

Department of Environmental Conservation

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

Post Office Box 111800 410 Willoughby Avenue, Suite 303 Juneau, Alaska 99811-1800 Main: 907.465.5066

Fax: 907.465.5070 dec.alaska.gov

November 22, 2016

Mr. Dennis McLerran, U.S. EPA Region 10 Regional Administrator's Office, Mail Code: RA-210 1200 Sixth Avenue, Suite 900 Seattle, WA 98101

Dear Mr. McLerran:

This letter provides for your approval amendments to Alaska's State Air Quality Control Plan or State Implementation Plan (SIP), adopted by reference into the Alaska Administrative Code (AAC) at 18 AAC 50.030 as of September 7, 2016, with an effective date of November 26, 2016.

The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is submitting the enclosed SIP revision to update the Fairbanks Moderate Area Plan – initially submitted to the EPA December 31, 2014 and January 29, 2015 – to reflect locally-adopted control measures.

Specifically, we request EPA approval of the following submitted revisions and additions to the Alaska SIP to the extent they relate to the protection of the 2006 PM-2.5 National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS):

- Alaska Administrative Code Title 18, Chapter 50 Air Quality Control, changes to 18 AAC 50.025, 18 AAC 50.075, 18 AAC 50.076, and 18 AAC 50.077, effective November 26, 2016;
- Volume II, Section III.D.5: Fairbanks North Star Borough PM-2.5 Control Plan:
 - o Section III.D.5.03: Non-Attainment Area Boundary and Design Episode Selection;
 - o Section III.D.5.07: Control Strategies;
 - o Section III.D.5.11: Emergency Episode Plan;
- Volume III, Appendix to Volume II Section III.D.5:
 - Appendix III.D.5.03: Non-Attainment Area Boundary and Design Episode Selection; including our incorporation by reference of:
 - FNSB resolution 2015-12 (3/26/2015);
 - Appendix III.D.5.12: Assurance of Adequacy; including our incorporation by reference of:
 - FNSB ordinance 2015-01 (2/27/2015);
 - FNSB ordinance 2015-18 (4/23/2015);
 - FNSB ordinance 2015-29 (6/25/2015);
 - FNSB ordinance 2015-73 (1/14/2016);
 - FNSB ordinance 2016-20-1A (8/11/2016);
 - FNSB ordinance 2016-21 (5/4/2016);
 - FNSB ordinance 2016-30 (4/28/2016), this ordinance renumbers Borough Code (Title 8, originally submitted in 2014, is renumbered as Title 21);
 - FNSB ordinance 2016-37 (7/28/2016);

The documents listed above will be submitted through EPA's eSIP system. We will also include the following required legal and supporting documents:

- 1. Lt. Governor's certified Filing Certificate for Permanent Regulations, including Signed Adoption Order, Memorandum of Filed Permanent Regulations, and Regulations, signed on October 27, 2016, with an effective date of regulations of November 26, 2016;
- 2. Public Review Draft of 18 AAC 50 regulations which shows the changes made to the regulations, with bold lettering as new language and bracketed language as old language, dated June 2, 2016;
- 3. Notice of Public Comment Period, signed June 2, 2016;
- 4. Affidavit of Notice of Proposed Adoption of Regulations and Furnishing of Additional Information, signed September 6, 2016;
- 5. Affidavits of Publication for the Public Notice (Published in the Fairbanks Daily News Miner on June 2, 2016, signed June 3, 2016;
- 6. Affidavits of Oral Hearings, signed July 14 and September 6, 2016;
- 7. Affidavit of Agency Record of Public Comment, signed September 6, 2016;
- 8. Response to Public Comment, September 7, 2016;
- 9. Memorandum of Adoption of proposed regulation amendments, signed September 7, 2016;
- 10. Fairbanks North Star Borough Code Chapter 21.28 (formerly Chapter 8.21) for clarification purposes due to the renumbering of Borough Code in FNSB ordinance 2016-30 (4/28/2016). Please note that while DEC submitted FNSB Title 8 in its entirety in 2014, DEC requests that only those portions related to the attainment of the NAAQS be considered for the 2014 submittal and this submittal.

Denise Koch is available to your staff to respond to questions or to otherwise assist. She can be phoned at (907) 465-5109. As always, I would be pleased to discuss any of this with you.

Sincerely,

Larry Hartig Commissioner

cc via email: Tim Hamlin, EPA Region 10 (w/o enclosures)

Debra Suzuki, EPA Region 10 (w/o enclosures) Claudia Vaupel, EPA Region 10 (w/o enclosures)

Alice Edwards, Deputy Commissioner, DEC (w/o enclosures) Denise Koch, Director, Division of Air Quality (w/o enclosures)

John Kuterbach, Program Manager, AP Program, DEC (w/o enclosures) Cynthia Heil, Program Manager, ANPMS Program, DEC (w/o enclosures)