date, the state may make a demonstration that a measure identified is not 
technologically or economically feasible to implement in whole or in part within 5 years or 
such longer period as the EPA may determine is appropriate after the EPA's determination 
that the area failed to attain by the Serious area attainment date.  This date corresponds to 
December 31, 2024. 
 

Revisions to Strengthen PM2.5 Regulatory Controls 
 
Recognizing the need to make continued progress towards attainment, both the Borough and the 
state continued to evaluate and adopt regulatory controls after the submission of the Serious area 
SIP and the 2020 Amendments.  Since these controls form the baseline against which potential 
2024 Revised Amendment control measure technical and economic feasibility is assessed, a 
summary of the measures adopted is presented below. 
 
 

12 81 Fed. Reg. at 58042 
13 ADEC, 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP.  Appendix III.D.7.7. Assessed at 
https://dec.alaska.gov/media/22038/appendix-iii-d77-control-strategies-adopted-11-18-20.pdf. 
14 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626 
15 40 CFR 51.1010 (C)(3). Accessed at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-51/subpart-
Z/section-51.1010 
16 51.1004(a)(3). Accessed at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-51/subpart-
Z/section-51.1004#p-51.1004(a)(3) 
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Borough Ordinance Revisions 
 
The PM2.5 Air Quality Control Program is codified in Chapter 21.28.  Numerous changes to the 
program were debated within the Assembly leading to the adoption of ten separate Ordinances 
amending the program since the submission of the Moderate Area Plan to EPA December 31, 
2014, and January 29, 2015.  Collectively, those changes significantly increased the coverage 
and authority of the program to control emissions within the nonattainment area.  Passage of 
Proposition 4, the Home Heating Reclamation Act, on October 5, 2018, however, required the 
Borough to remove all of the ordinances implementing home heating restrictions, calling air 
quality alerts and enforcing them.  The proposition is effective for a 2-year period and is set to 
expire October 2020, unless a new similarly structured proposition is approved by voters in the 
2020 election.  However, action would need to be taken by the FNSB in coordination with the 
state to establish or reestablish specific local authorities related to home heating.  In the absence 
of a local control program, the Clean Air Act requires states to take responsibility for 
implementing air quality control programs that move the community towards attainment of the 
NAAQS.  Since the 2020 Amendment, the only changes to the Borough Ordinance related to 
local air quality have been to increase the incentives offered for the change-out programs in the 
Nonattainment Area. 
 
Alaska Administrate Code Revisions 
 
With an effective date of January 8, 2020, the Serious SIP was adopted by reference in state 
regulation (18 AAC 50).  In addition, the following sections of Chapter 50, the Air Quality Code 
were amended with the same effective date unless otherwise noted: 
 

• 18 AAC 50.030 Adopted Serious SIP Chapters and Appendices (revised as of July 29, 
2022) 

• 18 AAC 50.055 Emission limits for industrial processes and fuel-burning equipment  
• 18 AAC 50.075(e) Solid Fuel Heating Device Curtailment during air episodes and 

requirement to withhold fuel within three hours of effective time of a State 1 or Stage 2 
Alert 

• 18 AAC 50.075(f) Visible Emission requirements for solid fuel heating devices 
• 18 AAC 50.076 Solid fuel-fired heating device fuel requirements; requirements for wood 

sellers 
• 18 AAC 50.076(j) - (k) Commercial wood sellers may only sell dry wood unless 

exempted. 
• 18 AAC 50.076(l) Non-commercial wood sellers may not sell wet wood. 
• 18 AAC 50.077 Requirement to remove or replace wood-fired heating devices and wood-

fired outdoor hydronic heaters Upon Sale of Property that do not meet EPA or state 
standards and render the device inoperable. 

• 18 AAC 50.077(a) Outdoor hydronic heaters may not be sold or installed in the 
Nonattainment Area. 
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• 18 AAC 50.077(b) Emissions Standards for new pellet hydronic heaters sold or installed 
in the Nonattainment Area. 

• 18 AAC 50.077(c) Emissions Standards for new woodstoves and pellet stoves sold or 
installed in the Nonattainment Area. 

• 18 AAC 50.077(d) Emissions Standards for new wood-fired heating devices over 
350,000 Btu/hr sold or installed in the Nonattainment Area 

• 18 AAC 50.077(h) Device Registration requirements 
• 18 AAC 50.077(i) - (k) Device Installation requirements 
• 18 AAC 50.077(k) Vendors Requirements - wood-fired heating devices 
• 18 AAC 50.077(l) Device Requirement remove non-EPA certified devices and outdoor 

hydronic heaters by December 31, 2024 
• 18 AAC 50.077(n) Device Requirements - removal of old EPA certified devices - upon 

effective date of published EPA finding. 
• 18 AAC 50.078(b) Only fuel oil containing no more than 1,000 parts per million (ppm) 

sulfur may be sold – with an effective date of September 01, 2022 
• 18 AAC 50.078(c) - small area sources required to submit information 
• 18 AAC 50.078(d) - Commercial coffee roasters must install a pollution control device if 

any unit emits more than 24 pounds (lbs) of particulate matter (PM) in a 12-month 
period. 

• 18 AAC 50.079(b) may not install or reinstall coal-fired heating devices 
• 18 AAC 50.079(c) Requirement to remove coal-fired heating devices upon sale of 

property unless a wintertime source test shows that it meets emission standards 
• 18 AAC 50.079(f) all existing coal-fired heating devices shall be removed by December 

31, 2024. 

In addition to the code revisions noted above, EPA issued a Federal Register Notice17 on 
September 2, 2020, finalizing its determination that Fairbanks failed to attain the ambient 
PM2.5 standard by the attainment date.  This finding triggered the implementation of the 
contingency measure included in the Serious PM2.5 SIP.  The measure that was implemented 
effective October 2, 2020, is 18 AAC 50.077(n), date certain removal for EPA-certified 
devices over 2.0 g/hr and over 25 years old.  The rule requires owners of wood heaters to: 

• Remove/replace all EPA-certified stoves that are 25 years or older AND have an 
emission rating greater than 2.0 g/hr by no later than December 31, 2024, or at the 
time of a property transaction (e.g. home sale, lease, conveyance) whichever is 
earlier. 

17  https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2020-09-02/pdf/2020-
17541.pdf?utm_campaign=subscription+mailing+list&utm_source=federalregister.gov&utm_medium=email 
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•  For similarly emitting devices newer than 25 years before the effective date of the 
EPA finding, removal or replacement is required before 25 years from the date of 
manufacture.   

EPA approved the contingency measure submitted as part of the Fairbanks 189(d) Plan as SIP-
strengthening on September 24, 2021, (86 FR 52997).  In the 2020 Amendments, ADEC 
identified a contingency measure to increase the stringency of the curtailment program for wood-
fired heating devices, that account for a significant portion of the emissions inventory and are a 
critical element of the Fairbanks attainment plan.  The contingency measure would lower the 
Stage 2 curtailment threshold from 30 to 25 µg/m3, under the Fairbanks Emergency Episode 
Plan, State Air Quality Control Plan, Vol II, Chapter III.D.7.12.  In the event that EPA issues any 
of the findings identified in 18 AAC 50.030(c)(2), the contingency measure lowering the 
threshold for calling a Stage 2 alert will be triggered upon the effective date of the EPA finding.  
 
EPA approved the contingency measure submitted as part of the 2020 Amendments as SIP-
strengthening but proposed to disapprove the contingency measures submitted for the serious SIP 
and 2020 Amendments as not meeting the contingency measure requirements of CAA section 
172(c)(9) and 40 CFR 51.1014.  This findings was due to the emissions reduction from 
contingency measures not being sufficient to demonstrate the one year’s worth of RFP and lack 
of demonstration if these measures would reduce emissions for the applicable PM2.5 precursors, 
including SO2, and NH3. 
 
EPA issued a final rule approving and disapproving portions of the Fairbanks area Serious SIP 
and 189(d) plan requirements effective on January 4, 2024.  The disapproval includes sections of 
the control strategies and BACM analysis.  The purpose of this 2024 SIP amendment is to 
resolve the disapproved portions of the Fairbanks area Serious SIP and 189(d) plan, which 
include revising and adopting regulations.  A regulation package was released for public 
comment on March 11, 2024 and the public comment period closed on May 10, 2024.  The 
regulations have not been formally adopted and are not listed in this section.  

Outline for Remainder of the Section 

The remainder of this document is organized to present the findings of updated analyses 
addressing each of the 5 BACM process steps outlined above. Section 2 presents a summary of 
the calculations prepared to quantify the baseline emission inventory (Step 1).  A summary of the 
process followed to identify potential control measures is presented in Section 3 (Step 2).  
Section 4 presents the results of the technological feasibility analysis prepared for each of the 
measures identified in Section 3 (Step 3).  Section 5 presents the results of the economic 
feasibility analysis for each measure determined in Step 3 to be technologically feasible (Step 4).  
Section 6 presents information on the earliest date at which measures determined to be 
technologically feasible (and/or adopted in a new state regulation) in Step 3 and economically 
feasible in Step 4 can be implemented (Step 5).  Section 7 presents a summary of the selected 
control measures for consideration of implementation in the 2020 Amendment to the Serious 
SIP.  Appendix A contains a reference to the state’s economic analysis for Measure 51 (Ultra-
low sulfur diesel), Measure 60 (Vehicle idling restrictions for light-duty and heavy-duty 
vehicles), Measure 68 (Charbroilers), and Measure 70 (Used-oil burners). 
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2.  Step 1 – Develop a Comprehensive Inventory of Sources and Source 
Categories of Directly Emitted PM2.5 and PM2.5 Precursors 

The first element in the multi-step BACM process consists of the development of an emission 
inventory (EI) of sources of directly emitted PM2.5 and PM2.5 precursors within the 
nonattainment area.  This section describes that process.  It includes a list of all source categories 
reflected in the inventory and a summary of the sources and activities in the nonattainment area.  
It also includes a summary of emissions by source category of both directly emitted PM2.5 and its 
precursors. 

Source Categories Inventoried 

Overview - The inventory supporting the analysis for the 2024 Amendment Plan was developed 
in a manner consistent with the EI requirements for Serious Area (and CAA 189(d)) plans 
specified in EPA’s PM2.5 Implementation Rule18 (or PM Rule).  This included representation of 
source activity and emissions on a seasonal, rather than annual basis as provided for under the 
PM Rule.  As discussed in the separate Emission Inventory document (Chapter III.D.7.06, and 
Appendix III.D.7.06), the use of seasonal estimates is appropriate for the 24-hour PM2.5 standard 
in Fairbanks since violations of the standard are confined to winter months (October through 
March) and source activity that triggers these violations peaks during that time. 
 
The inventory was developed using the 2020 base year emission inventory for the Fairbanks 
PM2.5 nonattainment area.  The base year inventory accounts for emission reductions from 
control measures adopted and implemented through December 31, 2019.  The inventory was 
projected forward to calendar year 2027 and reflects growth, and controls in place at the end of 
2027.  
 
For all inventory sectors, episodic modeling inventory emissions were calculated using a 
“bottom-up” approach that relied heavily on an exhaustive set of locally measured data used to 
support the emission estimates.  For source types judged to be less significant or for which local 
data were not available, estimates relied on EPA-developed NEI county-level activity data and 
emission factors from EPA’s Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors,19  AP-42 database.   
 
Figure 1 shows the boundaries of the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area (shaded region) 
overlaid on the roadway system in the area.  The nonattainment area covers 271 square miles.  
Figure 1 also shows the names and locations of the six major point sources located within the 
nonattainment area (using blue dots). 
 
Sources Included and Pollutants Covered – The inventory included a review of all anthropogenic 
and biogenic emission sources within the nonattainment area.  As described in greater detail in 

18 Federal Register, Vol. 81, No. 164, August 24, 2016 (FR 81 58010). 
19 Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors,” Fifth Edition and Supplements, AP-42, U.S. EPA, Research 
Triangle Park, NC. January 1995. 

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-17



the Emission Inventory document, it was determined that biogenic emissions were negligible 
during the winter season represented in the inventory.  In addition, fugitive dust sources of PM2.5 
were also estimated to be negligible under the snow/ice bound conditions reflected in the winter 
seasonal inventory. 
 
Pollutants represented in the inventory consisted of both direct PM2.5 as well as emissions of 
potential precursor pollutants: sulfur dioxide (SO2), oxides of nitrogen (NOx), volatile organic 
compounds (VOC), and ammonia (NH3).  

 
Figure 1.  Fairbanks PM2.5 Nonattainment Area 
 
Sources Included and Pollutants Covered – The inventory included a review of all anthropogenic 
and biogenic emission sources within the nonattainment area.  As described in greater detail in 
the Emission Inventory document, it was determined that biogenic emissions were negligible 
during the winter season represented in the inventory.  In addition, fugitive dust sources of PM2.5 
were also estimated to be negligible under the snow/ice bound conditions reflected in the winter 
seasonal inventory. 
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Pollutants represented in the inventory consisted of both direct PM2.5 as well as emissions of 
potential precursor pollutants: sulfur dioxide (SO2), oxides of nitrogen (NOx), volatile organic 
compounds (VOC), and ammonia (NH3).  
 
Summary of Inventory Data Sources and Methods – Table 1 briefly summarizes the data sources 
and methods used to develop the emissions inventory by source type.  It also highlights those 
elements based on locally collected data.  As shown by the shaded regions in Table 1, the 
majority of wintertime activity and emission factor data supporting the inventory was developed 
based on local data and test measurements. 
 
Table 1. Summary of Data/Methods Used in 2024 Amendment SIP 2020 Base Year 
Inventory  

Source Type/Category Source Activity Emission Factors 
Point Sources Facility and stack-level fuel use and 

process throughput 
Continuous emissions monitoring or 
facility/fuel-specific factors 

Area (Nonpoint) Sources, 
Space Heating 

Detailed wintertime Fairbanks non-
attainment area residential heating 
device activity measurements and 
surveys 

- Test measurements of common 
Fairbanks wood and oil heating 
devices using local fuels 

- AP-42 factors for local devices or 
fuels not tested (e.g., coal) 

Area Sources, All Others  

- Seasonal, source category-
specific activity from a 
combination of State/Borough 
sources AP-42 emission factors 

- National Emission Inventory 
(NEI)-based activity for 
commercial cooking 

On-Road Mobile Sources Local estimates of seasonal vehicle 
miles traveled 

- MOVES3.1 emission factors based 
on local fleet/fuel characteristics 

- Augmented with Fairbanks 
wintertime vehicle warmup and 
plug-in emission testing data 

Non-Road Mobile Sources 

- Local activity estimates for key 
categories such as snowmobiles, 
aircraft and rail 

- MOVES3.1 model factors for non-
road equipment 

- AEDT2c model factors for aircraft 
- EPA factors for locomotives 

- MOVES3.1 model-based 
activity for Fairbanks for other 
categories 

 
Within the inventory, activity and emissions were represented at the individual Source 
Classification Code (SCC) level, with the exception of the major point sources.  Major point 
source emissions were compiled by SCC, facility and emission unit. 
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As evidenced by source classification structure used to highlight utilization of key local data 
sources, development of detailed episodic emission estimates to support the attainment modeling 
focused on three key source types: 
 

1. Stationary Point Sources – industrial facility emissions for “major” stationary sources as 
defined later in this sub-section developed from wintertime activity and fuel usage; 
 

2. Space Heating Area (Nonpoint) Sources – residential and commercial heating of 
buildings with devices/fuels used under wintertime episodic ambient conditions; and  
 

3. On-Road Mobile Sources – on-road vehicle emissions based on local activity and fleet 
characteristics with EPA-accepted adjustments to account for effects of wintertime 
vehicle/engine block heater “plug-in” use in Fairbanks using MOVES3 (the latest version 
of MOVES at the time SIP development began for the 2024 Amendment). 
 

As seen in emission summaries presented later in this sub-section, these three source types were 
the major contributors to both direct PM2.5 emissions as well as emissions of potential precursor 
pollutants SO2, NOx, VOC, and NH3 within both the nonattainment area as well as the broader 
Grid 3 modeling domain.  
 
Revised Serious SIP Estimates – The Serious SIP contained a 2013 Baseline inventory.  The 
2020 Amendment was based on a 2019 Baseline inventory.  The 2020 Baseline inventory for this 
2024 Amendment was substantially updated for the 2020 base year based on new or revised 
activity estimates since the Serious SIP and 2020 Amendment development for which key 
elements are summarized below.  
 

• Modeling Episode – As explained in detail in Section III.D.7.8, the 2024 Amendment 
included development of an entirely new photochemical modeling platform, and for the 
emission inventory, features a new, more current winter 2019-2020 modeling episode.  
Thus, as explained by source sector below, episodic emissions for the 2020 Base Year 
inventory were based on activity collected to represent this 74-day 2019-2020 period. 

 
• Point Sources – Day and hour-specific fuel use for the new 2019-2020 modeling episode 

were obtained by ADEC from each of the point source facilities within the nonattainment 
area.  Unlike the earlier baseline inventories for the Serious SIP and 2020 Amendment 
which projected episodic emissions from 2008 to 2013 and 2019 respectively, the 2020 
Baseline point source inventory was based directly on these activity data as it temporally 
aligns with modeling episode. 

 
• Space Heating Area Sources – Space heating energy usage estimates for the 2020 

Baseline inventory were based on a comprehensive new Fairbanks Home Heating survey, 
conducted in Spring 2023.  Respondents were asked to provide information on fuel usage 
by device in their household for the recent two calendar years (2021 and 2022) as well as 
the recent October through March six month winter period.  Data from this 2023 survey 
was used to replace the projected space heating emissions developed under the Serious 
SIP and 2020 Amendments from earlier 2011-2015 surveys.  The decreases in the 

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-20



fraction of wood devices used in the nonattainment area as well as the amount of wood 
use per device tracked well with downward trajectories of wood use expected from 
existing and on-going control programs such as the FNSB Wood Stove Change Out 
Program and DEC’s Solid Fuel Curtailment Program.  Results from 2022 and early 2023 
period reflected in the new survey were also carefully backcasted to calendar year 2020 
to account for changes in conditions and on-going control programs between the survey 
period and the 2020 Baseline inventory date.  
 

• On-Road and Non-Road Mobile Sources – Under the Serious SIP and the 2020 
Amendment, on-road vehicle populations and age distributions had been based on 2014 
and 2018 DMV registration data, respectively.  For the 2024 Amendment, 2020 DMV 
registration data were used to align with the 2020 Baseline inventory year.  For on-road 
mobile sources, these 2020 DMV data were used to develop vehicle population, age 
distribution, and fuel type/technology inputs to the MOVES vehicle emissions model.  
Within the non-road mobile source sector, annual aircraft activity that had been assumed 
to be constant by month within the Serious SIP was revised under the 2020 Amendment 
to the Serious SIP based on monthly data collected from the airfields in the nonattainment 
area that showed less aircraft activity during winter months than the rest of the year.  
(Total annual aircraft operations remain unchanged from the Serious SIP, only the 
monthly distributions were revised.)  The estimates of aircraft activity in the 2024 
Amendment were unchanged from the approach used under the earlier 2020 Amendment. 

Summary of Emissions 

Emissions for the 2020 Baseline inventory within the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area were 
updated from the Serious SIP, and 2020 Amendment based on new or revised activity estimates 
as summarized in the preceding section.  They were tabulated by key source sector and updated 
to reflect the effects of growth through 2027 and controls in place at the end of 2027.  Table 2 
presents the resulting Control emission inventory estimates, expressed as average day emissions 
within the winter season for base year 2020.  Emissions of direct PM2.5 are highlighted in the 
first column.  Precursor pollutant emissions are also shown.  As seen in Table 2, space heating 
contributes the largest share of direct PM2.5, with wood-burning being the dominant fuel type.  
For the gaseous precursor pollutants, point sources are the major contributors of NOx while SO2 
emissions are dominated by point sources, aircraft (within the non-road mobile sector), and space 
heating oil.  Most VOC and NH3 emissions are produced by space heating, with other 
contributions from mobile sources. 
 
Table 2. 2020 Baseline Emissions Inventory (tons/day) by Source Sector 

Source Sector 
Nonattainment Area Winter Season  
Emissions (tons/day) 
PM2.5  NOx  SO2  VOC  NH3  

Point Sources  0.58 13.51 6.54 0.04 0.087 
Area, Space Heating  1.97 2.17 3.61 6.66 0.109 

Area, Space Heat, Wood  1.89 0.23 0.04 6.55 0.067 
Area, Space Heat, Oil  0.06 1.72 3.54 0.10 0.003 
Area, Space Heat, Coal  0.00 0.00 0.00 0.00 0.000 
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Area, Space Heat, Other  0.02 0.22 0.02 0.01 0.039 
Area, Other  0.11 0.36 0.03 2.12 0.047 
Mobile, On-Road 0.07 1.18 0.00 1.42 0.040 
Mobile, Aircraft 0.12 0.43 5.44 0.15 0.000 
Mobile, Non-Road less aircraft 0.09 0.29 0.00 2.64 0.001 
TOTALS  2.95 17.94 15.63 13.04 0.285 
 
To provide a clearer understanding of the significance of each source sector, Table 3 provides a 
breakdown of the percentage contributions of each sector (or subcategory) to total emissions for 
each pollutant.  As shown in Table 3 over 60% of direct PM2.5 comes from space heating.  Point 
sources contribute just under 20% of direct PM2.5, with other area sources and mobile sources 
accounting for the remaining 13%.  For NOx, point sources are the major contributor, accounting 
for 75% of total emissions.  Space heating is the second largest NOx source, representing 12%.  
SO2 emissions come primarily from point sources (42%), with mobile aircraft sources as the next 
largest share at 35%.   
 
Table 3. 2020 Baseline Emissions Inventory 
Contributions by Source Sector (% of total pollutant emissions) 

Source Sector Nonattainment Area Winter Season  
Emissions (tons/day) 

 PM2.5 NOx SO2 VOC NH3 
Point Sources  19.6% 75.3% 41.9% 0.3% 30.7% 
Area, Space Heating  67.1% 12.1% 23.1% 51% 38.2% 

Area, Space Heat, Wood  64.2% 1.3% 0.3% 50.2% 23.4% 
Area, Space Heat, Oil  2.2% 9.6% 22.7% 0.7% 1.2% 
Area, Space Heat, Coal  0.1% 0% 0% 0% 0.1% 
Area, Space Heat, Other  0.6% 1.2% 0.1% 0.1% 13.5% 

Area, Other  3.9% 2% 0.2% 16.3% 16.4% 
Mobile, On-Road 2.5% 6.6% 0% 10.9% 14% 
Mobile, Aircraft 4% 2.4% 34.8% 1.2% 0% 
Mobile, Non-Road less aircraft 3.1% 1.6% 0% 20.3% 0.5% 
TOTALS 100.0% 100.0% 100.0% 100.0% 100.0% 
 
Since the portion of emission sources encompassing all categories except point sources are 
subject to 5% emission reductions for control measures and recently adopted regulations (point 
sources are addressed under BACT), these tabulations show that space heating continues to be 
the dominant, but not singular source of emissions under the 2024 Amendment to the Serious 
SIP. 
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3.  Step 2 – Identify Potential Control Measures 

The second step in the 2024 Revised Amendment Plan identification and evaluation process is to 
identify candidate control measures.  In this step, a list of control measures potentially applicable 
to the mobile and area source PM2.5 source categories is developed for consideration for a plan 
amendment required under CAA Section 189(d).  States are required to examine a wide range of 
information sources on existing and potential control measures in the search for candidate 
control measures.  The Final PM2.5 Rule requires the list of potential controls to include “options 
not previously considered as BACM”, control measures being implemented in other 
nonattainment areas, and measures considered by regional planning organizations and state and 
local air quality consortiums.  The goal is to identify a list of control measures that are more 
stringent than those adopted in the Serious Area SIP.  
 
The process followed to select control measures for the 2024 Revised Amendment was to 
assemble a list of the control measures not adopted in the Serious SIP and the 2020 Amendment 
and to review the control measures implemented in serious PM2.5 nonattainment communities to 
determine if any revisions had been adopted since the submission of the 2020 Amendment to the 
Serious SIP.  A review of the following air quality regulatory agencies was conducted to 
determine if any control measures were adopted since the submission of the 2020 Amendment.  
 

• San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District (SJVAPCD), CA 
• Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD), CA 
• South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD), CA 
• Utah Division of Air Quality (UDAQ), UT 
• Northern Sierra Air Quality Management District, CA 
• Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District (SMAQMD), CA 
• City of Berkeley 
• Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ), TX 
• New York City Department of Environmental Protection (NYCDEP)  
• Puget Sound Clean Air Agency (PSCAA), WA 
• Vermont Air Quality and Climate Division (VAQCD) 
• Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE), CO 
• San Diego Air Pollution Control District (SDAPCD), CA 
• Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (ODEQ), OR 

 
The following jurisdictions have updated SIPs since the submission of the 2020 Amendment and 
ADEC reviewed these in detail to assess if there were any new control measures to be evaluated 
for the 2024 Amendment. 
 
• The Northern Sierra Air Quality Management District submitted an updated contingency 

measure SIP revision20 as part of the moderate area SIP in October 2020 for Plumas County, 
in California which was approved by EPA in 2021.  In November 2022, the EPA determined 
that the Portola NA failed to attain the 2012 PM2.5 NAAQS by December 31, 2021, moderate 
area attainment date and reclassified the area to serious.  In the updated Plan, the district 

20 CARB. Proposed Portola PM2.5 Plan Contingency Measure SIP Submission. October 16, 2020.   
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developed several contingency measures that reduced PM2.5 emissions equivalent to one 
year’s worth of progress.  Firstly, the district updated the residential wood burning 
curtailment program by lowering the thresholds from 30 to 20 μg/m3 and extended the 
program duration from Nov – Feb to Sep – April (for 8 months) for Zone 1 comprised of the 
City of Portola. Secondly, the district extended the incentive-based wood stove change-out 
program beyond 2020 due to the COVID-19 delays.  In addition, the district planned to 
implement a voluntary curtailment program in Zone 2 (the rest of the Plumas County 
nonattainment area) and use the weatherization assistance program for low-income 
households to weatherize 30 summer cabins that are being used for all-year-round residences.  
 
ADEC’s curtailment control measure is already stringent set at 20µg/m3 for Stage 1 and 30 
µg/m3 for Stage 2 Alert compared to the curtailment levels in Portola. Further, extending the 
curtailment duration beyond winter months is irrelevant as the nonattainment period in 
Fairbanks is only during winter.  In addition, there is an ongoing woodstove change out 
program, and several voluntary weatherization programs in the Nonattainment Area.  

 
• The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control Board and CARB developed the Initial SIP in 

October 202321 as a result of EPA’s reclassification of the San Joaquin Valley as a Serious 
nonattainment area for the 2012 PM2.5 annual NAAQS, and CARB withdrawing the portions 
of the 2018 PM2.5 Plan for the 2012 PM2.5 NAAQS.  This initial submission prepared 18 
months after the effective date of reclassification focuses on the BACM analysis, emissions 
inventor, precursor analysis, and nonattainment new source review.  Although this Plan has 
not been reviewed by EPA, ADEC assessed the Plan as the SJVAPCD is one of the most 
reviewed SIP’s as part of BACM Step 2 in identifying potential control measures.  A 
comparison of SJVAPCD control measures that were referred to in the Fairbanks 189(d) Plan 
versus the changes in the 2023 Initial Serious SIP is provided in Table 4. 

 
Table 4. Evaluation of Control Measures from SJVAPCD SIP 

SJVAPCD Control Measures referred to 
in the Fairbanks 189(d) Plan 

2023 SJVAPCD Initial Serious SIP 

Wood Burning Fireplace and Wood Burning Heaters (SJVAPCD Rule 4901) 
DEC Measure 4: Require Confirmation of 
Proper Installation by Requiring 
Professional Installation or On-Site 
Inspection 

No changes to these requirements.  

DEC Measure 5: Register/Require Industry 
Certification of Heating Professionals 

No changes to these requirements. 

DEC Measure 9: Limit the density of solid-
fuel heating devices in new construction 

No changes to these limits.  

DEC Measure 19: Require Registration of 
Devices to Qualify for Exemption from 
Curtailments 

No changes. 

DEC Measure 20: Require Renewals with 
Inspection Requirements: Registration 

No changes. 

21 SJVAPCD.  Initial SIP Requirements for the 2012 Annual PM2.5 Standard. October 19, 2023.  
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requirements and operation during 
curtailment periods 
DEC Measure 21: Optional Device 
Registration for Curtailment Exemptions 

No changes. 

DEC Measure 26: Require Inspection of 
Device and Installation 

No changes. 

DEC Measure 32: Require Dry Wood to be 
Clearly Labeled to Prohibit Marketing of 
Non-Dry Wood as Dry Wood 

No changes. 

DEC Measure 46: Lack of electrical or 
natural gas service availability 

No changes. 

DEC Measure 66: Curtailment Threshold In May 2023, the district amended Rule 4901 to 
establish a sequence of increasingly stringent 
contingency curtailment thresholds for all 
counties that would be triggered upon the 
contingency measure requirements.  
• Contingency measure 1 to lower the level 1 

and level 2 thresholds for non hot-spot 
counties from 20 to 12 μg/m3 and 65 to 35 
μg/m3 respectively. No changes were 
proposed for hot-spot counties. 

• Contingency measure 2 to further lower the 
level 1 thresholds for all counties from 12 to 
11 μg/m3 and no changes for level 2 set at 35 
μg/m3. 

Charbroilers (SJVAPCD Rule 4692) 
DEC Measure 68: Underfired charbroilers 
are not subject to the requirements of Rule 
4692, except for reporting requirements. 
The district rejected control DEC Measures 
based on economic infeasibility for 
underfired charbroilers.  

No changes. The district has identified new 
control technologies to reduce emissions from 
underfired charbroilers (in addition to ESP, 
filtration, regenerative filters, and wool filters 
have been added as viable control technologies). 
The district also updated the CE numbers 
compared to previous BACM analysis which 
continue to be economically infeasible.  

Incinerators (SJVAPCD Rule 4203) 
DEC Measure 69: Incinerators No changes.  

Transportation Control Measures (TCMs) 
The 2018 SJV PM2.5 Plan relied on the 
TCMs originally submitted as part of a 
2002 Severe Ozone Plan, and the selection 
or dismissal of TCMs was based solely on 
qualitative assessment.   

The district conducted a BACM analysis for the 
2023 Plan and did not identify any new 
measures for implementation as the ongoing 
TCMs meet the BACM requirements.  

Weatherization 
One of the components of Rule 4901 that 
relates to weatherization is the public 
education and outreach program.  

No changes.  
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Based on this evaluation, except for revised contingency measures, there are no new control 
measures to be considered for the 2024 Amendment. Similar to the San Joaquin Valley, in 
the 2024 Amendment, ADEC is revising the contingency measures to meet the requirements 
of CAA section 172(c)(9) and 40 CFR 51.1014. The measures would increase the stringency 
of the Curtailment Program thresholds/alert levels for wood-fired heating devices and 
increase compliance with Wood Device Removal (STF-17) measure. The contingency 
measure would lower the Stage 1 level from 20µg/m3 to 15µg/m3 and Stage 2 level from 
30µg/m3 to 20µg/m3 and increase compliance for STF-17 from 30% to 45%. Contingency 
measures are explained in Section III.D.7.11. Based on the revised contingency measures, the 
curtailment program in the Fairbanks Nonattainment Area is as stringent as the San Joaquin 
Valley because the alerts apply to the entire Nonattainment Area and level 1 threshold is at 
12µg/m3 compared to ADEC’s Stage 1 at 15µg/m3, and level 2 threshold is at 35µg/m3 

compared to ADEC’s Stage 2 at 20µg/m3. 
 
• Yuba City-Marysville Area, Sacramento: CARB submitted the second maintenance plan for 

PM2.5 in April 2023. As this is a maintenance plan, a review of this Plan is not required as 
part of the BACM step 2 process.  

 
The review of the control measures employed in these PM2.5 programs determined that no new 
measures had been implemented since the submission of the 2020 Amendment to Serious SIP.   
 
Listed below are the measures that were not adopted because they were determined to be 
technologically infeasible (Step 3), economically infeasible (Step 4) or could not be implemented 
within the required timeframe (Step 5).  Also listed is the source of the control measure, which 
includes the community implementing the measure, EPA comments, and comments submitted 
for the Fairbanks RACM and BACM analyses.   
 
A wide range of rules implementing SIP controls were examined to identify control measures for 
consideration as BACM and 2024 Revised Amendment Plan control measures.  Several states 
and local jurisdictions were found to have multiple rules addressing PM2.5 control.  Most rules 
are extensive and contain separate sections addressing definitions, prohibitions, stage 
restrictions, exemptions, penalties, etc.  Use of these links facilitated the comparative evaluation 
of control program requirements in the Fairbanks North Star Borough and State of Alaska to 
those of other jurisdictions to determine if those of other jurisdictions are potentially more 
stringent than corresponding Fairbanks area requirements - the screening qualification for 
consideration as BACM as well as for consideration as control measures under CAA Section 
189(d) requirements.    
 
After reviewing the range of PM2.5 control programs in place across the country, it became 
apparent that many had similar structures, and detailed requirements reflecting local decisions 
about how best to implement needed controls.  Since the programs reviewed did not fit into a 
uniform template, evaluations of them had to be conducted in a careful manner to understand 
requirement nuances.  Definitions differ, prohibitions and thresholds for implementation differ, 
exemptions frequently differ, etc.  Thus, while it was tempting to contrast entire regulatory 
packages to determine which provided the largest reduction in emissions, quantification of 
reductions was found to be a complex exercise because of the numerous regulatory differences 
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between these packages and that of Fairbanks.  Several of the findings made during this initial 
approach were that: 
 

1. Considerable effort would be required to develop separate spreadsheets for each 
regulatory package to quantify overall emission benefits in Fairbanks; 

2. Individual components of regulatory packages that could provide benefits in Fairbanks 
could be missed if other components of the same packages offset these benefits when 
packages were considered in total (i.e., throwing the baby out with the bathwater); 

3. Comparisons of individual regulatory elements is easier to analyze and present for 
review; 

4. Comparisons of individual regulatory elements do not require spreadsheet analysis to 
determine which elements are more stringent; 

5. Frequently, the data or estimates needed to contrast measures quantitatively do not exist:  
impacts on emissions due to differences in exemption details, approved device categories, 
installation requirements, curtailment requirements, enforcement policies, shifts in 
behavior, etc. 

 
Collectively, the issues listed above led to a decision to contrast elements of regulatory packages 
with those of the Borough and the State of Alaska.  The search for regulatory elements that 
appeared to be more stringent than those in Fairbanks and Alaska regulations first produced a list 
of jurisdictions implementing them and web links to the applicable regulations. 
 
The next step was to isolate the specific elements in these rules and regulatory packages that 
appeared to be more stringent than the corresponding elements in FNSB and Alaska regulations.  
These elements were assigned short descriptive titles and then organized into groups of common 
functionalities.  In other words, all the specific elements that regulated device installation were 
grouped together under the group title of “Device Installation – General”.  Element groups were 
then organized in a sequence that followed the chronological events in device acquisition, use, 
and retirement, such as sale, installation, permitting, exemption granting, operation, curtailment 
during air quality advisories, and removal.  Because the analysis of source categories 
contributing to PM2.5 nonattainment in the Borough identified coal burning, heating oil 
combustion, and motor vehicle travel as being significant, elements of regulations implemented 
by other jurisdictions that addressed these sources were grouped together in separate categories.   
 
The list of these functionality groups and individual regulatory elements evaluated and not 
adopted in the Serious SIP, and 2020 Amendment is presented in Table 5.  Listed with each 
regulatory element are the jurisdictions implementing these elements. Because some of the 
measures came from a mixture of sources that were not implementing jurisdictions, they were 
grouped into the last “Other” category.  They included (a) EPA comments22 on the draft BACM 
document in May 2018 that identified several additional control measures to be addressed in the 
analysis.  In addition (b), analysis of commercial controls in process at the time of the release of 
the draft 2020 Amendment were completed and are included in this analysis.  Finally (c), 
comments received from the public on the Moderate SIP suggested additional control measures 

22 Attachment to a letter from Dan Brown to Denise Koch, 5/23/2018, EPA comments on ADEC Preliminary Draft 
Serious SIP Development materials for the Fairbanks serious PM2.5 nonattainment area.  
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and were included in the original RACM analysis, not adopted, considered in the BACM 
analysis, and not adopted, and (d) comments received from EPA on the 2020 Amendments.   
 
In the Serious Area SIP Section 7.7, control strategies from the Air Quality Stakeholders 
recommendations were cross-referenced with the BACM analysis and final regulation package. 
Due to the multiple processes for identifying control measures, and the overlap between the 
measures, a crosswalk and summary was developed in Table 7.7-6 of the Serious Area SIP.  The 
crosswalk and summary table were reviewed to determine if any Air Quality Stakeholder 
measures were identified but not adequately addressed.  The results of the review show that each 
Air Quality Stakeholder measure was either associated with a control measure in the Serious 
Area SIP BACM analysis, or was classified as non-regulatory, or was a recommendation for 
named point sources and addressed in the BACT analysis. 
   
Table 5. Control Measures Implemented in PM2.5 Nonattainment Areas and Suggested in 
SIP Comments That Have Not Been Implemented in FNSB or only Implemented in Part. 

Measure Description Areas Implementing Measure 
Sale of Devices -  New 
1. Surcharge on Device Sales Washington State 
Sale of Devices – Used 
6.  Prohibit installation of flue dampers unless device was 

certified using a flue damper Missoula County, MT 

8.  Prohibit installation of Solid Fuel Heating Device 
(SFHD) in new construction 

South Coast Air Basin, CA 
San Joaquin Valley, CA 
Bay Area, CA 

9.  Limit the density of SFHD in new developments San Joaquin Valley, CA 
East Kern, CA 

10.  Install EPA-certified device whenever a fireplace or 
chimney is remodeled Bay Area, CA  

Device Installation - Hydronic Heaters 
11.  Prohibit use of rain caps on stacks Maine, ME 

12.  Require minimum stack height relative to rooflines of 
nearby unserved buildings 

Maine, ME 
New York, NY 
Utah, UT 

14.  Require installation of thermal mass to improve 
efficiency and prevent frequent cycling in selected new 
units 

U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency 

Device Operation – Opacity 

18.  No Visible Emissions during Curtailment Periods Puget Sound CAA, WA 
Maricopa County, AZ  

Device Operation – Permits 
23.  Require exempt households to display a decal visible 

from a point of public access Ada County, ID 

Device Operation – NOASH  
25.  Require detailed application or inspection to verify 

need Puget Sound CAA, WA 
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Measure Description Areas Implementing Measure 
27.  Require annual renewal of waiver Maricopa County, AZ 

28.  Set income threshold Missoula County, MT 
Maricopa County, AZ 

29.  Allow only NOASH households to burn during 
curtailment periods Utah, UT 

Fuels 
31.  Require sale of only dry wood during late summer to 

end of winter South Coast Air Basin, CA 

32.  Require dry wood to be clearly labeled to prohibit 
marketing of non-dry wood as dry wood 

San Joaquin Valley, CA 
Bay Area, CA 

Open Burning 

35.  Restrict burning during air pollution events Ada County, ID 
Klamath County, OR 

Curtailment Programs – Averaging Period 
38.  Ambient PM2.5 concentration (1-hr average) Idaho, ID 
Curtailment Programs – Thresholds 
39. Use of AQI as Basis for Curtailment Threshold Idaho, ID 
Curtailment Program – Exemptions 

42.  Burn down period Puget Sound CAA, WA 
Maricopa County, AZ 

45.  Elevation-based South Coast Air Basin, CA 

46.  Lack of electrical or natural gas service availability 
Utah, UT 
South Coast Air Basin, CA  
San Joaquin Valley, CA 

Coal 

50.  Require low sulfur content coal Missoula City-County, MT 
Puget Sound CAA, WA 

Ultra-low Sulfur Diesel/Heating Oil 

51.  Ultra-low Sulfur Heating Oil 
Missoula City-County, MT 
New York, NY 
Pennsylvania, PA 

Used Oil 
52.  Operation and sale of small “pot burners” prohibited Vermont, VT 
53.  No Sale or Exchange of Used Oil for Fuel, unless it 

Meets Constituent Property Limits Vermont, VT 

Transportation 

54.  Adopt CARB vehicle standards Pennsylvania, PA 
Klamath County, OR 

55.  School bus retrofits Klamath County, OR 

56.  Road paving 
Nogales, AZ 
Pinal County, AZ 
Klamath County, OR 

57.  Transportation Control Measures (TCMs)* South Coast Air Basin, CA 
58.  Controls on road sanding and salting Utah, UT 
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Measure Description Areas Implementing Measure 
59.  I/M Program* Pennsylvania, PA 
60.  Vehicle Idling EPA Comment 
Other 
61.  Fuel Oil Boiler Upgrade – Burner Upgrade/Repair EPA Comment 
62.  Fuel Oil Boiler Upgrade – Replacement EPA Comment 
63.  Require Electrostatic Precipitators FNSB 

64.  Weatherization and Energy Efficiency 

EPA Comment 
City of Berkeley, CA 
San Joaquin Valley, CA 
South Coast Air Basin, CA 
Dallas-Ft Worth, TX 

67.  Coffee Roasters 
Commercial/ EPA Comment 
Vermont 
Colorado 

68.  Charbroilers Commercial/ EPA Comment 
69.  Incinerators Commercial 
70.  Used Oil Burners FNSB/ EPA Comment 
R1.  Regional Kilns RACM 
R7.  Ban Use of Hydronic Heaters RACM 
R15. Ban New Installations – Wood Stoves RACM 
R17. Ban Use of Wood Stoves RACM 
R20. Transportation Control Measures RACM 
R29. Increase Coverage of District Heating System RACM 
* Measures 57 & 59 are addressed in the Measure R20 Transportation Control Measure feasibility analysis. 

 
All of the above controls are focused on the reduction of particulate emissions.  As noted in the  
Modeling Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP neither VOC nor NOx are significant precursor 
pollutants in the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area.  There is no need to identify control 
measures for these precursor pollutants.  With regard to ammonia, EPA commented that “Unless 
NH3 is demonstrated to be insignificant for this area, the serious area plan will need to include an 
evaluation of NH3 and potential controls for all source categories including point sources.”  
While a precursor demonstration of NH3 insignificance is not feasible, a literature search for 
non-point source ammonia controls found no controls for Fairbanks emission sources.  Controls 
addressing agriculture and animal waste ammonia, the predominant sources in lower-48 
communities, are well documented, but those sources do not exist in Fairbanks.  Therefore, no 
ammonia controls have been included in the 2020 Amendment Plan analysis.  EPA in its Final 
Rule,23 approved ADEC’s analysis that found no NH3 specific emission controls in the Fairbanks 
Nonattainment Area. 

23 88 Fed. Reg. at 84636. 
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4.  Step 3 – Determine Whether an Available Control Measure or Technology 
is Technologically Feasible 

The third step in the 2020 Amendment Plan identification and evaluation process is the analysis 
of the technological feasibility of each of the candidate measures identified in Step 2.  As noted 
above, it requires the consideration of many factors including impacts on the environment (e.g., 
air, water, noise, etc.) and energy (e.g., consumption, availability, etc.).  Measures targeting area 
and mobile sources need to consider infrastructure, population size, workforce type and habits, 
etc.  In addition, the critical source parameters needed to assess the impacts of the technology 
need to be identified (e.g., fuel specifications, travel activity, EPA certification, etc.).  A key 
consideration is whether the identified measure provides an emissions benefit beyond those 
provided by existing federal, state and local controls (i.e., is it more stringent).  
 
As discussed in Step 2 the approach employed in selecting measures for analysis focused on 
differences between elements of individual rules implemented in PM2.5 nonattainment areas and 
those currently implemented by the Borough and the State for the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment 
area.  This section provides the results of detailed comparisons between the selected candidate 
measures and existing State regulations to determine if the candidate measures are more stringent 
and can provide emission reductions beyond those of currently implemented measures.  Step 2 
identified a total of 47 control measures for consideration in 2020 Amendment  analysis. 
Following EPA’s comments on the 2020 Amendment, Step 2 identified a total of 11 control 
measures from the list of 47 measures from the 2020 Amendment for re-evaluation for the 2024 
Amendment.  While all 47 measures are presented in this section, the set of 11 measures re-
evaluated for the 2024 Amendment are presented in bold and underlined format. The 
presentation of analysis findings follows a generic format with the following components: 
 

• Measure #, Title 
• Implementing Jurisdiction 
• Regulation Weblink(s) 
• Background 
• Analysis 
• Conclusion 

 
This format is designed to provide transparency in the information used to prepare the analysis.  
The weblink(s) allow easy access to the referenced rules discussed in the background and 
analysis presentations. 

Measure 1:  Surcharge on Device Sales  

Applicable Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Washington State 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
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• https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/other-taxes/solid-fuel-burning-device-tax 
 
Background 
 
A Washington State regulation imposes a fee upon the sale of solid fuel wood burning devices 
within the state.  This regulation was adopted in or prior to 1987.24  The fee, originally 
established at $15/unit, is currently set at $30/unit.25 
 
This regulation requires that revenues from the program be used solely for the purposes of public 
education and enforcement of the solid fuel burning device program,” with revenue distributed as 
follows:  
 

a) 34% of the funds shall be distributed to the Woodsmoke Education Program, run by the 
state air agency, the Washington Department of Ecology, for the purposes of enforcement 
and educating the public about the effects of solid fuel heating devices on air quality and 
methods for achieving better efficiency from solid fuel burning devices; and 

b) The remaining 66% of the funds are made available to local air authorities with 
enforcement programs under the Woodsmoke Enforcement Program on the basis of 
population. 

