Skip to content
Juneau State Office Mailing Address Update

All mail sent to the DEC office in Juneau through the U.S. Postal Service must be addressed to P.O. Box 111800, Juneau, AK, 99811. Beginning October 1, all mail addressed to our Willoughby Avenue address will not be delivered and will be returned to sender by the Post Office. This change only impacts incoming mail to the Juneau office.

Alaska Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Program History

On August 27, 2005 the Governor signed Senate Bill 110 (PDF) (SB 110) into law, authorizing the State to pursue primacy for the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NDPES) wastewater discharge permitting and compliance program established under the Clean Water Act. Prior to the passage of SB 110, the Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) convened a permittee Work Group to examine the concerns, costs, and benefits of state primacy and to recommend whether the state should seek primacy.

On May 1, 2008, the State of Alaska submitted a final application to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for authority to permit wastewater discharges in Alaska, and on October 31, 2008, EPA approved the application. DEC assumed full authority to administer the wastewater and discharge permitting and compliance program for Alaska on October 31, 2012.

APDES Program History

DEC APDES E-Mail Subscription List