Skip to content

Anchorage - Carbon Monoxide

Anchorage, Alaska was first declared a nonattainment area for carbon monoxide (CO) on January 27, 1978. Anchorage has not violated the National Ambient Air Quality Standard (NAAQS) for CO since 1996. EPA, in 2002, approved Anchorage's attainment plan and Anchorage officially became a Carbon Monoxide Maintenance Area.

Anchorage (Photo by Glynn Cater)