 
If a local air authority is not in place, does not implement an enforcement program, or elects not 
to receive the funds, the funds that would otherwise be distributed under this subsection are 
transferred to the Department of Ecology.  Businesses selling new wood stoves are also required 
to distribute and explain educational materials. 
 
The biennial 2015-2017 budget for the Washington Department of Ecology estimated an income 
of $547,000 from the combined Woodsmoke Education and Enforcement Program, with $38,000 
being allocated to the Department of Ecology for administration of affected programs and 
$509,000 allocated to the Air Quality Program.  Of this $509,000, 34% (or roughly $173,000) 
was used to fund the statewide Woodsmoke Education Program. $274,000 of the remaining 66% 
(or $336,000) was disbursed to local agencies to fund both woodstove education and 
enforcement grants.26  (Not all of the available funds are requests.)  
 
EPA commented that implementing a surcharge “may be a helpful way to supplement limited 
funds.  Implementation efforts within the nonattainment area could benefit from $24,000 of 
additional funding whether used for a code enforcer or other support of the wood smoke 
programs.” 
 

24 Washington Laws, 1990, available at 
http://leg.wa.gov/CodeReviser/documents/sessionlaw/1990c128.pdf?cite=1990%20c%20128%20%C2%A7%206; 
Accessed 10/10/2017. 
25 Washington State Department of Revenue, available at https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/other-taxes/solid-fuel-
burning-device-tax; Accessed 10/10/2017. 
26 State of Washington Department of Ecology, Budget & Program Overview 2015-2017, available at 
https://fortress.wa.gov/ecy/publications/documents/1501007.pdf; accessed 10/12/2017. 

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-32

https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/other-taxes/solid-fuel-burning-device-tax
http://leg.wa.gov/CodeReviser/documents/sessionlaw/1990c128.pdf?cite=1990%20c%20128%20%C2%A7%206
https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/other-taxes/solid-fuel-burning-device-tax
https://dor.wa.gov/find-taxes-rates/other-taxes/solid-fuel-burning-device-tax
https://fortress.wa.gov/ecy/publications/documents/1501007.pdf


Analysis 
 
Discussions with Washington Department of Ecology staff27 found that surveys they conducted 
were not able to clearly estimate emission benefits from state-level education/outreach, nor were 
they able to provide quantitative estimates of their emission benefits based on how funds were 
pooled and used by local agencies.  Similar findings were confirmed based on communication 
with the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency, one of the local air authorities that receives funding 
from the Department of Ecology.  They too combine funds received from the Wood Stove 
Education and Enforcement program with revenues from other sources and use the funding for 
education and enforcement related to burn restrictions, but they could not easily quantify the 
benefits of the specific funded programs.  In addition, the revenues received from this program 
by the local agencies are small relative to the funds received from other sources.28  
 
Given the co-mingling of monies from device sale surcharges with other funding sources, both 
Washington State and its local air agencies cannot easily estimate emission benefits attributed to 
either education or enforcement-related programs.   
 
Another consideration is that DEC has no authority to collect the funds obtained through 
surcharges.  Funds collected from surcharges in Alaska go straight into the state’s general fund, 
they are not allocated to DEC unless the legislature appropriates those funds to the agency.  The 
implementation of this measure would require the annual allocation of the collected funds to 
DEC for use in enforcement and/or education.  The uncertainty of this allocation means that the 
measure is not permanent and enforceable, and therefore does not support a SIP commitment.  
The only way that could occur would be through a Constitutional Amendment.  The Dedicated 
Funds Clause of the Constitution of the State of Alaska prohibits the dedication of “proceeds of 
any state tax or license” to “any special purpose.” AK Const. Art. 9 § 7.  A constitutional 
amendment changing this long-standing provision is highly unlikely. Even if support could be 
garnered, multiple years would be required to amend the state constitution.  
 
Conclusion 
 
ADEC lacks the authority required to implement this measure, therefore it is technologically 
infeasible and cannot be considered as a measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP.  

Measure 6:  Prohibit Installation of Flue Dampers Unless Device was Certified 
Using Flue Damper 

Applicable Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Missoula, Montana 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 

27 Personal communication with Stuart Clark, Washington Department of Ecology, 10/12/2017. Personal 
communication with Matthew Vandrush, Washington Department of Ecology, 10/12/2016. 
28 Personal communication with Amy Warren, Puget Sound Clean Air Agency, October 13, 2017. 
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• https://www.missoulacounty.us/home/showdocument?id=8452 

 
Background 
 
With respect to enclosed combustion devices, the term “draft” refers to the negative pressure 
created at the air inlet to the combustion chamber by the buoyancy of hot combustion gases 
exiting the combustion chamber through a vertical stack or chimney.  The magnitude of stack 
draft is primarily governed by the difference in temperature between outdoor air and the 
combustion gases within the stack, and the volume of the stack (or chimney).  Since outdoor air 
and stack gas temperatures change both seasonally and during a typical diurnal heating cycle, the 
amount of draft can vary similarly.  
 
In residential wood stoves and inserts, inlet air and combustion gas flow rates are generally 
controlled by a damper installed at the inlet air ports to the combustion chamber.  Where 
building codes and wood burning regulations allow, dampers can also be installed downstream of 
the combustion chamber in the exhaust stack to directly regulate combustion gas flow rates.  
Many dampers require manual adjustment, but some are thermostatically controlled to open the 
damper when combustion chamber temperatures decline during the burndown phase. 
 
Solid fuel burning appliances are designed to operate within an optimum draft range.  If the draft 
is set too low, insufficient air is available to sustain combustion except when very small 
quantities of fuel are present in the combustion chamber.  If the draft is set too high, excess air 
(beyond what is needed for proper combustion) is allowed into the combustion chamber which 
reduces combustion temperatures and reduces the device’s heating efficiency (resulting in 
increased fuel use) and may also result in unsafe operation.  The optimum range of draft for 
properly installed and operated residential wood-burning devices such as wood stoves and 
fireplace inserts typically falls in the negative pressure range of minus 0.04 to 0.08 inches of 
water column. 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - Missoula, Montana is the only jurisdiction to 
enforce a regulation prohibiting the installation of a flue (exhaust stack) damper unless the 
device is specifically certified with a flue damper.  The staff from the Montana Department of 
Environmental Quality could not locate a staff report associated with the adoption of this 
regulation by their Board in 1986 as part of the Montana Clean Air Act.  They also suggested 
that no analysis was conducted to review the likely impact of flue damper installation on 
emissions prior to adoption.29 
 
During wintertime conditions in Fairbanks flue draft varies dramatically beyond the optimal 
range due to wider temperature differences between flue gases and ambient air.  When outdoor 
temperatures fall to the -10 to -20°F range typical of ambient PM2.5 violations in Fairbanks, draft 
negative pressures can reach or exceed minus 0.20 inches of water column, which is well in 

29 Personal communication with Julie Mohr, Montana Department of Environmental Quality, October 5, 2017; 
Personal communication with Benjamin Schmidt, Missoula City/County Health Department, October 6, 2017. 
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excess of the typical design ranges for wood stoves and inserts.30  Under these conditions, 
resident time of hot combustion gases in a wood stove or fireplace insert will be reduced, 
increasing the quantity of fuel needed to be burned to maintain the target indoor temperature.  
Thus, use of a flue damper will reduce inlet air and exhaust gas flowrates and the resulting draft 
to within the designed operating ranges of woodstoves and fireplace inserts and provide an 
emissions reduction benefit through reduced fuel consumption.  With regard to the installation of 
new wood burning devices, the 2015 NSPS mandates that owner manuals specify whether flue 
dampers are required and professional installers are required to observe installation instructions. 
18 AAC 50.077(j) requires the use of installers certified by the National Fireplace Institute 
and/or the Masonry Heaters Association as appropriate. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM analysis concluded that the benefits of this measure in an arctic environment are 
likely to increase emissions through increased fuel combustion.  That finding has not changed,  
this rule will produce no benefit for new installations; therefore the measure is technologically 
infeasible and not eligible for consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the 
Serious SIP.  

Measure 8:  Prohibit Installation of Solid Fuel Heating Device in New 
Construction 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• South Coast AQMD, Bay Area AQMD 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/rule-iv/rule-445.pdf?sfvrsn=4 
• https://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/dotgov/files/rules/regulation-6-rule-

3/documents/20191120_r0603_final-pdf.pdf?la=en  
 
Background 
 
The South Coast Air Quality Management District prohibits the installation of a wood-burning 
device into any new construction (Section 445.d.1) except in new developments where no natural 
gas service exists within 150 feet of the property line (Section 445.f.2).  Devices installed in new 
construction without natural gas service are limited to USEPA certified wood-burning heaters, 
pellet stoves, masonry heater, or dedicated gaseous-fueled fireplaces (Section 445.d.2).  South 
Coast AQMD does not require a permit for device installation or operation. 
 
The Bay Area Air Quality Management District prohibits the installation of a wood-burning 
device in any new construction building effective November 1, 2016 (Section 6-3-306).  The Bay 

30 Personal communication with Kent Severns, The Woodway, Fairbanks, AK, October 6, 2017. 
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Area regulation does not provide an exemption from this requirement in areas not served by 
natural gas infrastructure. 
 
Fairbanks had regulations addressing the installation of solid fuel devices in new construction, 
but they were removed with the passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act.  The state has no 
regulations governing installation of wood-burning devices specific to new construction but does 
have 18 AAC 50.077 governing the sale and installation of any wood fired heating device which 
covers not only new construction but also all sales and installations in existing construction. 
 
Analysis 
 
While Fairbanks currently has natural gas service, it is capacity constrained and will not be in a 
position to expand service to new customers until 2020 in Fairbanks and 2021 in North Pole.31  
As a result, the installation requirements in the South Coast rule that would be applicable if 
adopted by the state would be limited solely to the type of device installed.   
 
Alaska has implemented new regulations that establish more stringent emission ratings for new 
heating devices and related installation requirements.  Those regulations, however do not 
prohibit the installation of wood-burning devices in new construction.  Backup heating systems 
are essential for survival in an arctic environment as loss of primary heating is not an uncommon 
occurrence with many causes including: extreme cold temperatures, ice storms, fuel supply loss, 
power outages, etc.  ADEC has required in regulations effective January 8, 2020, that wood 
heaters may not be installed as a sole source of heat in structures within the nonattainment area, 
with an exception for small, dry cabins on two acre or larger parcels (see 18 AAC 50.077(j)(2)).     
 
ADEC often hears from FNSB residents who have significant concerns regarding the need for 
non-electric backup heating systems in their homes.  As described in the Emission Inventory, the 
predominant heating method within the residential space heating sector is residential fuel oil.  All 
fuel oil boilers and heaters require electricity to operate the auxiliary systems such as fans and 
pumps.  Given the subarctic climate and periodic power failures, these individuals have real 
safety concerns for themselves and their families as well as concerns about damage to their 
property.   
 
These concerns and expressed needs for reliable backup heat are likely very different in the 
FNSB nonattainment area than in the San Francisco Bay Area where the BACM prohibition 
originates.  However, based on the Borough’s woodstove changeout/conversion program it is 
technically feasible to design a new home with adequate backup heating systems that do not rely 
on solid fuel heating appliances.  
 
Even though it may be technically feasible in certain situations, without widespread availability 
toof natural gas there are limited technologies to provide backup heat to address the safety 
concerns.  While voluntary programs are in place, only 28 emergency power back up systems 
have been installed through the Borough’s program.  With the limited number of actual 
installations, ADEC is cautiously optimistic that the emergency power back up systems will 
become a proven technology, but at this point the limited installations do not demonstrate that 

31 AIDEA IGU Financing Agreement op. cit., Appendix A 
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this technology is feasible in every situation.  Due to the importance of these systems to ensure 
citizens safety in an arctic climate, it is not prudent to exclude an entire sector of proven 
residential heating technology that many citizens rely on for an immediate safety concern. 
 
In order to address new installations ADEC is implementing 18 AAC 50.077.  This regulation is 
broader than just new construction; by regulating at the point of sale any new installation, 
including installation in existing homes, is affected.  18 AAC 50.077(a) includes a general 
prohibition on the installation of wood fired heating devices within the area, with exceptions 
defined in subsequent sections.  No outdoor hydronic heaters may be sold or installed unless 
pellet fueled.  18 AAC 50.077(b) identifies 0.10 lb/MMBtu as the emission rate used as a 
requirement for pellet fueled hydronic heaters, that EPA certification is required, and that the 
certification from EPA will be reviewed by ADEC and only approved if the underlying 
certification test results are accepted.  18 AAC 50.077(c) identifies 2.0 g/hr as the emission rate 
used as a requirement for cordwood stoves and pellet fueled stoves, an additional emission 
requirement that the 1-hr filter pull shall not exceed 6.0 g/hr, that EPA certification is required, 
and that the certification from EPA will be reviewed by ADEC and only approved if the 
underlying certification test results are accepted.  18 AAC 50.077(d) identifies 2.0 g/hr as the 
emission rate for wood-fired heating devices whose rated size is 350,000 Btu/hr or greater, that 
EPA certification is required, and that the certification from EPA will be reviewed by ADEC and 
only approved if the underlying certification test results are accepted.  18 AAC 50.077(e) allows 
ADEC to review manufacturer test results and place a model on ADEC’s list of devices, which 
identifies devices that are allowable under 18 AAC 50.077 
 
18 AAC 50.077 is more stringent than current EPA certification for cordwood stoves because the 
emission limit is set at 2.0 g/hr, regardless of test method.  EPA Step 2 certification has an 
emission limit of 2.5 g/hr for cordwood stoves that are certified with ASTM 3053, a.k.a. the 
cordwood method.  18 AAC 50.077 is more stringent than current EPA certification for 
cordwood and pellet stoves because of the additional emission limit on the 1-hr filter pull of 6.0 
g/hr. EPA Step 2 certification has no limit on the 1-hr filter pull.  18 AAC 50.077 also requires 
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another layer of oversight and report review by requiring that ADEC perform certification 
reviews. 
 
Preliminary review of the certification reports shows: 
Pellet Appliances 
Number of reports reviewed 79 
Number of appliances disapproved due to 2.0 g/hr emission limit 0 
Number of appliances disapproved due to 1 hr filter pull (missing or over limit) 12 
Number of reports with deficiencies 79 
Number of approved reports 0 
Number of flagged issues with reports 1,319 

  
Cordwood Appliances 
Number of reports reviewed 128 
Number of appliances disapproved due to 2.0 g/hr emission limit 9 
Number of appliances disapproved due to 1 hr filter pull (missing or over limit) 52 
Number of reports with deficiencies 128 
Number of approved reports 0 
Number of flagged issues with reports 2,658 

 
Although the list of approved devices will change as manufacturers submit additional 
information, with some appliances ultimately being approved for sale, 18 AAC 50.077 provides 
regulatory requirements limiting the type of new appliances to only the cleanest appliances 
available.  As noted previously, 18 AAC 50.077(j)(2) does prevent the installation of wood 
heaters as the sole source of heat in new construction in the area with a minor exception, but 
prescribing requirements on the primary source of heat in structures is a much broader restriction 
related to building and land use. 
 
Additionally, ADEC has no land use authority to impose restrictions on new construction.  By 
state statute, land use authority is reserved to local governments: AS 29.40.  Therefore, the only 
feasible method to implement this measure is by regulating at the point of sale by limiting the 
appliances to those with the lowest emissions, which also allows residents to adequately back up 
heating systems. 
 
Conclusion 
 
ADEC lacks the land use authority required to implement this measure, and the measure as 
written contains no provisions for back-up heating requirements, therefore it is technologically 
infeasible to implement as written and cannot be considered as a measure for the 2020 
Amendment to the Serious SIP.  18 AAC 50.077 is the only technologically feasible method to 
implement this measure and was adopted with the Serious Area SIP and is considered equivalent 
to the Bay Area measure. 
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Measure 9:  Limit the Density of Solid Fuel Heating Devices in New Construction  

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• San Joaquin Valley APCD, Eastern Kern APCD 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://www.valleyair.org/rules/currntrules/r4901.pdf 
• http://www.kernair.org/Rule%20Book/4%20Prohibitions/416_1%20Wood%20Burning%

20Heaters%20and%20Fireplaces.pdf 
 
Background 
 
The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District in California limits the number of wood 
burning heaters allowed in new residential developments.  Two limits apply to developments 
with housing densities greater than 2 residences per acre:  no wood burning fireplaces may be 
installed in these residences, and no more than two U.S. EPA Phase II-certified wood heaters 
may be installed per acre in these residences.  For developments with housing densities less than 
or equal to two residences per acre, the regulation allows no more than one wood burning 
fireplace or U.S. EPA Phase II-certified wood heater per residence. (Section 4901.5.3.2) 
 
The Eastern Kern Air Pollution Control District in California prohibits the installation of wood 
burning fireplaces in new residential subdivisions that consist of 10 or more dwellings. (Section 
416.1.VI) 
 
Fairbanks allowed for the installation of solid fuel burning devices in new construction provided 
that permits had been issued by the Borough, devices were Borough-listed, and installation was 
performed by a Borough-listed installer, among other requirements.  These regulations were 
removed after passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act. 
 
Analysis 
 
Alaska DEC does not have the information or programs to address land use authority required to 
limit the number of solid fuel burning devices that can be installed in single dwellings newly 
constructed, nor limit the number of devices that can be installed per acre in new residential 
developments.  Multiple years would be required for DEC to gather data and evaluate options, 
possibly obtain necessary authority, and establish the regulatory requirements to implement this 
measure.  Instead, DEC has regulated wood heater installation so that no new structure may have 
wood as its sole source of heat (18 AAC 50.077(j)). 
 
Additionally, ADEC has no land use authority to impose restrictions on new construction.  By 
state statute, land use authority is reserved to local governments: AS 29.40. 
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Conclusion 
 
ADEC lacks the land use authority required to implement this measure, therefore it is 
technologically infeasible and cannot be considered as a measure in the 2020 Amendment to the 
Serious SIP. 

Measure 10:  Install EPA-Certified Device Whenever a Fireplace or Chimney is 
Remodeled   

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Bay Area AQMD  
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/dotgov/files/rules/reg-6-rule-3-woodburning-
devices/documents/rg0603.pdf?la=en  

 
Background   
 
The Bay Area AQMD requires that a gas-fueled, electric, or EPA-certified device be installed 
whenever a fireplace or chimney is remodeled at a cost that exceeds $15,000 and requires a local 
building permit (Section 6-3-307). 
 
Fairbanks limited wood heating devices in new construction to Borough-listed appliances 
(Section 21.28.030E) but did not require the replacement of non-Borough-listed appliances with 
listed versions upon the remodeling of a residence or of a fireplace or chimney.  These 
regulations were removed after passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act. 
 
Analysis 
 
The Bay Area AQMD measure would require the upgrading of wood heating appliances in 
affected Borough residences in which remodeling projects included fireplace or chimney 
modifications that exceeded $15,000 in cost.  Alaska DEC does not have the information or 
programs to address land use/building code authority needed to govern building/remodeling 
permits.  Multiple years would be required for DEC to gather data and evaluate options, possibly 
obtain necessary authority, and establish the regulatory requirements to implement this measure. 
 
Additionally, ADEC has no land use authority to impose restrictions on new construction.  By 
state statute, land use authority is reserved to local governments: AS 29.40.  
 
Conclusion 
 
ADEC lacks land the land use authority required to implement this measure; therefore, it is 
technologically infeasible and cannot be considered as a measure for the 2020 Amendment to the 
Serious SIP.  
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Measure 11:  Prohibit Use of Rain Caps on Stacks 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• State of Maine 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://www1.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/06/096/096c150.doc 
 
Background 
 
Outdoor wood boilers (OWBs) are generally used to provide heat for residential structures. 
Firewood is burned in the unit, sited outside the residence, with the energy released by 
combustion transferred to the residence through circulation of a thermal fluid. 
 
In some locations, operators of outdoor wood boilers attach a rain cap (or weather cap) to the 
stack from which emissions produced by the outdoor wood boiler are released. This rain cap is 
attached to prevent moisture (rain, snow, etc.) from entering the stack during periods of non-
operation and causing exposed surfaces to rust. 
 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - Maine is the only jurisdiction that currently 
enforces a regulation related to the use of rain caps on outdoor wood boiler stacks, prohibiting 
the installation of caps unless specifically required by the manufacturer of the boiler.32  Personal 
communications with staff members of the Maine Department of Environmental Protection 
indicated that the regulation was adopted in Maine between 2007 and 2008 primarily in response 
to complaints from citizens about the use of boilers by neighbors.33  More than one staff member 
indicated that no scientific or statistical analysis was conducted by the staff during development 
of the regulation.  One said specifically that he “did not know if the rule had worked well,” and 
one said that only one comment was entered into testimony in the meeting at which the Maine 
DEQ Board adopted the regulation; the only responsive in the record mentioned that the use of a 
rain cap impeded buoyant plume rise of smoke exiting a stack and resulted in higher ground-
interior level impacts at downwind residences. 34 
 
The average precipitation rate in Fairbanks is much lower than that of Maine, particularly in the 
winter months. Whereas Maine averages more than forty inches of precipitation per year, 

32 Regulation can be downloaded at http://www.maine.gov/dep/air/woodsmoke/woodcombustion.html 
33 Personal communication on October 4, 2017 with Jeff Crawford, Air Bureau, Maine Department of 
Environmental Protection; Personal communication on October 5, 2017 with Tom Graham, Air Bureau, Maine 
Department of Environmental Protection. 
34 Personal communication on October 4, 2017 with Jeff Crawford, Air Bureau, Maine Department of 
Environmental Protection; Personal communication on October 5, 2017 with Tom Graham, Air Bureau, Maine 
Department of Environmental Protection. 
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Fairbanks averages less than eleven.35,36  In addition, whereas ~54%, or 22 inches, of Maine’s 
precipitation falls during the winter nonattainment months (October through March), only 31%, 
or 3 inches, of precipitation in Fairbanks falls during those months.  Discussions with Fairbanks 
North Star Borough Air Quality Program staff found that rain caps are not used in Fairbanks, and 
thus a regulation prohibiting rain caps would have no impact on emissions.37  
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - the prohibition of rain caps by Maine DEC was intended 
to improve smoke dispersion, not reduce emissions.  Because of the very low inversion heights 
that are experienced in Fairbanks during the winter heating season, a prohibition of rain caps 
would not improve plume dispersion in the vertical direction, much less reduce emissions.  Since 
the need for rain caps in Fairbanks is limited and Borough staff have previously indicated that 
existing OWBs are not equipped with them, a regulation prohibiting rain caps on OWB stacks 
would produce no emission benefit and is therefore technologically infeasible and not eligible for 
consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 12:  Require Minimum Stack Height for OWBs Relative to Nearby 
Rooflines 

Applicable Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• State of Maine  
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.maine.gov/dep/air/woodsmoke/woodcombustion.html 
 
Background 
 
Outdoor wood boilers (OWBs) are generally used to provide heat for residential structures. 
Firewood is burned in the unit, located outside the residence, with the energy released by the 
combustion process transferred into the interior of the residence through circulation of a thermal 
fluid. 
 
The boilers generate emissions by the combustion of wood fuel, and those emissions can be 
transported to impact neighboring residences.  Ground-level concentrations of emissions at 
downwind residences can be influenced by the heights at which emissions exit exhaust stacks 
and whether wind flows at exit points are impacted by the heights of structures near these 
exhaust stacks.38 

35 Data collected for Portland, ME; Augusta, ME; and Lewiston, ME from U.S. Climate Data at 
https://www.usclimatedata.com/climate/maine/united-states/3189; Accessed 10/12/2017. 
36 Data collected for Fairbanks, AK from U.S. Climate Data at 
https://www.usclimatedata.com/climate/fairbanks/alaska/united-states/usak0083; Accessed 10/12/2017. 
37 Personal communication with Todd Thompson, Fairbanks Borough Air Quality Department, October 10, 2017. 
38 Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, AERMOD Evaluation of Outdoor Wood Boiler Stack Height and Setback   
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Maine is the only state that currently regulates the minimum height of exhaust stacks serving 
newly-installed OWBs.  The regulation specifies a minimum stack height of ten feet or “two feet 
higher than the peak of the roof of the structure being served by the OWB” if:  
 

1) the OWB has a particulate emission rating greater than 0.60 lbs/MMBtu and is within 
500 feet of any nearby residence, or  

2) the OWB has a particulate emission rating of 0.60 lbs/MMBtu or less and is within 300 
feet of any nearby residence.39 

 
Additionally, the regulation requires the extension of an existing OWB exhaust stack if a new 
residence is constructed within the setback distances specified in the regulation. 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - as with the Maine-only regulation 
prohibiting the use of rain caps on OWB exhaust stacks, staff members of the Maine Department 
of Environmental Protection reported that the regulation was adopted in Maine between 2007 
and 2008 primarily in response to nuisance complaints from citizens about the use of OWB by 
neighbors.40  More than one staff member indicated that no scientific or statistical analysis was 
conducted by the staff during development of the regulation to estimate its benefits.  One said 
specifically that he “did not know if the rule had worked well,” and one said that no public 
comments were received in relation to the stack height requirements prior to or during the public 
hearing at which the Maine DEQ Board adopted the regulation.  
 
Maine adopted this rule to minimize disputes between neighbors; the rule has no effect on 
emissions and was not developed to reduce ambient PM2.5 concentrations other than at nearby 
downwind residences.  The rule predates federal regulation of OWBs, which mandates that 
owner manuals provide “guidance on proper installation information, including stack height”.41  
A survey of owner manuals found installation instructions specifying that chimney height extend 
above the roofs of surrounding buildings. 42  Industry guidance contained in Best Burn Practice 
for Wood Burning Outdoor Furnace recommends that stack extend 2 feet above surrounding roof 
top peaks.43 
 

39 Regulation can be downloaded at http://www.maine.gov/dep/air/woodsmoke/woodcombustion.html 
40 Personal communication on October 4, 2017 with Jeff Crawford, Air Bureau, Maine Department of 
Environmental Protection; Personal communication on October 5, 2017 with Tom Graham, Air Bureau, Maine 
Department of Environmental Protection. 
41 https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2015/03/16/2015-03733/standards-of-performance-for-new-
residential-wood-heaters-new-residential-hydronic-heaters-and 
42 https://centralboiler.com/media/1803/9000166_manual_classic_27-jan-2014.pdf 
43 
https://www.hpba.org/Portals/26/Documents/Government%20Affairs/NSPS%20Members/HPBA%202014%20NSP
S/Attachment13TechEnvironmentalAirDispersionModelingReportofEClassic2300July2012.PDF?ver=2016-11-21-
105529-197 
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The addition of a regulation specifying minimum stack heights for OWBs would not lead to a 
reduction in PM2.5 emissions but could reduce PM2.5 concentrations downwind of newly-
installed OWBs or newly-constructed residences near OWBs. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - because of the lack of any emission reduction resulting 
from adoption of a minimum stack height regulation, this measure is technologically infeasible 
and not eligible for consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious 
SIP. 

Measure 14:  Require Installation of Thermal Mass to Improve Efficiency and 
Prevent Frequent Cycling in Selected New Units 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• None 
 
Background 
 
The initial review of applicable SIPs and EPA guidance documents mistakenly identified a 
measure requiring the installation of thermal mass to prevent frequent burn cycling in hydronic 
heaters. 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - a review of the literature, applicable SIPs, 
EPA guidance documents, hydronic heater certification documents and the final rule for 
hydronic heaters issued in 2015 (Standards of Performance for New Residential Wood Heaters, 
New Residential Hydronic Heaters and Forced-Air Furnaces)44 could find no requirements for 
installing thermal mass in hydronic heaters.  The final rule for hydronic heaters and forced air 
furnaces discussed concerns about cycling conditions, operations, etc., but included no 
requirement for the addition of thermal mass to reduce cycling.  The limited detail provided with 
this measure, along with the findings of the literature review, do not support any quantifiable 
permanent and enforceable emission reductions.   
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - 40 CFR 51.100 defines BACM as a control measure that 
“generally can achieve greater permanent and enforceable emission reductions … than can be 

44 https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2015-03-16/pdf/2015-03733.pdf 
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achieved through implementation of RACM.”  This measure cannot achieve permanent and 
enforceable emission reductions greater than can be achieved through implementation of RACM, 
does not meet the definition of BACM and is dismissed from consideration as control measure 
for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP.  

Measure 18:  No Visible Emissions during Curtailment Periods 

Applicable Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Maricopa County, Arizona 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

https://www.maricopa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2016/P-26---Residential-
Woodburning-Restriction-Ordinance-PDF 

 
Background 
 
A Maricopa County ordinance45 allows wood stoves certified as the sole source of heat in a 
residential dwelling to continue operating during curtailment periods provided that these stoves 
emit no visible emissions, i.e. 0% opacity.  Most other jurisdictions with wood burning 
regulations limit visible emissions from wood stoves permitted to operate during curtailment 
periods to 20% opacity.  
 
Communication with staff members from Maricopa County’s Air Quality Department indicated 
that no staff report was prepared when the “no visible emission” regulation was first adopted in 
1994.46  Communication with a staff member from Montana’s Department of Environmental 
Quality indicated that Montana, where ambient temperatures during the winter nonattainment 
season can drop to low levels that approach those in Fairbanks, maintains a restriction that allows 
visibility up to 20%.47  Historical EPA literature states that “It can be difficult to distinguish 
pollutant-containing mists from innocuous water droplets that are generated from steam 
condensation,”48 and advises inspectors that “if the temperature is low...consider the possibility 
of a steam plume that does not evaporate easily.”49  Academic literature summarizing EPA’s 
Method 9 states: 
 

45 Ordinance P-26, Section 3.C.1 of Maricopa County Ordinance P-26: Residential Woodburning Restriction, 
available at https://www.maricopa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/5332; accessed October 12, 2017. 
46 Personal communication with Johann Kuspert, Maricopa County Air Quality Department, September 28, 2017. 
47 Personal communication with Benjamin Schmidt, Montana Department of Environmental Quality, October 6, 
2017. 
48 Rose, Thomas H, Visible Emission Evaluation Procedures Course Student Manual APT/ Course 325 Final Review 
Draft, 1995, available at https://www3.epa.gov/ttnemc01/methods/VECourse.pdf; accessed October 12, 2017. 
49 Eastern Technical Associates and Entrophy Environmentalist, Inc., Visible Emissions Field Manual EPA Methods 
9 and 22, EPA 340/1-92-004, 1993, available at https://www3.epa.gov/ttnemc01/methods/VEFieldManual.pdf; 
accessed 10-12-2017 
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In cold weather, steam is often a part of the emission.  In order to make an accurate 
reading, opacity must be read after the steam has dissipated.  This change is readily 
visible as the apparent opacity will drop significantly but stay constant after that.50 

 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - two additional considerations in Fairbanks 
are that (1) daylight is limited during winter months to no more than 5 hours/day in December, 
January and February, the period when elevated PM2.5 concentrations are most likely to occur, 
and (2) oil- and gas-fired heating devices generate condensing moisture plumes but are not 
required to cease operation during curtailment periods.  These factors have led the Borough in 
the past to develop a checklist of considerations to differentiate between wood/coal stoves and 
oil/gas furnaces.  These considerations include: 
 

• Odor – smelling the smoke is often the first and best indication of wood or coal burning; 
• Multiple Stacks – frequently an indication of a secondary heating device besides a 

furnace; 
• Location of Stack – stacks located over a garage connected to the house is typically for an 

oil/gas furnace; stacks over separated garages and sheds/shops is an indication of a 
SFBD; stacks located above a common area, such as a living room, are an indication of a 
SFBD; 

• Black Soot around Stack – black residue over snow & around stacks indicates solid fuel 
burning; 

• Dark or Colored Smoke – darker colored smoke can be an indication of low temperature 
wood burning and coal burning; 

• Cycling Smoke Plumes – an abrupt change in the plume is an indication of an oil/gas 
furnace; 

• Piles or Stacked Cut Wood – are a clear indication of a wood burning device; 
• Exterior chutes – are an indication of a coal burning device; 
• Property Database Check – the Borough’s database can provide information on original 

installations, Deed Restrictions, etc. 
 
This checklist allowed Borough field personnel to efficiently determine whether plumes are 
coming from homes violating Stage 1 or Stage 2 Alerts.  Borough personnel were able to survey 
40 homes per day during a 5-hour shift (8 homes per hour) to determine compliance with Stage 1 
or Stage 2 Alerts.  Compliance was determined by observing a SFBD in operation, without the 
need for an opacity observation.  Opacity observations during stage restrictions would add the 
problem of differentiating steam from particles, compounding the previously identified 
difficulties of limited daylight and differentiating from oil and gas fired heating devices.  A 
reduction in the limit to zero visibility would require any field staff to monitor each home for a 
minimum of 20 minutes to identify if a continuous plume with decreasing opacity represents a 
wood-fired device during startup, and to record the minimum number of observations required 

50 University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Safe Operating Procedure: Opacity of Emissions from Combustion Sources and 
Operating Log Record, 2017, available at https://ehs.unl.edu/sop/s-opacity_emissions.pdf; accessed October 12, 
2017. 
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by EPA Method 9.  Enforcing a zero opacity standard during curtailment would limit the number 
of homes observed per hour to 2 or less (20+ minutes opacity reading time plus travel time, 
identification of stacks, etc.).  The reduction in the number of homes observed would 
significantly reduce the identification of Alert violations and benefits of the enforcement 
program.  As a result, implementation of this measure would result in increased emissions during 
curtailment periods as fewer homes would be inspected for compliance.  Fairbanks is no longer 
enforcing this measure because of the passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act.  While the 
state is now enforcing this measure under the Episode Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP, the same 
issues noted above apply as the implementation of the measure would lead to a reduction in the 
number of homes inspected for compliance. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion for this measure is unchanged.  It is technologically infeasible because a 
more stringent visibility standard would reduce the number of homes inspected, reduce the 
number of violations identified and allow for an increase in wood burning emissions.  Therefore, 
this measure is not eligible for consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to 
the Serious SIP. 

Measure 20:  Require Renewals with Inspection Requirements 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• San Joaquin Valley APCD 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://www.valleyair.org/rules/currntrules/r4901.pdf 
 
Background 
 
San Joaquin Valley APCD prohibits wood-fired heating devices from being operated during a 
Level One Episodic Wood Burning Curtailment except for USEPA Phase II certified devices and 
pellet stoves, provided that these are registered with the District (Rule 4901 Section 5.6.1).  
Qualifying wood heaters are eligible for registration by submitting a completed application and 
supplemental documentation to the District including certification by a District Registered Wood 
Burning Heater Professional that the device is either a Phase II certified device or a pellet stove 
(Section 5.9.2.1).  If the device for which registration is being sought is more than one year old at 
the time of initial registration, the application for registration much include proof of inspection 
by a Registered Professional (Section 5.9.2.1.3).  In areas where natural gas service is not 
available, registration is not required for a device to be operated during a Burning Curtailment. 
 
Registrations are valid for a period of up to three years.  Registration may be renewed by 
submitting a Registration Renewal application with verification that the wood burning device has 
been inspected by a Registered Professional to verity that it is maintained pursuant to 
manufacturer specifications (Section 5.10.3). 
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Fairbanks allowed Borough-listed devices to continue operating during a Stage 1 air alert if such 
devices had approved Stage 1 waivers.  Borough-listed devices included USEPA Phase II 
certified wood stoves, USEPA certified hydronic heaters, masonry heaters, cook stoves, or other 
devices emitting 2.5 gm/hr or less as documented by accepted testing.  Stage 1 waivers did not 
have expiration dates.  These regulations were removed after passage of the Home Heating 
Reclamation Act. 
 
EPA commented that the Fairbanks requirements lacked the regular renewal and inspection 
opportunities to verify proper device operation. 
 
Analysis 
 
All three agencies require the registration or permitting of wood heating devices in order to be 
operated during burning curtailment periods.  Adopted in the Serious Area SIP, 18 AAC 
50.077(h) requires all wood fired-heating devices to be registered when applying for any waivers 
described in the State Air Quality Control plan.  The Episode Chapter of that document details 
the requirement for the issuance of a waiver and the related renewal and inspection requirements 
separately for related application, renewal and inspection requirements for all solid-fuel heating 
devices.  All devices require an initial inspection/maintenance verification by either the owner or 
a professional installer.  All devices with an emissions rating of >7.5 g/hr are only eligible for 2 
annual NOASH waivers.  Devices with an emission rating of  >7.5 g/hr are not allowed a Stage 1 
waiver.  Lower emitting devices are eligible for longer NOASH or Stage 1 waiver periods (up to 
2, 3 and 4-years).  These requirements are consistent with those specified in San Joaquin Valley 
and address EPA’s comments.  
 
Another difference between the regulations is that San Joaquin Valley’s wood burning control 
season applies to the months of November through February (4901 Section 3.30) while 
Fairbanks wood burning season applies to the months of October through March (18 AAC 
50.076(b).  Fairbanks wood burning controls apply for a 6-month period, while San Joaquin 
Valley’s controls apply for a 4-month period.  The difference in wood burning control periods 
more than compensates for any differences in waiver periods.  
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the referenced Episode Chapter requirements and state regulations are sufficient 
to meet the 2020 Amendment Plan requirements of this measure, therefore the measure is 
technologically feasible, implemented in an alternate/equivalent form, and no additional analysis 
is required. 

Measure 23:  Require Exempt Households to Display a Decal Visible from a Point 
of Public Accesss 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Ada County, Idaho  
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Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.sterlingcodifiers.com/codebook/index.php?book_id=447 
 
Background 
 
The Ada County Development Services Department exempts NOASH households and 
Department-listed low emission wood heating devices from having to cease operation during 
curtailment periods (Section 5-10-8.A).  One of the requirements for a valid exemption is that 
each affected household display an exemption decal visible from a point of public access. 
 
Previously, the Borough prepared lists of residences registered as NOASH households and those 
heated with Borough-approved appliances.  These lists were used by Borough enforcement staff 
in the field to identify such residences during Stage 1 Alert periods as exempt from wood 
burning curtailment requirements.  The authority for the Borough to assemble these lists 
disappeared with the passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act and ADEC maintains and 
updates these lists as it implements the curtailment program. 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - the Ada County measure is intended to 
facilitate field compliance inspections by highlighting non-exempt residences with visible smoke 
plumes for enforcement actions.  Because of the high prevalence of oil heaters in all Borough 
residences (79.0%), determination of compliance with curtailment requirements requires a 
minimum of 20-minute opacity observations – except in the case of NOASH residences - to 
ascertain oil versus wood fuel sources of visible emissions.  Determination of compliance at 
NOASH residences, which constitute only 2.2% of residences in the nonattainment area, can be 
ascertained as quickly by examination of a list of NOASH addresses as by observation of a 
visible decal.  Moreover, the Borough prepared lists of residences have been made available to 
state enforcement staff and are being used to identify registered NOASH residences using tablets 
with maps noting their locations.  The adoption of decals will add no benefit to current 
enforcement efforts.  
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - the adoption of a visible decal regulation will not provide 
an emissions reduction benefit during Stage 1 Alerts and, thus, is not technologically feasible.  
Therefore, this measure is not available for consideration as a control measure for the 2020 
Amendment to the Serious SIP. 
 

Measure 25:  Require Detailed Application or Inspection to Verify Need for No 
Other Adequate Source of Heat (NOASH) Permit 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
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• Puget Sound Clean Air Agency (PSCAA) 

 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.pscleanair.org/219/PSCAA-Regulations 
 
Background 
 
The Puget Sound Clean Air Agency (PSCAA) exempts households with no other adequate 
source of heat (NOASH) from curtailment requirements if the residences or commercial 
buildings were constructed prior to July 1, 1992 and not substantially remodeled after that date, 
and the households have been granted exemptions by the agency (Section 13.05.d.1.a).  PSCAA 
grants NOASH exemption only after receipt and review of a detailed application form.51 
 
Fairbanks previously exempted NOASH households from having to cease burning wood during 
Stage 1 Alerts provided that such households have registered with the Borough.  The Borough 
granted NOASH determinations only after receipt and review of detailed application form that 
must be notarized before submittal.52  Regulations mandating these Borough requirements were 
removed after passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act and the implementation of the 
Alert and waiver programs is now implemented by ADEC. 
 
As noted earlier, EPA commented that the Fairbanks requirements lacked the regular renewal 
and inspection opportunities to verify proper device operation. 
 
Analysis 
 
The Episode Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP noted in the introduction details of Alaska’s 
exception and waiver requirements including: 
 

• Length of waivers based on age and emission rate of the device 
• Annual renewals on oldest and highest emission rated devices 
• 3rd party inspection of device to verify proper installation required 
• 3rd party inspection of maintenance (chimney sweep) required 
• Device registration required 
• Documentation of dry wood required 

 
Exceptions/Waiver levels are detailed in Tables for Stage 1 and Stage 2 Alerts.  The structure is 
intended to provide incentives to upgrade existing devices while at the same time acknowledging 
the number of devices already changed out as part of the wood stove change out program.  A 

51 Personal communication between Amy Warren, PSCAA, and Meena Rezaei, Trinity Consultants, on December 
15, 2017.  Application available for download at: http://www.pscleanair.org/DocumentCenter/View/163; accessed 
on January 14, 2018. 
52 Application was for download at:  http://fnsb.us/transportation/Pages/Change-Out-Program.aspx; accessed on 
January 14, 2018 
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detailed application and verification documentation is required prior to issuance of any exception 
or waiver.   
 
These requirements are consistent with PSCAA NOASH curtailment and application 
requirements and address EPA comments about renewal and inspection opportunities to verify 
proper device operation.   
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the referenced Episode Chapter requirements are sufficient to meet the plan  
requirements of this measure, therefore the measure is technologically feasible, has been adopted 
and implemented in alternate form, and no additional analysis is required for the 2020 
Amendment. 

Measure 27:  Require Annual Renewal of Waiver 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Maricopa County 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 
https://www.maricopa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2016/P-26---Residential-Woodburning-
Restriction-Ordinance-PDF  
 
Background 
 
Maricopa County AZ requires that residential sole source of heat (NOASH) permits be renewed 
annually (Ordinance P-26, Section 4.A).  This regulation is intended to annually confirm 
compliance of the permitted household with NOASH requirements and minimize the number of 
permits issued to non-compliant households.  Section 4.A also prohibits the initial issuance of a 
NOASH permit after December 31, 1995, and allows for annual permit renewal if the initial 
permit was issued before December 31, 1995, and the household and device continue to meet 
permit requirements. 
 
Fairbanks required that NOASH households apply and be approved in order to continue burning 
during curtailment periods.  NOASH designations were valid for one year and required renewal 
to remain valid.53  The Borough regulations were removed with the passage of the Home Heating 
Reclamation Act.  
 
 
 

53 Personal communication between Nicholas Czarnecki, FNSB Air Quality Division, and Bob Dulla, Trinity 
Consultants, on December 19, 2017. 
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Analysis 
 
The exception and renewal requirements for NOASH waivers are specified in the Episode 
Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP.  It mandates that all registrations require verification by 
certified installers.  Renewal requirements vary by age, control technology and emission rating.  
Higher emitting devices older than 10 years are limited to 2 annual renewals.  Thus, pre-2010 
higher emitting devices are only allowed 2 renewals. Longer renewal periods are allowed for 
lower emitting devices.  Maricopa does not limit the number of renewals for devices installed 
prior to December 31, 1995. Also, 18 AAC 50.077(a) requires that a person may not install, 
reinstall, sell, lease, distribute, or convey wood-fired heating devices that lack a valid EPA 
certification under 40 C.F.R. 60.533 or any wood-fired outdoor hydronic heaters, except pellet 
fueled devices.  This requirement ensures rapid turnover of the existing stock of older, higher 
emitting wood-burning devices over the next 5 years, whereas the Maricopa regulation relies on 
a much slower turnover of pre 1996 wood-burning devices, while providing no incentive to retire 
post 1995 wood burning devices.  Thus, the older Maricopa NOASH devices can continue to 
operate into the future, whereas in Alaska those devices (and many more) are required to be 
rendered permanently inoperable by December 31, 2024. 
 
Collectively, the new Alaska regulations provide greater emission reductions than would be 
produced by the adoption of Measure 27. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the referenced Episode Chapter requirements and state regulations are sufficient 
to meet the plan requirements of this measure, therefore the measure is technologically feasible, 
adopted and implemented in alternate form, and no additional analysis is required. 

Measure 28:  Set Income Threshold [for Curtailment Exemption] 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Missoula MT; Maricopa County AZ 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://www.missoulacounty.us/home/showdocument?id=8452 
https://www.maricopa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2016/P-26---Residential-Woodburning-
Restriction-Ordinance-PDF 
 
Background 
 
The Missoula City-County Air Pollution Control Program exempts households qualifying for 
energy assistance from burning curtailment requirements (Section 9.207).  Maricopa County 
grants temporary exemptions from curtailment requirements to households qualifying for energy 
assistance (Section 4.B). 
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Fairbanks did not exempt households from curtailment requirements solely on the basis of 
income, but did allow the granting of sole-source-of-heat exemptions to households in which 
“economic hardships require the applicant’s use of a solid fuel burning appliance” provided that 
the appliance is Borough-listed, in addition to other requirements.  The Borough regulations 
were removed with the passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act.  
 
