ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL CONSERVATION

Division of Spill Prevention and Response Prevention and Emergency Response Program

SITUATION REPORT

INCIDENT NAME: Kuparuk 2M-Pad Pipeline Release SITREP #: 1

SPILL NUMBER: 06399906801 **LEDGER CODE**: Not requested

<u>TIME/DATE OF SPILL</u>: The spill was first discovered by a ConocoPhillips operator at 4:15 PM, March 9, 2006. The spill was reported to ADEC by ConocoPhillips at 4:37 PM, March 9, 2006.

TIME/DATE OF SITUATION REPORT: 10:20 PM, March 9, 2006.

TIME/DATE OF THE NEXT REPORT: As situation warrants.

TYPE/AMOUNT OF PRODUCT SPILLED: Produced water with a trace of crude oil. The volume is unknown at this time.

LOCATION: Kuparuk, a 24 inch diameter pipeline near the 2M-Pad access road.

CAUSE OF SPILL: The cause of the leak in the pipeline has not yet been determined.

POTENTIAL RESPONSIBLE PARTY (PRP): ConocoPhillips Alaska, Inc. (CPAI).

RESPONSE ACTION: ConocoPhillips has activated their Incident Management Team (IMT) at the Kuparuk Operations Center (KOC). An ADEC responder has traveled to the spill site to evaluate the situation.

A fast tank has been placed under the pipe to contain the produced water that is currently leaking from the pipeline.

An overflight using infrared cameras has been performed in an attempt to determine the spill area. The overflight tape has been viewed by an ADEC responder. The spill area appears to be fairly small indicating a low spill volume.

A waste management plan has been developed by CPAI and approved by ADEC.

SOURCE CONTROL: ConocoPhillips has shut in the pipe on either side of the leak and are in the process of depressurizing the line.

RESOURCES AFFECTED: Approximately 375 square feet of snow-covered tundra.

FUTURE PLANS AND RECOMMENDATIONS: ConocoPhillips will develop, and submit for ADEC approval, a cleanup and disposal plan. Additional response actions include source control, volume spilled and cause of the release.

WEATHER: -27 degrees Fahrenheit, west wind, 15 miles per hour.

UNIFIED COMMAND AND PERSONNEL:

Incident Commander: John Hentges (CPAI)
FOSC: Carl Lautenberger (EPA)
S.O.S.C: Ed Meggert (ADEC)
Field S.O.S.C. Toivo Luick (ADEC)

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION CONTACT: John Dixon, 451-2164.

AGENCY/STAKEHOLDER NOTIFICATION LIST

This sitrep has been distributed via email to the Governor's office, Senator Stevens' office, ADF&G, ADNR, SECC, USEPA, USDOI, NMFS, USFWS, USFS and NOAA in addition to the following.

Agency/Organization	Name	Sent via	Additional Info	Telephone	FAX
ADNR	Larry Byrne/ Leon Lynch/ Gary Schultz	Fax		451-2724/ 451-2732	451-2751
ADNR (Habitat)	Al Ott/Jack Winters	Fax		459-7285 or 459-7279	456-3091
ADF&G	Todd Nichols	Fax		459-7363	456-2259
USEPA	Matt Carr/ Carl Lautenberger	Fax		271-5083 or 257-1342	271-3424
AOGCC		Fax			276-7542
Attorney General Office	Cam Leonard and Mary Lundquist	Fax		451-2811/451-2914	451-2985
Legislature					
Senator Murkowski's Washington DC Office	Chief of Staff	Fax	North Slope only	(202) 224-6665	(202) 224-5301
Senator Murkowski's Office in Fairbanks		Fax	North Slope only	456-0233	451-7146
Legislator (Senate C)	Albert Kookesh (D)	Fax	Angoon	465-3473 or (888) 288-3473	465-2827
Legislator (Senate D)	Ralph Seekins (R)	Fax	Fairbanks	465-2327	465-5241
Legislator (Senate E)	Gary Wilken (R)	Fax	Fairbanks	465-3709	465-4714
Legislator (Senate F)	Gene Therriault (R)	Fax	North Pole	465-4797 or (800) 860-4797	465-3884
Legislator (Senate T)	Donnie Olson (D)	Fax	Nome	465-3707	465-4821
Legislator (House 6)	Woodie Salmon (D)	Fax	Beaver	465-4527 or (800) 491-4527	465-2197
Legislator (House 7)	Michael "Mike" Kelly (R)	Fax	Fairbanks	465-4976 or (800) 465-4976	465-3883
Legislator (House 8)	David Guttenberg (D)	Fax	Fairbanks	465-4457 or (800) 928-4457	465-3519
Legislator (House 9)	Jim Holm (R)	Fax	Fairbanks	465-3466 or (866) 465-3466	465-2937
Legislator (House 10)	Jay Ramras (R)	Fax	Fairbanks	465-3004 or (877) 465-3004	465-2070
Legislator (House 11)	John Coghill, Jr. (R)	Fax	North Pole	465-3719 or (877) 465-3719	465-3258
Legislator (House 39)	Richard Foster (D)	Fax	Nome	465-3789 or (800) 478-3789	465-3242
Legislator (House 40)	Reggie Joule (D)	Fax	Kotzebue	465-4833 or (800) 782-4833	465-4586
Other Agencies:		-			
North Slope Borough	Edward Sagaan Itta	Fax	Mayor	852-0200	852-0337
North Slope Borough	Johnny Aiken	Fax	Planning Director	852-0440	852-5991