Skip to content

Regional and Area Plan Background Information

Promulgated in September 2018, the State of Alaska’s planning framework for response to oil spill and hazardous materials releases aligns with the National Oil and Hazardous Substances Pollution Contingency Plan (National Contingency Plan) and the National Response Framework.

The Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation (ADEC), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) – Region 10, and the United States Coast Guard (USCG) District 17 and Sector Anchorage, Sector Juneau, and Marine Safety Unit Valdez manage response operations in accordance with the Alaska Regional Contingency Plan (RCP) and four Area Contingency Plans (ACP). EPA is the predesignated Federal On-Scene Coordinator (FOSC) for inland areas and the USCG for coastal areas. ADEC is the predesignated State On-Scene Coordinator (SOSC) for all areas of the state.

Outreach Opportunities and Plan Information

Area Boundaries and Geographic Zones Map (click image to expand)

Area boundaries

  • 3 Coastal: The Arctic and Western Alaska Area, Prince William Sound Area, and the Southeast Area mimic the Captain of the Port Zones and extend seaward 200 nautical miles to the Economic Exclusion Zone. These Areas also extend inland 1,000 yards.
  • 1 Inland: The Inland Area extends from the coastal areas; beginning 1,000 yards inland

Geographic Zones

  • 1) Southeast Alaska, 2) Prince William Sound, 3) Cook Inlet, 4) Kodiak Island, 5) Aleutians, 6) Bristol Bay, 7) Western Alaska, 8) Northwest Arctic, 9) North Slope, and 10) Interior Alaska

Documents and Presentations

For More Information

external link indicator Indicates an external site.