Analysis 
 
The Missoula City-County measure allows low income households to continue burning during 
curtailment periods.  While Alaska will also allow low income households to continue burning 
during curtailment periods (per the Episode Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP), NOASH 
exceptions/waivers are not exempt from the restrictions noted above in Measure 27.  This means 
the pool of NOASH waivers will become increasingly cleaner (i.e., lower emitting) over the next 
5 years.  At this point, Alaska has established the economic hardship thresholds for NOASH 
waivers, consistent with the previous Borough thresholds, economic hardships must provide 
documentation of enrollment in one of several assistance programs.  2020 amendments to the 
Episode Chapter include defining the specific programs that qualify for economic hardship. 
Suitable documentation of economic hardship must include receipt of assistance for: 
unemployment, Denali Kid Care, WIC, or social security/disability.  
 
Overall, the removal or permanent inoperability requirements of 18 AAC 70.077(a) & (l) will 
result in greater emission reductions in the near term than any differences in the definition of 
economic hardship and is therefore more stringent. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the 2020 amendments to the Episode Chapter requirements and state regulations 
are sufficient to meet the plan requirements of this measure, therefore the measure is 
technologically feasible, adopted and implemented, and no additional analysis is required. 

Measure 29:  Allow Only NOASH Households to Burn During Curtailment 
Periods 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Utah Department of Environmental Quality  
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r307/r307-302.htm 
 
Background 
 
The Utah Department of Environmental Quality exempts only households with no other adequate 
source of heat (NOASH) from the requirement to cease operation of wood heating devices 
during curtailment periods in PM2.5 nonattainment areas in the state (Section R307-302-3.4).  
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Fairbanks exempted households with NOASH waivers, wood burning appliances with Stage 1 
waivers, and wood burning appliances in households affected by power failures from similar 
curtailment requirements during Stage 1 Alerts.  The Borough regulations were removed 
following the approval of the Home Heating Reclamation Act, however the State regulations 
remain in place.  The State waiver program has mirrored the Borough program.  
 
Analysis 
 
Utah calls burn bans when concentrations are forecast to reach or exceed 25 µg/m3.  Alaska’s 
Episode Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP calls Stage 1 Alerts when concentrations are forecast to 
exceed 20 µg/m3 and Stage 2 Alerts when concentrations are forecast to exceed 30 g/m3. 
During a Stage 1 Alert those with a NOASH or a Stage 1 waiver may continue to operate wood 
heating devices.  During a Stage 2 Alert only those with a NOASH may continue to operate 
wood heating devices.  Section III.D.7.12 Emergency Episode Plan contains the detailed 
breakdown of the criteria and length requirements for temporary NOASH exceptions/waivers 
and temporary Stage 1 waivers.  During the 2019/2020 winter season, as shown in Table 6, 
ADEC called a total of 24 Stage 1 Alerts (15 in North Pole and 9 in Fairbanks) and 34 Stage 2 
Alerts (25 in North Pole and 9 in Fairbanks) 
 
Table 6. Number of Stage restrictions called by ADEC during 2019/2020 heating season 

Number of Alert Restrictions 
Called 

Stage 1 Stage 2 

North Pole: 15 25 
Fairbanks: 9 9 
Total: 24 34 

 
During the 2019/2020 winter season, as shown in Table 6, ADEC issued a total of 51 NOASH 
waivers and 25 Stage 1 waivers. 
Table 7. Burn restriction waivers issued by DEC during 2019/2020 heating season 

Burn Restriction Waivers Issued 
DEC NOASH Waivers: 51 
DEC Stage 1 Waivers: 25 
Total: 76 

 
By lowering the Stage 2 threshold to be equivalent with Utah’s NOASH only threshold of 25 
µg/m3 the near term emission reductions would only result from Stage 1 wood heating devices 
ceasing operation, because all other wood burning appliances are required to cease operation at 
the Stage 1 level of 20 µg/m3.  Comparing the number of Stage 1 waivers issued in the 
2019/2020 heating season to the 2019 emission inventory estimates of wood heating devices, 
there were 25 Stage 1 Waivers and approximately 13,899 SFBAs, Stage 1 waivers accounted for 
approximately 0.2% of the inventory of SFBAs.  Any near-term benefits for lowering the Stage 2 
threshold to 25 µg/m3 would be negligible. 
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Implementing a curtailment threshold at 20 µg/m3 that applies to all but 0.2% of the estimated 
inventory is more stringent than implementing a single stage threshold to 25 µg/m3.  Therefore, 
at the present time, ADEC’s two stage thresholds are more stringent than Utah’s one stage 
threshold.  
 
ADEC recognizes that this analysis is not static; for example, as the number of Stage 1 waivers 
grow the potential benefits of this measure will increase. Likewise, as the North Pole monitor 
moves closer to attainment, the number of Stage 1 alerts may also increase in proportion to Stage 
2 alerts.  The low percentage of Stage 1 waivers compared to the estimated 2019 inventory of 
appliances is also not fully understood.  However, as the curtailment program becomes a cultural 
norm in Fairbanks, participation in the Stage 1 program and the NOASH program may rise.  As 
the number of Stage 1 waivers rises, there may be a point where Utah’s single stage curtailment 
at 25 µg/m3 could be more stringent than ADEC’s current two stage curtailment.  
  
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the referenced Episode Chapter requirements are presently sufficient to meet the 
plan requirements of this measure, therefore the measure is technologically feasible, adopted and 
implemented, and no additional analysis is required.  Recognizing that the analysis is dynamic, 
and changes may occur as the curtailment program becomes more widely accepted and the area 
moves closer to attainment, ADEC has evaluated this measure as a contingency measure for 
future adoption if triggered. 

Measure 31:  Require Sale of Only Dry Wood during Late Summer to the End of 
Winter 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• South Coast Air Quality Management District 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/rule-iv/rule-445.pdf 
 
Background 
 
SCAQMD’s Rule 445 limits the sale of commercial firewood to seasoned only firewood from 
July 1 through the end of February the following year. Seasoned firewood is defined to have a 
moisture content of 20 percent or less by weight as determined by approved hand-held moisture 
meters or an alternate method defined by the California Air Resources Board.  Commercial wood 
sellers are free to sell both seasoned and non-seasoned firewood during the remaining months of 
the year.  The goal is to restrict the supply of unseasoned wood available for use during winter 
months.  
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Fairbanks North Star Borough Code54 and Alaska regulation did not allow burning of firewood 
with a moisture content exceeding 20%.  The Code was modified to remove this requirement 
from Borough code after voter approval of the Home Heating Reclamation Act.  The state 
regulation to burn dry wood remains in effect. 
 
Alaska regulations55 require mandatory registration of commercial wood sellers, the use of 
uniquely numbered three-part moisture disclosure forms, which document the date the wood was 
cut and findings of moisture measurements of three pieces of wood for each cord sold.  The 
wood seller is required to sign the form, date when it was delivered and obtain signature of the 
customer purchasing the wood.  The wood seller is also required to provide the customer with a 
copy of the signed disclosure form and submit to the state the department’s copy of the 
completed disclosure form.  
 
EPA commented on ADEC’s Preliminary draft Serious SIP that while the “Borough has SIP 
approved dry wood requirements that prohibit the burning of wet wood and moisture disclosure 
requirements by sellers, we believe that a measure limiting the sale of wet wood during the 
winter months should be further analyzed for BACM (and MSM consideration).”  In response, 
Alaska adopted regulation, 18 AAC 50.076(k) to include requirements to regulate the sale of 
wood in the Fairbanks Nonattainment Area. Specifically, 50.076(k)(3) states: “Except as 
permitted under (j) of this section, on and after October 1, 2021, a commercial wood seller 
required to register with the department under (d) of this section (3) shall periodically measure, 
using a type of commercially available moisture test meter that is approved by the department for 
accuracy, the moisture content of a representative sample of the wood to ensure the stock is dry 
prior to selling.”  
 
EPA in their comments on 2020 Amendment56 commented that there were enforceability issues 
with the vague requirements to “periodically measure” the moisture content of wood for sale and 
recommended Alaska revise 18 AAC 50.076(k)(3) to require a specific frequency at which wood 
sellers are required to measure the moisture content of the seller’s wood stock to ensure the stock 
is dry prior to selling.  In response, ADEC is revising regulation 18 AAC 50.076(k)(3) by setting 
a frequency at monthly intervals to measure the moisture content.   
 
Analysis 
Alaska’s 18 AAC 50.076 has been modified to include new subsections that effective October 1, 
2021, ensure that all the wood being sold or provided has a moisture content of less than 20%, 
but with one exception for eight foot or longer round logs.  This exception requires the wood 
seller to ensure the buyer has the ability to store the wood for the next season and will not use the 
wet wood for the season in which it is sold.  Subsections (d)(e) & (g) require commercial wood 
sellers to register with the ADEC; (j) includes requirements to ensure that wood withless than 
20% moisture content is being sold after the effective date, along with the exception.  18 AAC 
50.076(l) would limit non-commercial sellers to selling dry wood.  Dry wood is defined as 
either: 

54 http://www.codepublishing.com/AK/FairbanksNorthStarBorough/#!/FNSBC21/FNSBC2128.html#21.28 
55 http://burnwise.alaska.gov/requirements.htm 
56 88 Fed. Reg. at 1481; Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
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• properly seasoned, split, and stored covered for at least 9 months, unless confirmed dry;  
• mechanically dried, where the drying process has been inspected and approved by the 

department to ensure consistency and reliability; or  
• harvested from an inspected fire killed source that has been split, stacked, stored and 

confirmed dry prior to freezing;  
  
Wood sellers are required to test, using a commercially available moisture test meter that the 
department has approved for accuracy, measure moisture content periodically to verify and 
ensure stock is dry prior to selling.  They are also required to document the measured moisture 
content, and keep a record of the measurements over the seasoning period and sign an affidavit 
form that the department provides attesting the wood is dry prior to sale.  
 
The new rules recognize that commercial wood sellers will need time to build up the necessary 
supply of dry wood required to satisfy overall firewood demand.  In the intervening period, wood 
sellers are required to follow the regulations outlined in the background discussion. 
 
Lacking infrastructure, such as kiln capacity sufficient to dry a season’s worth of wood, the only 
technically feasible method of drying commercially available cordwood to less than 20% 
moisture content is to air dry the wood.  A study of the time required to dry wood in Fairbanks 
found that a minimum of six summer months with covered storage is required to dry wood from 
spring cutting to a moisture level below 20%.  However, ADEC regulation 18 AAC 50.076 (k) 
has set the minimum of 9 months drying time, unless confirmed, to ensure that the wood is dry 
given the variation in wood drying with different storage options.  The same study determined 
that wood cut in the fall dries much more slowly and essentially stops drying once the wood 
becomes frozen.  At this time the community lacks adequate storage space to dry the wood 
required to fill the commercial market.  The summer of 2020 will be used by the commercial 
wood sellers to secure the space and construct structures to air dry the wood.  Cord wood 
harvested during the spring of 2021 could then be stored and dried by October 2021 which is the 
most expeditious schedule that the commercial wood industry can follow to meet the 
requirements of this rule.  
 
ADEC received a number of comments suggesting that the sale of 8-foot round logs should be 
allowed to continue in the future.  These comments asserted that many buyers of 8-foot rounds 
have multi-year storage capacity and process their logs years in advance to ensure proper 
seasoning.  ADEC recognizes that 8-foot rounds cannot be burned as is, but must be processed 
by the buyer so this wet wood can’t be immediately burned without some up front effort.  This 
means that buyers can’t easily or unintentionally add this wood to their heating device.  ADEC 
revised the regulations to accommodate the continued sale of 8-foot rounds, but added provisions 
that these sales can only occur if the wood seller confirms that the buyer will not burn wet wood 
in the coming season based on dry wood supply and storage/processing capacity for seasoning 
wood.  
 
Recent wood sales data show that 8-foot rounds account for 20.17% of wood sales in the 
Fairbanks nonattainment area.  The sales estimates show approximately 1,511 cords of 8-foot 
logs were sold compared to a total of 7,491 cords sold and is a small fraction of the cordwood 
consumed in the non-attainment area which is 66,217 cords per year showing that 8-foot rounds 
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account for approximately 2.28% of cordwood consumed in the non-attainment area.  The low 
sales volume of 8-foot rounds combined with the requirement that it cannot be burned in the 
coming season ensures that the year-round dry wood sales mandate for Fairbanks after October 
1, 2021 more than offsets the seasonal dry wood sales requirements mandated in Measure 31; 
they also address EPA’s comments.    
 
EPA in their comments57 on the 2020 Amendments, cited enforceability issues with the 18 AAC 
50.076 as the requirements to measure the moisture content of wood for sale was vague.  EPA 
recommended Alaska revise 18 AAC 50.076(k)(3) to require a specific frequency for wood 
sellers to measure the moisture content of the seller’s wood stock.  In response, ADEC is 
revising regulation 18 AAC 50.076(k)(3) by setting a frequency at monthly intervals to measure 
the moisture content.    
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the revised state regulation addresses the enforceability issues cited by EPA and 
therefore meets the BACM requirements for the 2024 Amendment.  

Measure 32:  Require Dry Wood to be Clearly Labeled to Prohibit Marketing of 
Non-Dry Wood as Dry Wood 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• South Coast Air Quality Management District; San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control 
District; Bay Area Air Quality Management District 

 
Regulation Weblinks(s) 
 

• http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/rule-iv/rule-445.pdf 
• http://www.valleyair.org/rules/currntrules/r4901.pdf  
• https://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/dotgov/files/rules/regulation-6-rule-

3/documents/20191120_r0603_final-pdf.pdf?la=en 
 
Background 
 
SCAQMD’s Rule 445 limits the sale of commercial firewood to be seasoned only firewood from 
July 1 through the end of February the following year.  Seasoned firewood is defined to have a 
moisture content 20 percent or less by weight as determined by approved hand held moisture 
meters or an alternate method defined by the California Air Resources Board. Rule 445 also 
contains labeling requirements: 
 

Effective November 4, 2013, no commercial firewood seller shall sell, offer for sale, or 
supply wood-based fuel without first attaching a permanently affixed indelible label to 

57 Id. 
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each package or providing written notice to each buyer at the time of purchase of bulk 
firewood that at a minimum, states the following: 

 
Use of this and other solid fuel products may be restricted at times by law.  Please check 
(1-877-4NO-BURN) or (www.8774NOBURN.org) before burning. 
 
San Joaquin Valley AQMD’s Rule 4901 has firewood marketing restrictions: 
 
No person shall sell, offer for sale, or supply any wood which is orally or in writing, 
advertised, described, or in any way represented to be “seasoned wood” unless the wood 
has a moisture content of 20 percent or less by weight. 
 
Bay Area AQMD Regulation 6 also has requirements governing the sale of wood: 
 
Any person offering for sale, selling or providing solid fuel or wood intended for use in a 
wood-burning device within District boundaries shall:  
 
Attach a label to each package of solid fuel or wood sold that states the following:  
 
“Use of this and other solid fuels may be restricted at times by law.  Please check 1-877-
4-NO-BURN or http://www.8774noburn.org/ before burning.”  
 
If wood is seasoned (not to include manufactured logs), then the label must also state the 
following:  
 
“This wood meets air quality regulations for moisture content to be less than 20 % 
(percent) by weight for cleaner burning.” 

 
Alaska regulations adopted at 18 AAC 50.076 (d),(e), & (g)58 require mandatory registration of 
commercial wood sellers, the use of uniquely numbered three-part moisture disclosure forms, 
which document the date the wood was cut and findings of moisture measurements of three 
pieces of wood for each cord sold.  The wood seller is required to sign the form, date when it was 
delivered and obtain signature of the customer purchasing the wood.  The wood seller is also 
required to provide the customer with a copy of the signed disclosure form and submit to the 
state the department’s copy of the completed disclosure form.  The adopted regulation requires 
commercial wood sellers to sell only dry wood year round after October 1, 2021.   
 
EPA in their comments59 on 2020 Amendment had concerns similar to Measure 31 related to 
enforceability and dismissed the measure.  ADEC is revising regulation 18 AAC 50.076(k)(1) by 
improving the labeling to clearly indicate “dry wood”. 
 

58 https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/sip/18aac50-reference-materials/ 
59 88 Fed. Reg. at 1481; Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
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Analysis 
 
Current Alaska regulations require mandatory registration of commercial wood sellers, the use of 
uniquely numbered three-part moisture disclosure forms, which document the date the wood was 
cut and findings of moisture measurements of three pieces of wood for each cord sold.  The 
wood seller is required to sign the form, date when it was delivered and obtain signature of the 
customer purchasing the wood.  The wood seller is also required to provide the customer with a 
copy of the signed disclosure form and submit to the state the department’s copy of the 
completed disclosure form.  The state is assembling the submitted forms into an electronic 
database to track the moisture levels and volume of wood sold. Separate requirements address 
wood measurements and deliveries at temperatures below 32° F.  All wood with measurements 
exceeding 20% is assumed to be wet.  
 
The moisture disclosure forms require the buyer to declare: 
 

I understand that starting October 2015, only dry wood may be burned between October 
1 and March 31.  

 
Previously, while Alaska did not require firewood to be labeled, it did require the buyer to sign a 
form documenting whether the wood is seasoned or unseasoned.  
 
Current ADEC requirements are to have the customer sign a form documenting whether the 
wood is seasoned or unseasoned ensures that the customer has seen information about the 
moisture content of the wood being purchased.  ADEC’s requirement is more stringent than 
other labeling requirements which the customer may or may not see, let alone acknowledge.  
 
While current ADEC regulations require wood sellers to document and distribute detailed 
information regarding the moisture content of the wood.  SCAQMD Rule 445 limits the sale of 
commercial firewood to be seasoned only firewood from July 1 through the end of February the 
following year, eliminating excess emissions from commercially sold wet wood, and is therefore 
more stringent than current ADEC regulations.  
 
As discussed above in the analysis of Measure 31, wood sellers currently lack the infrastructure 
required to dry and store a season’s worth of commercial firewood.  Time will be required for 
wood sellers to secure the space and construct the structures to air dry wood.  The summer of 
2020 will be the earliest opportunity for commercial wood sellers to secure the space and 
construct structures to air dry the wood.  Cord wood harvested during the spring of 2021 could 
then be stored and dried by October 2021 which is the most expeditious schedule that the 
commercial wood industry can follow to meet the requirements of this rule. 
 
ADEC has therefore adopted regulations in 18 AAC 50.076 (d)(e)&(g) that require commercial 
wood sellers to sell only dry wood year round after October 1, 2021. Subsection(j) includes 
requirements to ensure that wood with a less than 20% moisture content is being sold after the 
effective date. 18 AAC 50.076 (k) has set the minimum of 9 months drying time, unless 
confirmed, to ensure that the wood is dry given the variation in wood drying with different 
storage options. 18 AAC 50.076 (l) would limit non-commercial sellers to selling dry wood.  Dry 
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wood is defined as below 20% moisture content. Monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting 
requirements are also included in the proposed regulations to ensure compliance with the 20% 
moisture standard.  The adoption of the revisions incorporated into 18 AAC 50.076 are sufficient 
to meet 2020 Amendment Plan requirements for this control measure. 
 
As noted in the analysis of Measure 31, recent wood sales data show that 8-foot rounds account 
for 20.17% of wood sales in the Fairbanks nonattainment area.  The sales estimates show 
approximately 1,511 cords of 8-foot logs were sold compared to a total of 7,491 cords sold and is 
a small fraction of the cordwood consumed in the non-attainment area which is 66,217 cords per 
year showing that 8-foot rounds account for approximately 2.28% of cordwood consumed in the 
non-attainment area.  The low sales volume of 8-foot rounds combined with the requirement that 
it cannot be burned in the coming season ensures that the year-round dry wood sales mandate for 
Fairbanks after October 1, 2021, more than offsets the seasonal dry wood sales requirements 
mandated in Measure 31.  They also ensure that seasonal labeling requirements offset the 
seasonal labeling requirements of Measure 32.  
 
EPA in their comments60 on the 2020 Amendments, cited similar issues as Measure 31 as 
lacking sufficient monitoring to be enforceable as a practical matter and thus meet BACM and 
BACT requirements.  In response, ADEC is revising regulation 18 AAC 50.076(k)(1) by 
improving the labeling to clearly indicate “dry wood”. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the revised state regulation addresses the enforceability issues cited by EPA and 
therefore meets the BACM requirements for the 2024 Amendment.  

Measure 35:  Restrict Burning During Air Pollution Events 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Klamath County; Ada County 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.co.klamath.or.us/EH/Air%20Quality%20&%20Burning/Klamath%20County
%20Clean%20Air%20Ordinance.htm 

• http://www.sterlingcodifiers.com/codebook/index.php?book_id=447 
 
Background 
 
Klamath County OR prohibits open burning during burning curtailment periods (Section 
406.100.4.a).  Oregon Department of Environmental Quality regulations exempt recreational 
fires and ceremonial fires from open burning requirements (Section 340-264-0040).  
 

60 88 Fed. Reg. at 1480. Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
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Ada County ID prohibits the open burning of refuse or solid fuel during declared air quality 
alerts (Section 5-10-8.C).  County regulations also exempt recreational or warming fires from 
open burning restrictions provided that such fires do not violate air pollution alerts (Section 5-2-
7-2.D).  
 
Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation prohibits open burning in PM2.5 
nonattainment areas between November 1 and March 31 (Section 18 AAC 50.065.f).  These 
regulations also exempt ceremonial fires from open burning restrictions (Section 18 AAC 
50.990.65.B). 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - the measures adopted by Klamath County 
and Ada County contain the same exemptions from open burning restrictions for recreational 
fires as are contained in the Alaska regulations.  Exempt fires are rarely ignited in Fairbanks 
when ambient temperatures reach subzero levels that are typical during Stage 1 Alert periods.61 
The removal of the ceremonial fire exemption will have no measurable emissions benefit in the 
Fairbanks nonattainment area. 
 
40 CFR 51.1000 defines BACM as a control measure that “generally can achieve greater 
permanent and enforceable emission reductions … than can be achieved through implementation 
of RACM”. Given that the measure does not result in a quantifiable emission benefit this control 
measure does not meet the definition of BACM.  
 
With no quantifiable emission benefit and some associated cost to implement, the dollar per ton 
value would be infinite which shows economic infeasibility as well.  
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion of these measures is unchanged - the measures as adopted by Klamath 
County and by Ada County do not meet the definition of BACM and 2020 Amendment Plan 
requirements and are economically infeasible.  These measures have been dismissed from 
consideration as control measures for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 38:  Ambient PM2.5 Curtailment Threshold (1-Hr Average) 

Applicable Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Cache Valley and Cities, Idaho 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

61 Personal communication between Nicholas Czarnecki, FNSB Air Quality Division, and Bob Dulla, Trinity 
Consultants, on January 25, 2018. 
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• https://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/2014/58/0101.pdf 
 
Background 
 
Many jurisdictions with wood smoke control programs have adopted specific air quality 
thresholds for triggering burn bans, or curtailments, during which certain activities that produce 
PM2.5 emissions are prohibited, or at least severely restricted.  The Idaho Department of 
Environmental Quality (IDEQ) is the only regulatory agency found to trigger curtailment periods 
on the basis of ambient PM2.5 levels measured over 1-hour averaging periods.  Most other air 
quality agencies with burn ban authority base curtailment decisions on PM2.5 levels averaged 
over 12- to 24-hour periods.  Most importantly, this local 1-hour threshold in the Cache Valley 
and cities of Idaho applies only to curtailment or cessation of open burning, not wood-based 
residential space heating. 
 
Under the Idaho Administrative Code, IDEQ has the authority to issue a Stage 1 Forecast and 
Caution when “particulate concentrations reach, or are forecasted to reach, and persist, at or 
above the levels listed” in the table below.62  Under the Stage 1 Air Pollution Forecast and 
Caution, “there shall be no new ignition of open burning of any kind.”  In addition, the director 
of the IDEQ may request the cessation of open burning. (Again, this Stage 1 Forecast and 
Caution applies only to open burning and does not apply to residential wood heating.) 
 
Table 8.  Stage 1 Forecast Levels 

Pollutant Standard 
PM2.5 80 µg/m3 1 hour average 
PM2.5 50 µg/m3 24 hour average 
PM10 385 µg/m3 1 hour average 
PM10 150 µg/m3 24 hour average 

 
 
This authority is also found in IDEQ’s Air Pollution Emergency Rule.63 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - discussions with staff members of IDEQ64 
and the Utah Department of Environmental Quality (UDEQ)65 found the jurisdictions share a 
common PM2.5 nonattainment area and thus coordinate regulations on many air quality issues; 
they indicated that the 1-hour standard is outdated and no longer used.  Staff members from 
UDEQ indicated that they had no regulations based upon 1-hour standards and that all 

62 Idaho Department of Environmental Quality, Idaho Administrative Code, Rules for the Control of Air Pollution in 
Idaho, IDAPA 58.01.01, available at https://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/2014/58/0101.pdf; Accessed 
October/10/2017. 
63 https://www.deq.idaho.gov/media/344469-emerg_rule_fs.pdf; Accessed October 10, 2017. 
64 Personal communication with Melissa Gibbs, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality, October 5, 2017. 
65 Personal communications with Bo Call, Utah Department of Environmental Quality, October 4, 2017; Personal 
communication with Joel Karmazyn, October 5, 2017. 
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regulations were based upon 24-hour averaging periods.  The PM2.5 thresholds, for example, 
have never been updated to correlate to the current NAAQS standards.  Staff from IDEQ instead 
use a 24-hour concentration of 30 µg/m3 as a curtailment threshold and are considering a 
lowering of their 24-hour standard if that proposed by Utah is accepted and required by EPA. 
 
Moreover, the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (ADEC) already has a state 
regulation in place66 that prohibits open burning in the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area 
between November 1 and March 31, the period that essentially corresponds to historical PM2.5 
violations.  
 
The 1-hour concentration-based threshold adopted in Idaho applies to curtailment/cessation of 
open burning, not residential space heating.  ADEC’s existing regulation (18 AAC 50.065) 
prohibits open burning in the nonattainment area during the winter season.  Thus, 
implementation of the Idaho 1-hour average threshold for curtailing open burning would have no 
impact on wood smoke emissions during the wintertime nonattainment season in Fairbanks, and 
is not applicable to curtailment or restrictions on residential space heating.   In summary, 
ADEC’s ban on open burning during the winter season is more stringent than this measure.   
 
40 CFR 51.1000 defines BACM as a control measure that “generally can achieve greater 
permanent and enforceable emission reductions … than can be achieved through implementation 
of RACM.”  Given that the measure does not result in a quantifiable emission benefit this control 
measure does not meet the definition of BACM.  
 
With no quantifiable emission benefit and some associated cost to implement, the dollar per ton 
value would be infinite which shows economic infeasibility as well.  
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - the adoption of this measure will provide no emissions 
benefit in the Fairbanks nonattainment area, therefore the measure does not meet the definition 
of BACM and is economically infeasible.  This measure has been dismissed from consideration 
as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 39:  Use of AQI as Basis for Curtailment Threshold 

Applicable Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Cache Valley and Cities, Idaho 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.deq.idaho.gov/media/930593-cache-valley-pm2-5-sip-appendices-1212.pdf 
 
Background 

66 18 AAC 50.065 
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Franklin County and the Cache Valley cities in Idaho use a PM2.5 Air Quality Index (AQI) level 
of 75 as the threshold for declaring a burn ban (curtailment) for residential wood stoves.  This 
level is equivalent to an ambient concentration of 23.5 µg/m3.67  Most other jurisdictions that 
regulate residential wood burning specify PM2.5 concentration-based thresholds for a curtailment 
declaration (typically in the 25-35 µg/m3 range) rather than specifying AQI levels.  ADEC’s 
concentration based thresholds for Stage 1 and Stage 2 are 20 and 30 µg/m3. 
 
The Cache Valley attainment plan submitted to the EPA by the Idaho Department of 
Environmental Quality states, in many locations, that burning is prohibited when the AQI for the 
region reaches 75 or higher.68  The restriction applies, in one section, to “all wood burning, 
including but not limited to, within a solid fuel heating appliance designed for wood fuel 
(commonly known as a 'wood stove’) or open fireplace” and in another to “any open burning of 
any kind.”  
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this measure is unchanged - personal communication with Idaho DEQ69 
staff suggested that the adoption of an AQI-based threshold rather than a PM2.5 concentration-
based threshold was motivated solely by the desire to avoid having to rewrite regulations to 
modify the “trigger level” when EPA revised the NAAQS.  The AQI is itself a function of the 
NAAQS standard and so, when the standard is reduced by EPA, the concentration equivalent to 
an AQI of 75 – or any other measure of AQI – would correspondingly be reduced as well.70  
Thus the jurisdiction would not need to modify its regulation in response to a NAAQS change. 
The staff member indicated that no documentation existed to suggest whether the use of AQI- or 
concentration-based thresholds would be more effective at reducing emissions. 
 
Further communication with the Idaho DEQ suggested that the use of an AQI- rather than a 
concentration-based threshold did not likely affect the compliance rate of affected woodstoves 
and that the news release containing the curtailment order typically did not even mention the 
criteria used to initiate the curtailment.  
 
40 CFR 51.1000 defines BACM as a control measure that “generally can achieve greater 
permanent and enforceable emission reductions … than can be achieved through implementation 
of RACM.”  Given that the measure does not result in a quantifiable emission benefit this control 
measure does not meet the definition of BACM.  
 
With no quantifiable emission benefit and some associated cost to implement, the dollar per ton 
value would be infinite which shows economic infeasibility as well.  
 

67 https://airnow.gov/index.cfm?action=airnow.calculator 
68 Idaho Department of Environmental Quality, Cache Valley Idaho PM2.5 Nonattainment Area SIP, Appendix E: 
Reasonably Available Control Methods, 2006, available at http://www.deq.idaho.gov/media/930593-cache-valley-
pm2-5-sip-appendices-1212.pdf; Accessed October 10, 2017. 
69 Personal communication with Melissa Gibbs, Idaho Department of Environmental Quality, October 5, 2017. 
70 Calculator for AQI maintained by EPA at https://airnow.gov/index.cfm?action=airnow.calculator 
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Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - given the equivalence between AQI and PM2.5 
concentration thresholds the question of technological feasibility depends on the stringency of 
adopted AQI thresholds; therefore, this measure provides no emission benefit and does not meet 
the definition of BACM or a control measure for this 2020 Amendment and is economically 
infeasible.  This measure has been dismissed from consideration as a control measure for the 
2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 42:  Burn Down Period 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Puget Sound CAA; Maricopa County 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.pscleanair.org/219/PSCAA-Regulations 
https://www.maricopa.gov/DocumentCenter/View/2016/P-26---Residential-Woodburning-
Restriction-Ordinance-PDF 
 

Background 
 
The Puget Sound Clean Air Agency requires solid fuel burning devices to be shut down when a 
First Stage of Impaired Air Quality (curtailment) has been declared (Sections 13.05.a.1 and 
13.05.d.1.a).  Certain categories of devices, such as pellet stoves, Oregon DEQ-certified Phase 2 
devices, Washington DOE-certified devices, and devices in households with no other adequate 
source of heat, are allowed to continue operating during a curtailment period provided that all 
applicable registration requirements are met.  When a curtailment period is declared, fuel to non-
exempt devices must be withheld, and combustion in these devices – as evidenced by visible 
smoke from a chimney – must cease within three hours after the declaration is issued (Section 
13.05.b). 
 
Maricopa County defines “Burn-Down Period” as “That period of time, not to exceed three 
hours after declaring a restricted-burn period, required for the cessation of combustion within 
any residential wood-burning device, outdoor fire pit, wood-burning chimney, or similar outdoor 
fire by withholding fuel or by modifying the air-to-fuel-ratio” (Section P-26.2.D).  This 
regulation also stays enforcement of visible emission limits for three hours after a curtailment 
declaration is issued (Section P-26.3.D.4). 
 
Fairbanks’ regulations did not specifically exempt smoke emitted during burn down periods from 
compliance with opacity limits, but do exempt visible emissions from a chimney in excess of the 
opacity standard for a period not to exceed 30 minutes during a curtailment period before citing 
unauthorized wood heating devices for unlawful operation during a curtailment period.  Those 
Borough regulations were removed following the passage of the Home Heating Reclamation 
Act.  

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-66

http://www.pscleanair.org/219/PSCAA-Regulations


 
Analysis 
 
In the Serious SIP, effective January 8, 2020, Alaska added a regulation subsection 18 AAC 
70.075(e)(3) “that fuel to non-exempt devices must be withheld, and combustion in these devices 
– as evidenced by visible smoke from a chimney – must cease within three hours of the effective 
time of the declaration.” 
 
The addition of this subsection matches the burn down requirements set in Measure 42.  
Therefore, the adoption of this measure addressed the BACM requirement for this measure. 
 
The Serious SIP is a chapter of the State Air Quality Control Plan that is adopted by reference 
into state regulation at 18 AAC 50.030. As a result, the Fairbanks Emergency Episode Plan as 
described in Section III.D.7.12 is enforceable by ADEC.  This section of the SIP outlines for the 
public the specifics related to episodic control requirements within the nonattainment area along 
with the process ADEC uses for announcing episodes.  ADEC revised Section III.D.7.12 to 
incorporate the language added to 18 AAC 50.075(e) to ensure that the burn down requirements 
are clearly identified within the local Episode Plan.  
 
ADEC also uses a fixed episode announcement template that will have the burn down language 
included so that every curtailment called within the nonattainment area will contain the burn 
down language.  
 
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the referenced state regulations are sufficient to meet the 2020 Amendment Plan  
requirements of this measure, therefore the measure is technologically feasible, adopted and 
implemented, and no additional analysis is required. 

Measure 45:  Elevation Exemption from Wood Burning Curtailments 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• South Coast Air Quality Management District; Utah Department of Environmental 
Quality 

 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/rule-iv/rule-444.pdf 
• https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r307/r307-302.htm#T3 

 
Background 
 
In the South Coast, Mandatory Winter Burning Curtailment is defined to occur: 
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 ..during the consecutive months of November through February where the burning of 
solid fuels is restricted for portions of the South Coast Air Basin at elevations below 
3,000 feet above Mean Sea Level (MSL) based on air quality criteria contained in AQMD 
Rule 445 (Wood Burning Devices). (emphasis added) 

 
Utah’s Rule 307 (Solid Fuel Burning) provides exemption from wood burning restrictions for 
sources located at elevations above 7,000 feet.    
 
Alaska DEC does not provide an elevation exemption from burning curtailment requirements.   
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this control measure is unchanged - a review of topographical maps 
found that no portion of the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area is at an elevation above 3,000 
feet MSL.  This finding was confirmed by the Borough’s Air Quality Division.  The existing 
Alaska DEC air quality regulations do not provide an elevation exemption from burning 
curtailment requirements. 
 
40 CFR 51.1000 defines BACM as a control measure that “generally can achieve greater 
permanent and enforceable emission reductions … than can be achieved through implementation 
of RACM”. Given that the measure does not result in a quantifiable emission benefit this control 
measure does not meet the definition of BACM.  
 
With no quantifiable emission benefit and some associated cost to implement, the dollar per ton 
value would be infinite which shows economic infeasibility as well.  
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - this measure would not result in a quantifiable emission 
benefit and thus does not meet the definition of BACM and control measure requirements for the 
2020 Amendment and is economically infeasible.  This measure has been dismissed from 
consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 46:  Lack of Electrical or Natural Gas Service Availability 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• South Coast Air Quality Management District; San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control 
District 

 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/rule-iv/rule-445.pdf?sfvrsn=4 
• https://www.valleyair.org/rules/currntrules/r4901.pdf 
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Background 
 
The South Coast Air Quality Management District exempts wood heating devices from burning 
curtailment requirements in households where there is no existing infrastructure for natural gas 
service within 150 feet of the property line (Section 445.f.7.C). 
 
San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District exempts wood burning fireplaces and wood 
burning heaters from burning curtailment requirements in areas where natural gas service is not 
available (Section 4901.5.6.3.1). 
 
Fairbanks did not exempt households from curtailment requirements due to a lack of natural gas 
service, but it did allow all wood heating devices affected by an electrical power failure to be 
used for space heating purposes during Stage 1 alerts.  Fairbanks curtailment requirements were 
removed with the passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act. 
 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this control measure is unchanged - the Episode Chapter of  
the PM2.5 Serious SIP, provides an exception for cases where electrical power outages prevent 
use of alternative heating devices.  This requirement is not overly broad as electricity is required 
to power all alternative (i.e., non-wood) heating devices, since they require pumps, fans, 
resistance coils, valves, etc. for operation.  Thus, with the exception of wood-fired heating there 
is no alternative source of heat when there is an electrical power outage, unless the home has a 
generator. 
 
40 CFR 51.1000 defines BACM as a control measure that “generally can achieve greater 
permanent and enforceable emission reductions … than can be achieved through implementation 
of RACM.”  Given that the measure does not result in a quantifiable emission benefit this control 
measure does not meet the definition of BACM.  
 
With no quantifiable emission benefit and some associated cost to implement, the dollar per ton 
value would be infinite which shows economic infeasibility as well.   
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion for this measure is unchanged - since the adoption of this measure will 
provide no emission reductions in Fairbanks, it does not meet the definition of BACM or the 
control measure requirements for the 2020 Amendment and is economically infeasible.  This 
measure has been dismissed from consideration as a control measure to the 2020 Amendment to 
the Serious SIP.  

Measure 48:  Date Certain Removal of “Coal Only Heater” 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
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• Puget Sound Clean Air Agency 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://www.pscleanair.org/DocumentCenter/View/354 
 
Background 
 
Puget Sound CAA Regulation 13.07 mandates the removal of coal-only heaters located in 
Tacoma:   
 

Any person who owns or is responsible for a coal-only heater located in the Tacoma, 
Washington fine particulate nonattainment area must remove and dispose of it or render 
it permanently inoperable by September 30, 2015. 

 
It also requires that owners provide documentation of the removal and disposal or rendering 
permanently inoperable of the coal heater to the Agency using the Agency’s procedures within 
30 days of the removal or rendering the heater permanently inoperable. 
 
Fairbanks restricted the operation and installation of coal burning devices.  Coal burning stoves, 
hydronic heaters and furnaces are defined as solid fuel burning appliances (SFBA). None of 
these appliances are Borough “listed appliances”.  All listed appliances must be EPA-certified 
and have an annual average emission rating of 2.5 grams per hour or less or 0.10 lbs/mm Btu for 
hydronic heaters.  This effectively prohibited the installation of other types of solid fuel-fired 
heating devices, including coal, unless the Borough approves an independent emission test 
showing the device meets the emission standards.  Fairbanks requirements addressing the 
installation and operation of coal burning devices were removed with the passage of the Home 
Heating Reclamation Act. 
  
The State of Alaska adopted regulations and SIP amendments which became effective January 
12, 2018 that prevented unlisted appliances (i.e., coal heaters) from being installed, sold or 
leased for use within the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area.  They cannot be operated during 
Air Quality Alerts, do not qualify for NOASH certificates, but do qualify for the enhanced 
voluntary, removal, replacement and repair program.  
 
In the 2020 Amendments, Alaska added a new subsection to 18 AAC 50.079(f) which requires 
coal-fired heating devices to be removed or replaced by the earlier of December 31, 2024, or 
before the device is sold, leased, or conveyed as part of an existing building. The removed 
devices must be destroyed or rendered inoperable and cannot be advertised for sale within the 
nonattainment area.  EPA in their comments on 2020 Amendment, disapproved sections of 18 
AAC 50.079 and stated that 18 AAC 50.079 (f) does not specify a process to confirm the device 
was rendered inoperable, 18 AAC 50.079 (d) allows the owners to test out of the mandatory 
removal requirements, and 18 AAC 50.079 (e) includes an unbounded waiver provision.   
 
In response, ADEC is revising 18 AAC 50.079 by lowering the emission threshold to test out of 
the mandatory removal requirements in 18 AAC 50.079(d) from 18 grams per hour to 0.10 
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pounds per million Btu which is equivalent to the pellet hydronic heater limit in 18 AAC 50.077.  
18 AAC 50.079(d) was amended to require a testing protocol be approved by the department 
prior to any test attempting to exempt a coal device from the mandatory removal requirement.  
18 AAC 50.079(e) was revised to add a time limit of one calendar year to bound the waiver.  18 
AAC 50.079(f) was revised for clarity and by adding section (3) which requires coal-fired 
heating devices to be rendered inoperable after expiration of a waiver granted under subsection 
(e) of 18 AAC 50.079.  A new section 18 AAC 50.079(h) was added that requires documentation 
on the removal and rendering of the device inoperable and submitting an affidavit that coal stove 
will not be reinstalled in the Nonattainment Area. 
 
Analysis 
 
As discussed in the Introduction, Alaska added a new subsection to 18 AAC 50.079(f) which 
requires coal-fired heating devices to be removed or replaced by December 31, 2024. They must 
be removed or replaced prior to any conveyance of an existing building and cannot be sold, 
leased or distributed for sale.  The removed devices must be destroyed or rendered inoperable 
and cannot be advertised for sale within the nonattainment area.  
 
In the 2020 Amendment, ADEC stated that the removal and destruction requirements were 
consistent with the Measure 48 regulations mandating the date certain removal of coal only 
heaters.  With regard to the documentation requirements, since no new coal burning units will be 
sold, 18 AAC 50.079 (f) permanent inoperability requirements will apply.   
 
EPA in their comments on the 2020 Amendment, dismissed the measure by stating that Alaska’s 
regulation was not as stringent as Puget Sound regulation.  EPA commented that while the 
Alaska regulations ban the new installation of coal-fired devices and require existing stoves be 
rendered inoperable as part of a real estate transaction or by December 31, 2024, the regulations 
under 18 AAC 50.079 do not stipulate a process to confirm the device was rendered inoperable 
(as is required in the Puget Sound regulations).  Further, the temporary waiver in 18 AAC 
50.079(e) does not specify the length of time a waiver will be provided, and thereby does not 
provide an accurate estimate of the number of coal-fired devices that will be rendered inoperable 
by the end of 2024.  Alaska’s regulations under 18 AAC 50.079(d) also allowed these devices to 
remain in use if a maximum emission rate test does not exceed 18 grams per hour of total particulate 
matter.  There is no similar testing exemption under the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency’s rules.  
 
As discussed under Background ADEC updated sections (d), (e), (f), and (h) of 18 AAC 50.079 
to resolve EPA’s identified deficiencies.  Regarding EPA’s comment that no testing provision 
exists under the Puget Sound Clean Air Agency Rules, pellet and coal hydronic heaters are both 
part of a larger subset of solid fuel hydronic heaters, and it is appropriate to adopt an equivalent 
emission standard indifferent of the fuel and control strategies.  An equivalent emission standard 
is appropriate because “best” is in terms of BACM refers to the overall level of emission 
reductions71 and an equivalent emission standard will result in the greatest level of emission 
reduction by ensuring that the cleanest heating options remain available in the Fairbanks 
nonattainment area.  ADEC is revising 18 AAC 50.079 by adding a new section (h) that requires 

71 81 Fed. Reg. at 58081. 
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documentation on the removal and rendering the device inoperable and submitting an affidavit 
that coal stove will not be reinstalled in the Nonattainment Area. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the referenced state regulations is sufficient to meet the BACM requirements of 
this measure, therefore the measure is technologically feasible, and no additional analysis is 
required.  

Measure 49:  Prohibit Use of Coal Burning Heaters 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Town of Telluride and San Miguel County, Colorado 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://yosemite.epa.gov/R8/R8Sips.nsf/PrintSips/C5D17E5CB9461F8587257EED00
4BBD82?OpenDocument 

 
Background 
 
The town of Telluride and San Miguel County adopted wood and coal burning emission 
reduction measures in the 1980’s and 1990’s, including provisions that: 
 

(1) Require the installation of cleaner burning devices in existing dwellings which have pre-
existing solid fuel burning devices;  

(2) prohibit solid fuel burning devices in new construction;  
(3) ban coal burning; and  
(4) limit the total number of fireplaces and woodstoves in the nonattainment area.  

 
These controls were approved by EPA into the Colorado PM10 SIP in 1994.72 
 
Fairbanks air quality regulations defined coal stoves and coal burning hydronic heaters as Solid 
Fuel Burning Devices (SFBD).  Coal burning stoves and hydronic heaters were not included as 
Borough-Listed Devices.  Unlisted SFBDs could not be installed, did qualify for the Voluntary 
Replacement and Removal Program, and could not be operated during either a Stage 1 or Stage 2 
Alert.  Unlisted devices could receive a NOASH certification.  Those regulations were Fairbanks 
requirements addressing the installation and operation of coal burning devices were removed 
with the passage of the Home Heating Reclamation Act.   
 
Neither the Borough nor the State had regulations that banned coal burning.  
 

