Skip to content

Wastewater Stabilization Ponds (WWSPs)

Eek WWSP Naknek Lagoon
Eek Wastewater Stabilization Pond (Courtesy of RUBA Program)                                                                          Naknek Wastewater Stabilization Pond (Courtesy of RUBA Program)


Small wastewater treatment systems consisting of lagoons without aeration are classified as wastewater stabilization pond (WWSP) systems. Operators of WWSP systems that serve more than 500 people or more than 100 service connections must hold WWSP certification. WWSP systems that don’t meet the population or service connection minimums don’t require certified operators. All other levels of wastewater treatment certification (provisional through level 4) are higher than WWSP certification and meet the certification requirement.

Exams and Certification

You must take an exam to become certified. To register for the WWSP exam, submit the registration form available at along with the $150 exam fee. You will be scheduled for the exam once your application and fee are received.

Preparing for the Exam

The exam is composed of 50 multiple choice questions.
The exam description
The exam formula sheet
Helpful study guide

department approved courses

The following are department approved courses:

University of Alaska, Southeast (UAS), Office of Continuing Education
Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC), Operator Training and Certification Program