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The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (ADEC) has included the Marine Vessel 
Visible Emission Standards, 18 AAC 50.070, Excess emissions regulations, 18 AAC 50.240, and 
Cruise Ship Excess Emission Notification Form with the registration materials for your reference.  
Most operators are familiar with the Marine Vessel Visible Emission Standards.  The Excess 
emissions regulations are pertinent to your vessel operation as well. 
 
It is the responsibility of the vessel operator to prove that an emission was unavoidable according to 
the requirements and procedures in 18 AAC 50.240.  In addition, at times the vessel operator must 
prove that they took immediate corrective action to minimize the emission.  All excess emission 
reports must include an EPA Method 9 reading or monitoring equipment reports.  
 
If you have any questions regarding the regulations or you want to report excess emissions, please 
contact Ed White [telephone (907) 465-5138, FAX (907) 465-5138 edward.white@alaska.gov ], or 
Albert Faure [telephone (907) 465-5279, FAX (907) 465-5274 albert.faure@alaska.gov]. 
 
18 AAC 50.070 MARINE VESSEL VISIBLE EMISSION STANDARDS 

 
Statute Text 

Within three miles of the Alaska coastline, visible emissions, excluding condensed water vapor, 
may not reduce visibility through the exhaust effluent of a marine vessel by more than 20 percent 
except as follows:  

(1) while at berth or at anchor, visibility may be reduced by up to 100 percent for periods 
aggregating no more than  

(A) three minutes in any one hour; and  
 

(B) an additional three minutes during initial startup of a vessel; for purposes of this 
subparagraph, "initial startup" includes the period during which a vessel is testing 
equipment in preparation to casting off or weighing anchor;  

 
(2) during the hour immediately after weighing anchor or casting off, visibility may be reduced 

under one, but not both, of the following options:  
 

(A) visibility may be reduced by up to 40 percent for that entire hour; or  
 

(B) visibility may be reduced by up to 100 percent for periods aggregating no more than nine 
minutes during that hour;  

 
(3) during the hour immediately before the completion of all maneuvers to anchor or make fast 

to the shore, visibility may be reduced under one, but not both, of the following options:  
 

(A) visibility may be reduced by up to 40 percent for that entire hour; or  
 

(B) visibility may be reduced by up to 100 percent for periods aggregating no more than nine 
minutes during that hour; and  
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(4) at any time not covered by (1) - (3) of this section, visibility may be reduced by up to 100 

percent for periods aggregating no more than three minutes in any one hour.  
 
History 
History: Eff. 1/18/97, Register 141; am 6/21/98, Register 146 
 
 
Annotations 
Authority: AS 46.03.020  
AS 46.14.010  
AS 46.14.030  
Sec. 30, ch. 74,  
SLA 1993  
 
 
 

 
18 AAC 50.240 Excess Emissions 

 
Statute Text 

(a) In an enforcement action, the owner, operator, or permittee has the burden of proving 
that excess emissions were unavoidable. This demonstration is a condition to obtaining 
relief under (d), (e), and (f) of this section. 

 
(b) Excess emissions determined to be unavoidable under this section will be excused and 

are not subject to penalty. This section does not limit the department's power to enjoin 
the emission or require corrective action. 

 
(c) Excess emissions that present a potential threat to human health or safety or that the 

owner, operator, or permittee believes to be unavoidable must be reported to the 
department as soon as possible. Unless otherwise specified in the facility's permit, other 
excess emissions must be reported within 30 days after the end of the month during 
which the emissions occurred or as part of the next routine emission monitoring report, 
whichever is sooner. If requested by the department, the owner, operator, or permittee 
shall submit a full written report that includes the known causes, the corrective actions 
taken, and the preventive measures to be taken to minimize or eliminate the chance of 
recurrence. 

 
(d) Excess emissions due to startup or shutdown will be considered unavoidable if the 

owner, operator, or permittee reports them as required under (c) of this section and 
demonstrates that 

 



Alaska Opacity and Excess Emissions Regulations 2012 Registration 

 
 
 Page 3 of 3 

(1) the excess emissions could not have been prevented through careful planning 
and design; and 

 
(2) if a bypass of control equipment occurred, the bypass was necessary to 
prevent loss of life, personal injury, or severe property damage. 

 
(e) Excess emissions due to scheduled maintenance will be considered unavoidable if the 

owner, operator, or permittee reports them as required under (c) of this section and 
demonstrates that the excess emissions could not have been avoided through reasonable 
design, better scheduling for maintenance, or better operation and maintenance practices. 

 
(f) Excess emissions due to upsets will be considered unavoidable if the owner, operator, or 

permittee reports them as required under (c) of this section and demonstrates that 
 

 
(1) the event was not caused by poor or inadequate design, operation, or 
maintenance or by any other reasonably preventable condition; 

 
(2) the event was not of a recurring pattern indicative of inadequate design, 
operation, or maintenance; and 

 
(3) when the operator knew or should have known that an emission standard or 
permit condition was being exceeded, the operator took immediate and 
appropriate corrective action in a manner consistent with good air pollution 
control practice for minimizing emissions during the event, taking into account 
the total emissions impact of the corrective action, including slowing or shutting 
down the source as necessary to minimize emissions. 

 
(g) A demonstration under (d), (e), or (f) of this section must be supported by records made 

at the time the excess emissions occurred. 

History 
History: Eff. 1/18/97, Register 141 

Annotations 
Authority: 
AS 46.03.020 
AS 46.14.030 
AS 46.14.140 
AS 46.14.560 
 