72 https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2001-06-15/pdf/01-15029.pdf#page=1 
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EPA commented that they believed “the regulations in Telluride are more stringent than in 
Fairbanks.  Telluride prohibits coal burning all year whereas in Fairbanks an existing coal stove 
can burn when there is no curtailment which could contribute additional emissions to the airshed, 
especially during poor conditions when a curtailment may not have been called.  We do not 
agree with the conclusion that the PM10 controls are ineligible for consideration for control of 
PM2.5.” 
 
In the 2020 Amendments, Alaska added a new subsection to 18 AAC 50.079(f) which requires 
coal-fired heating devices to be removed or replaced by the earlier of December 31, 2024, or 
before the device is sold, leased, or conveyed as part of an existing building. The removed 
devices must be destroyed or rendered inoperable and cannot be advertised for sale within the 
nonattainment area. Coal-fired devices are eligible for changeouts under the Targeted Airshed 
Grant and the date of 2024 provides residents adequate time to participate in the solid fuel 
burning appliance change-out program to comply with the regulation without overwhelming the 
Borough program resources.  
 
In response to 2020 Amendment, EPA had similar concerns with this measure as Measure 48 and 
commented that the waiver in 18 AAC 50.079(e) does not specify the length of time a temporary 
waiver would apply.  
 
In response, ADEC is revising 18 AAC 50.079 by lowering the emission threshold to test out of 
the mandatory removal requirements in 18 AAC 50.079(d) from 18 grams per hour to 0.10 
pounds per million Btu which is equivalent to the pellet hydronic heater limit in 18 AAC 50.077.  
18 AAC 50.079(d) was amended to require a testing protocol be approved by the department 
prior to any test attempting to exempt a coal device from the mandatory removal requirement.  
18 AAC 50.079(e) was revised to add a time limit of one calendar year to bound the waiver.  18 
AAC 50.079(f) was revised for clarity and by adding section (3) which requires coal-fired 
heating devices to be rendered inoperable after expiration of a waiver granted under subsection 
(e) of 18 AAC 50.079.  A new section 18 AAC 50.079(h) was added that requires documentation 
on the removal and rendering of the device inoperable and submitting an affidavit that coal stove 
will not be reinstalled in the Nonattainment Area. 
 
 
Analysis 
 
In the Serious SIP and 2020 Amendment, Alaska adopted requirements for wood-fired heating 
devices at 18 AAC 50.075, 076, and 077.  Coal fired heating devices are addressed in 18 AAC 
50.079. As described above a new subsection to 18 AAC 50.079(f) requires coal-fired heating 
devices to be rendered permanently inoperable by December 31, 2024, or before the device is 
sold, leased, or conveyed as part of an existing building.  These restrictions are not limited to 
curtailment Alerts and therefore directly address EPA’s concern about contributing additional 
emissions to the airshed. 
 
EPA in their comments on the 2020 Amendment dismissed the measure and stated that the 
waiver in 18 AAC 50.079(e) is unbounded and does not specify the length of time a temporary 
waiver would apply, and this impacted the evaluation of the effectiveness of the coal-fired device 
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restrictions.  EPA also noted that a restriction on installing wood-fired devices in new 
construction is not currently feasible in the Fairbanks area.  As discussed under Background 
ADEC updated sections (d), (e), (f), and (h) of 18 AAC 50.079 to resolve EPA’s identified 
deficiencies.  The unbounded waiver condition in 18 AAC 50.079(e) has been bounded with a 
time limit of one calendar year, and language requiring the documentation of removal of coal 
devices has been added to 18 AAC 50.079(f) which will provide for emission reductions outside 
of the curtailment program.  
 
Conclusion 
 
The adoption of the referenced state regulations is sufficient to meet the BACM requirements of 
this measure, therefore the measure is technologically feasible and no additional analysis is 
required. 

Measure 50:  Require Low Sulfur Content Coal 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Puget Sound Clean Air Agency, State of Utah 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://pscleanair.gov/DocumentCenter/View/354/Regulation-I?bidId=  
 
Background 
 
Section 13.04 of the Puget Sound CAA regulations restricts the sulfur content of coal burned in a 
solid fuel burning device. It allows only the burning of: 
 

Coal with sulfur content less than 1.0% by weight burned in a coal only heater. 
 
Utah regulates the sulfur and ash content of coal for residential use, with the following 
restrictions:  
 

(1) After July 1, 1987, no person shall sell, distribute, use or make available for use any coal 
or coal containing fuel for direct space heating in residential solid fuel burning devices 
and fireplaces which exceeds the following limitations as measured by the American 
Society for Testing Materials Methods:  

 
(a) 1.0-pound sulfur per million BTU’s, and 
(b) 12% volatile ash content. 
 

(2) Any person selling coal or coal containing fuel used for direct residential space heating 
within the State of Utah shall provide written documentation to the coal consumer of the 
sulfur and volatile ash content of the coal being purchased. 
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Alaska DEC does not regulate the sulfur content of coal burned in solid fuel burning appliances.  
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this control measure is unchanged - the Usibelli Coal Mine is the source 
of all coal marketed and burned in Fairbanks.  Their factsheet73 indicates the sulfur content of 
coal from the Healy mine is typically 0.2% with a range of 0.08% - 0.28%.  The Healy mine 
supplies the coal burned in Fairbanks.   
 
Fairbanks has no restriction on the sulfur content of coal marketed and burned within the PM2.5 
nonattainment area; therefore, the Puget Sound regulation is more restrictive.  The sulfur content 
of Healy coal, however, is well below the 1% threshold mandated by Puget Sound.  Therefore, 
while the Puget Sound regulation is more restrictive, its imposition in Fairbanks will have no 
effect on coal burning and no emissions benefit.  
 
The Healy fact sheet indicates that the heat content of their coal is 7,560 BTU/lb.  Using this 
value, 132.3 lbs. of coals is needed to produce 1 million BTU.  This value combined with the 
0.2% content of coal produces 0.26 lbs. of sulfur, which is well below Utah sulfur threshold 1.0 
lb. per million BTU.  The Healy coal has a 7% average ash content ranging from 4% - 12%, 
which falls below the 12% volatile ash content Utah threshold. 
 
Alaska adopted 18 AAC 50.079 with the Serious Area SIP. 18 AAC 50.079 (f) requires the 
owner of an existing coal-fired heating device to render the device inoperable by the earlier of 
December 31, 2024; or before the device is sold, leased, or conveyed as part of an existing 
building.  The Emergency Episode Plan adopted with the Serious Area SIP does not provide for 
a NOASH provision for residential coal-fired heating devices.  Current regulations will continue 
to force turnover of coal-fired heating devices and replacement with non-coal alternatives.    
 
 
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - the Puget Sound and Utah coal content regulations, if 
adopted by Alaska DEC, would not reduce PM2.5  emissions in Fairbanks as the sole source of 
coal used in the Borough continuously satisfies the Puget Sound and Utah specifications, and 
current regulations require the removal of all residential coal-fired heating devices; therefore, 
this measure is not technologically feasible and not eligible for consideration as a control 
measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 51:  Ultra-low Sulfur Heating Oils Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Northeast States and Alaska 

73 http://www.usibelli.com/coal/data-sheet 
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Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://noraweb.org/wp-
content/uploads/2014/11/NEMARegion_ULSDBioChart2014.pdfhttps://www.epa.gov/di
esel-fuel-standards/diesel-fuel-standards-and-rulemaking 

 
Background 
 
As part of the BACM analysis included in the Fairbanks Serious Plan, Alaska evaluated 
requirements to use ULSD heating oil in homes.  It identified 10 states plus large municipal areas 
that have instituted ULSD home heating requirements and determined the measure to be 
technologically feasible.  The economic analysis showed this change would result in a cost of 
$1,819 per ton of SO2 removed.  While the measure was determined to be both technologically 
and economically feasible, Alaska declined to adopt and implement the measure.  Instead, the 
state elected to mandate a fuel switch from Diesel #2 (approximately 2000 ppm) to Diesel #1 
(1,000 ppm) through the adoption of regulation 18 AAC 50.078(b)74 for residential and 
commercial heating, which became effective on September 1, 2022.  
  
In support of the decision, ADEC provided several community-based considerations if Fairbanks 
Nonattainment Area were to undergo the switch from Diesel #2 to ULSD.  These considerations 
included potential environmental impacts caused by greater transportation requirements required 
to maintain an adequate ULSD supply through the winter in Fairbanks.  ADEC also cited a 
University of Alaska Fairbanks/Alaska cost analysis.75  That analysis estimated an increase in 
annual household heating expenditures of $68.31 (a 3 percent increase) under the selected 
measure of converting from #2 to #1, while the same cost analysis estimated an increase between 
$311.96 and $374.86 (a 13.5 to 16.5 percent increase) in annual household heating expenditures 
if Alaska mandated a switch to ULSD. ADEC also cited concerns from local residents that the 
increased cost of fuel oil could drive more residents to burn less expensive and higher PM 
emitting solid fuels.  Based on the analysis, ADEC noted that the price elasticity of demand is 
highly elastic and that any increase in fuel price will lead to greater demand for wood leading to 
higher emissions.  
Alaska reevaluated the economic feasibility of the switch from #2 to USLD as part of the 
Fairbanks 189(d) Plan submission, although there were not any changes to warrant revisiting its 
decision to reject adoption of ULSD since the Serious Plan submission.   
 
The updates made to the economic analysis were based on the comments received from EPA and 
refiners.  ADEC found the cost of adopting this measure to be $1,810 per ton of SO2 reduced 
(based on fuel prices in 2018 plus a price premium of $0.41 per gallon for ULSD), which is cost-
effective.  ADEC stated that while the increase in cost, however, is slight and EPA has indicated 

74 https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1038/18-aac-50.pdf 
75 Residential Fuel Expenditure Assessment of a Transition to Ultra-Low Sulfur and High Sulfur No. 1 Heating Oil 
for the Fairbanks PM-2.5 Serious Nonattainment Area, February 2019, Prepared by The Alaska Department of 
Environmental Conservation Economist in collaboration with the University of Alaska Fairbanks Master of Science 
Program in Resource and Applied Economics. 
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that higher cost measures must be accepted in the 2020 Amendment relative to the controls 
adopted in the Serious SIP.  For this reason, the shift from No. 2 to ULS is cost-effective and 
should be considered for adoption.  Despite being technologically and economically feasible, 
ADEC continued to reject the adoption of ULSD based on local considerations wherein ULSD 
cannot be produced at a local refinery, and to meet to needs for the use of ULSD in the 
Nonattainment area would result in all of the fuel to be imported from Anchorage by either rail 
or truck, both are which increases cost, difficulties due to inclement weather conditions, and 
environmental risks of transport spills.  Additionally, ADEC evaluated the effectiveness of 
requiring ULSD on modeled attainment.  An alternative to the 2023 Control inventory described 
in the plan was developed in which all distillate fuel for GVEA North Pole as well as all other 
point sources and all residential and commercial space heating was assumed to be ULSD (15 
ppmw sulfur).  That “2023 ULSD” modeling analysis determined that attainment could still not 
be further advanced sooner than 2024 assuming a full transition to ULSD through the point and 
space heating sectors in 2023.  The modeled design value for the 2023 run was 37.0 μg/m3.  The 
modeled design value for the 2023 USLD scenario was 36.9 μg/m3, reflecting only a 0.1 μg/m3 
reduction from a transition to ULSD.  

 
In their comments on the 2020 Amendment,76 EPA rejected ADEC’s dismissal of requiring 
ULSD for residential and commercial heating oil, because it believed ADEC did not establish 
that the measure is either technologically or economically infeasible.  Alaska responded in 
March 2023 with comments that provided facts to demonstrate technological infeasibility and 
updated its cost-effectiveness analysis based on eight factors to demonstrate economic 
infeasibility.  
 
The comment noted that since submitting Serious SIP and 2020 Amendment, the greater 
Fairbanks community has experienced several changes salient to the feasibility and cost-
effectiveness of ULSD.  Fuel prices have increased, the community converted from #2 to #1 
heating fuel, and ADEC learned more about people’s actual home heating behaviors through a 
survey. Each of these key changes in the community (or additional information gained) is 
summarized below. 
 
• Market Prices of Heating Oil Have Risen Significantly – In the original ULSD BACM 

analysis for the Serious SIP and 2020 Amendments, the retail price of heating oil in 2021 
(the calendar year of the analysis) was assumed to be $2.86/gallon (projected from an actual 
2019 price of $2.90/gallon).  As of the end of 2022, heating oil prices had risen to 
$4.75/gallon and peaked over $5/gallon in summer 2022.  This was not a one-time event. As 
explained later in the Methodology section, Fairbanks has a long history of large heating oil 
price swings.  The implications of these significant oil price increases on the cost-
effectiveness of USLD were examined in this response.  

 
• ADEC Performed a Local Survey of Oil Device Maintenance Practices – The original ULSD 

cost-effectiveness analysis relied on oil device maintenance and cleaning information 
compiled from communities in the Northeastern U.S. from a 2015 Brookhaven National 

76 88 Fed. Reg. at 1481; Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
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Laboratory study conducted in that region.  To determine if maintenance intervals and costs 
in that study were representative of Fairbanks, ADEC conducted a survey in October 2022 of 
companies within the PM2.5 nonattainment area that provide residential and commercial oil 
heater maintenance services.  In short, it was found that the oil device maintenance interval 
in Fairbanks was close to that in the Northeast (at just over one year on average), but the cost 
per maintenance was nearly five times higher ($492 vs. $100).  The impacts of this new local 
survey data were incorporated into the revised cost-effectiveness analysis. 

 
• Fairbanks Has Shifted to #1 Heating Oil – Finally, since the community shifted to use of 

lower sulfur #1 heating oil in September 2022 due to adoption and implementation of 18 
AAC 50.078(b), ULSD cost-effectiveness was also examined with #1 heating oil as the (now 
current) baseline heating fuel. 

 
These and other revisions were incorporated with eight distinct revisions, to the cost-
effectiveness analysis that ADEC submitted for ULSD with the 2020 Amendments to the Serious 
SIP.  
 
A cross-price elasticity analysis for the Fairbanks Nonattainment Area found that mandating a 
switch to ULSD heating oil would increase direct PM2.5 emissions in the Nonattainment Area.  
When oil prices rise, residents switch to wood heating because it is less expensive.  This 
documented economic relationship would render this measure ineffective for attempting to 
improve air quality in Fairbanks.  
 
Testimony at the EPA hearing in Fairbanks on March 7, 2023, bore out this truth, with multiple 
residents testifying that they desperately want cleaner air to breathe but would switch to wood 
heating if oil prices rose because they simply could not afford the cost during bitter winters.  
People do not want to die from polluted air, and they also do not want to die of cold.  Unlike less 
extreme and isolated environments, in Fairbanks there is little cheap fuel available other than 
wood heating, heating costs are must higher than in less extreme climates, and heating oil prices 
are volatile.  The cost of utilities in Fairbanks is already 110% higher than the national average77 
but ULSD would raise prices even higher.  ADEC’s curtailment program and the Fairbanks 
North Star Borough’s woodstove change out program could not effectively mitigate the harmful 
air quality effects of this policy, particularly when woodstoves installed prior to the effective 
dates of ADEC’s device restrictions78 likely emit more than they are certified or modelled to 
emit.79 
 
Analysis 
 

77 PayScale, Cost of Living in Fairbanks, Alaska, available at https://www.payscale.com/cost-of-living-
calculator/Alaska-Fairbanks.  
78 See ADEC, Solid Fuel-Fired Heating Device Standards & Requirements, available at 
https://dec.alaska.gov/air/burnwise/standards/.  
79 Gilbride, et al., The EPA’s Residential Wood Heater Program Does Not Provide Reasonable Assurance that 
Heaters Are Properly Tested and Certified Before Reaching Consumers Report No. 23-E-0012, (Feb. 28, 2023), 
available at https://www.epa.gov/office-inspector-general/report-epas-residential-wood-heater-program-does-not-
provide-reasonable. 
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An abbreviated listing of the key facts included in Alaska’s comments on EPA’s proposed 
disapproval of the ADEC’s ULSD control measure analysis80 is presented below.  Those 
comments are followed by the EPA’s Response to public comments received on that proposal 
and decisions included in the final rule.81  
 
Technological Feasibility – ADEC and Other Comments 
 
1. ULSD could not be produced locally because of the impossible economy of scale - The 

greater Fairbanks area has one refinery, which is located in North Pole and owned by Petro 
Star (“North Pole refinery”).  For heating oil, it switched from making #2 to #1 fuel oil in 
September 2022, in response to the requirement and timeline in 18 AAC 50.078(b).  The 
North Pole refinery has none of the infrastructure necessary to make ULSD.82  To make 
ULSD, the refinery would need to build a new ULSD plant and connect it to the existing 
plant.83  For the Fairbanks market, the size of that ULSD plant would be so small as to create 
a negative economy of scale.84  Realistically, ULSD cannot be produced locally.  

 
2. Fuel transportation networks to Fairbanks could not logistically support a switch to ULSD 

heating oil - In Alaska, ULSD is produced at two refineries: Petro Star produces it in Valdez, 
and Marathon produces it in Nikiski.85  To get ULSD to Fairbanks it would first be 
transported to Anchorage, via barge for Petro Star and pipeline for Marathon, and then from 
Anchorage the fuel is transported by rail.86  For Petro Star, the backup logistics would be to 
truck ULSD from Valdez to Fairbanks.87  If ULSD was mandated for heating oil in the 
Fairbanks Nonattainment Area, Petro Star estimates that it would have to add 30-40 million 
gallons per winter of logistical capacity to transport heating oil to Fairbanks.88 

 
The existing logistical network for trucking and rail transport is operating at near capacity.  
Other fuel products for non-heating uses must also be shipped to Fairbanks, like gasoline and 
jet fuel.  The Alaska Railroad, which runs 470 miles from Seward to Fairbanks (through 
Anchorage), is the primary and most economical mode of transportation for fuel going to 
Fairbanks.89  It likely cannot scale up its operations within the timescale required by the 

80 Response to Comments Regarding Best Available Control Measure Requirements for Residential and Commercial 
Fuel Oil Combustion on the Partial Approval and Partial Disapproval; AK, Fairbanks North Star Borough; 2006 24-
hour PM2.5 Serious Area and189(d) Plan. Docket No.: EPA-R10-OAR-2022-0115, November 2, 2023 
81 Air Plan Partial Approval and Partial Disapproval; AK, Fairbanks North Star Borough; 2006 24-hour PM2.5 
Serious Area and189(d) Plan. 
82 Personal communication with Ryan Muspratt, VP, Petro Star by Jennifer Seely, Alaska Department of Law on 
behalf of ADEC (March 16, 2023).  
83 Id. 
84 Id. 
85 Id.  
86 Id.; see also McDowell Group, Statewide and Port of Alaska Long Range Fuel Forecast (November 20, 2020), 
available at https://www.portofalaska.com/wp-content/uploads/Alaska-PoA_Fuel_Forecast_Nov2020.pdf.  
87 Id.; see also FMATS Freight Mobility Plan (January 2019), available at https://fastplanning.us/wp-
content/uploads/2019/07/freight-mobility-plan-for-approval.pdf.  
88 Personal communication with Ryan Muspratt, VP, Petro Star by Jennifer Seely, Alaska Department of Law on 
behalf of ADEC (March 16, 2023). 
89 Id.; see also FMATS Freight Mobility Plan (January 2019). 
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federal rule.90  Trucking, which comes at an increased cost from rail transport, is also at 
capacity in Alaska.91  New truckers are not meeting the demand created by retiring truckers, 
and incomes from trucking in the continental United States have increased, reducing the 
incentive for truckers to weather the dark and icy conditions in Alaskan winters.92 

 
In Alaska, the fuel demand for heating, electricity, and transportation all peak in the winter.93  
It is cold and dark, and residents need more light and heat for more hours every day. Existing 
transportation capacity is insufficient to absorb the additional peaks in winter demand that 
would be caused by mandating ULSD.94 

 
3. The greater Fairbanks area has materially different fuel transportation conditions than rural 

Alaska, which uses a different ultra-low sulfur fuel - Unlike Fairbanks, rural Alaskan 
communities that are not on the road or rail system use an ultra-low sulfur fuel.95  This fuel is 
not the same as ULSD.96  Rather, it is a hybrid product that can also be used for jet fuel 
(“ULS/jet”), and is produced by an Asia refinery with a different method from that used to 
produce ULSD.97  Rural Alaskan communities need this multi-use fuel because of their 
limited fuel storage capacity.  With ULS/jet, rural communities can use one storage tank and 
one fuel for both transportation and heat.  

 
The circumstances and reasoning for this type of ULS/jet product are different from the 
circumstances surrounding the heating oil needs in the Fairbanks North Star Borough.  It has 
a much higher population98 than rural Alaska communities and requires separate storage 
tanks for ULSD and other higher sulfur distillate oil.  The logistics and costs associated with 
ULS/jet, and its transport from Asia through Bristol Bay to rural Alaska, are distinct from the 
logistics and costs that would be associated with transporting ULSD from different refineries, 
through different transportation methods, to the Fairbanks North Star Borough that needs 
more than one tank to survive the winter.  

 
For the foregoing reasons, ADEC determined that ULSD is not technologically feasible as 
BACM for the Fairbanks Nonattainment Area.  It could not be produced locally, and the 
logistical transportation networks that would have to supply it to the greater Fairbanks area do 
not have that capacity.  
 
Other commenters noted that ULSD has a lower energy value than higher sulfur fuel oil and that 
it is corrosive.  Petro Star and other commenters expressed concerns that Alaska’s warning that 

90 40 C.F.R. § 51.1010. 
91 Personal communication with Ryan Muspratt, VP, Petro Star by Jennifer Seely, Alaska Department of Law on 
behalf of ADEC (March 16, 2023). 
92 Id.  
93 Id.  
94 Id.  
95 40 C.F.R. Part 80; 71 Fed. Reg. at 32450.  
96 Personal communication with Ryan Muspratt, VP, Petro Star by Jennifer Seely, Alaska Department of Law on 
behalf of ADEC (March 16, 2023). 
97 Id. 
98 Approximately 95,593, as of 2021. U.S. Census Bureau, QuickFacts: Fairbanks city, Alaska; Fairbanks North Star 
Borough, Alaska, available at 
https://www.census.gov/quickfacts/fact/table/fairbankscityalaska,fairbanksnorthstarboroughalaska/PST045221.  
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conversion to ULSD and consequent price increases could drive residents to burn more solid 
fuel.  
 
Economic Feasibility – ADEC Comments 
Revisions to the CE analysis from the 2020 Amendments submittal are summarized as follows: 
1. Correction of Episodic to Annual Energy Use – Factors used to adjust episodic to annual 

heating energy use were improperly applied in the 2020 Amendments analysis. 
 
2. Correction of Adjusted Energy Use Error – A formula used to account for differences in 

wood vs. oil heating devices in calculating “With ULSD” energy use relative to a “Without 
ULSD” baseline was corrected. 

 
3. Consideration of Combined SO2 and PM2.5 Cost Effectiveness – Although the ULSD CE 

analysis for the 2020 Amendments looked at emission changes and costs for both SO2 and 
directly emitted PM2.5, only the SO2 cost effectiveness was discussed in the BACM analysis.  
Consideration of the emissions changes for both pollutants is important because of the cross-
price elasticity relationships between oil prices and wood use contained in the SIP 
inventories based on locally collected survey data.  When heating oil prices rise, Fairbanks 
residents shift to lower cost fuels (i.e., wood) to conserve heating expenses.  The shift to 
wood produces higher PM2.5 emissions, which must be accounted for in a CE analysis. Based 
on CE analysis methods supporting control strategy development in other nonattainment 
areas, the revised CE analysis includes calculations of emission reductions for both pollutants 
and a combined CE that accounts for the relative impact of emissions of both pollutants on 
ambient PM2.5 formation in Fairbanks. 

 
4. Correction of Fuel Use Impacts from Reduced Boiler Fouling – Based on a 2015 report99 

prepared by Brookhaven National Laboratory (“BNL”) the 2020 Amendments analysis 
estimated that fuel use with #2 oil (2,000 ppm sulfur) would be 12% higher that with ULSD 
(15 ppm sulfur) due to fouling of heating elements caused by higher sulfur fuel. A more 
careful read of the report and contact with its lead author found that this 12% value was for a 
single household in a sample of 100 instrumented households that represented the largest 
effect of fuel use impacts of high sulfur fouling.  The average fouling-related fuel use 
increase across all instrumented households was 1.5%. 

 
5. Incorporation of Local Oil Appliance Survey Data – In conjunction with the more thorough 

review and use of information from the 2015 BNL report, ADEC conducted a survey of 
Fairbanks heating oil appliance companies to quantify local oil boiler/furnace maintenance 
intervals and costs and compare them to those for the northeastern U.S. reflected in the BNL 
report. 

 
6. Impacts of Changes in Heating Oil Market Prices – When the ULSD CE analysis was 

performed for the 2020 Amendments (circa 2019/2020), Fairbanks heating oil prices were 
below $3/gallon. In 2022 they rose to over $5/gallon.  Thus, the revised CE analysis was 

99 J. Batey (Energy Research Center) and R. McDonald (Brookhaven National Laboratory), “Ultra Low Sulfur 
Home Heating Oil Demonstration Project Summary Report”, prepared for New York State Energy Research and 
Development Authority, Report No. BNL-108353-2015-IR (2015). 
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expanded to look at impacts on ULSD cost effectiveness when market prices of baseline 
heating oil vary between a range of roughly $3 to $5/gallon that reflects historical volatility 
in heating oil prices in Fairbanks over the last 15 years. 

 
7. Impacts of Relative vs. Additive ULSD Price Increases – Under the CE analysis for the 2020 

Amendments, ULSD price increases (relative to baseline #2 fuel oil) were applied as additive 
increments.  Historical price data suggest the ULSD price premium may not be fixed and 
may similarly vary as the baseline #2 fuel oil market price changes.  This revision evaluates 
application of the ULSD price difference on a relative rather than additive basis. 

 
8. Impacts of Changes in Baseline Heating Oil Sulfur Content – In conjunction with the 2020 

Amendments to the Serious SIP, the State of Alaska adopted and implemented regulation 18 
AAC 50.078(b) requiring refiners to produce and sell only #1 fuel oil (1,000 ppm sulfur or 
less) beginning on September 1, 2022.  The revised analysis looks at the cost-effectiveness of 
ULSD relative to baseline fuels of both #2 and #1 fuel oil given non-linearities in emission 
reductions and costs relative to the baseline fuel. 

 
The additive price impact scenarios included in this revised analysis likely represent smaller 
price increments than exist under high oil market price conditions.  Using these more 
conservative (i.e., understated) additive price premiums, the combined ULSD cost-effectiveness 
was calculated to range from $58,252/ton under low baseline oil market prices to $73,816/ton 
under high baseline oil market price conditions that currently exist in early 2023, under revisions 
5 and 6.  Details of ADEC’s analysis methodology and calculations are included in the 
documents and spreadsheets included in the ULSD Appendix. 
 
Technological Feasibility – EPA Final Rule and Comments 
EPA did not find the updated technical information sufficient to overturn the States’s “initial 
technological evaluation” included in the initial BACM analysis supporting the Serious Area 
Plan.  EPA noted that ULSD is currently used in the Fairbanks Nonattainment Area and found “it 
self-evident that it is technologically and logistically feasible for some amount of the fuel” to be 
currently available.  
 
EPA received several comments that questioned the technological feasibility of mandating 
ULSD use for the residential and commercial fuel oil combustion source category.  These 
commenters argued that supplying sufficient ULSD to interior Alaska was not logistically 
feasible considering constrained rail and highway capacity.  In response to comments received 
from Petro Star100 and Alaska on supply issues EPA encouraged the State and local utilities to 
consider options to minimize wintertime logistical and supply concerns, such as “building more 
local storage tanks or evaluating all transportation options and schedules.”  
 
EPA noted receiving references to economic challenges to refining ULSD locally but did not 
receive any economic data to support the assertion.  In response to other comments on ULSD, 
EPA noted they had not received any reliable information indicating that ULSD is corrosive.  
Instead, EPA noted that available information indicates that ULSD is a cleaner fuel that requires 

100 Both Petro Star and Marathon provided comments on logistical considerations in supplying fuels to the Fairbanks 
market.  Their comments are included in the EPA comment docket referenced above. 
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less maintenance compared to higher sulfur fuel.  Thus, ULSD would require less energy to 
maintain heating devices that use ULSD.  In summary, supplying ULSD to the Fairbanks 
Nonattainment area is technologically feasible. 
 
Economic Feasibility – EPA Final Rule and Comments 
EPA agreed with some of Alaska’s methodological revisions and disagreed with others.  As a 
result, EPA produced a separate cost-effectiveness analysis that built off Alaska’s comment but 
only incorporated those methods and variables EPA determined to be reasonable and well 
supported.  Those calculations are included in the docket for the above-referenced Final Action.  
 
Portions of Alaska’s updated analysis that the EPA determined to be reasonable included: 

• Corrections to annual energy use provide a more accurate cost estimate of ULSD; 
• Price premium revisions taking into account the updated cost estimate for device 

maintenance expenses for both baseline fuel and ULSD; 
• Fuel oil fouling revisions from switching to ULSD significantly lowered the impact on 

fuel consumption from 10-12 percent to 1.5 percent; 
• The upper-bound fuel cost of $5.10 per gallon; 
• The annual cost for device maintenance for both the baseline fuel and ULSD based on a 

Fairbanks oil heating appliance survey; and 
• Boiler cleaning intervals for baseline fuel and ULSD based on the same survey. 

 
Portions of Alaska’s analysis that EPA disagreed with included: 

• Weighting factors used to combine cost effectiveness estimates for SO2 and PM2.5 
reductions were based on speciation values from monitoring data reflecting emissions 
from points sources, not air quality modeling mentioned in the 2007 EPA guidance on 
heavy-duty diesel sources; 

• Elasticity values that presume the increased price of fuel oil resulting from the switch to 
ULSD will increase PM2,5 emissions because there will be an instantaneous substitution 
of wood for fuel oil (the elasticity values used reflect long term behavior not the short 
term behavior addressed in the analysis); and 

• ULSD should be calculated relative to the price of other fuel oil; a review of historic 
market prices did not support the finding.  

 
EPA’s economic feasibility comments focused on the cost-effectiveness of SO2, a precursor for 
PM2.5 concentrations. EPA’s estimates ranged from $13,046/ton to $22,893/ton of SO2 reduced.  
Overall, EPA found Alaska’s revised economic infeasibility analysis convincing. 
 
With regard to Petro Star assertions that conversions from solid fuel devices to liquid fuel 
devices are insignificant, EPA noted that since 2016 Fairbanks had changed out 958 solid-fuel 
burning devices to oil-fired or natural gas-fired heating devices.  These conversions will reduce 
directly emitted PM2.5 but increase SO2 emissions, hence justified EPA’s interest in reducing SO2 
and related cost-effectiveness estimates of controls.  
 
In summary, supplying ULSD to the Fairbanks Nonattainment area is economically infeasible. 

 
Conclusion 
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The revised technological analysis of implementing ULSD in the Fairbanks Nonattainment area 
prepared by Alaska as being infeasible was rejected by EPA.  The revised economic analysis 
prepared by Alaska was found by EPA to be acceptable.  Adjustments to Alaska’s economic 
analysis prepared by EPA produced lower $/ton values that still demonstrated the measure to be 
economically infeasible for implementation in the Nonattainment Area.  

Measure 52:  Operation and Sale of Small “Pot Burners” Prohibited 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• State of Vermont 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/aqc/laws-
regs/documents/AQCD_Regulations_2016_Dec.pdf 

 
Background 
 
Section 5-221 Prohibition of Potentially Polluting Materials in Fuel, subsection 2. Used Oil, 
contains the following restriction:   
 

Effective July 1, 1997, the burning of used oil in small fuel burning equipment described 
as “pot burners” or “vaporizing” burners shall be prohibited, as shall the retail sale of 
these burners. 

 
Neither the Borough nor the State have any regulations restricting the sale of small waste or used 
oil burners.  ADEC regulations restrict the operation of waste oil appliances during Stage 1 and 
Stage 2 Alerts.  The State has no additional controls addressing the sale or operation of waste oil 
appliances. 
 
Analysis 
 
Vermont regulations prohibit both the operation and sale of small waste oil burning devices.  
Neither Alaska nor the Borough prohibit the sale of small waste oil burning devices.  ADEC has 
regulations that restrict the operation of waste oil devices during Air Quality Alerts.  The 
analysis section of Measure 70 discusses the available waste disposal methods for used oil and 
identifies a potential environmental impact regarding any prohibition or regulation of used oil 
combustion.  
 
Conclusion 
 
Alaska has no regulations governing the sale or operation of waste oil appliances or the use of 
waste oil used as a heating fuel; therefore, the Vermont measures addressing waste oil are 
eligible for consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan control measure.  The analysis in Measure 
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70 identified a potential environmental impact and measures prohibiting or regulating the 
burning of used oil were determined to be technically infeasible due to environmental impacts. 
However, an economic analysis was also conducted and the results of a cost effectiveness 
analysis of this measure, presented in Step 4, show this measure is economically infeasible.  

Measure 53:  No Use Sale or Exchange of Used Oil for Fuel, unless it Meets 
Constituent Property Limits 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• State of Vermont 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/aqc/laws-
regs/documents/AQCD_Regulations_2016_Dec.pdf 

 
Background 
 
Section 5-221 Prohibition of Potentially Polluting Materials in Fuel, subsection 2. Used Oil, 
contains the following restriction: 
 

No person shall cause or permit the use, purchase, sale or exchange in trade for use as a fuel 
in fuel burning equipment in Vermont of any used oil unless:  
 
(i) The used oil has constituents and properties within the allowable limits set forth in Table 
A of this section prior to blending except as provided in subsection (e) below. The Air 
Pollution Control Officer may prohibit the combustion of used oils containing constituents or 
properties not listed in Table 9of this section if he/she determines that combustion of such 
used oil may present an unreasonable risk to public health or welfare. 

 
Table 9.  Used Oil Constituents and Properties (Prior to Blending) 

Constituent/Property Allowable1 
Arsenic  5 ppm maximum  
Cadmium  2 ppm maximum  
Chromium  10 ppm maximum  
Lead  100 ppm maximum  
Flash Point  Must be 100 degrees F or more  
Total Halogens  1000 ppm maximum  
Polychlorinated Biphenyls (PCBs)  < 2 ppm maximum  
Net Heat of Combustion  8000 BTU/lb minimum  
1Note: units of parts per million (ppm) are by weight on a water free basis. 
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Neither the State nor the Borough have regulations addressing the purchase, sale or exchange of 
used oil.  They also do not have regulations setting limits on waste or used oil properties.  
 
Analysis 
 
Vermont regulations restrict the allowable content and transfer of waste oil used as heating fuel.  
There are no such restrictions governing waste or used oil as a heating fuel in Fairbanks.  The 
analysis section of Measure 70 discusses the available waste disposal methods for used oil and 
identifies a potential environmental impact regarding any prohibition or regulation of used oil 
combustion. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Alaska has no regulations governing the content, use or transfer of waste oil used as a heating 
fuel; therefore, the Vermont measures addressing waste oil are eligible for consideration as a 
control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP.  The analysis in Measure 70 
identified a potential environmental impact and measures prohibiting or regulating the burning of 
used oil were determined to be technically infeasible due to environmental impacts.  However, 
an economic analysis was also conducted and the results of a cost effectiveness analysis of this 
measure, presented in Step 4 show this measure is economically infeasible.  

Measure 54:  Adopt CARB Vehicle Emission Standards 

 
Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• California Air Resources Board(CARB) 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://ww2.arb.ca.gov/our-work/programs/advanced-clean-cars-program/lev-
program/low-emission-vehicle-lev-iii-program 

 
 
Background 
 
Under Section 177 of the federal Clean Air Act, states that choose to adopt vehicle standards that 
are more stringent than the federal standards for new vehicles can only adopt California’s vehicle 
emission standards.  To date 14 states have opted-in to California’s vehicle emissions 
standards.  The most current version of California’s Low Emission Vehicle (LEV) III regulations 
limit greenhouse gases and traditional tailpipe pollutants (HC, CO, NOx and PM).  These 
regulations were modified by California in 2015 to align the California and federal Tier 3 motor 
vehicle emission standards.  The federal Tier 3 rules were finalized in 2014 by the U.S. EPA and 
reduced tailpipe and evaporative emissions from passenger cars, light-duty trucks, medium-duty 
passenger vehicles and allowable emissions from heavy-duty vehicles.  The California LEV III 
and federal Tier 3 regulations are consistent from model year 2017 through 2024 for particulate 
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emissions.  Starting in 2025, however, the stringency of the LEV III standards will be increased 
from 3 mg/mi to 1 mg/mi, while the federal Tier 3 standards will remain at 3 mg/mi.  Thus, an 
extremely small reduction in motor vehicle particulate emissions (i.e., 2 mg/mi) will become 
available in late 2025 and succeeding years. 
 
Analysis 
 
To put 2 mg/mi reduction into perspective, 1 million miles of travel by vehicles meeting the 
more stringent 2025 – 2028 LEV III particulate emission standards would produce a reduction of 
4.4 lbs.  Several factors must be considered when assessing the benefit of adopting the LEV III 
standards, including:  
 

a. An analysis of the most recent DMV registrations (April 2018) showed the statewide 
population of vehicles was 644,312 and a total of 97,600 were registered in 
Fairbanks.  Assuming vehicle ownership is proportional to population, the number of 
vehicles registered in the nonattainment area is 82,980.  Since Alaska would be required 
to adopt the CARB vehicle standards on a statewide basis, it means 87% of the light duty 
passenger cars and light-duty trucks sold each year starting in 2025 would be required to 
meet the more stringent standards without a supporting mandate. 

  
• Assuming wintertime driving travel is roughly 50 miles per vehicle per day (more than 

twice the value employed in the Fairbanks travel demand model forecasts), it would take 
20,000 vehicles to produce 4.4 lb/day reduction in PM emissions.  Assuming the 2 mg/mi 
reduction applied to the entire vehicle fleet, which it does not because the California and 
federal emission standards for medium/heavy duty vehicles are equivalent through this 
period, the total reduction potential within the Fairbanks PM nonattainment area would 
be on the order of 18 lbs per day (in reality less).   

 
The magnitude of the emission reduction potential must be considered in light of the 
disproportionate impact on the rest of the Alaska vehicle fleet. Recently, the federal government 
has proposed to rollback the California vehicle emission standards for Model Years 2021 – 2026, 
so the availability of the basis for this measure is in question. In addition, a review of the 
literature about the costs of implementing the California vehicle emission standards shows there 
is considerable controversy.  Assuming that the net cost between increased new vehicle price 
versus improved fuel economy and lowered fuel consumption is zero, Oregon, which adopted the 
California vehicle emission standards estimated that the administrative cost of complying with 
the California vehicle emission standards is $5.43/vehicle.101  Using that price and the 2 mg/mile 
PM benefit over the 100,000 mile certified life of the emission control system would produce a 
cost effectiveness estimate of $25,000/ton of PM removed.  Since Oregon’s population is 5.5 
times larger than Alaska’s (based on a comparison of 2018 populations), it means that 
administrative cost estimate would be distributed over a significantly smaller fleet of new vehicle 
sales in Alaska and the administrative of cost of adopting California vehicle emission standards 
would be significantly higher than the $25,000/ton estimate.  Given this information, the 
statewide adoption of the CARB LEV III emission standards is not cost effective and is not 
warranted for the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area.  

101 https://www.oregon.gov/deq/Rulemaking%20Docs/levzev2018fis.pdf 
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Conclusion 
 
The minimal Fairbanks emissions benefit from a statewide adoption of CARB LEV III emission 
standards is not cost effective and therefore not eligible for consideration as a measure for the 
2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 55:  School Bus Retrofits 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Oregon Department of Environmental Quality, Lane Regional Air Protection Agency 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2017-11-14/html/2017-24539.htm 
• http://www.lrapa.org/DocumentCenter/View/2108 

 
Background 
 
The RACM analysis in the Oakridge, Oregon Moderate PM2.5 attainment plan lists Diesel 
retrofits of school buses as a primary control measure.  No specific emissions credit, however is 
listed for this measure.  The 2016 update to the SIP, which EPA proposed for approval, lists 
implementing diesel retrofits of school buses as a local transportation control measure.  It also 
states: 
 

No specific credit was taken for these mobile source programs in the 2015 attainment 
year emission inventory other than the normal reductions over time included in the 
MOVES2014a modeling. 

 
Neither Fairbanks nor the state has a regulation mandating the replacement of Diesel powered 
school buses.  The Fairbanks RACM analysis evaluated retrofit of diesel fleet (school buses, 
transit) as a transportation control measure.  The measure was determined to be technologically 
infeasible as were all measures listed in the category of transportation controls.  
 
Analysis 
 
EPA offers funds for the replacement of Diesel school buses through its Clean Diesel Program.  
The Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA) provides grants for projects that reduce emissions 
from existing diesel engines.  DERA has funded numerous diesel replacement projects in Alaska. 
DERA funds are currently being used to replace five diesel generators in four rural communities 
in Alaska.  Other programs have funded diesel garbage truck, power generation and school bus 
replacement projects.  The most recent diesel replacement program conducted in Fairbanks is a 
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joint DEC/DOT&PF project102 that replaced three heavy duty construction trucks, placed in 
service by the State of Alaska in 1986.  That project was completed in 2010. 
 
Oregon has funded several school bus replacement programs and included them in the Oakridge 
RACM analysis for the Moderate SIP, which EPA has proposed to approve.  That plan, however, 
takes no specific emissions credit for the program and states that its benefits are included in fleet 
turn over benefits tracked by EPA’s motor vehicle emissions simulator model (MOVES)2014b.  
 
The Fairbanks North Star School District confirmed103 that the school bus contractor will change 
in August 2021 and that the entire fleet of Diesel school buses will be replaced with gasoline 
powered school buses by the end of that month.  The primary reason for the change is that 
gasoline engines warm up more rapidly than Diesel engines and they in turn provide more rapid 
and efficient heating for passengers; another benefit is that operating costs will decline because 
of the difference between gasoline and Diesel fuel prices.  A side benefit of this change is that 
PM emission from gasoline vehicles is significantly lower than for Diesel vehicles, therefore 
school bus retrofits contemplated under this measure would increase not decrease PM emissions. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Since the conversion from gasoline to Diesel powered school buses contemplated by this 
measure would increase PM emissions, this measure is technologically infeasible and not eligible 
for consideration as a measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP.  

Measure 56:  Road Paving 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Klamath Falls, Oregon 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.oregon.gov/deq/FilterDocs/KFallsAttPlan2012.pdf 
 
Background 
 
The 2012 PM2.5 attainment plan for Klamath Falls includes a road paving control measure.  The 
analysis lists road paving as an existing control measure and states: 
 

PM2.5 emissions generated by motor vehicle traffic have been reduced over the years 
through efforts to pave roads, minimize the use of sanding material, and to control mud 
and dirt track out from industrial, construction and agricultural operations.  Six miles of 

102 http://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/projects-reports/akdot 
103 Telephone conversation between Dwane Taylor of the Fairbanks North Star Borough School District and Robert 
Dulla, Trinity Consultants, on behalf of ADEC, August 18, 2020 
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unpaved road have been paved in the nonattainment area since 2008, resulting in 
reductions from re-suspended road dust. 

 
The PM2.5 emission reduction benefit of road paving is listed as “minimal”. 
 
Alaska does not have an emissions control measure addressing road paving in urban areas.  An 
analysis104 prepared in 2006 identified road paving as a fugitive dust control measure for 
implementation in rural communities in Alaska.  Fairbanks has no control measures addressing 
road paving.  Unlike many communities in the lower-48, roads in the Fairbanks nonattainment 
area remain frozen during winter months.  The emissions inventory discussion in Step 1 noted 
that fugitive dust sources of PM2.5 are estimated to be negligible under the snow/ice bound 
conditions reflected in the winter seasonal inventory. 
 
Analysis 
 
The Klamath Falls SIP claims “minimal” PM2.5 emission benefit for a fugitive dust control 
measure.  Since fugitive dust emissions in Fairbanks are negligible during the winter, the 
application of fugitive dust controls with “minimal” benefits in a more moderate climate will 
produce no benefits. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Fugitive dust control measures will provide no wintertime PM2.5 benefit in Fairbanks, therefore it 
is technologically infeasible and not eligible for consideration as a measure for the 2020 
Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure 57:  Other Transportation Control Measures 

As noted in the Step 2 discussion, Measures 57 & 59 are addressed in the Measure R20 
Transportation Control Measure feasibility analysis. 

Measure 58:  Controls on Road Sanding and Salting 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Utah Department of Environmental Quality 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://documents.deq.utah.gov/air-quality/pm25-serious-sip/DAQ-2017-011685.pdf 
• https://documents.deq.utah.gov/air-quality/pm25-serious-sip/DAQ-2017-011686.pdf 
• https://documents.deq.utah.gov/air-quality/pm25-serious-sip/DAQ-2017-011687.pdf 

 
Background 

104 https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/Dust/Dust_docs/DustControl_Report_032006.pdf 
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Draft BACM analyses for the Logan, Provo, and Salt Lake Areas in Utah’s Serious PM2.5 SIP 
has identified Road Salting & Sanding as a control measure.  The analysis prepared for each 
community included the following finding: 
 

R307-307 Road Salting & Sanding: The purpose of this rule is to establish emission 
control for wintertime road salting. This is an existing rule that was part of the PM10 SIP 
(Section IX, Part A, Page 57) that was approved by EPA on December 6, 1999 (64 FR 
68031). A RACT analysis was conducted as part of that SIP. The rule was amended by 
expanding the applicability to include PM2.5 nonattainment areas as part of the moderate 
PM2.5 SIP. The actual PM emission reduction is unknown however, past UDAQ studies 
have indicated that road salt plays a minimal role related to this SIP. Consequently, no 
further analysis is warranted. 

 
Fairbanks and Alaska do not have an emissions control measure addressing either road sanding 
or road salting.  Unlike many communities in the lower-48, roads in the Fairbanks nonattainment 
area remain frozen during winter months.  The emissions inventory discussion in Step 1 noted 
that fugitive dust sources of PM2.5 are estimated to be negligible under the snow/ice bound 
conditions reflected in the winter seasonal inventory. 
 
Analysis 
 
Utah is planning to expand the applicability of the Road Sanding & Salting control measure, a 
PM10 fugitive dust control measure, to the Logan, Provo and Salt Lake PM2.5 nonattainment 
areas. The analysis states that the PM2.5 benefit of the measure is “unknown” and no credit is 
taken for the measure.  
 
Since fugitive dust emissions in Fairbanks are negligible during the winter, the application of 
fugitive dust controls with “unknown” benefits in Utah’s more moderate climate will produce no 
benefits in Fairbanks.  
 
Conclusion 
 
Fugitive dust control measures will provide no wintertime PM2.5 benefit in Fairbanks, therefore 
this measure is technologically infeasible and not eligible for consideration as a measure for the 
2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP.  

Measure 59:  I/M Programs 

As noted in the Step 2 discussion, Measures 57 & 59 are addressed in the Measure R20 
Transportation Control Measure feasibility analysis. 
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Measure 60:  Vehicle Idling Restrictions 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Many – EPA published a report summarizing state and local idle control programs in 
2006.105   

 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• None 
 
Background 
 
 
In the 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP, ADEC reviewed EPA’s compilation of anti-idling 
regulations from 31 different states.  A review of the regulations listed in the report found the 
programs were focused on controlling heavy-duty vehicle activity for a variety of reasons, 
including noise, fuel consumption and emissions.  Controls addressing light-duty vehicle activity 
were conspicuously absent.  A literature review and related searches could find no SIPs taking 
particulate emissions credit for anti-idling programs.  ADEC also noted that emission control 
system performance deteriorates at colder temperatures when engines are turned off and catalysts 
cool down.106  A study by Sierra Research107 found there was little or no CO benefit from 
turning off a warmed-up vehicle if it was going to be started again within an hour.  An analysis 
of a series of related studies conducted by Sierra Research108 found that catalytic control of PM 
emissions parallels the control of CO emissions, and therefore the impact of idle control on CO 
emissions has a similar impact on PM emissions.  This led to the conclusion that idle restrictions 
during winter conditions in Fairbanks would produce no particulate emissions benefit.  Based on 
these findings, and the fact that no SIPs have taken credit for particulate emissions reduction 
from anti-idling programs, the measure was determined to be technologically infeasible and 
dismissed as a control measure for the 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP.  
 
In their comments on the 2020 Amendments in the Proposed Partial Approval and Partial 
Disapproval, EPA stated that ADEC’s conclusion lacked sufficient feasibility assessment.109 
EPA explained that ADEC could not rely on its determination that measures would not provide 
sufficient emission reduction benefits because that appeared to apply a de minimis source 
category concept that is inapplicable to the PM2.5 NAAQS implementation. According to EPA, 
ADEC did not explain how measures could not be implemented due to local conditions, lack of 
infrastructure or cost-effectiveness.110  

105 EPA, EPA420-B-06-004, Compilation of State, County and Local Anti-Idling Regulations (April 2006). 
106 ADEC Air Quality Control Plan, Vol. III: Appendix III.7.7-5405 (Adopted Nov. 18, 2020), at 68. 
107 Di Genova, F., et al, “Fairbanks Cold Temperature Vehicle Testing: Warmup Idle, Between-trip Idle, and Plug-
in,” prepared for Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation by Sierra Research, January 2002. 
108 DiGenova, F. et al, “Characterizing Vehicular Contributions to PM2.5 in Fairbanks, Alaska, 
Volume 1: Dynamometer-Based Emissions Measurements, Vehicle Keep-warm Activities and MOVES Analysis, 
December 2012 (Volumes 1 – 4). 
109 88 Fed. Reg. at 1481; see also Technical Support Document at 32, 33, 45-46. 
110 Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115, at 32. 
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In comments on EPA’s Partial Disapproval of the Fairbanks Serious SIP, ADEC explained that it 
did not rely on the de minimis source category concept to dismiss control measures before a 
BACM analysis was completed.111  Instead, ADEC dismissed anti-idling controls as 
technologically and economically infeasible, following the five-step BACM process consistent 
with the Final PM2.5 Rule and applicable law.   
 
Consistent with BACM Step Three, ADEC analyzed the technological feasibility of anti-idling 
controls.112 ADEC stated that a key consideration at Step Three is whether idle controls provide 
an emissions benefit beyond those provided by existing federal, state and local controls.113  
ADEC’s analysis relied on: (1) local conditions; (2) survey results reflecting local workforce 
habits; (3) findings drawn from studies with parallel EPA-approved assessments; (4) the fact that 
no SIP has relied on taking particulate emissions credits for anti-idling programs to determine 
that such measures would be technologically infeasible because they produce no particulate 
emissions benefit.114  ADEC relied on case-specific, local factors and data in determining 
whether the identified control measures would provide a quantifiable emissions benefit, 
alongside an analysis of EPA’s prior actions in approving nonattainment plans submitted by two 
other regions (South Coast Air Basin, and San Joaquin Valley) that rejected certain control 
measures on technological infeasibility grounds similar to Alaska. 
 
Consistent with BACM Step Four, ADEC performed an economic feasibility evaluation for an 
anti-idling program for heavy-duty vehicles.115  It reviewed information collected during a 
CMAQ-funded pilot program, conducted in partnership with the Alaska Department of 
Transportation and Public Facilities.  Based on estimated costs and emission rates, ADEC 
estimated the cost-effectiveness of idle controls for heavy-duty vehicles to be $455,675.88 per 
ton of PM2.5 reduced, and therefore determined that measure to be economically infeasible. 
  
ADEC also performed an economic feasibility evaluation for two anti-idling programs for light-
duty vehicles: (1) patrolling commercial establishments such as grocery stores, restaurants, bars, 
and shopping centers where people idle their vehicles, and (2) an anti-idling campaign targeted at 
passenger vehicles during pick-up and drop-off periods at schools.  The cost-effectiveness of 
patrolling parking lots of commercial establishments was estimated to range between 
$20,420,145 to $10,837,330,902 per ton of PM2.5 reduced.  The range represents different 
establishments, time-of-day and day-of-week variability in people parking at them.  The cost-
effectiveness of school programs was estimated to be $201,198,489 per ton of PM2.5 reduced.  
ADEC determined both measures to be economically infeasible. 
  

111 ADEC, EPA, and FAST Planning all document EPA’s incorrect treatment of EPA’s assertion. See Letter from 
Jackson C. Fox, Executive Director, FAST Planning, to U.S. EPA Region 10, “Air Plan Partial Approval & 
Disapproval, 2006 24-hour PM2.5 Serious Area and 189(d) Plan, Fairbanks North Star Borough, Alaska,” at 2 (Feb. 
15, 2023) (hereinafter “FAST Planning Comment Letter”). 
112 2020 BACM Analysis at 5399-5406, 5435-5438. 
113 2020 BACM Analysis at 5355; see 40 C.F.R. § 51.1010(a)(3)(iii) (requiring state’s feasibility criteria to be more 
stringent than criteria for determining RACM for same sources in nonattainment area). 
114 2020 BACM Analysis at 5405-5406 
115 2020 BACM Analysis at 5310–5311. 
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In their Final Rule, EPA accepted ADEC’s economic infeasibility determination rejecting idling 
restrictions for heavy-duty diesel vehicles, but disapproved Alaska’s rejection of vehicle idling 
restrictions at schools and commercial establishments.116  
  
EPA acknowledged that ADEC did not explicitly designate the mobile source category as a de 
minimis source category in the Fairbanks Serious Plan and the Fairbanks 189(d) Plan for the 
purposes of avoiding and implementing BACM and BACT on mobile sources.117  EPA proposed 
to disapprove ADEC’s rejection of idling restrictions based on several factors, including: (1) low 
emissions benefits is not a valid basis to reject a measure as technologically infeasible; (2) 
BACM determinations are generally independent of attainment, and (3) ADEC’s rejection of all 
measures to control emissions from mobile sources appeared to implicitly determine that this 
category was de minimis.118   
 
In the Final Rule, EPA summarized how ADEC concluded that anti-idling programs are 
technologically infeasible due to a lack of evidence of emission benefits by drawing parallels 
between low CO emissions benefits and low PM benefits.119  EPA responded that the emissions 
reduction benefit of a particular measure is not a factor in whether the measure is technologically 
feasible, and such considerations are more appropriate under an economic feasibility 
assessment.120  EPA summarized the substantive basis for ADEC’s rejection of transportation 
control measures, including anti-idling, as being that the measures provided limited emissions 
benefits, such benefits were difficult to quantify given the climate in Fairbanks, and/or that 
additional studies were necessary to understand the emissions reduction benefits.121  EPA 
asserted that these are inadequate reasons for rejecting what it perceived to be otherwise feasible 
measures.122 
 
EPA disagreed with ADEC’s assertion that EPA has applied the PM2.5 SIP Requirements Rule 
inconsistently and discussed other recently approved SIPs in California as evidence. EPA briefly 
discussed its prior approvals of mobile source category controls for ADEC’s Moderate Plan and 
noted that BACM goes beyond RACM. 
 
With respect to ADEC’s supplemental analysis of vehicle anti-idling controls at schools and 
commercial establishments, EPA considered ADEC’s supplemental economic infeasibility 
assessment, as well as ADEC’s comment that imposing those restrictions would pose an 
unacceptable safety risk.123  ADEC commented that it had significant safety concerns regarding 
control measures for light-duty vehicle anti-idling, and when temperatures are -20°F to -60°F, 
idling is often done to ensure that small children and infants aren’t exposed to frostbite 
conditions or to prevent cars from being stranded after being turned off without being plugged in 

116 88 Fed. Reg. 84626, at 84649 (Dec. 5, 2023).  
117 88 Fed. Reg. at 84650. 
118 Id. 
119 Id. 
120 88 Fed. Reg. at 84650–84651. 
121 88 Fed. Reg. at 84651. 
122 Id. 
123 88 Fed. Reg. at 84652. 
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to a heat source.124  In its Final Rule125, EPA responded that other state and local anti-idling 
restrictions include idle duration limits that vary depending on ambient temperature and provide 
exemptions for safety.  EPA noted that ADEC may adopt an anti-idling regulation that takes into 
consideration the unique local conditions in the Fairbanks PM2.5 Nonattainment Area.126 
  
EPA stated that ADEC “did not provide data supporting the prevalence of cars failing to start or 
run in cold weather in the Fairbanks nonattainment area.”127  EPA stated that it “searched for 
documentation of this issue and could not find any studies or data.”128  EPA referenced an 
Alaska Department of Transportation source saying that frequent engine restarts have little 
impact on engine components and unnecessary vehicle idling can damage engine components 
and waste fuel. EPA reviewed its public hearing transcript and noted that one commenter raised 
concerns about electric vehicles failing to work in cold weather, which was contradicted by 
another who testified to owning an electric car that functions in -30°F.129 Overall, EPA decided 
that ADEC had not demonstrated that vehicle anti-idling restrictions for light-duty vehicles at 
schools or commercial establishments are technologically infeasible.130  EPA reiterated that 
ADEC may craft the measure in a manner that accommodates safety concerns.131 
  
With regard to ADEC’s economic infeasibility demonstration, EPA noted that the calculations 
included the annual salaries of two Fairbanks North Star Borough employees to patrol parking 
lots to enforce the program.132  EPA found that incorporating the cost of implementing and 
enforcing a control strategy is inconsistent with the CAA and PM2.5 SIP Requirements Rule.  
EPA found that when these costs were removed from the calculation the measure appears to 
yield cost savings.  EPA concluded that ADEC had not demonstrated that vehicle anti-idling 
restrictions for light-duty passenger vehicles at commercial establishments and schools are 
economically infeasible. 
  
After dismissing ADEC’s technological and economic feasibility findings, EPA encouraged the 
state to adopt and implement an anti-idling regulation and incorporate it into a subsequent SIP 
submission. 
 
Analysis 
  
EPA’s Final Rule indicated that the “emissions reduction benefit of a particular measure is not a 
factor assessing whether the measure is technologically feasible.”133  Thus, the assessment of 
technological feasibility must focus on implementation issues, which include local conditions, 
and responding to EPA’s comment that ADEC did not provide a demonstration that vehicles 
have difficulty starting or running at cold temperatures in the Fairbanks nonattainment area.  The 

124 Id.  
125 Id. 
126 Id. 
127 Id. 
128 Id. 
129 88 Fed. Reg. at 84652–84653. 
130 88 Fed. Reg. at 84653. 
131 Id. 
132 Id. 
133 88 Fed. Reg. at 84653. 
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assessment of the emissions reduction benefit will be addressed in the economic feasibility 
analysis. 
  

a. Technological Feasibility and Cold Temperature Startability 
 

A key consideration in the assessment of local conditions is the temperature at which the anti-
idling measure should be implemented.  EPA noted that a review of anti-idling restrictions at 
other areas illustrated a variety of approaches to limit idling and encouraged ADEC to adopt a 
regulation that takes into consideration the unique local conditions in the Fairbanks 
nonattainment area.134   
 
EPA's comment regarding the issues with starting and running vehicles in cold temperatures is 
irrational, and reinforces that, despite having worked on air quality issues in Fairbanks for 
decades, EPA Region 10 refuses to acknowledge the unique circumstances in a subarctic region 
and provide Fairbanks with the regulatory flexibility granted in the CAA and the PM2.5 
Implementation Rule.  In the extreme cold temperatures of -40 degrees Fahrenheit, routinely 
experienced in Fairbanks, the challenges to start and run a vehicle are amplified even further.  
  
Despite EPA’s comment that it could not find evidence of cars failing to start or operate at colder 
temperatures,135 there is substantial evidence that this is a major consideration for vehicle 
operation during arctic winter conditions experienced in Fairbanks and North Pole.136  In cold 
weather, less electrical current is generated in the vehicle’s battery, which provides less power to 
the starting motor.  As temperatures drop, viscosities of fluids within the vehicle increase.  The 
higher viscosities require more work from the starting motor to circulate the fluids and start the 
vehicle.  At lower temperatures, gasoline can’t vaporize to form a combustible temperature.  The 
combination of these physical limitations results in failed starts.   
 
A well-established behavior is for most vehicles to be equipped with block heaters, oil pan 
heaters, and/or battery heaters/trickle chargers to be able to operate during winter months in 
Fairbanks; visual evidence can be seen in the electric cords that extend outside of engine hoods 
of light-duty vehicles.  Block heaters provide supplemental heat to ensure that the fuel (i.e., 
gasoline) can vaporize and form a combustible mixture at colder temperatures. Oil pan heaters 
provide supplemental heat to the lubricating fluids necessary for engine operation.  Battery 
heaters and trickle chargers ensure sufficient electrical current can be supplied to the starting 
motor.  
 

134 88 Fed. Reg. at 84652. 
135 Id. 
136 US Department of Defense. Alaska Extreme Cold Tests Soldiers, and Equipment. Accessed at 
https://www.defense.gov/News/News-Stories/Article/Article/1090533/alaskas-extreme-cold-tests-soldiers-
equipment/; News Articles on Vehicle Performance and Starting Issues in Alaska. Accessed at 
https://cowboystatedaily.com/2024/01/12/aaron-turpen-why-cars-struggle-to-start-in-the-cold/, 
https://www.alaskacartransport.com/news/common-car-battery-issues-in-alaska/, 
https://www.thedieselstop.com/threads/alaska-cold-weather-remote-start-problems.186587/, 
https://www.webcenterfairbanks.com/content/news/Cold-Weather-Tips-Are-your-vehicles-prepared-
566765211.html. 
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Historically, the principal reason for equipping vehicles with block heaters, oil pan heaters, and 
battery heaters/trickle chargers has been to aid startability for safety, and their emission reduction 
effects are a side benefit.  Recognition of both emissions and safety benefits is reflected in the 
EPA-approved Borough Ordinance for a vehicle plug-in program, which requires parking lot 
owners to power electrical outlets for these winterization components at 21 degrees Fahrenheit or 
lower.137  That temperature is traditionally the threshold at which vehicle owners begin plugging 
in these winterization elements on their vehicles to ensure startability; a safety concern.  
 
EPA's statement in its final decision that “Alaska did not provide data supporting the prevalence 
of cars failing to start in cold weather”138 is akin to stating that Alaska did not provide data 
supporting its assertion that the sky is blue.  Studies of this phenomenon do not abound because 
it is simply a physical fact.  EPA’s continued statement that EPA “searched for documentation of 
this issue and could not find any studies”139 demonstrates EPA’s refusal to acknowledge the 
unique local circumstances while evaluating the technical feasibility of control measures under 
BACM, which is not only allowed but required in the Final PM2.5 Implementation Rule.140  
 
Another example of cold temperature startability concerns in the Fairbanks nonattainment area is 
the use of “auto starts,” a technology wherein vehicle owners can start their vehicles remotely to 
ensure that the windows are defrosted for visibility and the vehicle interior is warm when they 
return to the vehicle.  Based on a conversation with a company that installs the auto start 
technology, roughly 20+% of light-duty vehicles in Fairbanks are equipped with auto-starts.141  
Earlier, vehicle owners had to select the default ambient temperature thresholds at which the 
vehicles automatically start.  The technology has since then evolved and most systems now 
simply remote start on command when people want to warm their vehicles.  
 
Furthermore, contrary to EPA’s apparent confusion about cold starts and operation of electric 
vehicles,142 well-established studies in the literature have documented the effects of low 
temperatures on electric vehicles.143  The main concern identified by these studies is the limited 
driving ranges for electric vehicles at low temperatures.144 At extreme cold temperatures like 
those in ordinary Fairbanks winters, “[b]atteries get zapped of their charge.”145 
 

137 Fairbanks North Star Borough Code Ordinance 21.24.010. Accessed at 
https://fnsb.borough.codes/FNSBC/21.24.010. This Ordinance was amended from the 2001 FNSB Ordinance 2001-
17, and EPA approved at https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2002-02-04/pdf/02-2505.pdf#page=1. The 21.24.010 
was approved by the EPA as part of III.III.D.7.13 Appendix to Assurance of Adequacy, 88 Fed. Reg. at 84675. 
138 88 Fed. Reg. at 84652. 
139 Id.  
140 81 Fed. Reg. at 58084. 
141 Conversation with Greg Cambell at Interior Remote Start today (https://interiorremotestart.com/) by Robert 
Dulla, Trinity Consultants, on behalf of ADEC. Date January 18, 2024. 
142 88 Fed. Reg at 84652–84653. 
143 J. R. M. Delos Reyes, R. V. Parsons and R. Hoemsen, 2016 "Winter Happens: The Effect of Ambient 
Temperature on the Travel Range of Electric Vehicles," in IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, vol. 65, no. 
6, pp. 4016-4022, doi: 10.1109/TVT.2016.2544178. Steinstraeter, M., Heinrich, T., & Lienkamp, M. 2021. Effect of 
Low Temperature on Electric Vehicle Range. World Electric Vehicle Journal, doi: 10.3390/wevj12030115. 
144 Id. 
145 Alex Horton, In Alaska, American commandos game out a great-power war, Washington Post, April 14, 2024. 
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In sum, Alaska does not agree with EPA’s final determination that light duty vehicle idling is 
technologically feasible, because EPA’s reasoning is flawed.  Nevertheless, Alaska has no 
delusions that EPA will reverse its decision and is continuing the BACM analysis by proceeding 
to Step 4 to assess the economic feasibility of the control measure.  
 

b. Economic Infeasibility 
 
In the Final Rule, EPA noted that Alaska may craft an anti-idling control measure for light-duty 
vehicles in a manner that accommodates safety concerns.146  Based on an assessment of local 
conditions, idling restrictions could be implemented at temperatures of 21°F and above.  The 
Borough Ordinance on vehicle plug-in program demonstrates that the need for supplemental heat 
begins at 21°F and below when thermal inversion often occurs, and idling restrictions at 
temperatures below that threshold are a safety concern. As such, Alaska’s economic feasibility 
analysis is based on implementation at temperatures of 21°F and above.  
  
ADEC revised the economic feasibility analysis from the ADEC’s response to EPA’s Partial 
Disapproval of the Fairbanks Serious SIP and its 2020 Amendments by including a temperature 
exemption in implementing (1) patrolling at commercial establishments where people idle, and 
(2) an anti-idling campaign at schools during school pick-up and drop-off periods.  The analysis 
focused on implementing idling restrictions during winter months from October through March 
at temperatures above 21°F, a temperature threshold below which restrictions would pose safety 
concerns based on a review of local conditions.  
 
For patrolling at commercial establishments, ADEC reached out to local establishments to 
estimate the average number of people visiting per day, and researched online for the average 
times spent by people at these establishments. Based on good engineering judgment considering 
local conditions in Fairbanks, and conversations with ADEC staff about their observations, 
ADEC assumed 50% of people switch off their vehicles completely, 25% of people use auto-
starts, and 25% of people idle their vehicles at these establishments.   ADEC assumed a 38% 
reduction in average idling time based on literature,147 and a compliance rate of at 50%.  The 
costs to implement the program consisted of having two Borough staff members for patrolling, 
fuel costs for driving around the nonattainment area, and fuel savings costs from reduced idling 
at local establishments. Based on the local data, cost estimates, light-duty vehicle fleet PM2.5 idle 
emission rates, and fuel consumption rates developed using the MOVES3 model, ADEC 
estimated the cost-effectiveness for idling restrictions above 21°F at commercial establishments 
to range between $34,618,384 to $3,488,366,984 PM2.5 reduced.  The range represents different 
commercial establishments, including restaurants and bars, grocery stores, and shopping centers.  
 

146 88 Fed. Reg. at 84653. 
147 Daniel L. Mendoza, et al., Air Quality and Behavioral Impacts of Anti-Idling Campaigns in School Drop-Off 
Zones. Atmosphere, 2022; 13 (5): 706 DOI: 10.3390/atmos13050706. 
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For conducting an anti-idling campaign at schools, ADEC obtained information from EPA’s 
idle-free schools toolkit148 and the National Center for Education Statistics.149 Similar to 
patrolling at commercial establishments, ADEC assumed a 38% reduction in average idling time 
at schools and assumed a compliance rate of 50%.  The program costs included staff costs to 
implement the campaign, printing costs for pledge forms, brochures, and no-idle sign boards, and 
fuel-saving costs from reduced idling.  Based on these assumptions, cost estimates, emissions, 
and fuel consumption rates developed from the MOVES3 model, ADEC estimated the cost-
effectiveness for idling restrictions above 21°F at schools to be $390,357,271 per ton of PM2.5 
reduced.  

  
 As its basis for disapproval, EPA writes that “[i]ncorporating the cost of implementing and 
enforcing a control strategy is inconsistent with the CAA and PM2.5 SIP Requirements Rule.”150  
This is incorrect. EPA cites CAA section 110(a)(2)(E) as a reference for not allowing the cost of 
implementing and enforcing a control strategy to be considered in an economic analysis.  CAA 
section 110(a)(2)(E) does require that the State have adequate personnel and funding to carry out 
its implementation plan, but it does not state that implementation and enforcement costs borne by 
the State cannot be considered in an economic assessment.  The economic analysis under BACM 
and assurances of adequacy to carry out an implementation plan are two separate and distinct 
requirements, and the latter is not a basis for EPA to disapprove this economic infeasibility 
analysis.   
 
EPA states that “economic infeasibility assessments are focused on the costs projected to be 
borne by the owner and operator of the subject source,”151 and cites 40 CFR 51.1010 and 81 Fed. 
Reg. at 58085.  But these references do not support this assertion. 40 CFR 51.1010 is silent on 
which entity bears the economic burden and only provides a non-exhaustive list of factors that 
may be considered.  It states that for “purposes of evaluating the economic feasibility of a 
potential control measure, the State may consider capital costs, operating and maintenance costs, 
and cost effectiveness of the measure.”  It does not say that the reasonable costs of 
implementation cannot be included in that cost effectiveness calculation. The same is true of the 
description of the economic feasibility assessment step at 81 Fed. Reg. at 58085.  
 
The metric used to compare costs across sources is cost effectiveness, which EPA defined in the 
preamble to the PM2.5 SIP Requirements Rule as the annualized cost ($/year) divided by the 
emissions reduced (tons/year) which yields a cost per amount of emission reduction ($/ton).152  
EPA further states that cost effectiveness provides a relative value for each emissions reduction 
option that is comparable with other options.153  EPA provides a non-exclusive list of factors that 

148 U.S. EPA, “Idle-Free Schools Toolkit for a Healthy School Environment,” Accessed at 
https://www.epa.gov/schools/idle-free-schools-toolkit-healthy-school-environment. 
149 National Center for Education Statistics, “Public Schools in Fairbanks North Star Borough School District,” 
Accessed at 
https://nces.ed.gov/ccd/schoolsearch/school_list.asp?Search=1&County=Fairbanks%20North%20Star%20Borough
&State=02&SchoolPageNum=3. 
150 88 Fed. Reg. at 84653. 
151 Id. 
152 81 Fed. Reg. at 58042. 
153 81 Fed. Reg. at 58042. 
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may be considered when developing the economic analysis in 40 CFR 51.1010154 and clearly 
indicated that case specific factors are appropriate in determining the economic feasibility of 
potential control measures.155  Under BACM the preamble states that the fourth step of this 
process is to evaluate the costs of implementing each of the technologically feasible control 
measures.156  EPA goes on to define “implement” to mean that the control measure has not only 
been adopted into the SIP for the area but has also been built, installed and/or otherwise 
physically manifested and the affected sources are required to comply.157  These references 
indicate that the inclusion of implementation and operational costs is a valid consideration in 
evaluating the feasibility of a BACM. 
 
In this case, vehicle idling restrictions are not a piece of equipment with a capital expenditure; 
the idling restrictions are an attempt to effect large scale behavior change through regulation.  
The emission reductions are entirely dependent on convincing a percentage of the public to 
change behavior, which is an enormous undertaking. Government employees designing the 
measure, managing the program, conducting outreach, and ensuring compliance are essential 
operating elements without which emission reductions are not realized and the control measure is 
not implemented. Therefore, including the cost of government employee salaries in the economic 
feasibility assessment is consistent with both the CAA and the PM2.5 SIP Requirements Rule.  
Further, including the cost of government employee salaries in the economic analysis is essential 
to providing a representative economic analysis to compare control measures, which is a 
fundamental element of economic feasibility analyses as defined by the PM2.5 SIP Requirements 
Rule.    
 
EPA’s basis for disapproval—that including the cost of implementing and enforcing a control 
measure is inconsistent with the CAA and PM2.5 SIP Requirements Rule—is arbitrary.  There is 
substantial evidence of the inclusion of program/staffing costs for control measures wherein the 
EPA accepted the ADEC’s analysis.  The most relevant is the EPA’s approval in the Final 
Rule158 of ADEC’s dismissal of the anti-idling restrictions for heavy-duty vehicles, in which 
staff costs accounted for most of the total costs.159  In addition to anti-idling restrictions for 
heavy-duty vehicles, EPA approved ADEC’s analysis of several BACM control measures that 
included an economic analysis where program administration and costs to employ new staff 
members (categorized into low, medium, and high-cost levels) were included in the cost-
effectiveness analysis.  Program development costs included in the cost analysis are costs borne 
by the state and local governments to set up new programs to implement control measures and 
realize emission reductions.  Labor costs included in the cost analysis are costs borne by the state 
and local governments to hire new staff members as essential operating elements to realize 
continued emission reductions, and the labor costs were based on 2019 FNSB salaries and 
benefits which was noted in the cost sheet.  Table 10 below lists these measures highlighting 
those measures that were adopted and included in the control inventory.  
 

154 81 Fed. Reg. at 58157. 
155 81 Fed. Reg. at 58082. 
156 81 Fed. Reg. at 58085. 
157 81 Fed. Reg. at 58085. 
158 88 Fed. Reg. at 84649. 
159 Borough staff costs accounted for 57% and capital costs accounted for 43% of the total costs. 
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Table 10. Summary of Cost-Effectiveness Analysis of Control Measures where Program 
and Staffing Costs are included as part of Total Costs  
 

BACM 
Measure 
# 

 
Measure Name 

Admin/Staffing Costs1 

Program Labor 
52 Operation and sale of small “pot burners” prohibited Low Low 

53 
No Sale or Exchange of Used Oil for Fuel, unless it Meets 
Constituent Property Limits Low Low 

60 Anti-Idling for Heavy-duty Vehicles High Medium 
61 Fuel Oil Boiler Upgrade High High 
62 Fuel Oil Boiler Upgrade – Replacement High High 
682 Charbroilers Med-High Low – Med 
70 Used Oil Burners (Centrifuge) High High 

1Staffing Cost Ranges: Low at $35,407/year, Medium at $70,815/year, and High at $141,629/year. 
Staffing costs are based on the level of effort combined with labor costs for a Full Time Equivalent (FTE). 
Program Development Cost (one-time capital cost) Ranges: Low at $50,000, Medium at $100,000/year, 
and High at $1,000,000. Program costs when annualized over 20 years result in low costs at $4,184/year, 
medium costs at $8,368/year, and high costs at $83,679/year. 
2 ADEC developed the cost estimates as a range to reflect the variabilities involved in the cost estimates, 
including equipment type, simple or complicated configuration, age of the restaurant’s infrastructure, 
new restaurants versus retrofitting existing restaurants etc. 
 
In EPA’s technical support document for ADEC’s control measure analysis, EPA specifically 
agreed with the economic analysis for Measures 52,160 53,161 61,162 and 62,163 all of which 
included reasonable program implementation costs with staff salaries. Labor costs were 
classified as either low, medium, or high in the economic analysis ranging from 0.25 Full Time 
Equivalents (FTE) to 1 FTE and were clearly labeled as FNSB salaries and benefits with costs 
derived from the 2019 FNSB Budget breakout.  EPA concurred with ADEC’s determination that 
implementing Measures 52 and 53 is economically infeasible based on high cost-effectiveness 
estimates.  EPA’s review of the economic analysis for Measure 62 states, “We note that there are 
greater emission benefits for this measure compared to Measure 61, but also a higher cost of 
implementation. After reviewing Alaska’s economic analysis, we concur that with the economic 
cost of $6 million per ton of PM2.5 removed, this measure is economically infeasible.”164  EPA 
subsequently approved this economic analysis in the Final Rule.165  In addition to approving the 
ADEC’s dismissal of anti-idling measures for heavy-duty vehicles (Measure 60) based on an 
economic infeasibility analysis that included staffing and capital costs, EPA in its Final Rule also 

160 EPA Docket no: EPA-R10-OAR-2022-0115, Document ID: EPA-R10-OAR-2022-0115-0004, at 30. 
161 Id, at 30. 
162 Id, at 33. 
163 Id. at 34. 
164 Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115 (September 27, 2022). Pg. 34.  
165 88 Fed. Reg. at 84636. 
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approved ADEC’s dismissal of Measure 68166 and Measure 70167 based on economic 
infeasibility, likewise including program costs.  
 
Based on the economic analysis for implementing idling restrictions at temperatures of 21°F and 
above, and the precedent for including reasonable program implementation costs in EPA-
approved economic infeasibility analyses, the measure is deemed economically infeasible for 
implementation in the nonattainment area. 
 
Conclusion 
The technological feasibility analysis determined that light-duty idle restrictions can be 
implemented at schools and commercial establishments.  Based on a review of local conditions it 
was determined that idling restrictions should be imposed at temperatures of 21°F and above for 
safety concerns.  The economic feasibility analysis determined that the implementation of these 
controls at these temperatures would produce cost-effectiveness estimates that are infeasible.  
Further, cost-effectiveness assessment of idle restrictions for heavy-duty diesel vehicles found 
that it was not economically feasible, which EPA approved in the Final Rule.  Collectively, anti-
idling restrictions are not eligible for consideration as a control measure for the 2024 Revised 
Amendment to the Serious SIP because they are economically infeasible at this time. 
 

Measure 61:  Fuel Oil Boiler Upgrade – Burner Replacement/Repair 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• None 
 
Background 
 
EPA commented that the benefits of fuel oil boiler maintenance should be investigated as a 
control measure.   
 
Analysis 
 
Despite the finding that no benefits for this type of control program have been found in SIPs, 
information collected for the emissions inventory found that over 60% of the homes in the 
nonattainment area are heated with fuel oil and most are equipped with fuel oil boilers. 
Discussions with local vendors and repair technicians were conducted to determine the 
magnitude of potential fuel consumption benefits from cleaning and replacing burners.  It was 
found that the benefits depend on the age of the boiler and level of regular maintenance.   

166 Id at 84642 
167 Id at 84645 
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Brookhaven National Laboratory conducted an extensive evaluation of 168 the effects of 
maintenance on fuel consumption and emissions of fuel oil boilers and found significant 
benefits; little information however was found about the benefits of burner replacement.  Despite 
this limitation and the lack of detailed information about the age of fuel oil boilers and related 
maintenance intervals, it is clear that a program mandating regular maintenance has the potential 
to reduce fuel use and emissions from fuel oil boilers. 
 
Conclusion 
 
Test measurements have demonstrated that improved fuel oil boiler maintenance reduces fuel 
consumption and emissions, therefore this measure is technologically feasible.  This finding 
addresses EPA’s comments.  The results of a cost effectiveness analysis of this measure, 
presented in Step 4, show this measure is economically infeasible and therefore not eligible for 
consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan control measure.  

Measure 62:  Fuel Oil Boiler Upgrade – Replacement 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• None 
 
Background 
 
EPA commented that the benefits fuel oil boiler upgrades should be investigated as a control 
measure.   
 
Analysis 
 
Despite the finding that no benefits for this type of control program have been found in SIPs, 
information collected for the emissions inventory found that over 60% of the homes in the 
nonattainment area are heated with fuel oil and most are equipped with fuel oil boilers. 
Discussions with local vendors and repair technicians were conducted to determine the 
magnitude of potential fuel consumption benefits from upgrading/replacing fuel oil boilers.  It 
was found that the benefits depend on the age of the boiler and level of regular maintenance.   
 

168 Roger J. McDonald, Brookhaven National Laboratory, “Evaluation of Gas, Oil and Wood Pellet Fueled 
Residential Heating System Emissions Characteristics” Energy Sciences and Technology Department, December 
2009 
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Brookhaven National Laboratory conducted an extensive evaluation169 of emissions from a 
variety of fuel oil boilers and furnaces (e.g., conventional, condensing, etc.) using fuels of 
varying sulfur levels and found that technology has a significant benefit.  Detailed information 
about the age and maintenance intervals of the existing stock of fuel oil boilers, however, is 
required to assess the benefits of a program mandating upgrades/replacement.  While this 
information is not available for homes located in the nonattainment area, the Brookhaven report 
indicates that newer technologies reduce emissions. 
 
 
Conclusion 
 
Test measurements have demonstrated that more efficient fuel oil boilers reduce emissions, 
therefore this measure is technologically feasible.  This finding addresses EPA’s comments.  The 
results of a cost effectiveness analysis of this measure, presented in Step 4, show this measure is 
economically infeasible and therefore not eligible for consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan 
control measure. 

Measure 63:  Require Electrostatic Precipitators 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s).  
 

• None 
 
Background 
 
ESPs are pollution control devices that use electrical forces to remove fine particulate matter 
(PM) from exhaust streams.  PM collection in an ESP occurs in three steps: suspended particles 
are given an electrical charge; the charged particles migrate to a collecting electrode; and the 
collected PM is dislodged or cleaned from the collecting electrode.  ESP technology has been 
available for over a century and successfully employed on numerous industrial applications in 
the U.S., and throughout the world, with typical PM control efficiencies of 90% – 99%.  Central 
to achieving the aforementioned performance is site specific design, continuous monitoring, and 
periodic maintenance; i.e. ESPs are not one size fits all and are not plug and play. 
 
Other countries, most notably European countries, have implemented ESPs on residential wood 
stoves.  The technology transfer from the industrial sector to the residential sector required each 
country to address key issues not inherent in the technology itself; e.g. site-specific design, 
continuous monitoring, and periodic maintenance.  A review of regulations from Zurich, 

169 Roger J. McDonald, Brookhaven National Laboratory, “Evaluation of Gas, Oil and Wood Pellet Fueled 
Residential Heating System Emissions Characteristics” Energy Sciences and Technology Department, December 
2009 
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Switzerland, found that ESPs may be retrofitted on handcrafted wood stoves to meet standards in 
cases where laboratory certification is not practical.  Zurich also encourages the use of ESPs in 
general to reduce emissions, but does not provide any additional regulatory incentive to use an 
ESP.  Notable regulations that address monitoring and maintenance requirements include: 
 

• Annual inspections to verify proper device operation and use of clean dry fuel; 
• Annual chimney sweep by certified professional; 
• All hydronic heating systems subject to emission measurements every 2 years; 
• Only dry and untreated wood may be burned. In case of doubt, an ash sample is collected, 

analyzed by a laboratory, and judged by the authorities; and, 
• Minimum of 60% control efficiency for retrofit control devices, such as ESPs. 

 
No SIPs or EPA guidance documents were identified requiring the installation of an ESP or any 
retrofit control device on residential wood stoves. 
 
During development of the Serious Area SIP, FNSB and ADEC were engaged in a testing 
program to evaluate the efficacy of ESPs as a retrofit control device for various solid fuel 
appliances.  The testing program was completed, and reports were made public in July of 2020. 
The results of the program are discussed below in the Analysis section.  
 
Analysis 
 
A review of applicable SIPs and EPA guidance documents could find no requirements for 
retrofitting wood stoves with ESPs.  While ESPs appear to offer potential emission reductions, 
there are several obstacles to successful implementation.  The lack of a regulatory framework 
and regulatory authority to certify and guarantee long term performance is one obstacle, 
specifically: 
 

• The EPA does not have any certification process for retrofit control devices on wood 
stoves; and,  

• The regulatory framework at the local, state, and federal level lack the necessary 
language to exclude devices with unproven performance (e.g. homemade devices). 

 
No other jurisdiction in the United States has implemented a monitoring and maintenance plan at 
a residential level that guarantees operation of a retrofit emission control device which create the 
following obstacles: 
 

• ESPs require professional installation: there are a lack of trained professionals and 
currently no way to verify installation; 

• ESPs require periodic chimney cleanings: currently there is no way to verify cleaning; 
and, 

• ESPs require periodic maintenance: there are a lack of trained professionals and currently 
no way to verify maintenance. 

 
The implementation strategy, i.e. incentive for residents to purchase and install ESPs, is not 
clearly identified, which is another obstacle.  Community members view ESP installation in lieu 
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of burn bans as the incentive to install; however that strategy could lead to worse air quality 
conditions if ESP performance deteriorates over time, and there are legal issues regarding 
backsliding with the Fairbanks Serious Area Plan.  Another implementation strategy would be a 
requirement to install ESPs on certain devices (e.g. devices that are exempt from burn bans), 
which would achieve the highest air quality benefit but would likely be viewed as regulatory 
overreach by the community. 
 
Acknowledging the obstacles presented above, community interest remained high in determining 
whether the addition of an ESP would allow wood-burning to continue when burn bans were in 
effect, specifically Stage 2 Alerts where only those with a NOASH are allowed to operate solid 
fuel appliances.  To address this interest, FNSB commissioned a testing project to measure the 
effect of ESPs on PM emitted from an EPA Step 2 certified pellet stove and develop an emission 
factor suitable for use in a SIP.  To provide additional information in support of the FNSB study, 
ADEC commissioned a small parallel study to measure the effect of ESPs on two EPA Step 2 
cordwood appliances: non-catalytic and catalytic. 
 
Brief summaries of the test results are presented in this analysis, however significant insight into 
the operational performance of the ESP evaluated are contained in the test reports, which are 
incorporated by reference, but not discussed here.  The test reports are available on ADEC’s and 
FNSB’s websites at: 

http://www.fnsb.us/transportation/Pages/Retrofit-Emission-Control-Device-Testing.aspx 

https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/adec-esp-cordwood-test-report/ 

https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/fnsb-esp-pellet-test-report/ 

 
FNSB Step 2 certified pellet stove test summary: 
The FNSB-commissioned test program employed two different methods of PM measurement: an 
EPA filter based method (modified ASTM E2515 protocol), which collects total PM emitted 
over the entire test and a not yet EPA certified method that uses a tapered element oscillating 
microbalance (TEOM) that collect time-resolved measurements of PM emitted during the test. 
The former is the primary measurement method but provides no insight into performance during 
different phases of operation (startup, high, medium, and low burn).  Fueling protocols followed 
ASTM E2779 which is consistent with EPA certification requirements.  The program collected 
data on PM emitted upstream and downstream from the ESP unit simultaneously to allow a 
calculation of the efficiency of the unit in reducing emissions.  A total of 6 controlled replicate 
tests were conducted to support development of an emission factor.  
 
Key findings include: 

• The overall reduction in PM measured by the primary filter method was 72%; the average 
TEOM reduction was 47%; 

• PM reductions achieved with a pellet stove plus ESP are insufficient to achieve 
equivalency with fuel oil appliances; 
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• TEOM measurements found particulate removal varied by phase of operation ranging 
from 25% during medium burn to 74% during high burn; 

• TEOM measurements showed that ESP performance is significantly limited by the 
occurrence of arcing events, which are caused when the electric field responsible for 
trapping particles collapses; and, 

• Sufficient data was gathered to support development of an emission factor for an ESP 
equipped Step 2 pellet appliance. 

 
ADEC Step 2 certified catalytic and non-catalytic cordwood appliances test summary: 
The ADEC-commissioned test program employed two different methods of PM measurement: 
an EPA filter-based method (modified ASTM E2515), which collects total PM emitted over the 
entire test and a not yet EPA certified method that. uses a TEOM that collects time-resolved 
measurements of PM emitted during the test.  The former is the primary measurement method 
but provides no insight into performance during different phases of operation (startup, high, 
medium, and low burn).  Fueling protocols followed the Integrated Duty Cycle (IDC), developed 
by New York State Energy Research & Development Agency (NYSERDA) and Northeast States 
for Coordinated Air Use Management (NESCAUM).  The IDC fueling protocol is not consistent 
with current EPA certification requirements but provides emission loading representative of real-
world conditions.  Given the limited scope of the ADEC program, insufficient resources were 
available to support the collection of simultaneous measurements of PM up and downstream of 
the ESP unit.  Instead, non-simultaneous measurements were collected from baseline (no ESP) 
and controlled (ESP installed) tests; average differences between the baseline and controlled tests 
were used to calculate the estimated efficiency in reducing emissions. Three replicate tests were 
completed for baseline and controlled emissions except for the baseline for the catalytically 
controlled stove where 2 replicate tests were completed.  
 
Key findings include: 
 
Non-catalytic Cordwood Stove Performance 

• The ESP failed due to excessive creosote build-up after 34 hours of operation with dry 
fuel in a controlled environment.  The excessive creosote buildup coupled with an 
ignition source, such as electrical arcing, is believed to present a potential safety hazard 
for homeowners; 

• It is recommended that the manufacturer update its device design to address the creosote 
concerns and demonstrate performance using test protocols approved by FNSB, ADEC 
and/or EPA.  It is further recommended that thorough testing on a new design be 
conducted by the manufacturer on noncatalytic devices of the size used in FNSB prior to 
further use or testing by FNSB; 

• When creosote impacted measurements are ignored, ESP control efficiency was found to 
range between 66-73% (filter based versus TEOM measurements) for relatively high 
emitting non-catalyst cordwood stoves.  TEOM measurements showed significant 
variability in ESP control efficiency ranging from 33-92% depending on the test phase of 
the IDC; and, 

• If the creosote concerns can be addressed, ESPs offer significant emission reduction 
potential for non-catalyst cordwood stoves, which could aid community efforts to 
improve air quality. 
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Catalytic Cordwood Stove Performance 

• The test results for the ESP equipped catalytic cordwood stove indicate a control 
efficiency of 1%; and, 

• The low emission levels of catalytic cordwood stoves combined with poor ESP 
performance during the startup test phase and the almost nonexistent reduction in overall 
emissions suggest that the addition of ESP control for these stoves offers little benefit to 
the community.  However, other variables such as typical number of start-ups influence 
the overall emission reduction and additional data gathered through simultaneous 
measurement of PM before and after the ESP could provide additional insight to the 
efficacy of ESPs on catalytically controlled cordwood appliances. 

 
During the winter of 2019/2020 Golden Valley Electric Association (GVEA) funded an ESP 
pilot project.  The project was funded at $125,000 for two years with a goal of installing 80 ESPs 
in the nonattainment area over a 2-year period (40 each year). On December 12, 2019 a meeting 
was held including multiple stakeholders where homeowner agreements, chimney cleaning, and 
professional installation issues were resolved.  Key takeaways include that prior to each ESP 
being installed the appliance and chimney would be inspected by a licensed chimney sweep to 
verify that the appliance was installed correctly and that the chimney would be professionally 
cleaned prior to ESP installation. In a July 21, 2020 FNSB Air Pollution Control Commission 
(APCC) meeting GVEA provided a report on the community pilot project to install ESPs in the 
North Pole area.  Key takeaways from GVEA’s report include: 
 

• 17 ESPs were installed in the North Pole area during January – February 2020; 
• Upon inspection after the burn season, nearly half the installed ESPs had failed due to 

excessive creosote buildup; 
• The cause (e.g. wet wood, appliance type, appliance operation, or ESP operation) of 

excessive creosote buildup was not determined; and 
• GVEA stopped project funding on a go-forward basis. 

 
Meeting agenda and audio tracks are available on the FNSB website under the July 21, 2020 
Meeting Documents at: 
http://www.fnsb.us/Boards/Pages/Air-Pollution-Control-Commission.aspx 
 
By definition a control measure must result in permanent and enforceable emission reductions. A 
clear implementation strategy has not been identified, therefore for the purposes of this analysis 
the measure evaluated is: Mandatory installation of an ESP on any appliance that receives a 
NOASH waiver. These appliances are allowed to operate during the meteorological conditions 
that lead to the highest ambient PM concentrations, and a quantifiable decrease in emissions 
during episodic conditions would lead to improved air quality. 
 
Analysis of the FNSB and ADEC test results, combined with the testimony from GVEA, provide 
a weight of evidence that SFBAs encompass a large range of operational and emission 
characteristics which have a dramatic effect on ESP performance.  As with any post combustion 
emission control technology, the ESP functions best on appliances with the emission loading and 
stack effluent characteristics it was designed for with performance decreasing as operational 
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parameters fall outside of design constraints.  Due to the large range of appliances within the 
SFBA source category the control strategy conclusions are divided into the following categories: 
 

• EPA Step 2 Certified Appliances: 
o Pellet stove;  
o Non-catalytic cordwood stove; and, 
o Catalytic cordwood stove. 

• All other SFBAs, including but not limited to: hydronic heaters, fireplaces, EPA Step 1 
certified appliances, non-certified appliances, fireplace inserts, and any other device that 
would qualify for a NOASH under the Emergency Episode Plan in the Serious Area 
SIP. 

 
Regarding potential safety concerns, it is beyond the scope of this analysis to evaluate the safe 
use of an ESP or any technology.  Potential safety concerns that were identified during analysis 
are characterized as potential because those concerns are identified but not verified.  A complete 
investigation of product safety was not conducted, therefore a conclusion of “no potential safety 
issues identified” means none were discovered during analysis and should not be construed as no 
safety issues exist. 
 
Conclusion 
 
EPA Step 2 certified pellet stove: 
FNSB testing shows a quantifiable emission benefit for including an ESP as a control on EPA 
Step 2 certified pellet stoves.  No potential safety issues were identified during analysis.  This 
measure, mandatory installation of an ESP on a pellet stove that receives a NOASH waiver, is 
technically feasible to implement.  The results of a cost effectiveness analysis of this measure, 
presented in Step 4, show this measure is economically infeasible and therefore not eligible for 
consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan control measure. 
 
EPA Step 2 certified non-catalytic cordwood stove: 
ADEC testing shows a potential emission benefit for including an ESP as a control on a Step 2 
certified non-catalytic cordwood stove, additional testing is required to demonstrate a 
quantifiable emission benefit.  The ADEC testing and GVEA pilot project provide a weight of 
evidence identifying a potential safety issue due to accelerated creosote buildup.  Due to the 
identification of a potential safety issue this measure, mandatory installation of an ESP on a non-
catalytic cordwood stove, is technically infeasible to implement and is dismissed from the 
control measure analysis. 
 
EPA Step 2 certified catalytic cordwood stove: 
ADEC testing shows a limited potential emission benefit (less than 1% emission reduction) for 
including an ESP as an additional control on a Step 2 certified catalytic cordwood stove, 
additional testing is required to demonstrate a quantifiable emission benefit.  The ADEC testing 
did not identify a potential safety issue.  The GVEA pilot project identified excessive creosote 
buildup in a catalytic cordwood stove.  Due to the identification of a potential safety issue and 
the limited potential emission benefit this measure, mandatory installation of an ESP on a 
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catalytic cordwood stove is technically infeasible to implement and is dismissed from the control 
measure analysis. 
 
All other SFBAs: 
No additional testing was completed on the other SFBA categories.  Due to the potential safety 
issue of accelerated creosote buildup observed during ADEC testing and the GVEA pilot project, 
mandatory installation of an ESP on a SFBA is technically infeasible to implement and is 
dismissed from the control measure analysis. 

Measure 64:  Weatherization and Energy Efficiency 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District’s (SJVAPCD) 
• Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District's (SMAQMD)  
• City of Berkeley 
• South Coast Air Quality Management District’s (SCAQMD) 
• Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ) 

 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://ww2.valleyair.org/media/h0eliaec/rule-4901.pdf  
• https://www.airquality.org/ProgramCoordination/Documents/Rule417%20Proposed%20

Sep2006.pdf  
• https://berkeleyca.gov/construction-development/green-building/building-emissions-

saving-ordinance-beso/beso-energy 
• https://www.energy.ca.gov/programs-and-topics/programs/building-energy-efficiency-

standards 
• https://www.aceee.org/files/proceedings/2002/data/papers/SS02_Panel9_Paper04.pdf 

 
Background 
 
In the 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP, ADEC reviewed SIPs from other air quality 
regulatory agencies and did not identify any control measures mandating weatherization and 
claiming related emission reduction benefits.  ADEC identified several programs for improving 
home heating efficiency in the Nonattainment Area that result in emissions reduction.  However, 
these programs were voluntary programs which do not provide enforceable emissions reduction.  
To provide enforceable emissions reduction, voluntary programs must be mandated and 
regulated, which requires significant work and resource commitments. 
 
During the development of the Serious SIP, the Air Quality Stakeholders group identified the 
possibility of implementing a home energy audit at the time of the home sale, however, the group 
could not agree on a threshold for energy efficiency or required actions to implement the 
mechanism.  Voluntary measures being implemented indicate that weatherization measures are 
technologically feasible.  However, based on the fact that weatherization measures have not been 
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mandated in other jurisdictions, and significant gaps that exist including applicability, thresholds, 
requirements, and legal authority to the implementation of these measures, ADEC found the 
measure to be technologically infeasible and dismissed it from consideration for the 2020 
Amendments to the Serious SIP.  
 
EPA rejected ADEC’s dismissal of weatherization and energy efficiency programs as a control 
measure in the 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP.  EPA in their comments170 stated that 
ADEC’s conclusion that it lacked authority to require insulation was “invalid” and difficulty in 
quantifying emissions benefits from voluntary programs did not correspond to the requirements 
of the 2016 PM2.5 Final Rule.171  Finally EPA asserted that a State cannot reject a measure  on 
the basis that another jurisdiction has not adopted and implemented that measure.  
 
After EPA issued its proposed disapproval, ADEC conducted a thorough review of 
weatherization and energy efficiency programs throughout the continental United States. ADEC 
also evaluated the existing energy efficiency programs in the Nonattainment Area.  Based on this 
investigation, ADEC in their response to EPA’s Partial Disapproval of the Fairbanks Serious SIP 
and its 2020 Amendments proposed to develop a new regulation consisting of home energy 
rating  at the time of a real estate transaction, along with a commitment to education and 
outreach.  ADEC dismissed adopting any building energy efficiency codes or mandatory 
weatherization requirements due to limitations on ADEC’s legal authority, lack of infrastructure, 
timing, and resources.  
 
EPA in their Final Rule172, disapproved ADEC’s BACM determination for weatherization until 
such time as EPA can evaluate the adopted regulation when the State submits a SIP revision.  
While the EPA appreciated that ADEC did further investigations and proposed to adopt a new 
regulation, EPA disapproved ADEC’s dismissal of implementing building codes and mandatory 
weatherization measures.  EPA stated that the State and local governments are required to have 
the legal authority, funding, and personnel to meet the CAA requirements.   
 
ADEC, in response to EPA’s Final Rule re-evaluated the implementation of building codes and 
mandatory weatherization measures.  Based on is assessment, ADEC's conclusion on dismissing 
both remains unchanged.  ADEC dismissed these measures based on technological infeasibility, 
and the timeline of implementing these measures to reach attainment.  
 
Analysis 
 
In response to EPA’s comments on the 2020 Amendments, ADEC identified weatherization 
programs in other jurisdictions to fall into three board categories: (1) Public Education and 
Outreach Programs; (2) Energy Audits/Rating; and (3) Building Energy Codes.  
 

170 88 Fed. Reg. at 1454. 
171 2016 PM2.5 Final Implementation Rule. Accessed at https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-08-24/pdf/2016-
18768.pdf. 
172 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626. 
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Public education and outreach programs for energy efficiency are implemented as part of San 
Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District’s (“SJVAPCD”) Rule 4901173 and Sacramento 
Metropolitan Air Quality Management District's (“SMAQMD”) Rule 417174. Rule 4901 targeted 
at reducing emissions from residential burning, includes a public outreach and education 
program on best practices for energy efficiency and use. SMAQMD’s Rule 417 related to wood-
burning devices includes a public awareness component that consists of disseminating 
weatherization information, in the form of pamphlets, brochures, etc. 175 
  

Energy audits or rating programs for energy efficiency are implemented in San Francisco, 
California; Boulder Colorado; Burlington, Vermont; and Ann Arbor, Michigan, and are designed 
based on the City of Berkeley’s Building Energy Saving Ordinance (“BESO”). The City of 
Berkeley designed the BESO program based on Residential Energy Conservation Ordinances 
(“RECO”) implemented in the 1980s.  The BESO program implemented in 2015 overcomes 
serious challenges in the RECO program by providing homeowners the flexibility to pursue 
measures voluntarily versus requiring them to implement specific improvements as a result of an 
energy audit. 176  These audits are triggered by a sale, transfer, or renovation, and at specified 
intervals based on a phase-in schedule.  The process requires a registered energy assessor to 
evaluate the building’s specific energy and water-saving opportunities in the form of a 
performance score and/or asset rating.177  As per the 2009 Berkeley Climate Action Plan,178 the 
average energy savings associated with RECO measures was estimated to be 10-20% per 
building.  Limited examples of building codes implemented for energy efficiency measures 
include (a) South Coast Air Quality Management District’s (“SCAQMD”) measure ECC-02, and 
(b) Dallas-Ft Worth Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (“TCEQ”) statewide adoption 
of the International Residential Code and the International Energy Conservation Code for 
residential, commercial, and industrial buildings mandated by the 77th Texas Legislature under 
Senate Bill 5.  
 
Following a review of energy efficiency programs in other jurisdictions, ADEC performed a 
deeper investigation of local efforts that were not accounted for in ADEC’s SIP submittal to 
evaluate an emissions reduction commitment in the SIP.   Given the high cost of home heating, 
Alaska has many programs listed below for improving home heating efficiency.   
 
The majority of the energy programs are offered by the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation 
(“AHFC”) which continues to be implemented in the Nonattainment Area since ADEC adopted 
them as voluntary measures under the moderate SIP.  

173 SJVUAPCD, 2018 PM2.5 Plan. Accessed at https://www.valleyair.org/pmplans/documents/2018/pm-plan-
adopted/2018-Plan-for-the-1997-2006-and-2012-PM2.5-Standards.pdf. 
174 SMAQMD, 2021 PM10 Maintenance Plan, 
https://www.airquality.org/ProgramCoordination/Documents/PM10%202nd%20Maintenance%20Plan%20-
%20Final.pdf.  
175 SMAQMD, 2021 PM10 Maintenance Plan, 
https://www.airquality.org/ProgramCoordination/Documents/PM10%202nd%20Maintenance%20Plan%20-
%20Final.pdf.  
176 Berkeley Municipal Code § 19.81, Accessed at https://berkeley.municipal.codes/BMC/19.81. 
177 City of Berkeley, Building Energy Saving Ordinance, https://berkeleyca.gov/construction-development/green-
building/building-emissions-saving-ordinance-beso/beso-energy. 
178 City of Berkeley, 2019 Climate Action Plan. Accessed athttps://berkeleyca.gov/sites/default/files/2022-
01/Berkeley-Climate-Action-Plan.pdf. 
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• AHFC offers an energy efficiency interest rate reduction (“EEIRR”) program, home 
energy loan program, and weatherization program.179  

• Under the EEIRR program, AHFC offers interest rate reductions when financing new or 
existing energy-efficient homes or when borrowers make energy improvements to an 
existing home.  Any property that can be energy rated, and otherwise eligible for Alaska 
Housing financing may qualify for the program.  

• The AHFC has a home energy rebate program for newly constructed 5-star plus or 6-star 
homes for all Alaska homeowners with no income limits.180  

• Individuals who meet income limits are eligible to apply for the AHFC’s low-income 
weatherization program implemented by Interior Weatherization, Inc in Fairbanks and 
North Pole.181  The program provides low- and moderate-income households with 
improvements to their homes at no cost to increase energy efficiency.  The organization’s 
website states that it has weatherized over 6,000 homes since its inception in 1985.  

• Interior Weatherization also works with Golden Valley Electric Association to administer 
the Home $ense Program for Golden Valley customers.182  This program provides an 
assessment by a trained energy efficiency specialist of the home and identifies ways to 
reduce energy usage.  In addition, the specialist also provides educational material on 
best practices in energy efficiency and use.  

• The AHFC has established Building Energy Efficiency Standards (“BEES”) to improve 
energy efficiency in the construction of new buildings built on or after January 1, 1992, 
and applying for AHFC financial assistance.183  

 
Programs administered by other entities are listed below: 

• The Heating Assistance Program, administered by the Alaska Department of Health, 
offsets the cost of home heating for households with income at or below 150% of the 
federal poverty income guidelines.  

• The Alaska Energy Authority has a collaborative Energy Efficiency and Conservation 
education and outreach campaign to increase awareness of ways to improve energy 
efficiency and conservation in Alaska.184  A key component of this campaign is the 
creation of the Alaska Energy Efficiency Partnership stakeholder group that aims to 
improve the adoption of greater end-use energy efficiency measures and energy 
conservation behaviors in Alaska through information sharing and integrated planning.  

• The Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference (“SWAMC”), a regional economic 
development and regional membership organization provides low-cost energy audits and 
grant assistance to small businesses and commercial fishers.185  These audits are funded 

179 Alaska Housing Finance Corporation. Accessed at https://www.ahfc.us/efficiency/energy-programs. 
180 Alaska Housing Finance Corporation, Home Energy Rebate Program. Accessed at https://akrebate.ahfc.us. 
181 Interior Weatherization, Inc. Accessed at http://www.interiorwx.org/index.html. 
182 Golden Valley Electric Association, Home $ense Program. Accessed at 
https://www.gvea.com/services/programs-services/homeense-audits/. 
183 Alaska Housing Finance Corporation, Building Energy Efficiency Standards. Accessed at 
https://www.ahfc.us/pros/builders/building-energy-efficiency-standard. 
184 Alaska Energy Authority, Energy Efficiency and Conservation (EE&C) education and outreach campaign. 
Accessed at https://www.akenergyauthority.org/What-We-Do/Alternative-Energy-and-Energy-Efficiency-
Programs/Energy-Efficiency-Conservation/Alaska-Energy-Efficiency-Partnership. 
185 Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference, Energy Audit Program. Accessed at 
https://swamc.org/programs/energy-audit/.  
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through the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (“USDA”) Renewable Energy 
Development Assistance (“REDA”) grant program to improve the energy efficiency of 
commercial building infrastructure in areas covering the entire State of Alaska outside the 
Municipality of Anchorage.  More than 82 commercial fishing vessels and 27 buildings 
have received or are currently working on energy audits through this program throughout 
the State of Alaska.  Many of these entities who receive the low-cost audit also qualify 
for a USDA REAP grant that, if awarded, covers 25% of the eligible costs of upgrading a 
vessel or building. 

 
The implementation of these programs varies depending on the availability of contractors to 
perform the work, funding levels, and changes in congressional authorizations.  All the programs 
mentioned are voluntary and therefore do not provide enforceable emission reductions. 
 
Based on this investigation, ADEC proposed to develop a new regulation to address the BACM 
requirements for weatherization. The proposed regulation consists of:  
 
Real estate transaction requirements: Weatherization and energy efficiency proposed regulation.  
 
ADEC proposed to implement a regulation requiring energy efficiency rating for residential 
buildings at the time of conveyance.  The proposed regulation is a new section in the Alaska 
Administrative Code (AAC), 18 AAC 50.081, and consists of requiring a residential building 
owner to complete an energy rating with a licensed energy assessor before listing the building or 
property for sale.  This measure will require the owners to pay for the energy rating.  The 
proposed regulation requires the residential building owner to submit the energy rating report to 
ADEC, and to register any wood-fired heating devices.  These elements will aid in the 
compliance rate for other control measures including the curtailment program and date certain 
removal of uncertified appliances.  Any improvements identified by the energy rater s  is voluntary.  
As evidenced in Berkeley, the RECO audit program had serious issues in requiring owners to 
implement improvements and was subsequently replaced by BECO which provided homeowners 
with flexibility to implement measures voluntarily.  ADEC’s energy rating program is designed 
in a similar way where any improvements identified by the energy rater are voluntary. Energy 
raters will link the owners to available incentive funding and other voluntary programs by the 
Alaska Housing Finance Corporation and Alaska Energy Authority. 
 
ADEC’s review highlights several voluntary energy efficiency programs around the State with 
overlapping goals, implemented by different agencies according to different authorities, and 
funded by dissimilar grant systems.  ADEC currently has several other public education 
programs providing information on burn curtailments, wood stove operations, dry wood, 
wildfire, and smoke management.  Similar to SJVAPCD, ADEC commits to a robust advertising 
and education program including best practices to improve efficiency in an arctic environment 
and available economic and practical mechanisms that can assist homeowners in improving both 
efficiency and regulatory compliance.  
 
ADEC dismissed implementing building energy efficiency codes or mandatory weatherization 
requirements for several reasons.  As of the date of the ADEC’s response to EPA’s comments186, 

186 March 22, 2023. 
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neither the State nor the Borough has the authority to enact or enforce a building code measure 
that overlaps the authority of the City.  The City is a home rule municipality that has exclusive 
authority to enforce a specific building code187 and the City has, indeed, enacted several discrete 
code provisions that could authorize certain weatherization measures.188  Because the City is a 
home rule entity with certain constitutional powers, the State would have to enact a statute to 
preempt the City’s building code authority before ADEC could issue a regulations package 
requiring additional or new insulation. 189  Furthermore, although the Borough may have the 
authority to provide for air pollution control by virtue of AS 29.35.210 and AS 46.14.400 outside 
Fairbanks City limits, the Borough cannot implement that authority which includes the authority 
to enact and enforce a building code.190   
 
The State does appear to have some authority to adopt and enact weatherization measures such 
as additional or new insulation pursuant to AS 46.03.020 (10) and AS 46.14.030 within the 
Borough.191  However, the practical implications of ADEC implementing building codes are 
significant.  First, ADEC does not have the subject matter expertise or staff required to provide 
the technical information required to implement and enforce a new insulation or energy-efficient 
measure.  Second, there is a lack of local infrastructure in terms of the availability of energy 
auditors, and training resources (in terms of training for new auditors and updating existing 
auditors to keep up with code updates) to perform the home inspections to ensure compliance 
with building codes.  Based on ADEC’s research, there are two types of energy assessors: (1) 
energy raters; and (2) energy auditors.  Energy raters assess only residential buildings and do not 
require certification but must undergo training from the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation 
(AHFC).  On the other hand, energy auditors can assess both residential and commercial 
buildings and require a certification either as a certified energy manager or certified energy 
auditor.192  Unlike the AHFC low-income program which requires energy raters for assessment, 
the SWAMC requires energy auditors for its program. Based on a conversation with the 
SWAMC193, there is only one full-time auditor and two part-time auditors available for 
performing home inspections throughout the State.  While the proposed regulation on energy 
rating program requires energy raters, energy auditors are required for building code compliance.  
Implementing mandatory weatherization programs such as building codes in addition to energy 
ratings would put an additional burden on the existing local infrastructure which is already 
strained.  This could lead to significant delays or even failure of the program.  
 
Based on these factors, ADEC dismissed adopting building codes or any new weatherization 
measures.  ADEC concluded that expanding the current public education and outreach program 
to include information on energy efficiency and implementing a regulation requiring residential 

187 AS 29.04.010; see also Alaska Const. art. X, §11. 
188 City of Fairbanks Municipal Code Library, https://library.municode.com/ak/fairbanks/codes/code_of_ordinances. 
189 AS 29.10.200 (“Only the following provisions of this title apply to home rule municipalities as prohibitions on 
acting otherwise than as provided.”). 
190 Energy Efficiency Work Group. 2018 Meeting Summary. Accessed at 
191 Vol. II: III.D.7.8 at 65. Accessed at https://dec.alaska.gov/media/22030/iii-d-7-08-modeling-adopted-11-18-
20.pdf 
192 Conversation between Jim Fowler from Energy Audits of Alaska and Robert Dulla, Trinity Consultants, on 
behalf of ADEC.  
193 Conversation between Lizzi Makovec, Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference (SWAMC) Energy Audit 
Coordinator, and Suriya Vallamsundar, Trinity Consultants, on behalf of ADEC (Dated 02/08/2023). 
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building owners to perform an energy rating addresses the deficiencies cited by EPA and meets 
the BACM requirements.  
 
EPA in their Final Rule194, disagreed with ADEC’s dismissal of mandatory weatherization 
measures such as implementing building codes in the Nonattainment area.  The EPA appreciated 
that the State did further investigation and analysis of the types of measures that, if adopted, 
might meet BACM.  While the EPA acknowledged the various voluntary programs in place for 
energy efficiency, these measures, however, do not appear to meet the EPA guidelines for 
enforceability and SIP emission reduction credit.  
 
In response to ADEC’s responses on the technological infeasibility of implementing mandatory 
weatherization programs (e.g., building codes), EPA noted that a State is required to have the 
legal authority, funding, and resources under the State law to meet the CAA requirements.  A 
state may under state law elect to share its authority and responsibility for meeting CAA 
requirements with local governments.  Having done so, however, it is not appropriate for a state 
to claim that it cannot meet a CAA requirement due to this division of authority and 
responsibility.  While EPA acknowledged that certain home rule cities and borough may have 
exclusive legislative powers under the Constitution of the State of Alaska, including building 
codes, EPA noted that this does not mean that no State or local government has authority to enact 
weatherization or energy efficiency measures, but merely means that the home rule city or 
borough must do so.  EPA will review ADEC’s revised energy efficiency and weatherization 
measures once ADEC formally submits them to the EPA as part of a SIP revision.  
 
ADEC again reealuated the complex layers of authority to enact, implement, and enforce 
building codes in the nonattainment area.  While the EPA is correct that the State in totum does 
have existing authorities or could enact new authorities to implement a weatherization measure, 
the existing authorities would need to be statutorily amended to apply to different agencies, 
cities, or boroughs.  If any new authorities were created by the legislature for the various 
government entities, those authorities would need to be coextensive.  That process of developing 
new authorities is complex and would significantly impact the timeline to attainment. 
 
ADEC evaluated the earliest date that building codes could be implemented which was not 
discussed in ADEC’s responses to EPA’s partial disapproval of the SIP.  The timeline to 
implement a control measure is one of the steps outlined in the PM2.5 Implementation Rule195.  
Step 5 in the BACM process states that the timeline to implement a control measure is one of the 
criteria to assess the feasibility of the measure – which is. no later than 4 years after the effective 
date of reclassification to a serious nonattainment area. Accordingly, BACM was required to be 
adopted and implemented before the Serious area attainment date of December 31, 2019.  After 
the Fairbanks PM2.5 Nonattainment Area failed to attain by December 31, 2019, ADEC was 
required to adopt the BACM by December 31, 2020.196  Based on EPA’s Final Rule197 and the 

194 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626. 
195 2016 PM2.5 Final Implementation Rule. Accessed at https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2016-08-24/pdf/2016-
18768.pdf 
196 ADEC, 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP.  Appendix III.D.7.7. Assessed at 
https://dec.alaska.gov/media/22038/appendix-iii-d77-control-strategies-adopted-11-18-20.pdf. 
197 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626 
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regulatory references included for BACM (40 CFR 51.1010 (C)(3)198, 51.1004(a)(3)199), 
following the finding of failure to attain by the applicable Serious area attainment date, the state 
may make a demonstration that a measure identified is not technologically or economically 
feasible to implement in whole or in part within 5 years or such longer period as the EPA may 
determine is appropriate after the EPA's determination that the area failed to attain by the serious 
area attainment date or December 31, 2024. 
 
ADEC reviewed the process of implementing building codes in other jurisdictions.  The process 
essentially consists of three steps200 wherein at step 1 building codes and standards developed by 
independent entities such as the International Code Council (ICC) for residential and American 
Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) for commercial 
are adopted by municipalities and states. 201  These codes and standards are updated every three 
years by various committees comprised of technical researchers, code officials, developers, 
builders, designers, and others and are analyzed by the Department of Energy.  In step 2, the 
process of adoption by states and local entities happens through legislative action or by 
regulatory agencies authorized by a legislative body.  The process involves stakeholder and 
public involvement, addressing comments, and getting their buy-in with the final version of the 
code.  Once adopted, the code becomes law within a particular state or local jurisdiction.  Step 3 
consists of code enforcement and compliance.  Code compliance is the most important 
component to ensure optimal energy efficiency, resiliency, and health benefits.202  Regardless of 
how energy codes are adopted (state or local level), the local jurisdictions are responsible for 
implementing the codes and establishing a code inspection and verification program.  This, in 
turn, translates to legal obligations for design professionals and builders who design and 
construct buildings as per the latest codes, and local code officials who inspect and ensure 
compliance with the codes. 203  Educational support for builders, code officials, and others 
working in construction and related industries is necessary to increase understanding and 
requirements of the energy code, especially when a new code is adopted.  Therefore, training 
resources and technical assistance provided by municipalities and states, are crucial.  
 
An overview of these steps shows that the process of implementing building codes is time-
consuming. For example, a timeline published by Massachusetts for updating their building code 
in 2023 shows a timeline of 2 years.204  California Energy Commission (CEC) recently published 

198 40 CFR 51.1010 (C)(3). Accessed at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-
51/subpart-Z/section-51.1010 
199 51.1004(a)(3). Accessed at https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-40/chapter-I/subchapter-C/part-51/subpart-
Z/section-51.1004#p-51.1004(a)(3). 
200 Midwest Energy Efficiency Alliance. Energy Codes Development, Adoption and Compliance. Accessed at 
https://www.mwalliance.org/blog/energy-code-development-adoption-and-compliance-benefits-regularly-updated-
codes. 
201 Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Building Codes. Accessed at 
https://www.energy.gov/eere/buildings/articles/how-are-building-energy-codes-developed.  
202 Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Building Energy Codes - Development, Adoption,  
Implementation, and Compliance. Accessed at  
https://www.energycodes.gov/codes-101/develop-adopt-implement-comply.  
203 Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. Building Energy Code Compliance. Accessed at 
https://www.energy.gov/eere/buildings/articles/building-energy-code-compliance.  
204 https://www.cambridgeseven.com/about/news/what-to-expect-from-the-massachusetts-energy-code-in-2023/ 
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their timeline to adopt the latest 2025 Building Energy Efficiency Standards.205  Their update 
process consists of three stages; data gathering and analysis during the pre-rulemaking stage, 
addressing stakeholder and public comments, and adopting the code during the rulemaking stage, 
and updating the compliance manuals, compliance software during the post-adoption stage.  CEC 
estimated the timeline for the pre-rulemaking and rulemaking stages to span from March 2022 
through January 2026.  
 
The timelines from other states cited correspond to updating an energy code that has been in 
place since 1976 for California206 and 2009 in Massachusetts.207  These timelines would be 
compounded for the first-time implementation of building codes and considering local conditions 
in Fairbanks and the time required for outreach to stakeholders, public review, implementing a 
regulation, establishing a system and resources for code enforcement, and compliance, etc.  
Based on a conversation with the International Code Council208, a typical timeline for first-time 
implementation of energy codes would range between 24- 36 months for the lower-48 states and 
would be much longer for Alaska.  As noted by ICC, a key barrier for Alaska is the 
fragmentation of the state where there are stretches of land not under any regulatory authority, 
and this makes the administration and adoption of codes much different from the lower-48 states.  
Based on this evidence, a reasonable estimate of 3 years to implementation of a novel 
weatherization program in a building code would likely place implementation beyond not only 
the statutory requirement for the implementation of BACM by December 31, 2024, but also 
beyond the 2027 attainment date identified in the 2024 SIP Amendments.  
 
Based on a combination of these factors, ADEC dismissal of building codes based on 
technological infeasibility remains unchanged.  In addition to technological infeasibility, ADEC 
dismissed building codes as the earliest date the measure can be implemented exceeded the 
regulatory timeline to achieve the expeditious attainment of the ambient PM2.5 standard. 
 
 
Conclusion 
 
In addition to the currently ongoing several voluntary programs, ADEC has adopted a new 
regulation on weatherization.  Firstly, ADEC commits to expanding the current public education 

205 California Energy Commission. 2025 Building Energy Efficiency Standards. Accessed at 
https://www.energy.ca.gov/programs-and-topics/programs/building-energy-efficiency-standards/2025-building-
energy-efficiency.  
206 California Energy Commission. Building Energy Standards. Accessed at 
https://www.energy.ca.gov/publications/2015/building-energy-efficiency-standards-residential-and-nonresidential-
buildings#:~:text=The%20Building%20Energy%20Efficiency%20Standards,then%20as%20directed%20by%20stat
ute.  
207 Massachusetts Building Energy Code. Accessed at https://www.mass.gov/info-

details/building-energy-
code#:~:text=In%202009%2C%20Massachusetts%20became%20the,%2
Dthe%20%22Stretch%20Code%22.  

208 Conversation with Kraig Stevenson, Senior Regional Manager (AK, HI, ID, MT, OR, WA) at International Code 
Council. (https://www.iccsafe.org/) by Suriya Vallamsundar, Trinity Consultants, on behalf of ADEC. Date April 
29, 2024. 
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and outreach program to include information on weatherization and energy efficiency.  Secondly, 
the regulation requires residential building owners to perform an energy rating prior to listing the 
home for sale.  The adoption of the regulation is sufficient to meet the BACM requirements of 
this measure.  

Measure 67:  Coffee Roasters 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Vermont Air Quality and Climate Division (VAQCD) 
• Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) 
• Puget Sound Clean Air Agency (PSCAA) 
• Southwest Clean Air Agency (SWCAA) 
• San Diego Air Pollution Control District (SDAPCD) 
• Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (ODEQ) 
• South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) 
• Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) 

 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://dec.vermont.gov/air-quality/permits/source-categories/coffee-roasters 
• https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/AP_Coffee-Roasting.pdf 
• https://pscleanair.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4633/Coffee-Roaster-GO-Draft.  
• https://www.swcleanair.gov/docs/regs/reg400.pdf. 
• https://www.sdapcd.org/content/sdapcd/permits/equipment-types/coffee-roasters.html  
• https://www.sdapcd.org/content/dam/sdapcd/documents/permits/APCD-bact.pdf. 
• https://www.oregon.gov/deq/FilterPermitsDocs/AQGP-016.pdf.  
• http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/reg-ii/rule-219.pdf?sfvrsn=4 
• https://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/dotgov/files/rules/reg-2-permits/2021-

amendments/documents/20211215_rg0201-
pdf.pdf?la=en&rev=103cc60e706947d3ad1e4f5a090483c1. 

 
 

Background 
 
ADEC regulation 18 AAC 50.055209 imposes emission limits on industrial processes and fuel-
burning equipment that are applicable to coffee roasting operations in the Fairbanks North Star 
Borough.  This regulation limits the opacity of visible emissions from fuel-burning equipment to 
no more 20 percent averaged over any six consecutive minutes.210  Prior to 2019, neither ADEC 
nor the Borough have adopted regulations specific to emissions from coffee roasting operations. 
 

209 https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1038/18-aac-50.pdf. 
210 Id. 
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In the 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP, ADEC reviewed regulations governing coffee 
roasting facilities.  In the review, ADEC identified several jurisdictions to have permit 
requirements for facilities from which emissions exceed a specific threshold, and coffee roasting 
facilities are not exempted from these requirements.  Among all jurisdictions, ADEC found the 
permit requirement of the San Diego County Air Pollution Control District requiring the use of a 
cyclone in combination with an afterburner or wet scrubber that results in visible emissions that 
are substantially less than 20% opacity to constitute the most stringent emission control 
requirement for coffee roasting operations.  
 
ADEC adopted a new regulation211, 18 AAC 50.078(d), effective January 8, 2020, that requires 
coffee roasters within an area identified in 18 AAC 50.015(b)(3) to install a pollution control 
device on any unit that emits 24 lbs or more of particulate matter within a 12-month period from 
the effective date of the regulation.  ADEC noted that it may waive this requirements if the 
facility provides information demonstrating that control technology is technically or 
economically infeasible.  A spreadsheet212 is available for sources to provide the information 
required to assist in calculating the estimated air emissions for coffee roaster(s) based on the 
specifics of each roaster and how much coffee is roasted each year.  
 
After ADEC adopted this regulation, ADEC required coffee roasters above the emission 
threshold to submit information regarding their businesses and operations.  ADEC sent two sets 
of letters on December 19, 2019, and March 4, 2020, respectively, to four coffee roasters in the 
Nonattainment Area to notify the businesses about the new regulation. ADEC found that one 
North Pole coffee roaster had already installed control technology. The finding that a thermal 
oxidizer is currently used to control emissions from a facility located within the Nonattainment 
Area demonstrated that this measure is technologically feasible.  However, as ADEC adopted the 
new regulation that met the BACM requirement in an alternate form, ADEC dismissed the 
measure for consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan control measure.  
 
EPA in their comments on 2020 Amendments rejected ADEC’s dismissal of measure 67 and 
stated that regulation 18 AAC 50.078(d), is not adequately specific or bounded and lacked 
enforceability.213  EPA stated that the rule does not require the use of emissions controls once 
installed, specify any emission limits, nor monitoring requirements with which the subject 
sources must comply.  In addition, the rule contains a waiver provision based on the facility 
providing information demonstrating that the control technology is technologically or 
economically infeasible.  Finally, the State must adopt permanent and enforceable control 
measures for this source category even if certain sources within the source category have existing 
controls.  
 
In response to EPA’s comments,214ADEC re-reviewed coffee roaster regulations in other 
jurisdictions and proposed to develop a new regulation replacing 18 AAC 50.078(d), to address 
the gaps noted by EPA specifically related to enforceability, specifying emission limit for control 

211 Id. 
212 ADEC. Small Source Information & Requirements - Fairbanks North Star Borough PM2.5 Nonattainment Area. 
Accessed at http://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/fbks-pm2-5-small-source-information-requirements/.    
213 88 Fed. Reg. at 58010. 
214 Id. 
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devices, and waiver provision based on infeasibility.  The regulation is structured as a ‘permit-
by-rule’ which will contain substantive requirements that apply to coffee roasters over the 24 
pounds per year emission threshold.   
 
EPA in their Final Rule215, proposed to disapprove ADEC’s BACM determination for coffee 
roasters until the EPA evaluates the revised regulation when the State submits it to the EPA as a 
SIP revision.  
 
Analysis 
 
Since the 2020 Amendments, ADEC updated the review of permitting requirements in other 
jurisdictions that are either based on the amount of coffee beans roasted or emissions produced.  
These requirements vary dramatically from region to region, with some regions imposing permit 
restrictions along with control technology requirements (e.g. Vermont, Puget Clean Air Agency), 
while some regions have no regulations (e.g. Utah).  
 
• Vermont Air Quality and Climate Division (VAQCD): In Vermont, an Air Permit is not 

required for coffee operations roasting less than 1 million pounds of green beans annually, 
although requirements for emission controls may still apply.216  VAQCD requires all 
production-scale roasters to be equipped with emission controls such as a catalytic or thermal 
oxidizer to control odors and visible emissions from the roasting operation, and precautions 
to minimize or control dust from the handling of green and roasted beans.  There may be 
some exceptions for small roasting operations (which typically have a capacity of less than 5 
pounds per batch) to have uncontrolled coffee roasting.   

 
• Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE): The Air Pollution 

Control Division at the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) 
administers and enforces the regulations governing coffee roasters.  The CDPHE has a 
procedure for filing Air Pollutant Emission Notices (APENs) and permits.217  In attainment 
and maintenance areas for PM2.5, CDPHE requires coffee roasters that emit more than 2 tons 
per year of PM2.5 to obtain an air permit. 218  Permit requirements may include a 20% opacity 
limit on visual emissions, as well as a cyclone or afterburner to control emissions.  These 
requirements do not apply to all coffee roaster permits.219  The CDPHE conducts routine 
inspections for compliance and imposes corrective actions in cases of noncompliance.220 

 

215 88 Fed. Reg. 84626. 
216 Vermont Department of Environmental Conservation, “Coffee Roasters,” available at 
https://dec.vermont.gov/air-quality/permits/source-categories/coffee-roasters.  
217 Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE), Air Pollution Emissions Notice (APEN). 
Accessed at https://cdphe.colorado.gov/apens-and-air-permits/do-you-need-an-apen-or-air-permit.  
218 Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, “APEN and permit threshold table,” available at 
https://cdphe.colorado.gov/apens-and-air-permits/apen-and-permit-threshold-table (indicating for PM2.5 that 
Colorado does not have an existing nonattainment area for this pollutant and utilization of the attainment area 
thresholds is appropriate). 
219Telephone communication with Jonathan Brickey, Construction Permitting Unit II Supervisor, CDPHE Air 
Pollution Control Division (March 15, 2022). 
220 Colorado Small Business Assistance Program, An Overview of Colorado Air Regulations for: Coffee Roasting 
(October 2022), available at https://cdphe.colorado.gov/apen-and-permitting-guidance-from-sbap. 
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• Puget Sound Clean Air Agency (PSCAA), Washington: PSCAA regulations require each 
coffee roaster to register as per PSCAA Regulation I, Section 5.05.  Some large coffee 
roasting operations may need to report annual emissions under Agency Regulation I, Section 
5.05(b) depending on the facility-wide actual emissions that exceed 25 tons/year for PM, 
VOC, CO, NOx, and SO2.  PSCAA also created a General Order of Approval221 for 5–12 
kilogram per batch coffee roasting operations, which functions as a general permit.  The 
General Order requires installation of a thermal or catalytic oxidizer and recordkeeping.  
 

• Southwest Clean Air Agency (SWCAA), Washington: Under SWCAA’s regulations for air 
pollution sources,222 batch coffee roasters with a capacity of 10 pounds or greater of green 
coffee beans per batch must install and operate an afterburner (i.e. thermal oxidizer).  For 
batch configuration coffee roasters with a capacity of less than 100 pounds of green coffee 
beans per batch, visible emissions must not exceed five percent opacity for more than three 
minutes in any one hour.  In addition, such coffee roasters must be equipped with an 
afterburner, and have recordkeeping and reporting requirements. 
 

• San Diego Air Pollution Control District (SDAPCD): SDAPCD requires a permit for any 
coffee roaster with a maximum capacity above 11 pounds (5 kg).  The guidance does not 
specifically require control technology, but rather states that emissions from coffee roasting 
are typically controlled using a combination of a cyclone and either thermal oxidizer or wet 
scrubber.223  If a piece of equipment or process emits more than 10 pounds per day of PM10, 
NOx, VOCs, or SOx, then the application must include a BACT analysis. For PM, the BACT 
control option is natural gas with cyclone and afterburner.224  
 

• Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (ODEQ): ODEQ administers a general permit 
applicable to coffee roasters that roast 30 or more green tons per year.225  Such roasters must 
have a pollution control device installed and operational, which may be a direct-flame 
afterburner (i.e. thermal oxidizer) or catalytic converter.  Visible emissions must not equal or 
exceed 20% opacity.  The permittee must not allow plant site emissions to exceed 9 tons per 
year of PM2.5.  The permittee must monitor and maintain records. 

 
• Utah: Utah has no rule governing coffee roaster emissions and does not require the 

installation of any control technology.  The Utah Department of Environmental Air Quality 

221 Puget Sound Clean Air Agency, “General Order of Approval,” available at 
https://pscleanair.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4633/Coffee-Roaster-GO-Draft.  
222 Southwest Clean Air Agency, General Regulations for Air Pollution Sources (February 11, 2023), available at 
https://www.swcleanair.gov/docs/regs/reg400.pdf. 
223 San Diego Air Pollution Control District. Coffee Roasters. Accessed at 
https://www.sdapcd.org/content/sdapcd/permits/equipment-types/coffee-roasters.html  
224 San Diego County Air Pollution Control District, New Source Review Requirements for Best Available Control 
Technology (BACT) Guidance Document (June 2011), at 3-8 (PDF page 30), available at 
https://www.sdapcd.org/content/dam/sdapcd/documents/permits/APCD-bact.pdf.  
225 Oregon Department of Environmental Quality, Air Contaminant Discharge Permit, at 1, available at 
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/FilterPermitsDocs/AQGP-016.pdf.  

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-122

https://pscleanair.gov/DocumentCenter/View/4633/Coffee-Roaster-GO-Draft
https://www.swcleanair.gov/docs/regs/reg400.pdf
https://www.sdapcd.org/content/sdapcd/permits/equipment-types/coffee-roasters.html
https://www.sdapcd.org/content/dam/sdapcd/documents/permits/APCD-bact.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/deq/FilterPermitsDocs/AQGP-016.pdf


assists with funding through the Utah Clean Air Partnership Program (UCAIR) for 
businesses to install control technology to reduce emissions.226 

 
• South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD, California): SCAQMD’s rules 

201 and 203 require a permit to both construct and operate a coffee roaster.227  Per Rule 219, 
a coffee roaster is permit-exempt if its maximum capacity is 15 kilograms or less per batch. 

 
• Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD), California: AQMD rules 2-1-301 

and 302 require a permit to construct and operate facilities, which include coffee roasters.228  
Similar to the South Coast, BAAQM exempts from these requirements coffee roasters with a 
capacity of less than 15 pounds of beans per hour, and any stoners or coolers operated in 
conjunction with such roasters. 

 
Following the review of requirements in other air quality regulatory agencies, and in response to 
EPA’s concerns, ADEC is repealing and readopting regulation 18 AAC 50.078. This regulation 
applies to any coffee roasting unit in the Nonattainment Area that emits 24 pounds or more of 
particulate matter in 12 months.  The emission threshold was approved by the EPA.229  Coffee 
roasters that emit more than 24lb/yr of PM emissions are required to use a pollution control 
device, such as a catalytic or thermal oxidizer, or other control devices with an equivalent 
emissions control efficiency.  Once controls have been installed, the coffee roasting units are 
subject to an emission control limit of 0.12 lbs per ton of coffee roasted.  This limit is based on 
AP-42’s emission factors for coffee roasting operations with a thermal oxidizer.230  The 
regulation limits the opacity of visible emissions from coffee roasters to no more than 10 percent 
averaged over any six consecutive minutes.  The revised opacity limits strengthen the limits that 
the coffee roasters were subjected to via 18 AAC 50.055.  Furthermore,  regulation requires the 
coffee roasting units to monitor and maintain records related to the operation, maintenance of the 
units, and performance of the control devices and submit an annual report.  The regulation does 
not have a waiver provision exempting facilities that demonstrate technological or economic 
infeasibility. 
 
Conclusion 
 
ADEC’s new regulation, in the form of a permit-by-rule, addresses EPA’s concerns regarding 
enforceability, specifying an emission limit for control devices and the waiver provision based 
on infeasibility.  The adoption of the regulation is sufficient to meet the BACM requirements of 
this measure, and no additional analysis is required.  

226 Utah Clean Air Partnership Program, available at https://www.ucair.org/; see also Bailey Toolson, “Air Assist 
Helps Millcreek Coffee Roasters Reduce Emissions with Every Cup,” Utah Department of Environmental Quality, 
Air Quality (October 22, 2021), available at https://deq.utah.gov/air-quality/air-assist-millcreek-coffee-roasters-
reduce-emissions.  
227 South Coast Air Quality Management District, Permit Rules, Accessed at http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-
source/rule-book/reg-ii/rule-219.pdf?sfvrsn=4 
228 Bay Area Air Quality Management District, Regulation 2: Permits (December 15, 2021), available at 
https://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/dotgov/files/rules/reg-2-permits/2021-
amendments/documents/20211215_rg0201-pdf.pdf?la=en&rev=103cc60e706947d3ad1e4f5a090483c1.  
229 88 Fed. Reg. at 1480. Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
230 AP-42. Table 9.13.2-1. Accessed at https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2020-10/documents/c9s13-2.pdf. 
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Measure 68:  Charbroilers 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Bay Area Air Quality Management District (California) 
• South Coast Air Quality Management District (California) 
• San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District (California) 
• Utah Department of Environmental Quality (UDAQ)  
• New York City Department of Environmental Protection (NYCDEP) 

 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/dotgov/files/rules/reg-6-rule-2-commercial-cooking-
equipment/documents/rg0602.pdf?la=en; 

• http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/reg-xi/rule-1138.pdf?sfvrsn=4,  
• http://www.valleyair.org/rules/currntrules/r4692.pdf 
• https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r307/r307-303.htm.  
• https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCadmin/0-0-0-42985. 

 
 
Background 
 
ADEC’s regulation 18 AAC 50.055231 imposes emission limits on industrial processes and fuel-
burning equipment that are apply to charbroiling operations in the Nonattainment Area.  This 
regulation limits the opacity of visible emissions from fuel-burning equipment to no more than 
20 percent averaged over any six consecutive minutes.   Although, ADEC nor the Borough have 
adopted regulations specific to emissions from charbroiling operations, regulation 18 AAC 
50.055 serves as a BACM control measure for charbroilers in the Nonattainment Area. 
  
In the 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP, ADEC reviewed the existing emission control 
requirements from other air quality regulatory agencies to reduce PM2.5 emissions from 
charbroiler operations.  Based on the review of air quality regulations, ADEC found installing a 
control device to reduce emissions from charbroilers to be technologically feasible.  As part of 
the BACM process, ADEC followed the technological feasibility analysis by conducting an 
economic analysis related to installing a catalytic oxidizer on charbroilers in the Nonattainment 
Area.  ADEC found that installing a catalyst oxidizer on charbroilers is not cost-effective, and 
therefore dismissed it for consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan control measure.  
 
EPA in their comments232 on the 2020 Amendments, stated that while ADEC’s economic 
analysis was reasonable, ADEC did not evaluate other available control measures, and did not 
explain whether chain-driven or underfired charbroilers are present in the Nonattainment Area.  
 

231 https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1038/18-aac-50.pdf. 
232 88 Fed. Reg. at 1480. 
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Following EPA’s proposal, ADEC performed a deeper investigation by reaching out to local 
agencies to determine the types of charbroilers present in the Nonattainment Area and evaluated 
the information obtained as part of regulation 18 AAC 50.055 that was not accounted for in 
ADEC’s prior SIP submittal on control measures.  ADEC also conducted a thorough review of 
available charbroiler regulations and control technologies from other air quality agencies around 
the country.  Based on the information, ADEC conducted a technological and economic analysis 
of different control technologies for the underfired charbroilers present in the Nonattainment 
Area. 
 
EPA in their Final Rule233 found ADEC’s analysis to fill the analytical gaps noted in EPA’s 
Proposal.  EPA found the ADEC’s economic analysis acceptable for the different control 
technologies for underfired charbroilers and accepted the ADEC’s findings that installing 
charbroiler emission controls is economically infeasible at this time.  EPA also accepted that the 
visible emission limit in 18 AAC 50.055 constituted BACM for the charbroiler source category. 
 
 
 
 
 
Analysis 
 
Charbroiling consists of cooking products, generally meat, at a high temperature in commercial 
establishments like restaurants and large-scale cooking operations.234 Underfired charbroilers 
have a heating source, a high-temperature radiant surface, and a slotted grill that holds the meat 
or other food while exposing it to radiant heat.  Chain-driven charbroilers have conveyor belts to 
carry the meat through the flame area, where the flames broil the meat on the top and bottom 
simultaneously.  For underfired charbroilers, PM and VOC emissions occur when grease from 
the meat falls onto the radiant surface.  Compared to chain-driven charbroilers, underfired 
charbroilers produce four times the emissions when cooking equivalent amounts of products.  
The most widely used control technology for a chain-driven charbroiler is a catalytic oxidizer 
due to their reduced costs compared to other technologies.  But this technology is not 
recommended for underfired charbroilers, because the exhaust from these devices loses too much 
heat as it is directed to the control device, and the reactions at the catalyst cannot take place at 
this lower temperature 235,236  For underfired charbroilers, the most widely cited control 

233 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626. 
234 Jill Whynot, Gary Quinn, Pamela Perryman & Peter Votlucka, Control of Fine Particulate (PM2.5) Emissions 
from Restaurant Operations, 49 Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association 95-99 (1999).   
235 SJVUAPCD, Revised Proposed Amendments to Rule 4692 (Commercial Charbroiling) August 20, 2009. 
Accessed at http://www.valleyair.org/workshops/postings/2009/09-17-09/4692/R4692_staffreport_PH2.pdf.  
236 Yang S, Subramanian S, Singleton D, Schroeder C, Schroeder W, Gundersen MA, Cronin SB. First results on 
transient plasma-based remediation of nanoscale particulate matter in restaurant smoke emissions. Environmental 
Research 2019,178:108635.   

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-125

http://www.valleyair.org/workshops/postings/2009/09-17-09/4692/R4692_staffreport_PH2.pdf


technologies are electrostatic precipitators (“ESP”), high-efficiency particulate arresting 
(“HEPA”) filtration systems, and wet scrubbers.237,238  
 
ADEC evaluated the type of charbroilers present in the Nonattainment Area based on 
information gathered as part of regulation 18 AAC 50.078(c), and a survey of local authorities.  
ADEC adopted a new regulation 18 AAC 50.078(c), effective January 8, 2020, that required 
small area sources of PM2.5, including commercial charbroilers, to provide one-time information 
on their operations by March 15, 2020, or 60 days after commencing operations.  This 
information consisted of the location, operation type (chain driven versus underfired), number of 
operations, fuel used, # of lbs of meat cooked/week, etc.  On January 28, 2020, ADEC sent 187 
letters to restaurants that were possible commercial charbroiler operators in the Nonattainment 
Area.  ADEC received responses from 56 out of the 187 restaurants, 13 of which reported that a 
charbroiling device was present in their establishment. All 13 reported devices were underfired 
charbroilers.  
  
Due to the lower response rate, ADEC queried its Environmental Health Division (which 
includes food safety regulators), the State Fire Marshals, and third-party inspectors. None were 
aware of any chain-driven charbroilers operating in the Nonattainment Area.  Thus, based on the 
information gathered under the regulation and the survey, as well as by querying local 
authorities, ADEC updated its analysis to pertain to underfired charbroilers only.239  
Additionally, ADEC expanded its review of regulations adopted by other air quality regulatory 
agencies from the 2020 Amendments by focusing on regulations in place for underfired 
charbroiling emissions.  Their review included several districts in California and agencies in 
other states (e.g., Utah, New York). 
 
The Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) adopted Regulation 6, Rule 2 
(Commercial Cooking Equipment) in 2007 to reduce PM emissions from both chain-driven and 
under-fire charbroiling sources.240  The regulation requires a catalytic oxidizer for chain-driven 
charbroilers with a throughput of at least 400 pounds of beef per week. For underfired 
charbroilers, Rule 2 applies to new and existing restaurants with underfired charbroilers with an 
aggregate grill surface area of ten (10) square feet that purchase more than 1,000 pounds of beef 
per week and cook 800 pounds of beef/week.  For such underfired charbroilers, the rule requires 
operators to control emissions using a certified control device that limits PM10 emissions to no 
more than 1 pound of PM10 per 1,000 pounds of beef cooked.  While the rule’s requirements for 
chain-driven charbroilers have been successfully implemented, the same is not true for 

237 SJVUAPCD, 2017 District Staff Report. Accessed at 
http://www.valleyair.org/Board_meetings/GB/agenda_minutes/Agenda/2017/September/final/10.pdf; SJVUAPCD, 
2020 District Staff Report. Accessed at 
https://www.valleyair.org/Board_meetings/GB/agenda_minutes/Agenda/2020/December/final/11.pdf.  
238 SCAQMD, 2009. Accessed at http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/support-documents/rule-
1138/par1138pdsr.pdf. 
239 To the extent that there may be chain-driven charbroilers in the Nonattainment Area, EPA already accepted the 
State’s analysis that catalytic oxidizers are economically infeasible control measures for the FNSB Nonattainment 
Area. 88 Fed. Reg. at 1480. 
240 Bay Area Air Quality Management District, Regulation 6 – Particulate Matter Rule 2 Commercial Cooking 
Equipment, http://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/dotgov/files/rules/reg-6-rule-2-commercial-cooking-
equipment/documents/rg0602.pdf?la=en, accessed on June 21, 2018. 

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-126

https://www.valleyair.org/Board_meetings/GB/agenda_minutes/Agenda/2020/December/final/11.pdf
http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/support-documents/rule-1138/par1138pdsr.pdf
http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/support-documents/rule-1138/par1138pdsr.pdf
http://www.baaqmd.gov/%7E/media/dotgov/files/rules/reg-6-rule-2-commercial-cooking-equipment/documents/rg0602.pdf?la=en
http://www.baaqmd.gov/%7E/media/dotgov/files/rules/reg-6-rule-2-commercial-cooking-equipment/documents/rg0602.pdf?la=en


underfired charbroilers.  Most underfired charbroilers fall below the eligibility thresholds, and 
there is a lack of certified control devices.241,242  
 
The South Coast Air Quality Management District adopted Rule 1138 (Control of Emissions 
from Restaurant Operations) in 1997 to control emissions from chain-driven charbroilers only.243  
The Rule requires the use of catalytic oxidizers to control PM10 emissions from chain-driven 
charbroilers but does not set a specific emission limit.  Since adopting Rule 1138, SCAQMD 
staff examined underfired charbroilers and made a series of reports to the SCAQMD Governing 
Board (from 1999 to 2004), to present results of underfired charbroiler control technology 
research.  To date, a variety of control device technologies have been tested, and SCAQMD staff 
has also reviewed existing and proposed underfired charbroiler control programs undertaken by 
other regions.244  Due to the lack of demonstrable cost-effective technology, SCAQMD’s 2016 
Air Quality Management Plan included a rule for underfired charbroilers only as a contingency 
measure if they fail to reach attainment.  The SCAQMD has yet to adopt this contingency 
measure. 245 
 
The San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District (SJVUAPCD)’s  Rule 4692 
(Commercial Charbroiling), adopted in 2002, requires the installation and operation of control 
devices on chain-driven commercial charbroilers that cook 400 pounds of meat or more per 
week. 246  The emissions control devices are required to achieve 83% control efficiency for PM 
and 86% control efficiency for VOC.  Since then, the District has extensively researched the 
possibility of imposing similar requirements for underfired charbroiling operations, by 
identifying different viable control technologies and evaluating their technological and economic 
feasibility.  However, the unavailability of a feasible and cost-effective control technology has 
been a barrier to establishing these requirements.  
 
As part of SJUAPCD’s 2009 amendments to Rule 4692, the District determined that control 
techniques (ESP, filtration, and wet scrubbers) for underfired charbroilers were unproven and 
extremely costly.247  Since 2009, the district initiated a Charbroiler incentive program and 
formed a Restaurant Charbroiler Technology Partnership (“RCTP”) to identify potential 
technology vendors and reach out to restaurant owners.248  Despite the District’s efforts in 

241 BAAQMD, 2013. Unfired Charbroilers. Accessed at https://www.baaqmd.gov/~/media/files/compliance-and-
enforcement/advisories/restaurants/underfired-charbroiler-advisory-final-1-18-13.pdf?la=en.   
242 SJVUAPCD, 2020 District Staff Report. Accessed at 
https://www.valleyair.org/Board_meetings/GB/agenda_minutes/Agenda/2020/December/final/11.pdf. 
243 SCAQMD. Rule 1138. Accessed at http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/reg-xi/rule-
1138.pdf?sfvrsn=4.  
244 SCAQMD, 2009. Proposed Amended Rule 1138. Accessed at http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-
book/support-documents/rule-1138/par1138pdsr.pdf. 
245 SCAQMD, 2016. Air Quality Management Plan, Appendix IV-C. Accessed at 
http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/clean-air-plans/air-quality-management-plans/2016-air-quality-
management-plan/final-2016-aqmp/appendix-iv-a.pdf?sfvrsn=4.   
246 SJVUAPCD, Rule 4692: Commercial Charbroiling (Adopted March 21, 2002; Amended September 17, 2009; 
Amended June 21, 2018), at 4692-1. Accessed at https://www.valleyair.org/rules/currntrules/r4692.pdf.    
247 SJUAPCD, 2015 Plan for the 1997 PM2.5 Standard. Appendix C: BACM and MSM for Stationary and Area 
Sources. Accessed at http://www.valleyair.org/Air_Quality_Plans/docs/PM25-2015/C.pdf.   
248 SJVUAPCD, 2017 District Staff Report. Accessed at 
http://www.valleyair.org/Board_meetings/GB/agenda_minutes/Agenda/2017/September/final/10.pdf. 
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promoting the RCTP program, the District has faced difficulty in finding restaurants willing to 
partner with the District to evaluate the control technologies.249  In 2018, due to the lack of 
economic and technologically feasible controls, the district amended Rule 4692250, to require 
underfired charbroiler operators to submit a one-time report, mentioned above, as well as permit-
exempt equipment registration for units with a meat throughput greater than 400 pounds/week, or 
greater than 10,800 pounds/year, not to exceed 875 pounds/week.  EPA approved these 
amendments to Rule 4982 in 2020.251  In their 2020 staff report, the District adopted an emission 
reduction strategy for underfired charbroiling, including incentives, providing guidance to cities 
and counties, and assisting the California Air Resources Board in developing a statewide control 
measure.  
  
As of December 2022, the district has not identified a cost-effective control technology for 
regulating underfired broiler charbroiling emissions.252  In their latest 2023 Initial PM2.5 SIP, the 
District reevaluated additional control technologies such as regenerative filters, and wool filters 
to reduce emissions from underfired charbroilers.253  The District continued to find the control 
technologies economically infeasible.  
 
The Utah Department of Environmental Quality (UDAQ) last amended R307-303 (Commercial 
Cooking) in 2018 to control PM2.5 emissions from chain-driven charbroilers in PM2.5 
nonattainment counties.254  This regulation requires the use of catalytic oxidizers on all chain-
driven charbroilers in these jurisdictions, regardless of meat processing capacity.  The regulation 
also requires that the opacity of exhaust from catalytic oxidizers serving chain-driven 
charbroilers not exceed 20% using U.S. EPA Method 9.  As part of its BACM analysis in 2020, 
UDAQ evaluated the control technologies for underfired charbroilers and found none of the 
technologies to be economically feasible for implementation, and thus the Rule does not cover 
underfired charbroilers.255 
 
New York City Department of Environmental Protection (NYCDEP): NYC Code Rule 24-149.4 
prohibits operation of any new commercial charbroiler, or existing chain-driven commercial 
charbroiler, to cook more than 875 pounds of meat per week unless it is equipped with an 
emission control device.256  Pursuant to this rule in the city code, NYCDEP promulgated more 

249 SJVUAPCD, 2020 District Staff Report. Accessed at 
https://www.valleyair.org/Board_meetings/GB/agenda_minutes/Agenda/2020/December/final/11.pdf.   
250 SJVUAPCD, 2018 PM2.5 Plan. Accessed at https://www.valleyair.org/pmplans/documents/2018/pm-plan-
adopted/2018-Plan-for-the-1997-2006-and-2012-PM2.5-Standards.pdf.    
251 Federal Register Notice, 2020. Accessed at https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/05/29/2020-
11261/air-plan-approval-california-san-joaquin-valley-unified-air-pollution-control-district-and-feather.    
252 Based on communication with Kevin M. Wing on December 10, 2022, Senior Air Quality Specialist, Air Quality 
Science and Planning, SJUAPCD. 
253 SJVUAPCD, 2023. Initial SIP Requirements for the 2012 Annual PM2.5 Standard. Accessed at  
https://ww2.valleyair.org/rules-and-planning/air-quality-plans/particulate-matter-plans/2023-pm25-plan-for-the-san-
joaquin-valley/. 
254 UDAQ. Rule 307-303. Accessed at https://rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r307/r307-303.htm.  
255 UDAQ 2020 Technical Support Document (TSD), Accessed at https://www.regulations.gov/document/EPA-
R08-OAR-2020-0098-0015.    
256 NYC Rule 24-149.4 Commercial charbroilers. Accessed at 
https://codelibrary.amlegal.com/codes/newyorkcity/latest/NYCadmin/0-0-0-42985. 
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specific rules for underfired charbroilers.257  No person may operate any new underfired 
commercial charbroiler to cook more than 875 pounds of meat per week unless an ESP or other 
emissions control device, that has been tested and certified, has been installed.  As of July 2020, 
NYCDEP informed EPA that it was not aware of any new restaurants that had installed controls 
for underfired charbroilers.258  As of late 2020, San Joaquin Valley air quality staff were aware 
that NYCDEP was working with the New York City Department of Buildings to require the 
installation of a certified control device prior to new restaurants opening, as part of the 
permitting process.259  Based on staff-level discussions, the retrofit installation of control devices 
on existing operations was not being required at that time. 
 
Based on the review of regulations for underfired charbroilers, ADEC found no practical 
demonstration of cost-effective control technology by any air quality agency.  Based on EPA’s 
suggestion and its review of the SIPs and survey of local authorities, ADEC evaluated the 
feasibility of electrostatic precipitators (ESPs), wet scrubbers, and filtration as potential control 
technologies for underfired charbroilers.  
 
ADEC researched the technological feasibility of installing control devices (ESPs, wet scrubbers, 
and filtration) in Fairbanks Nonattainment Area for underfired charbroilers by contacting 
vendors.  The vendors identified issues related to both shipping and maintenance of the control 
technology.  Due to the size of the control technologies, shipping to Alaska is often prohibitive 
and certainly vastly different than shipping within the lower-48.  Vendors may be able to ship 
required hardware to the nearest port, but beyond that, is the customer’s responsibility to get the 
hardware delivered to its place of use.  This, again, imposes challenges unique to Alaska in both 
scale and required services to do so.  In addition to shipping issues, there is no available 
personnel with sufficient training to maintain these technologies.  The service of this technology 
is complex and requires service companies or trained staff to be available locally, neither of 
which currently exist in the Nonattainment Area.  Further, delays in required maintenance lower 
the efficiency of the control technologies.  A combination of review of other air quality 
regulations, and barriers to installation and maintenance of control devices makes this measure 
technologically infeasible. 
 
Although ADEC dismissed this measure based on technological infeasibility, ADEC also 
evaluated the economic feasibility for ESP, filtration, and wet scrubbers.  ADEC developed cost-
effectiveness estimates based on the methodology followed by SJUAPCD and using cost 
estimates specific to Alaska.  ADEC analyzed the cost-effectiveness of these control 
technologies based on the most comprehensive economic analysis available, which was 
developed by SJVAPCD in its 2018 PM2.5 Plan250 and 2020 Staff Report242.  ADEC adjusted the 

257 NYCDEP, Notice of Adoption of Final Rule (2016). Accessed at http://donerighthfs.com/wp-
content/uploads/2018/03/commercial-char-broiler-rule.pdf.   
258 EPA Region 8, Technical Support Document: Proposed Action on the Area Source Rule Revisions, Emission 
Limit Revisions, Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) Program Revisions, and Best Available Control Measure/Best 
Available Control Technology (BACM/BACT) Determinations within Utah’s Salt Lake City and Provo 2006 24-
Hour PM2.5 State Implementation Plans, (October 2020) available at https://www.regulations.gov/document/EPA-
R08-OAR-2020-0098-0015.   
259 SJVAPCD, Memorandum re: Item Number 11: Adopt Proposed Commercial Underfired Charbroiling Emissions 
Reduction Strategy (December 17, 2020), at 8, available at 
https://www.valleyair.org/Board_meetings/GB/agenda_minutes/Agenda/2020/December/final/11.pdf.  
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costs for inflation and the difference in labor costs between California and Alaska, plus projected 
shipping costs from the continental United States to Alaska.  
 
SJVAPCD reported cost estimates for ESP and filtration technologies as a range rather than a 
single number due to the wide range of variables involved in the cost estimates, including 
equipment type, simple or complicated configuration, age of the restaurant’s infrastructure, and 
more.  Installing new controls on existing restaurants can be expensive, requiring structural, 
electrical, or plumbing modifications, compared to new restaurants that can integrate emission 
controls into the design.  Based on SJVAPCD’s reasoning, ADEC chose to use this same 
approach of presenting cost-effectiveness as a range rather than as a single number.  
 
For the Fairbanks Nonattainment Area, ADEC found the range of cost-effectiveness for 
installing an ESP for an underfired charbroiler to be between $40,343 and $528,940 per ton of 
PM2.5 removed, based on a removal efficiency of 86%.260  ADEC found the range of cost-
effectiveness of installing a filtration system for an underfired charbroiler to be between $43,369 
and $568,610 per ton of PM removed, based on a removal efficiency of 80%.  The cost-
effectiveness analysis for filtration represents wet scrubbers, because wet scrubbers require 
filtration.  A wet scrubber is essentially a fine stream of water and detergent that washes the 
particulates from the underfired charbroiler’s exhaust, which passes through a filtration system 
before discharging to the sewer.  Therefore, the cost estimates developed for ESP and filtration 
systems conservatively represent the cost estimates for wet scrubbers, because wet scrubbers are 
an additional cost upstream of filtration systems.261 
 
These costs per ton are prohibitive for restaurants using underfired charbroilers in the 
Nonattainment Area.  Under the higher standard that applies to BACM, imposing ESPs, wet 
scrubbers, and filtration on underfired charbroilers in the Nonattainment Area is economically 
infeasible. 
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion of these measures is unchanged from the 2020 Amendments. Installing 
emissions control devices such as ESP, filtration, and wet scrubbers for underfired charbroilers 
continues to be both technologically and economically infeasible for the Nonattainment Area.  
ADEC based its prior analysis on chain-driven charbroilers and found that catalytic oxidizers 
were technologically but not economically feasible as BACM.  EPA approved this aspect of 
ADEC’s analysis.262  Updated information and further research indicated the presence of only 
underfired charbroilers in the Nonattainment Area, and the controls for underfired charbroilers 
are different.  ADEC evaluated the technological and economic feasibility analysis for ESP, 

260 SCAQMD, Appendix IV-A, 2016. Accessed at http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/clean-air-plans/air-
quality-management-plans/2016-air-quality-management-plan/final-2016-aqmp/appendix-iv-a.pdf?sfvrsn=4, Pg. IV-
A-186. As the removal efficiency information was not available from the SJVUAPCD 2018 and 2020 reports, the 
latest information from the SCAQMD’s 2016 Air Quality Plan was utilized.  
261 SJVUAPCD combined the cost estimates for both ESP and filtration. ADEC used the cost estimates reported by 
SJVUAPCD but separated the technologies based on their removal efficiencies as filtration has a lower removal 
efficiency compared to ESP and estimated the cost-effectiveness estimates.  
262 88 Fed. Reg. at 1480. Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-130

http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/clean-air-plans/air-quality-management-plans/2016-air-quality-management-plan/final-2016-aqmp/appendix-iv-a.pdf?sfvrsn=4
http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/clean-air-plans/air-quality-management-plans/2016-air-quality-management-plan/final-2016-aqmp/appendix-iv-a.pdf?sfvrsn=4


filtration systems, and wet scrubbers for underfired charbroilers and found all controls to be 
technologically and economically infeasible as BACM.  
 
The adoption of the referenced state regulations are sufficient to meet the BACM requirements 
of this measure, therefore the measure is technologically feasible and eligible for Step 4 cost 
effectiveness analysis.  The Step 4 analysis of the information collected under 18 AAC 50.078(c) 
found that installing catalyst oxidizers on charbroiling facilities is not cost effective, and 
therefore not eligible for consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan control measure.   

Measure 69:  Incinerators 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• South Coast AQMD 
• Washington State 
• Colorado 
• New York State 

 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• See listed footnotes below 
 
Background 
 
The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, under the Alaska Administrative Code 
18.AAC.50.050 – Incinerator Emission Standards, PM emissions are restricted to the levels, 
which vary with the size of the facility, that are shown in the following table:263 
 

263 Alaska Administrative Code Title 18, Environmental Conservation, Chapter 50 Air Quality Control, available at 
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2017-10/documents/sip-ak-approved-regulations-18-aac-50.pdf, accessed 
April 16, 2018 
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These restrictions were most recently amended in 2008. 
 
Under a regulation last amended in 1992, San Joaquin Valley APCD Rule 4203 (Particulate 
Matter Emissions From Incineration of Combustible Refuse) restricts particulate matter 
emissions from refuse incinerators to less than 0.10 pounds per 100 pounds of refuse burned. 264  
The rule also limits particulate emissions to 0.10 grains per dry standard cubic foot (gr/dscf) of 
exhaust gas corrected to 12% CO2 for incinerators having burn rates in excess of 100 pounds per 
hour, and to 0.30 gr/dscf corrected to 12% CO2 for incinerators having burn rates less than or 
equal to 100 pounds per hour. 
 
South Coast AQMD Rule 473 (Disposal of Solid and Liquid Wastes) imposes similar particulate 
matter emission limits on incinerators.265  For incinerators with design combustion rates greater 
than 110 pounds per hour, the emission limit is 0.1 gr/dscf corrected to 12% CO2.  For 
incinerators with design combustion rates less than or equal to 110 pounds per hour, the emission 
limit is 0.3 gr/dscf corrected to 12% CO2.  
 
The Washington Department of Ecology Rule 173-434-130 (Solid Waste Incinerator Facilities) 
requires that incinerators capable of burning 250 or more tons of solid waste per day emit no 
more than 0.020 gr/dscf corrected to 7% O2, and that incinerators capable of burning more than 
12 tons but less than 250 tons of solid waste per day emit no more than 0.030 gr/dscf corrected to 
7% O2.  In addition, Rule 173-434-160 requires the combustion zone temperature not fall below 
1600 degrees F, or not average less than 1800 degrees F over any fifteen-minute period, or that 

264 San Joaquin Valley Unified Air Pollution Control District, Rule 4203 Particulate Matter Emissions from 
Incineration of Combustible Refuse (Adopted May 21, 1992, Amended December 17, 1992), available at 
http://www.valleyair.org/rules/currntrules/r4203.pdf, accessed April 12, 2018 
265 http://www.aqmd.gov/docs/default-source/rule-book/rule-iv/rule-473.pdf?sfvrsn=4, accessed on June 25, 2018. 
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the combustion air leaving the chamber must maintain an oxygen concentration of at least 3% on 
a wet basis.266 
 
Restrictions similar to those in Alaska have been adopted by the Colorado Department of Public 
Health & Environment, where - in areas designated as non-attainment or attainment/maintenance 
for particulate matter - no owner or operator of an incinerator is allowed to cause or permit 
particulate matter emissions of more than 0.10 gr/dscf corrected to 12 % CO2.  In areas 
designated as attainment for particulate matter, the emission limit is 0.15 gr/dscf corrected to 12 
% CO2.267 
 
San Diego County Air Pollution Control District Rule 53 limits combustion particulate emissions 
from incinerators to 0.10 gr/dscf corrected to 12% CO2, except for those with a rated capacity of 
100 pounds per hour or less, which are limited to 0.30 gr/dscf corrected to 12% CO2.268 
 
New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Codes, Rules and Regulations 
Chapter III, Part 219 (Incinerators), Subpart 2.2 (Emission Limitations) limits particulate matter 
emissions from incinerators statewide to 0.010 gr/dscf corrected to 7% O2.   Subpart 6.2 
(Existing Incinerators – New York City, Nassau and Westchester Counties; Particulate 
Emissions) limits particulate emissions from existing incinerators to values displayed in the 
following figure: 
 

266 Washington State Legislature, Chapter 173-434, Solid Waste Incinerator Facilities, available at 
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=173-434&full=true, accessed April 12, 2018 
267 Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Air Quality Control Commission, Regulation No. 1 
Emission Control for Particulate Matter, Smoke, Carbon Monoxide, and Sulfur Oxides 5 CCR1001-3, 2007, 
available at https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/5-CCR-1001-3.pdf, accessed April 12, 2018 
268 San Diego County Air Pollution Control District, Rule 1. Title, available at 
https://www.epa.gov/sites/production/files/2018-
01/documents/san_diego_county_air_pollution_control_district_apcd_rules_compilation_dec_2017.pdf, accessed 
April 16, 2018  
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New York State DEC regulations also limit particulate emissions for existing incinerators in 
other portions of the state to values displayed in a different, less restrictive figure.  Other sections 
of Part 219 place restrictions on the O2 and CO2 exhaust content and minimum combustion 
temperatures, among other requirements.269 
 
Analysis 
 
The regulatory emission limitations of particulate matter from incinerators enforced by San 
Joaquin Valley APCD, South Coast AQMD, San Diego County APCD, Washington State DEQ, 
Colorado DPHE, and New York State DEC are all more restrictive than those applicable to 
incinerators in Fairbanks and are therefore technologically feasible.  

269 Westlaw Compilation of New York Codes, Rules, and Regulations, Subpart 219-2 Municipal and Private Solid 
Waste Incineration Facilities, available at 
https://govt.westlaw.com/nycrr/Browse/Home/NewYork/NewYorkCodesRulesandRegulations?guid=Ib66e7530b5a
011dda0a4e17826ebc834&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)&b
hcp=1, accessed April 12, 2018. 

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-134



 
In the Serious Area SIP, regulation 18 AAC 50.078(c) was adopted which required incinerators 
to submit information on location, type (medical, liquid, solid, etc.), process, fuel, throughput, 
hours of operation, etc.  The Serious Area SIP committed to surveying potential sources and 
evaluating the results to determine if more stringent incinerator regulations are required. 
 
After the Serious Area SIP was adopted ADEC sent 129 requests for information to businesses 
that may have an incinerator.  ADEC received 39 responses to the requests for information. Of 
the 39 responses received, 36 verified that there is no incinerator present at the business location 
and 3 verified that there is an incinerator present at the location.  The sources identified as 
incinerators were: 
Device Make & 
Model 

Source Type Process 
Description 

Operating 
Hours 

Omni EH-350 Used Oil Burning of Used 
Oil 

30 

Home Made Cardboard & 
Paper 

Burning 3hr/2week 

Home Made Wood-Brush Manual Load Summer use 
only 

 
The Omni EH-350 used oil burner is addressed under Measure 70: Used Oil Burners and is not 
considered an affected source for the purposes of this analysis.  The homemade cardboard and 
paper burner is the equivalent of a residential burn barrel and not an affected source under the 
incinerator source category.  The homemade wood-brush burner operates seasonally with only 
summer usage and does not contribute to winter-time air pollution episodes and is therefore not 
considered an affected source.  
 
ADEC does not have any record of permitted sources under the incinerator source category. 
Therefore, there are no existing incinerators to be affected by a regulation change.  
 
Conclusion 
 
The final PM2.5 implementation rule 51.1010(c)(1) and (2) reads in part “The state shall identify 
all sources of direct PM2.5 emissions… The state shall identify all potential control measures to 
reduce emissions from all sources…” This control measure does not control emissions from any 
source within the nonattainment area and is therefore dismissed from the control strategy 
analysis requirements for the 2020 Amendment Plan. 

Measure 70:  Used Oil Burners 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• State of Vermont 
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Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• https://dec.vermont.gov/sites/dec/files/aqc/laws-
regs/documents/AQCD%20Regulations%20ADOPTED_Dec132018.pdf 

 
Background 
 
ADEC identified measures regulating used oil burning – Measures 52, 53, and 70 in the 2020 
amendments to the Serious SIP – implemented by the State of Vermont, and ADEC analyzed the 
feasibility of these measures as part of its submitted BACM analysis.270 Measures 52 and 53 
addressed controls mandated by the State of Vermont prohibiting the burning of used fuel oil in 
small “pot burners” or vaporizing burners.  Both measures were determined to be technologically 
and economically infeasible, given the local conditions in Fairbanks and the cost-effectiveness 
analysis. EPA concurred with ADEC’s determination on both measures.271  
 
During the development of the Serious Area SIP, while considering a set of regulations 
governing the accumulation, distribution, and burning of used oil, it was determined that little 
information is available about the extent of used oil burning in Fairbanks.  Calls to local vendors 
confirmed that used oil is burned, however, no detailed information about the number of 
facilities and homes burning waste oil or the volumes used had been collected. Following this, 
ADEC gathered information on the used oil through the adoption of regulation 
18 AAC 50.078(c)272 which required used oil burners to submit information on the location, # of 
burners, rating, operating hours, fuel use/hour, etc.  ADEC also contacted the local used oil 
marketer and FNSB Solid Waste manager and obtained information on the disposal methods of 
used oil available in the Nonattainment Area.   
 
Based on the information obtained, ADEC concluded that the combustion of used oil is the only 
acceptable disposal method available in the FNSB without shipping the used oil to the lower-48.  
Prohibiting or regulating the combustion of used oil in the FNSB would place a burden on the 
small businesses that rely on the combustion of used oil as a waste disposal method, encouraging 
a small percentage to improperly dispose of the used oil.  Due to the severe environmental 
impacts used oil can have on waterways and drinking water, and the probability that prohibiting 
or regulating the combustion of used oil would lead to improper disposal, ADEC dismissed 
measure 70 from consideration for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP as technically 
infeasible due to potential environmental impacts.   
 
EPA in their Comments on 2020 Amendments273 rejected ADEC’s dismissal of measure 70 by 
stating that the State and EPA have the authority to mitigate potential environmental impacts that 
may occur from illegal oil burning.  EPA also recommended that ADEC evaluate the feasibility 
of requiring used oil generators to collect and ship used oil to a central processing facility in 
Anchorage.  

270 Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, “Amendments to: State Air Quality Control Plan; Vol. III: 
Appendix III.D.7.7” (November 18, 2020) (hereinafter “2020 BACM Analysis”), at 5397-5399, 5427-5429. 
271 88 Fed. Reg. 1481. Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
272 https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1038/18-aac-50.pdf. 
273 88 Fed. Reg. at 1480. Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
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Following EPA’s comments, ADEC revisited local efforts and conducted a technological and 
economic analysis of alternative ways to process used oil that were not analyzed in the 2020 
amendments to the Serious SIP.  The economic feasibility analysis determined that the 
processing of used oil would produce cost-effectiveness estimates for PM2.5 emissions reduction 
that are infeasible and ADEC dismissed measure 70 as BACM.  
 
EPA in their Final Rule274 found ADEC’s analysis to fill the analytical gaps noted in EPA’s 
comments and agreed that banning used oil burners is economically infeasible as BACM at this 
for the Nonattainment Area.  EPA recommended that for used oil emission estimates, there are 
considerably more SO2 than PM2.5 emissions, and economic analysis when based on SO2 would 
provide a more reasonable estimate of benefits.  Accordingly, ADEC updated the economic 
analysis to include SO2 emissions that resulted in cost-effectiveness estimates that are infeasible 
for implementation. 
 
Analysis 
 
Used oil is a waste stream which can pollute the environment if not recycled or disposed of 
properly.  Used motor oil is insoluble, persistent, and can contain toxic chemicals and heavy 
metals. It is a major source of oil contamination of waterways and can result in pollution of 
drinking water sources.  Used oil from one oil change can contaminate one million gallons of 
fresh water – a years’ supply for 50 people275.  Known methods of used oil disposal include276: 
 

• Reconditioned on site – Impurities are removed from the used oil, which is then reused.  
While this form of recycling might not restore the oil to its original condition, it does 
prolong its life. 

• Inserted into a petroleum refinery – Used Oil is introduced as a feedstock into refinery 
production processes. 

• Re-refined – Involves treating used oil to remove impurities so that it can be used as a 
base stock for new lubricating oil. Re-refined prolongs the life of the oil resource 
indefinitely.  This form of recycling is the preferred option because it closes the recycling 
loop by reusing the oil to make the same produce that it was when it started out, and 
therefore uses less energy and less virgin oil. 

• Processed and burned for energy recovery – Involves removing water and particulates so 
that used oil can be burned as fuel to generate heat or to power industrial operations.  
This form of recycling is not as preferable as methods that reuse the material because it 
only enables the oil to be reused once.  Nonetheless, valuable energy is provided (about 
the same as provided by normal heating oil). 

 
The primary Federal regulations that apply to used oil are set out at 40 CFR Part 279.  As 
described in a 2020 Department of Energy (DOE) report to Congress, EPA’s regulations 

274 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626. 
275 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: Managing, Reusing, and Recycling Used Oil, 
https://www.epa.gov/recycle/managing-reusing-and-recycling-used-oil, accessed 8/21/2020  
276 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: Managing Used Oil: Answers to Frequent Questions for Businesses, 
https://www.epa.gov/hw/managing-used-oil-answers-frequent-questions-businesses, accessed 8/21/2020. 
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establish a set of “good housekeeping” requirements for used oil handlers; establish streamlined 
procedures for notification, testing, labeling, and record-keeping; establish a flexible approach 
for tracking offsite shipments that allow used oil handlers to employ standard business practices; 
and set standards for the prevention and cleanup of releases to the environment during used oil 
storage and transit.277  
 
40 CFR Part 279 establishes a structure to minimize the potential mismanagement of used oil 
without discouraging recycling.  Most states, including Alaska,278 have adopted 40 CFR Part 
279.  The 2020 DOE report analyzed the key elements of state practices on used oil collection 
practices and programs.  The report acknowledges that while states “have made progress in 
supporting used oil collection and management . . . there are still areas of the country where used 
oil recycling remains challenging,” and “it is difficult to identify one solution as a model that 
could be used across the country.”  The report also indicates that a key factor impacting the 
recycling of used oil is the convenience of recycling facilities. DOE’s conclusions are consistent 
with ADEC’s analysis, further discussed below, which demonstrates that shipping used oil to a 
central disposal facility (and, alternatively, operating a centrifuge facility in Fairbanks, another 
option evaluated for used oil disposal) is infeasible given costs and local conditions.   
 
In the Serious Area SIP, regulation 18 AAC 50.078(c)279 was adopted which required used oil 
burners to submit information on the location, # of burners, rating, operating hours, fuel 
use/hour, etc. After the Serious Area SIP was adopted, ADEC sent 129 requests for information 
to businesses that may have a used oil burner.  ADEC received 47 responses to the requests for 
information. Of the 47 responses received, 31 verified that there is no used oil burner present at 
the business location and 16 verified that there is a used oil burner present at the location.  Some 
businesses had multiple used oil burners for a total of 19 used oil burners. Fuel source was 
reported as 18 from auto/engine oil and 1 with a mix of restaurant oil with auto/engine oil.  Fuel 
quality reported contained varied results including “filtered”, “raw”, “good”, “high”, and 
“excellent”.  Due to the varied results the fuel quality is not useful information.  Operating hours 
varied from 2 to 24 hours per day.  No control equipment was reported.  Fuel usage ranged from 
0.25 gal/hr to 3.0 gal/hr with an average of 1.61 gal/hr. 
 
The environmental concerns with used oil disposal were brought up by the Air Quality 
Stakeholders group during Serious SIP development in the fall of 2018.  Used oil control 
measures were not included in the final recommended control package for the Serious SIP in part 
due to environmental concerns because there was no alternate disposal method available other 
than burning the used oil.  Air Quality Stakeholders were concerned that small businesses may 
improperly dispose of the used oil resulting in environmental damage if combustion of used oil 
was regulated. 
  

277 U.S. Department of Energy, “Used Oil Management and Beneficial Reuse Options to Address Section 1: Energy 
Savings from Lubricating Oil Public Law 115-345; Report to Congress” (December 2020) (hereinafter “2020 DOE 
Report”). Accessed at 
https://www.energy.gov/sites/prod/files/2020/12/f81/Used%20Oil%20Management%20and%20Beneficial%20Reus
e%20Options%20to%20Address%20Section%201.%20E....pdf.  
278 18 AAC 62.511 (adopting 40 CFR Part 279 by reference). 
279 https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1038/18-aac-50.pdf. 
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Following this, during the development of the 2020 Amendments, ADEC contacted the 
Environmental Compliance Consultants (ECC), a local used oil marketer, to determine disposal 
methods available in the FNSB.  Used oil is collected in the FNSB and stored in holding tanks, 
there are no processing or recycling facilities in the FNSB.  Used oil is transferred overland to 
ECC’s Anchorage facility where it is run through a low-temperature heating and filtration system 
to reduce the basic sediment and water content before being sold for energy recovery to 
industrial clients.  According to ECC, all used oil in Alaska is processed and burned for energy 
recovery, and if the used oil is not going to be burned it must be shipped to the lower 48 for 
recycling. 
 
Additionally, ADEC contacted the FNSB Solid Waste manager to determine how the FNSB 
disposes of used oil received at the landfill.  Prior to Fiscal Year 2020-2021, FNSB operated 
multiple used oil burners where all used oil collected from landfill operations and FNSB 
Transportation/Transit operations was filtered then combusted for space heating needs. The 
FNSB Solid Waste Department transitioned to an alternate disposal method in Fiscal Year 2020-
2021.  All used oil collected is first shipped to an Emerald collection center in Seattle, WA then 
shipped to its final destination, Green American Recycling, LLC at one of their cement plants in 
either Iowa or Missouri.  
 
Based on this information, ADEC concluded that any disposal method other than burning the 
used oil for energy recovery to be technological infeasible as these methods will require overland 
transportation.  Overland transportation on roadways connecting interior Alaska to Anchorage 
has several challenges in terms of the rough winter driving conditions, and issues of accidental 
spillage of the oil that results in environmental damage.  Any disposal method that requires an 
increase in overland transportation will also increase the risk of environmental damage.  Based 
on these findings, ADEC dismissed measure 70 from consideration for the 2020 Amendments 
based on technological infeasibility.  
 
Following EPA’s rejection of ADEC dismissal of measure 70,280  ADEC evaluated the 
technological and economic feasibility of shipping used oil via the FNSB Solid Waste Division 
facility (Option 1).  In addition, ADEC also evaluated the option of purchasing, operating, and 
maintaining a centrifuge facility in Fairbanks to process used oil from all used oil generators in 
the community (Option 2). 
 
In evaluating both options, ADEC reviewed data from a 2010 survey and the data obtained as 
part of 18 AAC 50.078(c) regulation.281  In 2010, ADEC surveyed 25 local auto shops on used 
motor oil usage data.  The survey estimated the total amount of unprocessed used motor oil used 
for burning purposes to be 135,100 gallons per year.  Between the two data collection efforts, 
ADEC found the survey information obtained in 2010 to be comprehensive and based its 
evaluation of Options 1 and 2 on this information.  In evaluating economic feasibility, ADEC 
relied on: (1) 2010 survey data discussed above; (2) information obtained from FNSB Solid 
Waste Division; (3) information obtained from commercial vendors; and (4) data queried from 
public online databases.  ADEC only accounted for non-hazardous used oil (containing <1000 

280 88 Fed. Reg. at 1480. Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
281 https://dec.alaska.gov/media/1038/18-aac-50.pdf. 
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ppm halogens) and did not factor into the evaluation either the charge on the front end for 
collecting used oil and the back end of profit obtained by selling the processed oil at a discounted 
market price. 
 
Option 1: First, ADEC reviewed available information to determine what recycling facilities in 
Fairbanks accept used oil.  According to a 2015 recycling report prepared for the Fairbanks 
North Star Borough’s (“FNSB”) Solid Waste Division,282 used oil is accepted by the following: 
(1) Eielson Air Force Base; (2) Fort Wainwright; and (3) the FNSB recycling facility.  The 
Eielson Air Force Base (“EAFB”) collects used cooking oil, lead acid batteries, and scrap metal 
at both a central receiving center and satellite centers with dumpsters for different materials.  
Historically, participation has been voluntary, and the vast majority of participants are residents 
of the base military housing.  Fort Wainwright (“FTW”) recycles brass, lead-acid batteries, and 
waste oil, and FTW has used private companies to ship the recyclables to Fort Richardson in 
Anchorage.  ADEC contacted both facilities and confirmed that neither EAFB nor FTW accept 
used oil for disposal from off-base community residents and other entities.  FTW also informed 
ADEC that the facility’s used oil burners have been decommissioned.  Therefore, ADEC is not 
evaluating these facilities as potential options to dispose of used oil.  

 
Next, ADEC reviewed available information to determine what recycling facilities in Fairbanks 
accept used oil and found only the FNSB Solid Waste Division to accept waste motor oil.283  
Based on discussion with the FNSB Solid Waste Division,284 the facility ships used oil collected 
from residents and very small quantity generators (VSQGs)285 to a central facility in Anchorage; 
charges shipping costs of $0.95/gallon with < 1000ppm halogens, and $3.58/gallon to ship used 
oil with >1000ppm halogens.  The facility charges only for shipping costs and does not do any 
processing or re-refining of used oil and does not incur any monetary gain from processing or 
sale of used oil.  Although the option of shipping to this facility existed before ADEC submitted 
its 2020 amendments to the Serious SIP, ADEC did not assess its feasibility as a control 
measure.  
 
ADEC found Option 1 to be partially technologically feasible because the FNSB Solid Waste 
Division facility accepts used oil from residents and very small quantity generators which are 
limited to 26 gallons (approximately 100 kilograms) of used oil per month and does not accept 
used oil from large-quantity generators producing greater than 26 gallons per month.  Due to this 
limitation, ADEC would have to explore other alternatives for large-quantity generators of used 
oil. In evaluating economic feasibility, ADEC assumed the emissions reduction to be 50% since 
there is no information on the fraction of used oil used for direct combustion versus disposal 
(while shipping the used oil compared to disposal will result in 100% emissions reduction, 

282 PDC Inc. Engineers, “Recycling Plan & Analysis,” prepared for Fairbanks North Star Borough Solid Waste 
Division (June 12, 2015) (hereinafter “2015 FNSB Recycling Report”). Accessed at 
https://www.fnsb.gov/DocumentCenter/View/1262/2015-PDC-Recycling-Plan-and-Analysis-PDF.  
283Fairbanks North Star Borough, Solid Waste Division, “Solid Waste Management,” Accessed at 
https://fnsb.gov/288/Solid-Waste. 
284 Discussion with Shann Paul Jones, Assistant Solid Waste Manager and Landfill Engineer with FNSB Solid 
Waste Division. Date: November 08, 2022. 
285 Very small quantity generators (VSQG) are those that generate less than 100 kilograms per month of hazardous 
waste, less than 1 kilogram per month of acute hazardous waste, and less than 100 kilograms per month of acute 
spill residue on soil. See 40 C.F.R. § 262. 
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replacing used oil for combustion will not result in 100% reduction as burning used oil results in 
additional emissions).  ADEC estimated the cost-effectiveness for Option 1 to be $730,182 per 
ton of PM and $102,799 per ton of SO2 emissions reduction.  
 
Option 2: ADEC reached out to commercial vendors and referred to publicly available 
information from online vendors and the FNSB Solid Waste Division. Based on that information, 
ADEC found Option 2 to be technologically feasible.  In evaluating economic feasibility, ADEC 
assumed 100% emissions reduction by processing the used oil at the centrifuge facility.  Costs to 
establish a centrifuge facility consisted of building costs, equipment costs (consisting of 
centrifuge, tankage, and forklift), labor, and operational and maintenance costs.  Further, 
discussions with commercial vendors highlighted that centrifuging used oil (e.g., motor oil, 
cooking oil, and oil containing animal fat) is a labor-intensive process as the oil must be 
separated due to the differences in boiling point.  ADEC estimated the cost-effectiveness for 
Option 2 to be $653,989 per ton of PM and $92,072 per ton of SO2 emissions reduction.  
 
Conclusion 
 
Based on ADEC’s additional technological and economic feasibility analysis, ADEC’s dismissal 
of Measure 70 is unchanged from the 2020 Amendments.  The combustion of used oil is the only 
acceptable disposal method available in the FNSB without shipping the used oil to a central 
facility at Anchorage or processing it at a centrifuge facility in Fairbanks.  While ADEC found 
both options to be partly and fully technologically feasible, the economic analysis resulted in 
cost-effectiveness numbers that are infeasible. Due to economic infeasibility, ADEC dismisses 
this measure as BACM in the Fairbanks Nonattainment Area. 
 

Measure R1:  Regional Kilns 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• http://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/comm/docs/fbxSIPpm2-
5/Appendix_III.D.5.07_Adopted_12.24.14.pdf 

 
Background 
 
BACM analysis requirements specified in the final PM2.5 rule mandate the consideration of 
“options not previously considered as RACM/RACT for the area”.  The moderate SIP considered 
funding the construction of a Regional Kiln to provide a source of dry wood.  The RACM 
analysis determined the measure to be technologically infeasible because of concerns about the 
demand for dry wood and emissions from fuels used to dry the wood.   
 
EPA commented that this measure should be further evaluated for BACM and MSM. 
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Analysis 
 
The review of SIP commitments did not identify a single program which mandates the 
construction of Regional Kilns to provide a source of dry wood.  Instead, several programs 
implemented measures that require the use of dry wood in solid fuel burning devices.  Fairbanks 
implemented a requirement that prohibits burning wood that “has more than 20 percent moisture 
content” in a solid fuel burning appliance.286 
 
A review of the RACM analysis shows that the technologically infeasible determination cited 
potential adverse environmental impacts due to the increase in regional emissions from kiln-
dried firewood compared to air-dried firewood because of the fuel required to operate the kiln.  
Recently Aurora Energy Solutions, LLC announced plans287 to install and operate a wood drying 
kiln in Fairbanks.  Operations are expected to start in September 2020 and produce 2,000 cords 
of dried birch (only) 20% moisture content firewood for the 2020/2021 winter.  Heat from  
a coal-fired cogeneration power plant that Aurora Energy operates in downtown Fairbanks will 
be used to dry the wood.  Details of the design and permitting for the facility are not currently 
available, but a mixture of waste and production heat are expected to be used to dry the wood.  A 
call288 to the company found that “firm prices have not been established” for the dried firewood, 
but will be competitive with the market and in the range of $350 - $375/cord delivered and 
$425/cord stacked.   
 
Clearly the heat available to Aurora Energy Solutions limits the RACM/BACM concerns about 
wood drying emissions.  While the Aurora wood drying emissions increment is unknown, the 
modifications required to construct the facility need to satisfy ADEC permitting requirements. 
Aurora’s decision to build the facility is market driven and existing regulations ensure that the 
facility has no undue environmental impacts.  There is, however, no guarantee the Aurora kiln 
will continue to operate under adverse economic conditions.   
 
Under the Final PM2.5 Rule a control measure must result in permanent and enforceable emission 
reductions.  While a regional kiln will introduce a supply of cleaner fuel in the form of dry 
cordwood, there is no mechanism that guarantees the additional dry wood introduced into the 
market will offset the use of wet cordwood resulting in emission reductions. While a regional 
kiln is beneficial to the community and the airshed a regional kiln fails to meet the requirements 
of permanent and enforceable emission reductions to be considered a control measure.   
 
Conclusion 
 
The RACM/BACM analysis concerns are still valid.  This control measure is technologically 
infeasible because it does not require any existing entity to build a kiln, and it does not meet the 
control measure requirements of permanent and enforceable emission reductions; therefore, it is 
dismissed from consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP.  

 286 http://www.codepublishing.com/AK/FairbanksNorthStarBorough/#!/FNSBC21/FNSBC2128.html#21.28.030 
287 https://www.heatyourway.com/our-products 
288 Robert Dulla to Aurora Energy Solutions, LLC staff on 8/13/20 
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Measure R7:  Ban Use of Hydronic Heaters 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/fbks-pm2-5-regulations/ 
Background 
 
BACM analysis requirements specified in the final PM2.5 rule mandate the consideration of 
“options not previously considered as RACM/RACT for the area”.  The moderate SIP considered 
banning the use of hydronic heaters.  The RACM analysis determined the measure to be 
technologically infeasible because it did include a provision for homes with no other adequate 
source of heat.  Another consideration was that on very cold days some residences with alternate 
heat sources find them to be inadequate and need to supplement with heat from wood 
combustion. 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this control measure is unchanged - the review of SIP commitments did 
not identify a single program with unrestricted bans on using hydronic heaters. Instead, those 
programs with curtailments specify the conditions under which curtailments/Air Quality Alerts 
are called and those programs include a variety of exemptions for homes with NOASH 
certifications, economic hardship, etc.  Fairbanks has implemented a measure mandating Stage 1 
and Stage 2 alerts which restrict wood burning when concentrations are forecast to exceed 
established concentration thresholds (i.e., 20 and 30 µg/m3 respectively as of January 8, 2020).  
Under these conditions use of hydronic heaters are prohibited except under the exemptions 
specified in the rule.289 
 
While a SIP commitment banning outdoor wood boilers (furnaces, etc.) was not identified, 
several communities in Connecticut (e.g. West Hartford, Hamden, Avon, etc.) were found to 
have ordinances banning outdoor wood boilers because of nuisance complaints.  Commitments 
to implementing those ordinances, however are not contained in Connecticut’s PM2.5 SIP.290  
The SIP references a state statute (Section 22a-174k),291 which restricted the installation of new 
outdoor wood burning furnaces until EPA issued regulations for hydronic heaters; it also 
specified setback requirements for new installations.  The recent passage of the Fairbanks Home 
Heating Reclamation Act, required the removal of any solid fuel burning regulations, so again 
the Borough lacks the authority to curtail wood stove use.  The new state regulations 
implemented in 18 AAC 50.077 and the Episode Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP restrict wood-
fired heating device operation, but do not ban all operation. 
 

289 http://www.codepublishing.com/AK/FairbanksNorthStarBorough/#!/FNSBC21/FNSBC2128.html#21.28.030 
290 http://www.ct.gov/deep/cwp/view.asp?A=2684&Q=419074&depnav_GID=1619 
291 https://law.justia.com/codes/connecticut/2012/title-22a/chapter-446c/section-22a-174k/ 
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A review of the RACM analysis shows that there are still technologically infeasible elements for 
this measure, most notable the lack of exemption for those with no other adequate source of heat. 
 
Conclusion 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - this control measure is technologically infeasible due to 
lack of exemption for those with no other adequate source of heat and is dismissed from 
consideration as a control measure. for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP   

Measure R15:  Ban New Installations – Wood Stoves 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 
https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/fbks-pm2-5-regulations/ 
 
Background 
 
BACM analysis requirements specified in the final PM2.5 rule mandate the consideration of 
“options not previously considered as RACM/RACT for the area”.  The moderate SIP considered 
a measure requiring a ban on new installations of wood stoves. Analysis of the measure was 
limited: 
 

A ban on new installations would not reduce emissions from wood stoves in the near 
term, but would ultimately reduce emissions as wood stoves were retired; however, this 
approach could have the negative effect of prolonging the use of existing, dirty units 
because replacing them with newer, much cleaner units would not be allowed. This 
measure would not result in quantifiable reductions in the four years after designation.  

 
Discussion of other wood stove restrictions (e.g., limit the number of new installations allowed 
in new construction, allow new installations but only if one or more existing stoves were retired 
first, etc.) was also presented.  Ultimately, the RACM analysis determined the measure to be 
technologically infeasible because it lacked the authority to implement it.  That finding was 
based on a referendum prohibiting the Borough’s regulation of home heating which lapsed.  The 
recent passage of the Fairbanks Home Heating Reclamation Act, required the removal of any 
solid fuel burning regulations, so again the Borough lacks the authority to remove or replace 
uncertified wood-fired heaters. 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis for this control measure is unchanged - the state has implemented new 
regulations that establish strict emission ratings for new heating devices and related installation 
requirements.  Those regulations, however do not prohibit the installation of wood-burning 
devices.  Backup heating systems are essential for survival in an arctic environment as loss of 
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primary heating is not an uncommon occurrence with many causes including: extreme cold 
temperatures, ice storms, fuel supply loss, etc.      
 
ADEC often hears from FNSB residents who have significant concerns regarding the need for 
non-electric backup heating systems in their homes.  As described in the Emission Inventory, the 
predominant heating method within the residential space heating sector is residential fuel oil.  All 
fuel oil boilers and heaters require electricity to operate the auxiliary systems such as fans and 
pumps.  Given the subarctic climate and periodic power failures, these individuals have real 
safety concerns for themselves and their families as well as concerns about damage to their 
property.   
 
These concerns and expressed needs for reliable backup heat are likely very different in the 
FNSB nonattainment area than in the lower 48.  However, based on the Borough’s woodstove 
changeout/conversion program it is technically feasible to equip a home with adequate backup 
heating systems that do not rely on solid fuel heating appliances.  
 
Even though it may be technically feasible in certain situations, without widespread availability 
to natural gas there are limited technologies to provide backup heat to address the safety 
concerns.  While voluntary programs are in place, only 28 emergency power back up systems 
have been installed through the Borough’s program.  With the limited number of actual 
installations, ADEC is cautiously optimistic that the emergency power back up systems will 
become a proven technology, but at this point the limited installations do not demonstrate that 
this technology is feasible in every situation.  Due to the importance of these systems to ensure 
citizens safety in an arctic climate, it is not prudent to exclude an entire sector of proven 
residential heating technology that many citizens rely on for an immediate safety concern. 
 
In order to address new installations ADEC is implementing 18 AAC 50.077 which is discussed 
in detail under Measure 8. 
 
Conclusion 
 
While this measure is technologically feasible, an economic analysis of its cost effectiveness, 
presented in Step 4, shows that it is economically infeasible in an arctic environment and 
therefore not eligible for consideration as a 2020 Amendment Plan control measure. 

Measure R17:  Ban Use of Wood Stoves 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/fbks-pm2-5-regulations/ 
 

Background 
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BACM analysis requirements specified in the final PM2.5 rule mandate the consideration of 
“options not previously considered as RACM/RACT for the area.”  The moderate SIP considered 
banning the use of wood stoves.  The RACM analysis determined the measure to be 
technologically infeasible because it did not include an exemption for homes with no other 
adequate source of heat.  Another consideration was that on very cold days some residences with 
alternate heat sources find those sources to be inadequate, and need to supplement with heat from 
wood combustion. 
 
EPA commented that this measure should be further evaluated for BACM and MSM. 
 
Analysis 
 
The BACM analysis of this control measure is unchanged - the review of SIP commitments did 
not identify a single program with unrestricted bans on using wood stoves. Instead, those 
programs with curtailments specify the conditions under which curtailments/Air Quality Alerts 
are called and those programs include a variety of exemptions for homes with NOASH 
certifications, economic hardship, etc.  Fairbanks has implemented a measure mandating Stage 1 
and Stage 2 alerts which restrict wood burning when concentrations are forecast to exceed 
established concentration thresholds (i.e., currently 20 and 30 µg/m3 respectively as of January 8, 
2020 ).  Under these conditions use of wood stoves are prohibited except under the exemptions 
specified in the rule.292  The recent passage of the Fairbanks Home Heating Reclamation Act, 
required the removal of any solid fuel burning regulations, so again the Borough lacks the 
authority to curtail wood stove use.  The new state regulations implemented in 18 AAC 50.077 
and the Episode Chapter of the PM2.5 Serious SIP restrict wood-fired heating device operation, 
but do not ban all operation.   
 
Conclusion 
 
The BACM conclusion is unchanged - this control measure is technologically infeasible due to 
lack of exemption for those with no other adequate source of heat and is dismissed from 
consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP. 

Measure R20:  Transportation Control Measures 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• None 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 
https://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/fbks-pm2-5-moderate-sip/ 
See Appendix III.D.5.07 Control Strategies (12/24/14) 
 

292 http://www.codepublishing.com/AK/FairbanksNorthStarBorough/#!/FNSBC21/FNSBC2128.html#21.28.030 
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Background 
 
ADEC in the moderate SIP provided a list of transportation related programs currently being 
implemented in Fairbanks. 
 

• Expanded availability of plug-ins; electrical outlets were installed on 1,500+ parking 
spaces between 2008 & 2015  

• Ordinance mandating—for employers with 275+ parking spaces—electrification of 
outlets at temps ˂ 21° F between November 1 and March 31  

• Public education focused on the benefits of plugging-in and using the transit program 
called Metropolitan Area Commuter System (MACS)  

• Expanded transit service includes improved service frequency on high ridership routes, 
new routes and better bus stop facilities; ridership increased 61% between 2008 & 2013.  

• Commuter Van Pool program, includes Van Tran program for elderly and disabled  
• Anti-idling program for heavy-duty diesel vehicles started as a ADOT&PF program 

focused on dump trucks and tractors and has been expanded to a CMAQ-funded pilot 
program focused on the purchase and installation of auxiliary heaters to reduce idle time 
in private fleets.  

• Federal Motor Vehicle Control Program  
 
ADEC evaluated several transportation control measures (TCMs), including HOV lanes, traffic 
flow improvement program, non-motorized traffic zones, employer-sponsored flexible work 
schedules, retrofit diesel fleet (school buses, transit fleets), on-road vehicle 
inspection/maintenance (I/M) program, heavy-duty vehicle I/M program, and State LEV 
program. The analysis of these measures found: 
 
• With the exception of the anti-idling program, the programs listed above have been in place 

for well over a decade and are working to reduce motor vehicle emissions under extreme 
winter operating conditions.  

• Measures focused on reducing traffic congestion offer limited benefits as the Fairbanks road 
network has few roads operating at Level of Service (LOS) levels D, E, or F.  

• Community-wide ridesharing programs offer few potential emission reduction benefits 
because of the low population and employment density in the nonattainment area (employer 
programs are operated where sufficient density supports participation).  

• Travel reduction programs have been found to have limited benefits on a national basis, with 
principal reductions coming from commute trips, which require high density employment to 
be successful.  

• EPA’s motor vehicle emissions model MOVES, MOVES2014b, does not provide a PM benefit 
for either light- or heavy-duty I/M programs.  Thus, there is no way to quantify a particulate 
benefit from I/M, and EPA clearly does not recognize I/M as an appropriate PM control 
measure.  

 
Based on this evaluation, ADEC did not find any additional TCMs to be viable for Fairbanks and 
therefore dismissed them based on technological infeasibility.  
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EPA comments on the moderate SIP findings for this measure were limited to I/M programs and 
vehicle idle restrictions (which were addressed separately in Measure 60).  With regard to I/M, 
EPA commented that the finding that I/M is technologically infeasible because MOVES2014b 
does not provide an I/M benefit is not a valid conclusion.  They noted that the Utah Cache Valley 
has an I/M program for VOC and Fairbanks had previously operated an I/M program for carbon 
monoxide (CO) and this measure needed to be evaluated.  EPA’s comments on this measure for 
the serious SIP, not expressed in writing, suggested the need for additional discussion of this 
measure.   
 
ADEC reevaluated these findings as part of a BACM analysis for the Fairbanks Serious Plan and 
Fairbanks 189(d) Plan submissions and determined that they had not changed - additional TCMs 
are technologically infeasible and not eligible for the Fairbanks nonattainment area.  ADEC 
noted that independent studies by NCHRP (a division of the Transportation Research Board) and 
ASHTO (the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials) have 
documented that while states and communities continue to adopt them, where funding is 
available, growing experience in lower-48 states has demonstrated emissions benefits are 
limited.  As a result, credit for TCMs in SIPs has diminished and additional TCMs would 
provide limited emission reduction benefits.  With regard to EPA’s comment about the need to 
assess the VOC benefits of an I/M program, the Moderate precursor analysis293,  the Serious SIP 
and the 2020 Amendments have consistently found that neither VOC nor NOx are significant 
precursor pollutants in the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area.  Thus, ADEC dismissed this 
measure based on lack of a technical basis to pursue an assessment of the costs and benefits of an 
I/M program for either VOC or NOx. 
  
ADEC identified the following TCMs and mobile source emission reduction measures: 
California Air Resources Board (CARB) vehicle standards (Measure 54); school bus retrofits 
(Measure 55); road paving (Measure 56); controls on road sanding and salting (Measure 58); a 
vehicle inspection and maintenance (I/M) program (Measure 59); vehicle idling restrictions 
(Measure 60); and Other TCMs (Measures 57 and R20) including high-occupancy vehicle 
(HOV) lanes, traffic flow improvements, non-motorized traffic zones; employer-sponsored 
flexible work schedules, diesel fleet retrofitting (school buses, transit fleets), an on-road vehicle 
I/M program; a heavy-duty vehicle I/M program, and a low-emission vehicle (LEV) program.294  
ADEC found that none of the identified measures were eligible as BACM for the 2020 
Amendments to the Serious SIP.   
 
For Measure 54, ADEC estimated the cost-effectiveness of implementing the LEV III 
regulations, and determined that the statewide adoption of the CARB emission standards is not 
cost effective and is not warranted for the Fairbanks PM2.5 nonattainment area.  EPA in their 
comments on the 2020 Amendments295 reviewed ADEC cost effectiveness analysis and 
determined that it is a reasonable estimate of the cost per ton of pollutant emissions reduced and 

293 ADEC, Serious SIP Development. Accessed at http://dec.alaska.gov/air/anpms/communities/fbks-pm2-5-serious-
sip-development. 
294 Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, “Amendments to: State Air Quality Control Plan; Vol. III: 
Appendix III.D.7.7” (November 18, 2020). 
295 88 Fed. Reg. 1454 (Jan. 10, 2023), at 1481; “Technical support document for Alaska Department of 
Environmental Conservation’s (ADEC) control measure analysis, under 40 CFR 1010(a) and (c),” (Sept. 27, 2022) 
(hereinafter “Technical Support Document”), at 30-33, 45-46.  
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approved ADEC’s dismissal based on economical infeasibilility.  ADEC dismissed Measure 55 
for two reasons: (1) emissions benefits of the diesel retrofits were unquantifiable, and (2) the 
school district already has converted diesel school buses to gasoline-powered school buses.  EPA 
evaluated ADEC’s basis for rejecting this measure and determined that this measure was 
appropriately rejected.  While EPA did not approve the difficulty in quantifying emissions 
benefits as a valid basis to reject the measure, EPA accepted that fleet-wide conversion to 
gasoline-powered buses as equivalent to this BACM requirement.  ADEC dismissed Measure 56 
as unlike many communities in the lower-48, roads in the Fairbanks nonattainment area remain 
frozen during winter months and fugitive dust sources of PM2.5 are estimated to be negligible 
under the snow/ice bound conditions reflected in the winter seasonal inventory.  EPA accepted 
ADEC’s dismissal of the measure based on technological infeasibility.  Similar to Measure 56, 
ADEC dismissed Measure 58 due to extreme winter weather conditions in Fairbanks 
Nonattainment Area and EPA approved the ADEC’s dismissal on grounds of technological 
infeasibility.  
  
EPA approved ADEC’s rejection of a vehicle I/M program (Measure 59) because such a 
program only reduces NOx and VOC emissions and the EPA proposed to approve Alaska’s 
precursor demonstration that shows NOx and VOCs are not significant precursors to PM2.5 
formation in the Fairbanks PM2.5 Nonattainment Area.  The EPA also proposed to approve 
Alaska’s determination that no NH3-specific emission controls exist for this source category.  
However, EPA rejected ADEC’s dismissal of Measures 57, 60, and R20, stating ADEC’s 
conclusion lacked a sufficient feasibility assessment.296 EPA explained that ADEC cannot rely 
on its determination that the measures would not provide emission reduction benefits because 
that applies the de minimis source category concept inapplicable to PM2.5 NAAQS 
implementation. EPA also stated that none of the ongoing control measures committed to by the 
State appear to be submitted for SIP approval.297 
 
After EPA’s disapproval of Measures 57, 60, and R20, ADEC reviewed guidance on the de 
minimis source category concept and the State’s currently applicable plans and comments 
submitted by Fairbanks Area Surface Transportation (“FAST”) Planning – the Metropolitan 
Planning Organization for the urbanized areas of the Fairbanks North Star Borough, responsible 
for implementation of TCMs.  Finally, ADEC conducted additional technological and economic 
feasibility evaluations for Measures 57, 60, and R20.  
 
Based on ADEC’s analysis, EPA in its Final Rule298 approved ADEC’s analysis and dismissal 
of Measures 57 and R20 (other TCMs), and proposed to disapprove ADEC’s dismissal of 
Measure 60 (vehicle idling restrictions).  Due to the difference in EPA’s approvals, Measure 
60 is dealt separately and discussed under “Measure 60 – Vehicle Idling Restrictions”. EPA 
accepted ADEC’s findings that constructing HOV lanes is technologically infeasible taking 
into consideration local conditions, including infrastructure, population, and traffic flow.  
Additionally, EPA concurred with ADEC’s determination that traffic flow improvements, 

296 88 Fed. Reg. at 1481; see also Technical Support Document Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
at 32, 33, 45-46. 
297 88 Fed. Reg. at 1481; Technical Support Document: Docket No. EPA-R10-AOAR-2022-0115. 
298 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626. 
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diesel retrofits, and ridesharing programs are economically infeasible for the Fairbanks PM2.5 
Nonattainment Area, at this time.  
 
Analysis 
 
Following EPA’s comments, ADEC reviewed the Final PM2.5 Implementation Rule and other 
relevant EPA guidance, status of the transportation control programs committed to in the 
Moderate SIP and conducted technological and economic feasibility analysis for Measures 57, 
60, and R20.  
 
ADEC demonstrated that it did not rely on the de minimis source category concept to dismiss 
control measures before a BACM analysis was completed.  ADEC followed the five-step BACM 
selection process as defined in the Final PM2.5 Rule for selecting measures for the 2020 
Amendments to the Serious SIP.299  At Step One, ADEC assembled an inventory of source and 
source categories, including mobile sources.  At Step Two, ADEC identified candidate control 
measures that are more stringent than those adopted in the Serious Area SIP. ADEC identified 
these control measures after reviewing options not previously considered as BACM, control 
measures implemented in other nonattainment areas, and measures considered by regional 
planning organizations and state and local air quality consortiums.  At Step Three, ADEC 
analyzed the technological feasibility of the identified control measures with a key consideration 
to ensure the identified measure is the most stringent and provides a quantifiable emissions 
benefit beyond those provided by existing federal, state, and local controls.300  
 
For Measures 57 and R20, relating to transportation control measures, ADEC determined that 
relevant findings regarding local conditions from the Moderate and Serious SIP submissions 
have not changed and continued to support a conclusion that TCMs would not provide additional 
emission reductions and therefore are technologically infeasible.  ADEC also provided a 
reasoned, narrative explanation with qualitative supporting documentation justifying its 
dismissal.  The process followed by ADEC is according to the process outlined in the PM2.5 Final 
Rule and demonstrates that ADEC did not rely on the fundamentally inapplicable de minimis 
source category concept and instead, ADEC sufficiently demonstrated that Measures 57, 60, and 
R20 are technologically infeasible as required for its BACM analysis.  
 
In response to EPA’s that none of the existing transportation programs have been submitted for 
SIP approval, ADEC demonstrated that all of the ongoing transportation programs were included 
in the approved Moderate SIP and are TCMs for conformity purposes,301 and the Moderate SIP 
is the applicable plan for satisfying the requirements for timely implementation of TCMs under 
40 CFR 93.113 and was approved by EPA on September 8, 2017.302  The approved measures 
included: Fairbanks North Star Borough Ordinance No. 2001-17 that requires employers or 
businesses that have 275 or more parking spaces to provide power to electrical outlets at 

299 Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, “Amendments to: State Air Quality Control Plan; Vol. III: 
Appendix III.D.7.7” (November 18, 2020). 
300 40 C.F.R. § 51.1010(a)(3)(iii)  
301 40 CFR 93.101 
302 Federal Register. 82 FR 42457. Accessed at https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2017-09-08/pdf/2017-
17824.pdf#page=3.  
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temperatures of 20 degrees F or lower for engine block heaters; expanded availability of plug-
ins; public education focused on the benefits of plugging-in and using the transit program; 
expanded transit service; commuter van pool program; anti-idling program for heavy-duty diesel 
vehicles focused on the purchase and installation of auxiliary heaters to reduce idle time; and the 
Federal motor vehicle control program.  As required by 40 CFR 51.1005(b)(1)(ii), ADEC 
demonstrated in the 2020 Amendments to the Serious SIP that all transportation programs 
submitted in the Moderate SIP have been implemented and, even for those projects that have 
been completed, continue to provide ongoing emission reduction benefits.303 

 
ADEC evaluated feasibility analysis including a technological feasibility assessment for HOV 
lanes, and an economic feasibility assessment for HOV lanes, traffic flow improvements, diesel 
retrofit projects, and ridesharing programs.  For HOV lanes, ADEC performed a quantitative 
worst-case analysis of freeway volumes assuming peak hour volumes, and highway capacity for 
a limited freeway road where HOV lanes are practical.304  Among the freeways within the 
Nonattainment Area that fit these criteria, ADEC selected the Steese Expressway at the Chena 
River Bridge just east of downtown Fairbanks that was found to exhibit the highest peak hour 
traffic volumes based on a review of traffic counts from January 1, 2022, through March 18, 
2023.  ADEC found that even with conservative assumptions, the Steese Expressway would 
experience reasonably free-flow operations and free-flow speeds.  Based on these findings, 
ADEC concluded that construction of HOV lanes for Steese Expressway or similar four-lane 
divided highways would provide no emissions reduction and therefore are technologically 
infeasible.  In addition to ADEC’s analysis, FAST planning provided additional information 
supporting ADEC’s determination that HOV lanes would be technologically infeasible as 
BACM given local conditions.  In their comment letter dated February 15, 2023, FAST Planning 
highlights that HOV lanes “are generally intended for communities with a regional population 
over 1.5 million people that experience severe congestion with motorists trying to access major 
employment centers/business districts.”305  Fairbanks urban population is 70,000, and as a result 
does not have the congestion that would warrant even a remote need for such lanes.  

  
ADEC evaluated the economic feasibility based on the cost-effectiveness estimates from a 
comprehensive study published by the Federal Highway Administration (“FHWA”) for 
Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality (“CMAQ”) Improvement Program eligible projects in 
2020 and local specific information specific to the Nonattainment Area.306  The CMAQ program 
provides funding to state and local governments to fund transportation projects and programs to 
help meet CAA requirements.  State and local governments select candidate projects for funding 
based on the cost-effectiveness metrics for a range of pollutants.  The study uses EPA’s 
MOVES2014b model combined with project-level impacts (e.g., VMT impacts, travel speeds) to 
identify emission impacts by criteria pollutant and applicable precursors.  The range of project 

303 Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, “Amendments to: State Air Quality Control Plan; Vol. III: 
III.D.7.7, Control Strategies” (November 18, 2020).  
304 Roadways with lengths of several miles or more to enable vehicle to move into and out of the HOV lane from the 
other mixed-use lanes. 
305 FAST Planning Comment Letter at 3 (additionally citing a 2021 FHWA inventory indicating that there are only 
18 states with HOV lanes, all of which serve major population centers).  
306 Federal Highway Administration, “Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) Program, 2020 
Cost-Effectiveness Tables Update,” (hereinafter “FHWA 2020 CE Tables”). Accessed at 
https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/ENVIRonment/air_quality/cmaq/reference/cost_effectiveness_tables/fhwahep20039.pdf.  
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types included in the analysis is targeted at representing an informative view of the relative 
performance of predominant project types around the country across a range of pollutants 
eligible for CMAQ funding. 

 
Traffic flow improvements projects correspond to traffic signal improvements and 
synchronization, roundabouts, and intersection improvement that resulted in a reduction in delay 
and improvements in the level of service.  For signal synchronization, the FHWA study 
evaluated several projects considering different land use, annual average daily travel (AADT) 
ranging between 20,000 to 75,000, and project costs between $500,000 to $2.9M. The study 
estimated the median cost-effectiveness estimates to be $1,136,071 per ton of PM2.5 reduced.  
For roundabouts, the analysis was based on several alignments with an AADT of 5,000 to 32,000 
vehicles and project costs ranging between $250,000 to $2.6M. The study estimated the median 
cost-effectiveness to be $1,091,411 per ton of PM2.5 reduced. For intersection improvements, the 
analysis was based on several urban and rural intersection designs, with an AADT ranging 
between 5,000 to 40,000, and project costs between $400,000 to $2.8M.  The study found the 
median cost-effectiveness to be $13,255,774 per ton of PM2.5 reduced.  
 
Diesel retrofit projects consisted of retrofitting older diesel vehicle engines with emissions 
reduction technologies such as diesel particulate filters (“DPF”), Selective Catalytic Reduction 
(“SCR”), Diesel Oxidization Catalysts (“DOC”), and Exhaust Gas Recirculation (“EGR”) 
technologies.  Based on an annual representative vehicle miles traveled estimate of 11,492 and 
retrofitted device costs ranging from $750 - $18,000, the study estimated the median cost-
effectiveness to be $165,130 per ton of PM2.5 reduced.  
 
Ridesharing projects encourage mode shift from single-occupant LDVs to multiple-occupant 
vehicles and cater to different purposes such as marketing and outreach, operation assistance, 
pooling of low-emission vehicles, and vanpool startup and replacement.  The analysis evaluated 
several scenarios with an average cost of $400,000 and assumed the average reduction in single-
occupant trips associated with each rideshare trip as eight (i.e., half of a van’s capacity) and the 
average round-trip distance associated with mitigated single-occupant trips as 240 miles.  The 
study estimated the median cost-effectiveness to be $6,010,024 per ton of PM2.5 reduced. 
 
ADEC evaluated the key input parameters (emission rates, traffic, and project costs) utilized by 
FHWA in developing their cost-effectiveness estimates against the local conditions in Fairbanks.  
The FHWA estimates are based on the MOVES2014b model while the latest model at the time 
of ADEC’s comments was MOVES3.0.4. Compared to the MOVES2014b version, 
MOVES3.0.4 produced 26% less NOx emissions and 57% less PM2.5 emissions. 307,308  The 
traffic estimates that FHWA used in developing CE numbers are higher than the local traffic 
conditions reflected in Fairbanks.  ADEC based on their evaluation of traffic improvement 
project nominations submitted to FAST Planning for the CMAQ-funding program found the 
traffic estimates in Fairbanks to align with the lower end of the traffic ranges assumed in the 
FHWA report (around 5,000) for traffic flow improvement projects.  The construction costs used 

307 FAST Planning, “2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan,” at 31; see also id. at Appendix D, D-24. 
308 This evaluation was conducted by the FAST planning as part of their 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan 
(“MTP”) Regional Emissions Analysis and Air Quality Conformity. The analysis consisted of evaluating both 
models for 2022 for the Fairbanks nonattainment area for same set of inputs. 
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in developing the cost estimates are much lower than what can be expected in Fairbanks due to 
the shorter construction season when the ground is thawed, soil conditions suitable for 
construction, high freight charges to ship materials from lower-48 states to Alaska, and limited 
prime contractors in the area who are qualified to do road work.  Combination of lower emission 
rates from the latest MOVES3 model, lower annual average daily traffic, and higher construction 
costs in Fairbanks would result in lower emissions and higher costs resulting in higher cost-
effectiveness numbers than what is estimated in the FHWA report.  The projected cost-
effectiveness estimates after accounting for the local conditions in Fairbanks, for the project 
types accounted for by Measures 57, and R20 are economically infeasible in the Nonattainment 
Area.  
 
In the Final Rule309, EPA received no comments regarding its proposed approval of Alaska’s 
rejection of the CARB vehicle standards (Measure 54), school bus retrofits (Measure 55), road 
paving (Measure 56); controls on road sanding and salting (Measure 58); and Vehicle I/M 
program (Measure 59) as either technologically or economically infeasible.  EPA noted that the 
supplemental feasibility analysis provided by ADEC addressed EPA’s concern about not 
rejecting the control measures based on the de minimis criteria.  EPA concurred that it had 
previously approved the Moderate Plan, including RACM for the mobile source category.  EPA 
noted that RACM does not meet the CAA’s BACM requirements, and although ADEC identified 
additional measures, they did not evaluate the feasibility of these measures and EPA proposed to 
disapprove the TCMs in the Serious Plan and 2020 Amendments.  However, EPA found the 
updated supplemental analysis submitted by ADEC in response to EPA’s comments evaluating 
the technological and economic feasibility of measures to be valid and concurred with ADEC’s 
dismissal of Measures 57, and R20.  
 
Conclusion 
In the Serious SIP and the 2020 Amendments, ADEC identified several transportation control 
and mobile source emission reduction measures (Measures 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, R20) and 
evaluated their feasibility as a BACM. EPA in their comments on the 2020 Amendments 
approved ADEC’s dismissal of Measure 54 based on economic feasibility and Measures 55, 56, 
58, and 59 based on technological infeasibility.  
 
However, EPA rejected ADEC’s dismissal of Measures 57, 60, and R20, in response to which 
ADEC provided justification and conducted additional feasibility evaluation. ADEC’s dismissal 
of Measures 57, and R20 remain unchanged from the Serious Plan and the 2020 Amendments.  
These TCMs relate to the HOV lanes, traffic flow improvements, retrofit diesel program, and 
ridesharing programs.  ADEC based this on its technological feasibility determination consistent 
with applicable law and EPA guidance, and economical feasibility analysis based on supporting 
information available from FHWA’s cost-effectiveness analysis and the case-specific 
circumstances applicable to Fairbanks.  Further, the existing TCMs are being implemented 
pursuant to the applicable Moderate SIP and reflect ongoing commitments that result in emission 
benefits.   
 
Based on ADEC’s analysis, EPA in its Final Rule approved ADEC’s analysis and dismissal of 
Measures 57 and R20.  EPA, however, disapproved ADEC’s dismissal of Measure 60 related to 

309 88 Fed. Reg. at 84626. 

Adopted November 5, 2024

Appendix III.D.7.7-153



vehicle idling restrictions for light-duty vehicles but approved the vehicle idling restrictions for 
heavy-duty vehicles.  Anti-idling restrictions are described in detail under Measure 60.  

Measure R29:  Increase Coverage of the District Heating System 

Implementing Jurisdiction(s) 
 

• Fairbanks North Star Borough 
 
Regulation Weblink(s) 
 

• None 
 
Background 
 
Many residential, commercial, and institutional buildings within downtown Fairbanks are 
connected to a district heating system that supplies low pressure steam or hot water for space 
heating and domestic hot water use.  Use of the district heating systems allows for the 
widespread use of energy produced by a central steam generating unit with effective emissions 
controls.  These systems essentially eliminate the need for the operation of individual fuel 
combustion heating units in each of the facilities receiving heat from a central plant.  
 
Even considering transmission losses, a well maintained and operated central heating facility can 
be much more efficient than individual combustion units, especially those that burn wood, coal, 
or oil.  Emissions from a central facility are released into the atmosphere at a much greater height 
above grade than those of combustion units in individual buildings and, as a result, disperse more 
widely. 
 
Aurora Energy operates a coal-fired cogeneration power plant that recycles low pressure steam 
for district heating use.  Aurora Energy provides district heating (in the form of low-pressure 
steam or hot water) to approximately 180 customers. Customers range in size from small 
residential to large commercial/institutional loads. 
 
Analysis 
 
Aurora commissioned a study310 in 2008 to examine the feasibility of expanding the 
underground network of pipes that deliver steam and hot water.  Based on the information 
presented in that study, the RACM analysis determined this measure to be technologically 
feasible.  Aurora provided updated heating expansion cost information in 2018.311 
 
Conclusion 
 

310 PDC, Inc. Engineers, Aurora Energy District Heat Capacity Study, Phase 2, December 2008 
311 Email from Matt Burdick, PE, Project Engineer, Aurora Energy to Bob Dulla, Trinity Consultants, October 12, 
2018 
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No information has become available to change the RACM analysis conclusion about the 
technological feasibility of this measure; therefore, this measure is technologically feasible and 
eligible for consideration as a control measure for the 2020 Amendment to the Serious SIP.  The 
results of a cost effectiveness analysis of this measure, presented in Step 4, show this measure is 
economically infeasible. 
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5.  Step 4 – Determine Whether an Available Control Technology or Measure is 
Economically Feasible 

EPA guidance312 on determining the economic feasibility of technically feasible control 
measures was followed to calculate the cost per ton of pollutant reduced.  Key cost information 
collected to support the preparation of the $/ton calculation included: 
 

• Material/equipment prices (local purchase price, etc.) 
• Labor (inspection, installation, maintenance, etc.) 
• Program costs associated with implementing new control measures (including staff, 

software development, overhead, etc.) 
• Maintenance costs (local labor and parts) 
• Connection fees as appropriate (e.g., trenching, parts, etc.) 
• Useful life – ranged between 8 and 30 years depending on the device lifespan 
• Capital recovery rate – assumed to be 5.5% 
• Existing fuel prices (documented by the Fairbanks Community Planning Department) 
• Distillate fuel price forecasts (using EIA Pacific Region forecasts) 
• Impact of market shifts on home heating fuel supply costs contained in the Appendix to 

Chapter 7 
• Energy content of heating fuels (based on fuel sold in the Borough and reported by local 

suppliers) 
• Combustion efficiency changes associated with the implementation of selected control 

measures 
• Changes in home heating activity associated with measures addressing curtailment 
• Changes in NOASH permits 
• Changes in heating systems incorporated into new homes 

 
The above information was used to calculate the annualized cost of operating current heating 
devices and the annualized cost of implementing individual measures for those devices 
consistent with the assumptions employed in the 2020 emissions inventory.  A summary of the 
cost per ton of PM2.5 reduced for each of the technically feasible measures in the 2024 
Amendment is presented below in Table 11.  The results indicate all of the measures are not cost 
effective and have not been selected for implementation.  
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Table 11. Assessment of Economic Feasibility for Technically Feasible Control Measures  
(Cost Effectiveness Estimate) 

Measure # Measure Description $/ton of PM2.5 Reduced 
57. Other transportation Control Measures* >1,000,000 
60.  Vehicle Ilding for Light-duty Vehicles >1,000,000 
60.  Vehicle Ilding for Heavy-duty Vehicles 455,676 
68.  Charbroilers 40,343 to 568,610 
70. Used Oil Burners 653,989 to 730,182 
Measure  # Measure Description $/ton of SO2 Reduced 
70. Used Oil Burners 92,072 to102,799 
Measure  # Measure Description $/ton of Combined PM2.5 and SO2 

Reduced 
51b. No. 2 to ULS home heating oil 58,252 to 73,816 

  
* Other transportation Control Measures consists of HOV lanes, traffic flow improvements, diesel retrofit 
projects, and ridesharing programs. ADEC dismissed implementation of HOV lanes based on 
technological infeasibility and evaluated the remaining TCMs for economic feasibility.  
 
The above estimates of Measure 51 cost-effectiveness reflect the following revisions from the 
2020 Amendment: 

• Correction of Episodic to Annual Energy Use factors 
• Correction of Adjusted Energy Use Error 
• Consideration of Combined SO2 and PM2.5 Cost Effectiveness 
• Correction of Fuel Use Impacts from Reduced Boiler Fouling 
• Incorporation of Local Oil Appliance Survey Data 
• Impacts of Changes in Heating Oil Market Prices 
• Impacts of Relative vs. Additive ULSD Price Increases 
• Impacts of Changes in Baseline Heating Oil Sulfur Content 

 
The revisions to these assumptions and related documentation are incorporated into the attached 
cost effectiveness spreadsheets.  The results show that direct PM2.5 emissions would increase 
with any price increase to heating oil because of increase in wood use due to the well-established 
wood/oil cross-price elasticity.  The PM2.5 increase from higher-priced ULSD necessitated 
consideration of cost-effectiveness not just for SO2, but PM2.5 as well. PM2.5 increases result in 
negative cost-effectiveness when considered individually.  This negative PM2.5 cost-effectiveness 
is not the result of economic savings, but the PM2.5 emission increase.  Thus, the revision 
weighed the emission impacts of ULSD on both SO2 and PM2.5, to reflect their relative impact on 
ambient PM2.5 formation in Fairbanks.  Alaska adopted and implemented 18 AAC 50.078(b) that 
required the use of #1 fuel oil in Fairbanks starting September 1, 2022, which reduced the sulfur 
content in heating oil by over 50%.  ADEC made a total of eight distinct revisions to the 
economic analysis and evaluated several scenarios to estimate ULSD cost-effectiveness going 
forward from what is now the current heating oil, #1 fuel oil. The calculated cost-effectiveness 
under these scenarios was significantly higher than all others evaluated, illustrating the extreme 
non-linear increases in both costs and emission impacts to further reduce Fairbanks heating oil 
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sulfur content to 15 ppm ULSD.  The range presented in the combined cost-effectiveness reflects 
the uncertain future price and supply impacts.  
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6.  Step 5 – Determine the Earliest Date by Which a Control Measure or 
Technology can be Implemented in Whole or in Part 

 
The Step 3 technological feasibility analysis identified 5 measures for Step 4 economic 
feasibility analysis.  The Step 4 analysis  found no measure for implementation based on high 
cost-effectiveness estimates.  The only measure that ADEC evaluated at Step 5 is Measure 64 
related to implementing building codes as part of weatherization.  Although ADEC dismissed 
this measure based on technological infeasibility, implementing building codes will exceed the 
timeline to implement the control measure as per the regulatory guidelines.   
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7.  BACM Findings 

The analysis for the 2024 Revised Amendment to the Serious SIP considered 11 separate control 
measures.  The disposition of those measures is as follows: 
 

• Measure 31 – ADEC is revising regulation from the 2020 Amendment based on EPA’s 
comments. 

• Measure 32 – ADEC is revising regulation from the 2020 Amendment based on EPA’s 
comments. 

• Measure 48 – ADEC is revising regulation from the 2020 Amendment based on EPA’s 
comments. 

• Measure 49 – ADEC is revising regulation from the 2020 Amendment based on EPA’s 
comments. 

• Measure 51 – ADEC is dismissing this measure based on technological and economic 
infeasibility. 

• Measure 57, R20 – ADEC is dismissing this measure based on technological infeasibility 
for HOV lanes and economical infeasibility for traffic flow improvements, diesel retrofit, 
and ridesharing programs. 

• Measure 60 – ADEC is dismissing this measure based on technological and economic 
infeasibility. 

• Measure 64 – ADEC is committing to have a robust public education and outreach and is 
developing a new regulation for energy rating program required by homeowners at the 
time of real estate transaction. ADEC is dismissing implementing building codes based 
on technological infeasibility and timeframe implementation issues. 

• Measure 67 – ADEC is revising regulation from the 2020 Amendment based on EPA’s 
comments.  

• Measure 68 – ADEC is dismissing this measure based on technological and economic 
infeasibility. 

• Measure 70 – ADEC is dismissing this measure based on economic infeasibility. 
 
ADEC is revising/developing regulations for 6 measures in the 2024 Amendment to the Serious 
SIP. These measures will reduce PM2.5 and SO2 emissions and aid community/state efforts to 
achieve attainment of the ambient 24-hour PM2.5 standard. 

 
 
# 
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Appendices 

Cost-effectiveness Calculation Spreadsheets are included for the following control measures: 
• Measure 51: Ultra-low Sulfur Heating Oil
• Measure 60: Vehicle Idling Restrictions for (A) Heavy-duty Vehicles, and (B) Light-duty

Vehicles.
• Measure 68: Charbroilers
• Measure 70: Used Oil Burners

# 
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